Official JVC DILA-X500R / RS49U / RS4910U Owners Thread - Page 36 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2144Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1051 of 6384 Old 03-24-2014, 10:40 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Venice, Florida, USA
Posts: 21,464
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1418 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
Why don't you just start a new thread asking the question instead of repeating it in four threads? Right now I am having a block because I can't decide which thread to post an answer. smile.gif

You could post something like ATTENTION ALL CURRENT YEAR JVC OWNERS. Everyone will open and look at that. And then please delete the other posts asking the question.
mark haflich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1052 of 6384 Old 03-24-2014, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
pdxfj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post

New firmware update is now available.

Does not address all the issues, but JVC is still working on them.

Great... I drop my projector off at Lumagen this morning and there's a firmware update.. rolleyes.gif Wonder if this update would address some of the issues they are seeing..
pdxfj is offline  
post #1053 of 6384 Old 03-24-2014, 12:27 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 12,929
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3658 Post(s)
Liked: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxfj View Post

Great... I drop my projector off at Lumagen this morning and there's a firmware update.. rolleyes.gif Wonder if this update would address some of the issues they are seeing..

Is Lumagen borrowing your projector to troubleshoot and improve HDMI connectivity? What's the background here? Thanks.
lovingdvd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1054 of 6384 Old 03-24-2014, 04:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
lorjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Somewhere south of Georgia
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Was kind of looking for a firmware update to enable turning off eshift when using the internal focus screen. Oh well, maybe next time.

JVC-RS4910, Samsung 64H5000, LG 60PA6550
Oppo 203, Oppo 93, Oppo 83SE, DirecTV HR44-200, Samsung DTB260F, Roku 3, Denon DP-1200
Marantz AV7702, Onkyo PR-SC5507, Onkyo TX-NR3008, McIntosh C26, DVDO Duo
Parasound A51, Parasound HCA-806A, Emotiva UPA-1s, Marantz MA500s, McIntosh MC2105
Paradigm Studio V4s & V5s, Hsu subs X2,
lorjam is offline  
post #1055 of 6384 Old 03-24-2014, 05:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
xb1032's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27

Mike,

Do you have more specific details in regards to the "Improvement of projector control with external command codes (like RS232C, LAN etc.)."?

Does this mean the LAN port is not closed after a set time or is there a fix that when Menus are on screen they won't close when the PJREQ command is sent?

The only HDMI issue I've seen is I see a brief pink screen when starting going from the Blu-Ray Home menu to a Blu-Ray disc and vice versa. My projector is only used for movies so it's only getting a 1080p signal at all times.
xb1032 is offline  
post #1056 of 6384 Old 03-24-2014, 08:07 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,459
Mentioned: 241 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12498 Post(s)
Liked: 10117
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by xb1032 View Post

Mike,

Do you have more specific details in regards to the "Improvement of projector control with external command codes (like RS232C, LAN etc.)."?

Does this mean the LAN port is not closed after a set time or is there a fix that when Menus are on screen they won't close when the PJREQ command is sent?

The only HDMI issue I've seen is I see a brief pink screen when starting going from the Blu-Ray Home menu to a Blu-Ray disc and vice versa. My projector is only used for movies so it's only getting a 1080p signal at all times.


No I do not, I guess someone will need to run the update and then see.
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #1057 of 6384 Old 03-24-2014, 10:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,336
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1271 Post(s)
Liked: 1337
I installed the latest firmware update this evening. I posted more details about my experience in the "HDMI issues" thread, but the tl;dr version is that it didn't go nearly as smoothly as the first firmware update.
Schwa is online now  
post #1058 of 6384 Old 03-25-2014, 03:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9,109
Mentioned: 324 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5428 Post(s)
Liked: 5614
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post

No I do not, I guess someone will need to run the update and then see.

GaryB posted more info about the update here in the UK AV Forums.

Apparently it does solve the issue with the menu disappearing when using the LAN port.

JVC Autocal Software V12 Calibration for 2019 Models (Google)
Batch Utility V4.02 May 16 2019 to automate measurements files for madVR with support for BD Folders
Manni01 is online now  
post #1059 of 6384 Old 03-25-2014, 05:03 PM
Member
 
davidibecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know when calman 5 autocal will work with the 4910? Does anyone have any experience using the autocal with the 4810? How difficult will it be for a person attempting calibration for the first time.
davidibecker is offline  
post #1060 of 6384 Old 03-25-2014, 05:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,336
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1271 Post(s)
Liked: 1337
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidibecker View Post

Does anyone know when calman 5 autocal will work with the 4910? Does anyone have any experience using the autocal with the 4810? How difficult will it be for a person attempting calibration for the first time.
See this post in this thread. Last year it seemed like it took almost until CEDIA for CalMAN's auto-cal to work with the 4810. In other words, just before the 4910 came out, CalMAN added support for the 4810.

I do have experience using CalMAN auto-cal with the 4810 and it's pretty slick. For one thing, it's able to adjust more points (grayscale, gamma) than you can adjust using the user menu. Another nice thing is that it uses the projector's internal patterns to do the calibration so there's no need to futz with external pattern discs or pattern generators. There were a few things that were omitted from the instructions that gave me slight fits...if memory serves I had to manually select the "Custom" menus on the projector before the software was able to automatically calibrate anything. I spent a good hour or so trying to figure out why the software wasn't making any changes until I realized what the problem was. That said, once you get it going, it's much faster than trying to calibrate manually...and likely more accurate for non-pros.
Schwa is online now  
post #1061 of 6384 Old 03-25-2014, 06:01 PM
Member
 
davidibecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwa View Post

See this post in this thread. Last year it seemed like it took almost until CEDIA for CalMAN's auto-cal to work with the 4810. In other words, just before the 4910 came out, CalMAN added support for the 4810.

I do have experience using CalMAN auto-cal with the 4810 and it's pretty slick. For one thing, it's able to adjust more points (grayscale, gamma) than you can adjust using the user menu. Another nice thing is that it uses the projector's internal patterns to do the calibration so there's no need to futz with external pattern discs or pattern generators. There were a few things that were omitted from the instructions that gave me slight fits...if memory serves I had to manually select the "Custom" menus on the projector before the software was able to automatically calibrate anything. I spent a good hour or so trying to figure out why the software wasn't making any changes until I realized what the problem was. That said, once you get it going, it's much faster than trying to calibrate manually...and likely more accurate for non-pros.[/quote

Nice. Hopefully they're able to add autocal support faster this year on 4910. Looking forward to trying it.
davidibecker is offline  
post #1062 of 6384 Old 03-25-2014, 07:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,336
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1271 Post(s)
Liked: 1337
Well, despite the latest firmware update, my projector's HDMI issues still persist. frown.gif
Schwa is online now  
post #1063 of 6384 Old 03-26-2014, 06:46 AM
.NET Solution Architect
 
SoulOfUniverse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Chigwell, Essex, UK
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 662 Post(s)
Liked: 582

Guys what movies you'd suggest to watch again, having X500R, I know one with good contrast and effects is Life Of Pi, but anyone else? Preferable movies similar to Prometheus, Mission to Mars and etc.

 

Cheers,


Serge.


Video: Synology 416Play NAS 24TB -> OPPO UDP-203 / Zidoo X9S / Nvidia Shield 4K -> Lumagen Radiance Pro 4444 -> SONY VPL-VW760ES -> Elite Screen 135'' 16:9 1.1 Max White;
Audio: DENON X3500H -> Dali Zensor 7.1 Dolby Atmos (7, 1, E12F, Vokal, Dolby Alteco C1)
SoulOfUniverse is offline  
post #1064 of 6384 Old 03-26-2014, 06:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mark Lem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blee0120 View Post

The Oppo 103D is a lot more than a blu ray player. The two hdmi inputs are my favorite features. Allows me to have direct source with two sources. Makes my Direct TV look so much better. Its a media player with networking, which is a major plus for me since I rip my movies. Along with it being a great 2D and 3D blu ray player. The 2D-3D conversion is not that bad either. Its the centerpiece in my HT. Switching back and forth, I can tell it greatly improves the picture than my avr


Curious as to what additional processing you do with the Oppo on your directv input. I have directv and by itself it looks very very good but I'm always looking to improve
Mark Lem is offline  
post #1065 of 6384 Old 03-26-2014, 07:15 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,459
Mentioned: 241 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12498 Post(s)
Liked: 10117
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Lem View Post

Curious as to what additional processing you do with the Oppo on your directive input. I have directv and by itself it looks very very good but I'm always looking to improve

The 103D has a Darbee processor built into it. You can also just buy a Darbee processor. The advantage of buying the 103 with Darbee is eliminating one extra piece of equipment in the signal chain. We sell both stand alone and Oppo with Darbee. If you do not know what a Darbee is, here is the thread. https://www.avsforum.com/t/1399154/darbee-vision-darblet Also for sources that are less than 1080P, the Oppo does a good job of up-converting.
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #1066 of 6384 Old 03-26-2014, 08:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,941
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 890 Post(s)
Liked: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Lem View Post

Curious as to what additional processing you do with the Oppo on your directv input. I have directv and by itself it looks very very good but I'm always looking to improve

It does a good job upscaling content to 1080p. When I apply eshift to it, it looks smoother. Any extra to cable is always a plus
blee0120 is online now  
post #1067 of 6384 Old 03-26-2014, 09:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 16,297
Mentioned: 116 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6953 Post(s)
Liked: 8211
Quote:
Guys what movies you'd suggest to watch again, having X500R, I know one with good contrast and effects is Life Of Pi, but anyone else? Preferable movies similar to Prometheus, Mission to Mars and etc.

Cheers,

Serge

Pacific Rim, The Matrix movies, Tron Legacy, Star Trek ( both new ones ), Avatar, Blade Runner - the final cut, V for Vendetta, Europa Report and 2001 Space Odyssey. smile.gif

[email protected] JVC RS4500, Lumagen Radiance Pro, Panamorph Paladin DCR lens, Stewart Luxus Model A ElectriScreens - 128" diagonal 2.35:1 ST130 & 122" diagonal 16:9 Cima Neve, Denon X8500, Parasound A 52+ amp, Martin Logan Motion series 9.4 speakers, four SVS subs, Panasonic UB820, Oppo 203, PFP M1500 UPS
Craig Peer is online now  
post #1068 of 6384 Old 03-26-2014, 10:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cardoski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beyond The Wall.
Posts: 4,908
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2590 Post(s)
Liked: 2926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post

Pacific Rim, The Matrix movies, Tron Legacy, Star Trek ( both new ones ), Avatar, Blade Runner - the final cut, V for Vendetta, Europa Report and 2001 Space Odyssey. smile.gif


All amazing and I would add the UnderWorld movies, District 9 and any Trek movie but not the new ones. tongue.gif The Clone Wars animated series looks amazing as well.

Listening with Focal Elex headphones, Topping DSD Dac, SENCUN-audio tube preamp with tone control and Modded Little Dot hybrid tube amp with Voshkod 6ZH1P-EV tubes, Dual Discrete Op-Amp SS3602, and Alps Blue Velvet volume pot.

Watching in a room ensconced in velvet.
cardoski is online now  
post #1069 of 6384 Old 03-26-2014, 11:06 AM
Member
 
davidibecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does the Oppo 103d make directv look better than a darbee darblet in the chain or do they act the same?
davidibecker is offline  
post #1070 of 6384 Old 03-26-2014, 11:11 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,459
Mentioned: 241 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12498 Post(s)
Liked: 10117
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidibecker View Post

Does the Oppo 103d make directv look better than a darbee darblet in the chain or do they act the same?

Should be pretty much the same. I am talking about the Darbee implementation.
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #1071 of 6384 Old 03-26-2014, 02:48 PM
Member
 
Lemonski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a general question about the X500R, maybe an existing owner could answer....how fast is the lens memory to switch between settings? I've seen videos of Panasonic's implementation, it seems quite quick. I vaguely remember a thread about older JVC models that said they were quite slow to switch.......?

Also, I take it the X500R doesn't do automatic aspect ratio detection like the Panasonic either? I couldn't find a mention of it in the JVC manual.

Thanks!
Lemonski is offline  
post #1072 of 6384 Old 03-26-2014, 03:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kamikaze13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemonski View Post

I have a general question about the X500R, maybe an existing owner could answer....how fast is the lens memory to switch between settings? I've seen videos of Panasonic's implementation, it seems quite quick. I vaguely remember a thread about older JVC models that said they were quite slow to switch.......?

Also, I take it the X500R doesn't do automatic aspect ratio detection like the Panasonic either? I couldn't find a mention of it in the JVC manual.

Thanks!

I'm not an owner but this video review of the X70 shows it changing memory presets after the 7:00 mark somewhere, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TWjytSZrKiM
I wouldn't know if the X500 is any faster, maybe someone else knows?

VIDEO: JVC DLA-RS57U Projector / 130″ EluneVision Reference Studio 4K Cinemascope Screen - Oppo BDP-103 Blu-Ray Player - PlayStation 3 AVR: Anthem MRX-1120 SPEAKERS: Paradigm Monitor 11 Mains - Paradigm Monitor CC-390 Center - Paradigm Monitor ADP-390 Surrounds x 4 - Polk MC60 Atmos Ceiling x 4 SUBWOOFERS: SVS PB2000 / Velodyne DPS-12
Kamikaze13 is offline  
post #1073 of 6384 Old 03-26-2014, 06:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,459
Mentioned: 241 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12498 Post(s)
Liked: 10117
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemonski View Post

I have a general question about the X500R, maybe an existing owner could answer....how fast is the lens memory to switch between settings? I've seen videos of Panasonic's implementation, it seems quite quick. I vaguely remember a thread about older JVC models that said they were quite slow to switch.......?

Also, I take it the X500R doesn't do automatic aspect ratio detection like the Panasonic either? I couldn't find a mention of it in the JVC manual.

Thanks!

The Panny is quicker, because it does not have true lens shift. It is shifting the image on the chip, using the black bars. This means it is very limited. You have to mount the projector lens between the top and bottom of the image. Many of the old Mits projectors were able to do this also.
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #1074 of 6384 Old 03-26-2014, 10:47 PM
Member
 
Lemonski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks - although I don't see what the point of the JVC memorizing the lens shift position is. Once you've set the lens shift, the projector's location is not going to change between switches. Or am I missing something here?
Lemonski is offline  
post #1075 of 6384 Old 03-26-2014, 11:13 PM
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 10,827
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5167 Post(s)
Liked: 2594
Here's a quick video of how quick this years model loads the memory:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdDPX6PazAI#t=71
Seegs108 is offline  
post #1076 of 6384 Old 03-27-2014, 10:21 AM
Toe
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Toe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 16,731
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2720 Post(s)
Liked: 3561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post

Here's a quick video of how quick this years model loads the memory:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdDPX6PazAI#t=71

Thanks Seegs. Looks to me like it's considerably quicker vs previous years (?).
Toe is offline  
post #1077 of 6384 Old 03-27-2014, 10:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,459
Mentioned: 241 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12498 Post(s)
Liked: 10117
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemonski View Post

Thanks - although I don't see what the point of the JVC memorizing the lens shift position is. Once you've set the lens shift, the projector's location is not going to change between switches. Or am I missing something here?

What you are missing, if you have a 2.35 screen that is 50 inches high, then the JVC lens center can be as much as 15" above the screen. While the Panny lens center can not be above the screen. What this means. Lets say you have an 8' ceiling height and you mounted your screen so that your eyes were 1/3 up the screen. That would place the top of the image about 6'-5" above the floor. With the Panny, that would place the bottom of the projector at about 6'-2", since the lens center can't be above the screen. With the JVC you would be able to place the projector higher, so that it is not a head knocking situation for some people.
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #1078 of 6384 Old 03-27-2014, 12:45 PM
Member
 
Lemonski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ahh, OK. That makes sense. So the extra complexity of the lens shift mechanism to provide that flexibility you pay for in the lens memory performance.

Although, watching that video posted above, the switching of the X700 is really pretty good. Going from a video I found of one of the older models, it looks like they've improved the speed of the lens memory quite a bit, it doesn't seem too far off the Panasonic. I'm happy biggrin.gif
Lemonski is offline  
post #1079 of 6384 Old 03-27-2014, 06:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,928
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1562 Post(s)
Liked: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post

What you are missing, if you have a 2.35 screen that is 50 inches high, then the JVC lens center can be as much as 15" above the screen. While the Panny lens center can not be above the screen. What this means. Lets say you have an 8' ceiling height and you mounted your screen so that your eyes were 1/3 up the screen. That would place the top of the image about 6'-5" above the floor. With the Panny, that would place the bottom of the projector at about 6'-2", since the lens center can't be above the screen. With the JVC you would be able to place the projector higher, so that it is not a head knocking situation for some people.

Mike,

Doesn't this mean that the projector can actually be 15" above the full 16x9 image that includes the black bars above the 2.35 widescreen. Unless he is using an anamorphic lens. I project onto a 2.39:1 screen using my 4910 without an anamorphic lens (except that my screen is "only" 46" high). My projector lens center is about 5 inches above the top of the 16x9 image.

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5 for surround & ceiling
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1, 2 Seaton Submersive (FOR SALE)
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is online now  
post #1080 of 6384 Old 03-28-2014, 12:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jjcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 468 Post(s)
Liked: 188
I was curious about the display lag of my RS4910 in case I wanted to do a little gaming on it and so I ran a quick experiment after the kids were in bed.

The setup was as follows: cloned the display on a Lenovo Carbon X1 Ultrabook, HDMI passing through my Marantz SR7008 receiver with overlay enabled, projector settings CMD off ClearBlack off Iris off, measuring using Refresh Rate Multitool (http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1423433) showing the 6x10 grid, refresh of 59/60 Hz, and the 120fps capture mode on my phone.

Results:
- E-shift disabled, the JVC lagged the internal laptop display by about 7 frames (~115-120ms)
- E-shift enabled, about 8 frames (~133-136ms)

In a few days I might try again but take the Marantz out of the loop to see what lag it was introducing -- presumably no more than 1 frame (~16ms).
jjcook is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , X500

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off