Official JVC RS600 / RS500 (X950R / X750R - X9000 / X7000) Owners Thread - Page 157 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 84956Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4681 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 11:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
brente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WA
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveFred View Post
I will try that when I get home tonight, thanks for the info
Note that this won't solve the anamorphic setting issue (just tried it)...
brente is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4682 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 11:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dlinsley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by R Harkness View Post
Damn that makes me jealous your replacement was a good one. Do you still see bright corners?
So far only with hide, though I haven't tried out 4:3 content like Wizard of Oz on the replacement yet.
dlinsley is offline  
post #4683 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 11:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
billqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Thanks, Seegs. I look forward to hearing what you find out! If my RS500 replacement has issues as bad as the one now I will probably go the RS400 route.
billqs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4684 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 11:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Earth (most days!)
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2113 Post(s)
Liked: 2390
Quote:
Originally Posted by fpr View Post
The three models RS400, RS500, RS600 are affected by the "bright corners"?

Thanks
WAIT… where are you hearing this nasty rumor!?


stef2 likes this.

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


==> Our 4K/3D Immersive Theater
krichter1 is offline  
post #4685 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 11:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ximori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Irvine, Ca
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
I just picked up an RS400 to do a little comparison to the RS500 I currently have here. I'd like to see what the extra contrast of the RS500 does visibly over the RS400. In the end I may chose to keep the RS400 if it's not that much of a visible difference.

looking forward to your input, Seegs. Without doing a side by side can you watch a scene with very low apl or any dark level with one unit first then the same segment with the other, without switching them quickly? I just want to know if you can tell if the CR difference is very obvious. thx
Ximori is offline  
post #4686 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 11:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
SteveFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vernon, WI(near Milwaukee)
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post
Yeah it just continues to just blow me away as to how good eShift does with 4K material (Wowee!)…
Oh so true!! Beautiful pics! I even had the wife and kids impressed while standing 6 ft away and projecting 190" image on a antique white wall(Low bulb -2). I can not wait to see it on an actual screen, once I get the new theater done


Quote:
Originally Posted by brente View Post
Note that this won't solve the anamorphic setting issue (just tried it)...

Great lol. Guess The Roku is going back for a better(and more expensive I am sure) type streamer boo!!
krichter1 likes this.

New Theater pics
Theater Thread
BENQ LK970, 180" Wide curved Seymour 2.37:1 XD W/UH480 lens/Marantz 8802A/Outlaw Amps 7900/5000, 7.2.4 set up 3 Seaton Catalyst 12c's / 8 - MT110SR's / Dual T-18's/HTPC/MadVR
SteveFred is offline  
post #4687 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
R Harkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15,219
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2837 Post(s)
Liked: 2809
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post
Yeah it just continues to just blow me away as to how good eShift does with 4K material (Wowee!)…
Those screen shots look very nice. So E-shift with 4K really does look beyond 1080p, does it?

Did you do a separate calibration to view the 4K material?
R Harkness is offline  
post #4688 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
loganross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderguy View Post
He determines it by hand from knowing the lumens data, his method of determination is close to the one my projector calculator uses, though I am probably a little or a smidge low on my current numbers for the new JVC's, because I am about to make another adjustment on them after having received new numbers, but the new numbers will only up it a smidge, another 50-100 lumens. I have not yet averaged it out yet.

I've been pretty consistent on being able to determine the numbers once I get them entered, problem is getting them all entered on the other projectors (I know people get tired of hearing me repeat this), but it's not half as tiring as myself having to type all the data in
Thanks.

When you say he, do you mean Carlton?
On Carlton's site, I don't recall an option for selecting a projector.
Assuming things like a 1.0 screen, closest throw, who has a reasonably accurate calculator?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk
loganross is offline  
post #4689 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 27,442
Mentioned: 276 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13163 Post(s)
Liked: 10796
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkq View Post
<snark on> or a VW1000 to compare it to <snark off>
I know that there was not a side by side of the VW1100 made, by that poster.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #4690 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 11:24 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 27,442
Mentioned: 276 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13163 Post(s)
Liked: 10796
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveFred View Post
Looks like the Roku 4 does not support 24fps. So I guess I will take it back and get a different streaming system that will, IF the RS line does not support the 4k/60 stretch once Mike finds out.


Video Outputs for Roku 4

Up to 4K UHD (3840 × 2160) on 4K UHD TVs
Up to 1080p HD (1920 x 1080) on HD TVs
Up-scales 720p to 1080p HD on 1080p HD and 4K UHD TVs
Up-scales 1080p HD to 4K UHD on 4K UHD TVs
4K UHD 60 fps HEVC Playback <<<<<<<<
4K UHD 30 fps VP9 Playback (YouTube)
Playback from USB drives
Set Roku to 4K 10 bit and see if it does not work. I believe that will allow you to select vertical stretch.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #4691 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 11:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
SteveFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vernon, WI(near Milwaukee)
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by R Harkness View Post
Those screen shots look very nice. So E-shift with 4K really does look beyond 1080p, does it?

Did you do a separate calibration to view the 4K material?

For me, I used the same calibration, (can not speak for Kevin) but it is very easy(IMO) to see the difference with e-shift 4K with 4K material against E-shift 1080p up scaled.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
Set Roku to 4K 10 bit and see if it does not work. I believe that will allow you to select vertical stretch.

Will do, fingers crossed

New Theater pics
Theater Thread
BENQ LK970, 180" Wide curved Seymour 2.37:1 XD W/UH480 lens/Marantz 8802A/Outlaw Amps 7900/5000, 7.2.4 set up 3 Seaton Catalyst 12c's / 8 - MT110SR's / Dual T-18's/HTPC/MadVR
SteveFred is offline  
post #4692 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 11:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 4,449
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1136 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by RigorousXChris View Post
Can anyone answer if I need to use high speed HDMI on all my sources to take advantage of the 4k e shift process. I also have a Darbee connected.

Thanks!
While you do not need a "high speed" HDMI cable, you do need a good high quality cable if you only have HD sources. If you are planning to have any 4K/UHD sources, then a "high speed" cable would be recommended as the bandwidth for 4K/UHD is higher.

Be aware that long HDMI cables over 15 ft are VERY unreliable unless it is an "active" cable (one that corrects for signal loss on longer runs).

As an example, my original cable in the ceiling was a Monoprice cable that was rated for 720P (was it 4Gbps?). When I bought my JVC RS-1 (1080P), synching would take a while, several seconds. Before I got a used JVC RS-57U, I decided to replace the HDMI cable. I had to have two cables installed. One cable is connected to my Darbee and the other cable is for 4K use. Since the Darbee cannot pass through 4K/UHD, it had to be run separately. You will have to do this as well if you are planning to use both the Darbee and any 4K sources...

The two cables i used were both Monster Cables, a 700HD 10 Gbps (which i got for free) and a "supposedly" 27Gbps-rated Black Platinum using a store credit from BB. After installing both cables, I noticed that the projector synched a LOT faster compared to my older Monoprice cable. Both cables worked fine after i installed the JVC RS-57U projector.

IIRC, 720P needed 4Gbps, 1080P need 10 Gbps and 4K needs 18 GBps rated cables....
krichter1 likes this.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...

Last edited by Jon S; 01-15-2016 at 11:50 AM.
Jon S is offline  
post #4693 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Earth (most days!)
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2113 Post(s)
Liked: 2390
Quote:
Originally Posted by RigorousXChris View Post
Before I go and buy a whole bunch of new cables from monoprice..

I have the following

JVC RS500
Darbee DVP5000
Pioneer SC-95
PS4
HTPC (4k capable)
DirecTV Genie

Do I need to run high speed HDMI from the JVC to the Darbee, then another from the Darbee to the Pioneer? Should I be running high speed to all sources?

Thanks!
"High Speed" designated cables will do 1080p no prob & up to 4K/30 (depending on length but usually ~30ft), but only the one's rated for 18gbps will do FULL UHD 4K/60p. All my devices have high speed (similar to your list), thru to the PJ chain on HDMI-2(EDID=B), and the 4K Roku & Sony all have Cabernet 18gbps cables going to HDMI-1.


Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


==> Our 4K/3D Immersive Theater
krichter1 is offline  
post #4694 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
RigorousXChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
While you do not need a "high speed" HDMI cable, you do need a good high quality cable if you only have HD sources. If you are planning to have any 4K/UHD sources, then a "high speed" cable would be recommended as the bandwidth for 4K/UHD is higher.

Be aware that long HDMI cables over 15 ft are VERY unreliable unless it is an "active" cable (one that corrects for signal loss on longer runs).

As an example, my original cable in the ceiling was a Monoprice cable that was rated for 720P (was it 4Gbps?). When I bought my JVC RS-1 (1080P), synching would take a while, several seconds. Before I got a used JVC RS-57U, I decided to replace the HDMI cable. I had to have two cables installed. One cable is connected to my Darbee and the other cable is for 4K use. Since the Darbee cannot pass through 4K/UHD, it had to be run separately. You will have to do this as well if you are planning to use both the Darbee and any 4K sources...

The two cables i used were both Monster Cables, a 700HD 10 Gbps (which i got for free) and a "supposedly" 27Gbps-rated Black Platinum using a store credit from BB. After installing both cables, I noticed that the projector synched a LOT faster compared to my older Monoprice cable. Both cables worked fine after i installed the JVC RS-57U projector.

IIRC, 720P needed 4Gbps, 1080P need 10 Gbps and 4K needs 18 GBps rated cables....
Since JVC E-shift isn't real 4k, can the Darbee still be used in a single chain?

RS 500 > Darbee > Receiver > Sources?

or do I need to separate?

RS 500 HDMI 1 > Receiver > Sources (4k)
RS 500 HDMI 2 > Darbee > Receiver > Sources (1080p)
RigorousXChris is offline  
post #4695 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 17,309
Mentioned: 140 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7603 Post(s)
Liked: 9383
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post
Yeah it just continues to just blow me away as to how good eShift does with 4K material (Wowee!)…
Just when I say that I'll wait a little bit to order the Samsung 4K Blu ray player, you have to go and do this !
krichter1 likes this.
Craig Peer is online now  
post #4696 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 12:10 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 17,309
Mentioned: 140 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7603 Post(s)
Liked: 9383
Quote:
Originally Posted by RigorousXChris View Post
Since JVC E-shift isn't real 4k, can the Darbee still be used in a single chain?

RS 500 > Darbee > Receiver > Sources?

or do I need to separate?

RS 500 HDMI 1 > Receiver > Sources (4k)
RS 500 HDMI 2 > Darbee > Receiver > Sources (1080p)
I don't think the Darbee will pass a 4K signal, so you will need two HDMI runs like you have in option 2.
Craig Peer is online now  
post #4697 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 12:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Dionyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by loganross View Post
Originally Posted by Dionyz View Post
I have a 16:9 150" screen with Seymour XD.
I had the RS-4810 which to my eyes had sufficient output to run in low lamp.
Was very happy with the image.
Now using it with RS-600, low lamp, manual iris -10 (Zombies settings).
Excellent screen brightness - significantly brighter than RS-4810
You should have no hesitations going to 150".
RS-500/600 light it up EASILY in low lamp

Hi,
Thank you. What type of screen do you have? How has the 3D been?
Screen material is SeymourAV Center Stage XD
(switched from Elite Screens Cinewhite shortly before getting RS-600)

As far as 3D goes, I have no idea, as I find 3D to be a TOTAL gimmick and a distraction that takes away from my movie enjoyment.
Dionyz is offline  
post #4698 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 12:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
loganross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dionyz View Post
Screen material is SeymourAV Center Stage XD
(switched from Elite Screens Cinewhite shortly before getting RS-600)

As far as 3D goes, I have no idea, as I find 3D to be a TOTAL gimmick and a distraction that takes away from my movie enjoyment.
Hi. How do you like the Seymour Vs the cinewhite? The accucal HD report seems to indicate that the cinewhite material is pretty good material.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk
loganross is offline  
post #4699 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
loganross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dionyz View Post
Screen material is SeymourAV Center Stage XD
(switched from Elite Screens Cinewhite shortly before getting RS-600)

As far as 3D goes, I have no idea, as I find 3D to be a TOTAL gimmick and a distraction that takes away from my movie enjoyment.
Bummer regarding your feelings on 3d. I love it if done right. For kicks try renting the BBC title "Tiny Giants". You might just change your mind

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk
loganross is offline  
post #4700 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
brente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WA
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
Set Roku to 4K 10 bit and see if it does not work. I believe that will allow you to select vertical stretch.
That is one thing that I can't test myself - it looks like my Marantz processor only outputs 8-bit as part of their conversion to 4k (which I have been using to test with - no Roku here). I can get a 12-bit signal from the Blu-ray player in 1080p, but once I enable 4k conversion, the projector reports an 8-bit signal. so, looking forward to hearing the results!


oh, and why should the bit depth matter for stretching in 4k?
brente is offline  
post #4701 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Earth (most days!)
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2113 Post(s)
Liked: 2390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dionyz View Post
Screen material is SeymourAV Center Stage XD
(switched from Elite Screens Cinewhite shortly before getting RS-600)

As far as 3D goes, I have no idea, as I find 3D to be a TOTAL gimmick and a distraction that takes away from my movie enjoyment.

Did you judge it before or after you eliminated the known 3D CMD bug?

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


==> Our 4K/3D Immersive Theater
krichter1 is offline  
post #4702 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Dionyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by loganross View Post
Hi,
Thank you. What type of screen do you have? How has the 3D been?
Quote:
Originally Posted by loganross View Post
Hi. How do you like the Seymour Vs the cinewhite? The accucal HD report seems to indicate that the cinewhite material is pretty good material.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk
To me they are about equal in performance.
Cinewhite is just a hair brighter (0.99 gain vs 0.94gain) per Accucal measurements, however, it is very minimal difference and in practical terms not noticeable.
I switched to the Seymour XD to get my center channel speaker centered behind the screen, where it belongs.
My first row is about 10.5 ft from the screen and from this distance I do not see the screen texture (weave).
In practical terms I would call them equivalent - happy with both.
Dionyz is offline  
post #4703 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 02:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
loganross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dionyz View Post
To me they are about equal in performance.
Cinewhite is just a hair brighter (0.99 gain vs 0.94gain) per Accucal measurements, however, it is very minimal difference and in practical terms not noticeable.
I switched to the Seymour XD to get my center channel speaker centered behind the screen, where it belongs.
My first row is about 10.5 ft from the screen and from this distance I do not see the screen texture (weave).
In practical terms I would call them equivalent - happy with both.
Nice to know. I just ordered a 150" cinetension 2 to replace my 128" Carada. I needed to move to a drop down screen. Also, since I see a lot more potential for 16:9 material, I decided I didn't want the small 16:9 image size that comes with having a scope screen. Thank you again for your thoughts.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk
loganross is offline  
post #4704 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 02:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14,986
Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2963 Post(s)
Liked: 1563
Quote:
Originally Posted by loganross View Post
When you say he, do you mean Carlton?
On Carlton's site, I don't recall an option for selecting a projector.
Assuming things like a 1.0 screen, closest throw, who has a reasonably accurate calculator?
I misunderstood, I thought you were asking how Mike @ AVS calculates it, not that Carlton Site. No idea about that one.

**Updated Projector Calculator Released NOV 2017**
-- www.webprojectorcalculator.com --
coderguy is offline  
post #4705 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 02:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
loganross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderguy View Post
I misunderstood, I thought you were asking how Mike @ AVS calculates it, not that Carlton Site. No idea about that one.
Hi. Does Mike offer a calcutor ? I am trying to figure out the best time this for me to measure.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk
loganross is offline  
post #4706 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 02:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14,986
Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2963 Post(s)
Liked: 1563
^ ^ ^
Hmm, no, but you can go to sites like www.projectoreviews.com or www.projectorcentral.com and read the specific REVIEW for a projector. If you look under "brightness performance" or similar categories, you will find their lumens measurements.

You can use my calculator in my signature for any JVC unit, it is reasonably accurate. I don't have accurate info on a lot of the other projectors because it is being re-entered, but you can enter it manually from those sites into my calculator if you need to calculate something.

The only reason I mention my calculator is not out of "pride for the calculator", but it is because it is one of the few you can actually enter custom numbers into, hence the only one that you can really get an accurate result by entering data from a review site (that I know of)... The other calculators could do it also, but they don't let you, they force their own data on you and do not tell you what data they are using (often is MFR rated spec). MFR ANSI Rated Lumens works ok for JVC's (especially newer JVC's), but it is very inaccurate for most other projectors.

**Updated Projector Calculator Released NOV 2017**
-- www.webprojectorcalculator.com --
coderguy is offline  
post #4707 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Dionyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post
Did you judge it before or after you eliminated the known 3D CMD bug?
My thinking 3D as a gimmick and a distraction has nothing to do with JVC projectors, either my previous RS-4810 or my current RS-600. Nothing to do with cross-talk, ghosting or brightness.

Even in best 3D commercial theaters it is a gimmick and a distraction to enjoyment of the movie to "me".
I avoid 3D presentations like the plague.
krichter1 likes this.
Dionyz is offline  
post #4708 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 02:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 4,449
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1136 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by RigorousXChris View Post
Since JVC E-shift isn't real 4k, can the Darbee still be used in a single chain?

RS 500 > Darbee > Receiver > Sources?

or do I need to separate?

RS 500 HDMI 1 > Receiver > Sources (4k)
RS 500 HDMI 2 > Darbee > Receiver > Sources (1080p)
Like I mentioned, the Darbee cannot handle 4K... if you want to use the Darbee, it has to be with 1080P sources only. if you get any 4K source, you cannot use the Darbee. That's why I ran two HDMI lines.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #4709 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 02:31 PM
 
SherazNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,048
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1210 Post(s)
Liked: 145
My impression of RS500 after 30+ hours of viewing.

My Setup:
Screen: 145" 2.4 1.0 gain AT
Projector Throw Distance: 18'
Iris: Auto 1 @ -5
Clear Black: Low
Color Profile: Custom 1
Color Temp: Custome 1 with 6500K Correction Value
Gamma: 2.4
MPC: e-shift=of, Enhance=1, Dynamic Iris = 3, Sm=1, NR=1
Blur Reduction: CMD=off, Motion Enhance=High
Contrast: -2
Brightness=0

I spent good time tweaking the projector with my liking. Initially, I was watching only Exodus for testing purpose. It has some noise image here and three. So I just got stuck into that and kept on trying to get rid of it. Thx to @Seegs108 , he cleared many issues for me. He is a great help among others.

Then later I watched Oblivion. Then I watched The Hobbits the five armies. Oblivion was great but it did have a few scenes with some noise. Again Seegs assured me that it was the movie. Today, I watched the Hobbits. Woooowwwww. I don't even know where to begin. This movie looks absolutely spotless. Great image. Absolutely stunning. I thought that Sony 600ES was sharper but not anymore. The image in this movie over and over and over again just kept blowing me away. It is so good that it puts my televisions to a shame. I think only LG Oled can really stand above this projector (based on my experience).

From the beginning, I was very impressed with the contrast of this projector even though I am running it on -5. But I had my doubts about the sharpness. I even felt like I might not like this projector due to its sharpness. Now, my opinion is completely changed after watching Oblivion and Hobbits specially. My only concern with this projectors is that it will not make watching any source that much enjoyable that are not good in quality. Its just so good with good material that bad material will automatically look that bad.

So far, its just Mind blowing.I read some reviews about those playing around with 4K.I wonder how amazing it will look with UHD sources with 4K players. It will surely be a treat watching 4K on it.
For those who are deciding if they should go for Sony 4k(the models equivalent to 600es), I can telj you based on my experience, if the material is good, there is simply no comparison b/w the two. JVC is miles ahead of Sony.
Willie, henrich3 and IMDave like this.

Last edited by SherazNJ; 01-15-2016 at 03:00 PM.
SherazNJ is offline  
post #4710 of 32465 Old 01-15-2016, 02:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
indygreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: indianapolis
Posts: 1,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by brente View Post
Mike - I ran into the same issue. I did some testing and found that if you feed the projector a 4k/24 or 4k/30 signal, then the anamorphic setting is available (so works with the uh480), BUT if you feed the projector a 4k/60 signal, then the anamorphic setting is greyed out.

Is there a reason why the anamorphic setting shouldn't function with a 4k/60 signal?
all of this is pushing my decision to do some wall surgery, move the pj forward a bit and get rid of my a lens. the innability to use the motion enhance feature when the anamorphic is happening is another big drawback for me.

greg

-------------------------
Big Red Cinema Build
indygreg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
jvc-rs500u synch/display issue? , RS600

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off