Official JVC RS600 / RS500 (X950R / X750R - X9000 / X7000) Owners Thread - Page 242 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 84782Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7231 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,468
Mentioned: 241 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12502 Post(s)
Liked: 10128
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post
I think you mean not every thread (I'm scared of your bithead 7200/DTSx ones!). This might have just as much to do with the JVC as it does the 7200 (so I posted here in case some like me had this setup in order to get feedback on my issue; and of course deep color is off ).
There are a lot of people using the 7200 with one of the new JVC's. Craig uses it also.
Mike Garrett is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7232 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 08:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 16,312
Mentioned: 116 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6962 Post(s)
Liked: 8225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
There are a lot of people using the 7200 with one of the new JVC's. Craig uses it also.
I just downloaded the DTS:X firmware last night in fact !

[email protected] JVC RS4500, Lumagen Radiance Pro, Panamorph Paladin DCR lens, Stewart Luxus Model A ElectriScreens - 128" diagonal 2.35:1 ST130 & 122" diagonal 16:9 Cima Neve, Denon X8500, Parasound A 52+ amp, Martin Logan Motion series 9.4 speakers, four SVS subs, Panasonic UB820, Oppo 203, PFP M1500 UPS
Craig Peer is online now  
post #7233 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9,113
Mentioned: 326 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5430 Post(s)
Liked: 5623
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post
I think you mean not every thread (I'm scared of your bithead 7200/DTSx ones!). This might have just as much to do with the JVC as it does the 7200 (so I posted here in case some like me had this setup in order to get feedback on my issue; and of course deep color is off ).
I was just teasing, and practicing short answers (I'm very bad at that). Forget about the DTS:X thread, but there is very good support for X7200WA owners in the X7200W thread from people (owners like myself and very experienced audio guys like JDSmoothie, Batpig and others) who know these models inside out but are unlikely to ever visit this thread. Just saying it would be a good habit for you to ask non JVC related questions there, no one will bite you

There is no issue between the X7200WA and the JVCs. It's your cable. The bandwidth is likely going from 10.2 gb/s to 18gb/s because the X7200WA supports 18Gb/s. You didn't have the issue before because both the AVR and the rs57 were limited to 10.2gb/s. Then you replaced the PJ with the rs500 which support 18Gb/s, but as your AVR was still limited to 10.2gb/s, the cable still worked. When you replaced the AVR, that was the last bottleneck in the chain, so your cable had to deal for the first time with 18gb/s and it's not up to it.

While you're waiting for a better cable (check the HD fury thread, there are very few compatible cables depending on the length), you can use your HD Fury set to a 300Hz mode to force 10.2gb/s. As long as the faulty cable is AFTER the HD Fury, that should do it for a while. You'll be limited to 4K30p until you get a better cable.

See why I tried to keep it short?
billqs likes this.

Last edited by Manni01; 02-25-2016 at 08:44 AM.
Manni01 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7234 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 08:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,407
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni01 View Post
I was just teasing, and practicing short answers (I'm very bad at that). There is no issue between the X7200WA and the JVCs. It's your cable. The bandwidth is likely going from 10.2 gb/s to 18gb/s because the X7200WA supports 18Gb/s. You didn't have the issue before because both the AVR and the rs57 were limited to 10.2gb/s. Then you replaced the PJ with the rs500 which support 18Gb/s, but as your AVR was still limited to 10.2gb/s, the cable still worked. When you replaced the AVR, that was the last bottleneck in the chain, so your cable had to deal for the first time with 18gb/s and it's not up to it.

While you're waiting for a better cable (check the HD fury thread, there are very few compatible cables depending on the length), you can use your HD Fury set to a 300Hz mode to force 10.2gb/s. As long as the faulty cable is AFTER the HD Fury, that should do it for a while. You'll be limited to 4K30p until you get a better cable.


See why I tried to keep it short?
I had a similar problem when I replaced my Yamaha CX-A5000 with a CX-A5100 last year. The cables that worked fine with the 5000 created all sorts of strange HDMI handshake problems and bad images on the X750 with the 5100 (they were Redmere active cables). I replaced them with ethereal MHX passive cables certified at 18Gbs (by DPL Labs) and the problems went away.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is online now  
post #7235 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 09:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kkpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Is this the reason the projector takes so long in locking onto a signal? I am not running 4k either.
kkpro is offline  
post #7236 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 09:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,468
Mentioned: 241 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12502 Post(s)
Liked: 10128
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkpro View Post
Is this the reason the projector takes so long in locking onto a signal? I am not running 4k either.
Yes, this has something to do with it.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #7237 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 09:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kkpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Where is the link to which cables will work the best?
kkpro is offline  
post #7238 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 09:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jh901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PITTSBURGH
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni01 View Post

There is no issue between the X7200WA and the JVCs. It's your cable. The bandwidth is likely going from 10.2 gb/s to 18gb/s because the X7200WA supports 18Gb/s. You didn't have the issue before because both the AVR and the rs57 were limited to 10.2gb/s. Then you replaced the PJ with the rs500 which support 18Gb/s, but as your AVR was still limited to 10.2gb/s, the cable still worked. When you replaced the AVR, that was the last bottleneck in the chain, so your cable had to deal for the first time with 18gb/s and it's not up to it.
What about the situation where the video signal only is being passed directly to the projector- would you expect audio and video to lock at the same time? How can I tell if the video bandwidth is 18gb/s?

HT: Panasonic DP-UB820 | JVC RS600 | 106" x 45" Stewart ST 100 | Cary Audio Cinema 12 | NAD M27 | Elac Uni-Fi UF5, UC5, Debut F5/B6; Focal CMS Sub
STEREO: [Shunyata Denali] Playback Designs MPS-5 (fully upgraded) | Cary Audio SLP-05 tube line level | Cary Audio SA-200.2 ES | Focal Diablo Utopia III DEN: 60" Panasonic VT60
jh901 is offline  
post #7239 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Roger Mathus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Pacific Northwest - Oregon
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Samsung has updated the 8500 firmware to 1003 as of today. Not sure what it fixes? Still no menu on JVC upon start-up.
Roger Mathus is offline  
post #7240 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 10:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 743 Post(s)
Liked: 123
I am confused with the model name, RS600, X950R, RS600U etc? Could someone clarify it ? Is RS600 the same as X950R? Sorry for silly question. Thanks.
Roudan is offline  
post #7241 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 10:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jh901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PITTSBURGH
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roudan View Post
I am confused with the model name, RS600, X950R, RS600U etc? Could someone clarify it ? Is RS600 the same as X950R? Sorry for silly question. Thanks.
DLA-RS600U
RS600
DLA-X950R
X950
DLA-X9000
X9000

Same projector. Flagship of JVC's Reference line.

I wonder if JVC will drop e-shift once they introduce full 4K. If not, then that will really create confusion!
Roudan likes this.

HT: Panasonic DP-UB820 | JVC RS600 | 106" x 45" Stewart ST 100 | Cary Audio Cinema 12 | NAD M27 | Elac Uni-Fi UF5, UC5, Debut F5/B6; Focal CMS Sub
STEREO: [Shunyata Denali] Playback Designs MPS-5 (fully upgraded) | Cary Audio SLP-05 tube line level | Cary Audio SA-200.2 ES | Focal Diablo Utopia III DEN: 60" Panasonic VT60
jh901 is offline  
post #7242 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 11:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 6,994
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 985 Post(s)
Liked: 993
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
There are a lot of people using the 7200 with one of the new JVC's. Craig uses it also.
FYI - I'm using the Denon X6200W with by JVC RS600 and Samsung K8500 and that combo works well (or at least as well as can be expected). Just got my DTS-X firmware update for the X6200W last week, but even without that update it appears the inputs/output were HDMI 2.0a compliant as they already handled HDR from the K8500.


By the way I got a firmware update to the K8500 today. It doesn't appear to address any of the additional menu options (e.g., user choice of 4:2:0, 4:2:2 in addition to 4:4:4 or the ability to turn HDR off) that we have been asking for.
krichter1 and MJV29 like this.

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com

Last edited by Ron Jones; 02-25-2016 at 01:19 PM.
Ron Jones is offline  
post #7243 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 11:18 AM
Senior Member
 
promike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Taylor Mill, KY
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by napa_newbie View Post
hello - I bought the rs-232 cables. What OS will be compatible with the firmware update?
Windows 7 is what I have read.

Speakers: Klipsch RF-7II(2), RC-64II, RS-62II(2), RP-160M(2), Velodyne HGS-15, HSU VTF-15H, Atlantic Technology IC-6-OBA(4)
AVP: Yamaha CX-A5100, BJC certified cables
Amps: Emotiva XPA-5(2), XPA-3
Oppo UDP-203, Roku Ultra, Nvidia Shield, Sony UBP-X800
JVC DLA-RS540K, (132" screen), Vizio P75-C1 and Vizio SB4551-D5 Soundbar
promike is offline  
post #7244 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 11:55 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Moderator
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 25,060
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1627 Post(s)
Liked: 2234
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkpro View Post
Is this the reason the projector takes so long in locking onto a signal? I am not running 4k either.
I used to have issues with my JVC 57 not being able to sync with my redmere cable. Since that time I've been using the following combo:

658 Commercial Silver Series High Speed HDMI® Cable, 6ft Black 1
10225 HDBaseT™ Extender Kit 1
3660 Commercial Silver Series High Speed HDMI® Cable, 15ft Black 1
5906 Cat6A 24AWG STP Ethernet Network Patch Cable, 75ft Blue

I purchased this from Monoprice. I've not had any issues syncing with my RS500.

Ron
rboster is offline  
post #7245 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 12:04 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,468
Mentioned: 241 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12502 Post(s)
Liked: 10128
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by rboster View Post
I used to have issues with my JVC 57 not being able to sync with my redmere cable. Since that time I've been using the following combo:

658 Commercial Silver Series High Speed HDMI® Cable, 6ft Black 1
10225 HDBaseT™ Extender Kit 1
3660 Commercial Silver Series High Speed HDMI® Cable, 15ft Black 1
5906 Cat6A 24AWG STP Ethernet Network Patch Cable, 75ft Blue

I purchased this from Monoprice. I've not had any issues syncing with my RS500.

Ron
I agree. No one should be having sync issues with the new JVC's, other than slow to sync. If you are losing sync, then you most likely need to be looking at your cables.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #7246 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 01:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 5,985
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1465 Post(s)
Liked: 2285
The HDBaseT won't work with 12bit 4:4:4 signals though, so it won't synch with the Samsung menus.

David Vaughn Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)
Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #7247 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 02:13 PM
Member
 
ohioratrodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How much noticeable will the black levels be on the rs500 vs rs400 in a blacked out light controlled room. I am coming from a vw500es and that's about my only reference for black level. I thought I was going to get a rs500 till it seems like uhd blu ray may need another year or so and with dsl Internet only I won't be streaming 4k any time soon. So I have been thinking about getting a rs400 instead and upgrading again in a year or 2 but don't know if that will be a huge leap over the vw500es
ohioratrodder is offline  
post #7248 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 02:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
alebonau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Land of Contentment :)
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1889 Post(s)
Liked: 1290
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkpro View Post
Is this the reason the projector takes so long in locking onto a signal? I am not running 4k either.
visiting a friends who also has an x7000 and running an older integra pre pro/older oppo combo....I noticed a much delayed synch. so do thing source / whats feeding perhaps related to the synch time. its definitely slower than the two generation older jvc I had....but this is later hdmi spec so am not sure if supposed to go with the territory but not something bothered me too much as usually takes me a little time after switch on to get settled.

"Technology is a drug. We can't get enough of it."


Welcome to my lounge room :)
alebonau is offline  
post #7249 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 02:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,468
Mentioned: 241 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12502 Post(s)
Liked: 10128
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohioratrodder View Post
How much noticeable will the black levels be on the rs500 vs rs400 in a blacked out light controlled room. I am coming from a vw500es and that's about my only reference for black level. I thought I was going to get a rs500 till it seems like uhd blu ray may need another year or so and with dsl Internet only I won't be streaming 4k any time soon. So I have been thinking about getting a rs400 instead and upgrading again in a year or 2 but don't know if that will be a huge leap over the vw500es
Black level on the 400 is better than the VW500. Black level on the 500 is quite a bit better than the 400. At times with my 600, it is hard to tell if the masking is in place or not.
krichter1 and MJV29 like this.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #7250 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 02:31 PM
 
SherazNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,048
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1210 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohioratrodder View Post
How much noticeable will the black levels be on the rs500 vs rs400 in a blacked out light controlled room. I am coming from a vw500es and that's about my only reference for black level. I thought I was going to get a rs500 till it seems like uhd blu ray may need another year or so and with dsl Internet only I won't be streaming 4k any time soon. So I have been thinking about getting a rs400 instead and upgrading again in a year or 2 but don't know if that will be a huge leap over the vw500es
I migrated from VW600ES to RS500 and am very happy. No comparison of black levels b/w the two (IMHO). To me, RS500 is miles ahead. Can't say much about rs400 though since I have never seen it.
SherazNJ is offline  
post #7251 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 02:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ed Weinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
WCG = wide color gamut. HDR ( High Dynamic Range ) is seemingly better used on 4K HDTV's that are much brighter than projectors. HDR from the Samsung seems to want to put the JVC in high lamp. What is being said is that we would like more control over exactly what is being sent from the 4K player, to better match the capabilities of our projectors. There is quite a bit of fine tuning to be done in the industry regarding 4k capable projectors and 4K UHD players. At least that's the best I can explain it on my first cup of coffee this morning.
Thanks, Craig
(Have a second cup on me....not literally!)
Ed Weinman is offline  
post #7252 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 02:46 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Moderator
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 25,060
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1627 Post(s)
Liked: 2234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Vaughn View Post
The HDBaseT won't work with 12bit 4:4:4 signals though, so it won't synch with the Samsung menus.
I didn't think so...I suggested it only because the member said they weren't sending 4k to the projector. I don't think HDBaseT has developed anything that can handle 4k?? If so, I assume that's not to far down the road for them?
rboster is offline  
post #7253 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 02:49 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,538
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6668 Post(s)
Liked: 6658
Quote:
Originally Posted by RigorousXChris View Post
Anyone use Chad B's calibration service? I'm debating waiting for him vs. going with a ISF guy locally.
Guy below just got his done a few days back, wonder how his went ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by SherazNJ View Post
on 23rd. Will update either tomorrow or day after.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #7254 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 03:03 PM
 
SherazNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,048
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1210 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Guy below just got his done a few days back, wonder how his went ???
Yep. He was at my place on 23rd. He came in around 5. I had a lot of questions for him which cause a delay for him to start but I think he started calibration around 5:30. It took a while before he was done. He left my place at 3 a.m. Chad is very thorough with his process. If he's not happy with the result, he'll just keep on working. Even this late at night, after he was done calibrating, he spent time fixing my screen/projector to make sure they are 100% aligned. He also took care of sharpness/convergence for me for both 16:9 and 2.40 aspects.

I'd recommend him. He's a great video calibrator and won't leave until results are satisfactory.
krichter1 and emergetech like this.
SherazNJ is offline  
post #7255 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 03:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Carrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 466 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Want to know if I should get a K8500 before ChadB gets to my home in April? Does he need it or will his calibration work whether or not I have a UHD player?
Carrick is offline  
post #7256 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 03:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 5,985
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1465 Post(s)
Liked: 2285
Quote:
Originally Posted by rboster View Post
I didn't think so...I suggested it only because the member said they weren't sending 4k to the projector. I don't think HDBaseT has developed anything that can handle 4k?? If so, I assume that's not to far down the road for them?
They can handle 4K, but it depends on the bitrate. I have an Atlona AT-UHD-EX-70-2PS, which can do the following resolutions:

4096×[email protected]/25/30/50*/60Hz*, 3840×[email protected]/25/30/50*/60Hz*, 2048x1080p, [email protected]/24/25/29.97/30/50/59.94/60Hz, [email protected]/59.94/60Hz, [email protected]/59.94/60Hz, 576p, 576i, 480p, 480i

But notice the *, that's because * 4096×[email protected]/60Hz & 3840×[email protected]/60Hz supported @ chroma subsampling 4:2:0 8-bit only

So the menus from the Samsung won't work at all, since they are 12 Bit 4:4:4. The chips haven't been released yet that can handle full 4:4:4 RGB...we'll probably see them sometime this year. It's why I also have another HDMI cable run and may even run one more through my chain as a backup.

HDMI sucks!
rboster likes this.

David Vaughn Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)
Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #7257 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 04:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
millerwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 12,087
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 614 Post(s)
Liked: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
....At times with my 600, it is hard to tell if the masking is in place or not.
Same with me, Mike. The black level is so good that I'm getting lazy, and unless it something special I often don't bother putting in my manual masking panels when switching to a 2.35 pic from 16x9. (This was not the case with my Sony1100.)
millerwill is offline  
post #7258 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 04:21 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,468
Mentioned: 241 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12502 Post(s)
Liked: 10128
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by millerwill View Post
Same with me, Mike. The black level is so good that I'm getting lazy, and unless it something special I often don't bother putting in my manual masking panels when switching to a 2.35 pic from 16x9. (This was not the case with my Sony1100.)
I am not that lazy yet. I still push the button.
R Harkness likes this.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #7259 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 06:30 PM
Blu-ray Reviewer
Moderator
 
Ralph Potts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Middletown NY
Posts: 14,022
Mentioned: 87 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1679 Post(s)
Liked: 6106
Quote:
Originally Posted by promike View Post
Windows 7 is what I have read.
Greetings,

Well that was with the FW released for the last series two years ago now. Let's hope that they test with a newer OS than that. I no longer own any Win 7 machines.


Regards,
Tom Bley likes this.

Ralph C. Potts
Blu-ray Reviewer
My Home Theater
Follow me on Twitter @RalphAVSreviews
Ralph Potts is offline  
post #7260 of 32099 Old 02-25-2016, 06:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tom Bley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IL. USA
Posts: 3,420
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 916 Post(s)
Liked: 893
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph Potts View Post
Greetings,

Well that was with the FW released for the last series two years ago now. Let's hope that they test with a newer OS than that. I no longer own any Win 7 machines.


Regards,
Same here. I'm at 8 and want to go to 10 sometime in the near future.
Tom Bley is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
jvc-rs500u synch/display issue? , RS600

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off