Official JVC RS600 / RS500 (X950R / X750R - X9000 / X7000) Owners Thread - Page 901 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 84691Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #27001 of 31979 Old 10-22-2017, 03:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,849
Mentioned: 475 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6791 Post(s)
Liked: 6418
Quote:
Originally Posted by asharma View Post
Hey folks...I’m going to run an Autocal for the first time ever A couple questions:

1) do I need to re run my Arve curves after the Autocal ie. re calibrate black levels with boo, bbi?
2) my tripod is only 58” high, almost but not quite Center height of the screen, does it matter?
3) 300 high lamp hours on my x950...should it look any brighter after Autocal on high lamp, bt2020, iris wide open?

Thanks folks...

Edit: ignore the 2nd question...tripod is high enough
1: Yes, BBO is what may change. The curves themselves rely on the projectors baseline gamma being correct so you need to make sure you correct the Normal gamma.
3: It will probably actually be slightly dimmer, but accurate. There is a chance it will be brighter, but most Spyder 5 units eat a little bit of the peak white output during calibration. I have two that do this.
asharma likes this.

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27002 of 31979 Old 10-22-2017, 05:33 PM
Senior Member
 
mzs22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBenavides View Post
I have more than one JVC X*50R owners in the Dallas Area ready to pay a calibrator (they all have the same issue I do), but when I email Chad's scheduler he said he is only going to the West Coast, and nothing else scheduled for awhile. So no luck for him to visit me.

i have been trying REALLY hard to follow advice from here for awhile, but I'm stuck in HDR hell without a calibrator. Is ChadB the only person that can work on these puppies? I've been told that if I don't use ChadB the forum members will blame an incompetent calibration as the reason I continue to have the same issue, so I really want to avoid that!

Any recommendations? Anyone else work on these at all that forum members approve? i have more than one person interested.

thanks!
https://www.accucalav.com/
mzs22 is offline  
post #27003 of 31979 Old 10-22-2017, 06:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 17
thanks. have you used him before?

I know it's bad to mention this subject, but has he fixed a 'too dark in HDR" problem for others on JVC line?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mzs22 View Post
RBenavides is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27004 of 31979 Old 10-22-2017, 06:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Monkey_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: East Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 1,349
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 62
I need to do the firmware update. Remind me if I need to backup my custom profiles and will I lose my lens shift memory. I don’t remember doing this with my past JVC’s firmware updates but it has been awhile.
Monkey_Man is offline  
post #27005 of 31979 Old 10-22-2017, 06:39 PM
Senior Member
 
mzs22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBenavides View Post
thanks. have you used him before?

I know it's bad to mention this subject, but has he fixed a 'too dark in HDR" problem for others on JVC line?
I have used him in the past ,but I have not had my 770 for that long and have not had it calibrated yet. He dialed in my Epson and has also done my audio. Highly recommended. I believe Jeff is very familiar with the JVC projectors, your best bet would be to contact him on his website.
mzs22 is offline  
post #27006 of 31979 Old 10-22-2017, 07:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RonF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sunny SoCal
Posts: 2,091
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by mzs22 View Post
I have used him in the past ,but I have not had my 770 for that long and have not had it calibrated yet. He dialed in my Epson and has also done my audio. Highly recommended. I believe Jeff is very familiar with the JVC projectors, your best bet would be to contact him on his website.
According to Manni, Kris Deering, Zombie and everyone else most familiar with JVC auto cal and use of Arve's tool ....these are required to absolutely optimize at least the older 2015 JVCs for their HDR capabilities. I don't know about this year's new ones. Be sure to talk to Jeff about this as he is of a different opinion or at least he was about 6 weeks ago when I asked those questions. Jeff has done wonderful Rec 709 calibrations for me in the past.
nathan_h likes this.

Last edited by RonF; 10-22-2017 at 07:26 PM.
RonF is offline  
post #27007 of 31979 Old 10-22-2017, 07:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonF View Post
According to Manni, Kris Deering, Zombie and everyone else most familiar with JVC auto cal and use of Arve's tool ....these are required to absolutely optimize at least the older 2015 JVCs for their HDR capabilities. I don't know about this year's new ones. Be sure to talk to Jeff about this as he is of a different opinion or at least he was about 6 weeks ago when I asked those questions. Jeff has done wonderful Rec 709 calibrations for me in the past.
So logical extension is that only those familiar with JVC AutoCal and Arve's tool can properly calibrate a JVC X750R, which is what I have. Man, talk about lucking into a really limiting particular projector situation!

I'll contact the suggestions I've been given, thanks!
RBenavides is offline  
post #27008 of 31979 Old 10-22-2017, 08:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Earth (most days!)
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2096 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javs View Post
1: Yes, BBO is what may change. The curves themselves rely on the projectors baseline gamma being correct so you need to make sure you correct the Normal gamma.
3: It will probably actually be slightly dimmer, but accurate. There is a chance it will be brighter, but most Spyder 5 units eat a little bit of the peak white output during calibration. I have two that do this.
This is a very important point too Javs... those I see lately writing about "calibrating" "customizing" their gammas without first starting from a calibrated baseline (especially at the very least a corrected WB), aren't getting the right results from the imported gammas for HDR.
atabea likes this.

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


==> Our 4K/3D Immersive Theater
krichter1 is offline  
post #27009 of 31979 Old 10-22-2017, 08:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Jeffg8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 75
All the Sony "banding" conversation makes me wonder if I shouldn't just leave my RS600 hanging. Scheduled Thr/Friday to change a bunch of stuff including the RS600 to a Sony 385es. Not much of a gamer however I have a Xbox One X preordered...and a Xbox one currently hooked up. I'm not really sure why you would watch a movie at the 60hz. Missed Chad B by a day after waiting 6 months and deciding to upgrade but really beginning to think relamp the RS600 with the bulb I already have and wait and see. Had the RS640 preorder ready and went Sony last minute. Just thinking out loud..

Dedicated Theater -Projector -Sony 385es-Screen-Stewart Firehawk 110" 1.78-Video-Panasonic UB-900, Direct Tv-Preamp-Anthem AVM-60-Amplifiers-MM8077, Proceed Amp 5-Sub-SVS-PB13 Ultra Speakers-B&W 803D, HTM1, Side and Rear Wall B&W (4), Ceiling B&W (4)
Xbox One -Panamax M5300-PM-Control 4 Ea-5,Pakedge Router
Jeffg8 is online now  
post #27010 of 31979 Old 10-22-2017, 09:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 15,769
Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6612 Post(s)
Liked: 7674
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffg8 View Post
All the Sony "banding" conversation makes me wonder if I shouldn't just leave my RS600 hanging. Scheduled Thr/Friday to change a bunch of stuff including the RS600 to a Sony 385es. Not much of a gamer however I have a Xbox One X preordered...and a Xbox one currently hooked up. I'm not really sure why you would watch a movie at the 60hz. Missed Chad B by a day after waiting 6 months and deciding to upgrade but really beginning to think relamp the RS600 with the bulb I already have and wait and see. Had the RS640 preorder ready and went Sony last minute. Just thinking out loud..
Switch back to the RS640 - you can even use the same mount you currently have. Easy upgrade.
krichter1 likes this.
Craig Peer is online now  
post #27011 of 31979 Old 10-23-2017, 01:05 AM
Member
 
MrDiegoRU-SPB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yesterday tried to connect JVC to my HTPC(gtx1050ti via HDMI)and have some questions.

the setup is:
JVC x9000 -> HDMI cabble(a) -> marantz7009 avr -> HDMI(b) -> source

as source i got tried Panny 900, HTPC, Zidoo x10 android box.


When connected to HTPC via Marantz i cant set in windows geforce manager 4k60 in any variations - not in 422, not in 444, not 8 or 12 bits. Its "no signal" on any variant.
But in 4k30 easily works even in [email protected]

The "strange" that because when i connect JVC and cabble(a) directly in panny or zidoo it works in 4k60 with no problems.

So looks like Marantz cant handle this signal? i cant check direct JVC->HTPC, its not enough cable length for that
MrDiegoRU-SPB is offline  
post #27012 of 31979 Old 10-23-2017, 01:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,089
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1368 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDiegoRU-SPB View Post
Yesterday tried to connect JVC to my HTPC(gtx1050ti via HDMI)and have some questions.
It could be your receiver, but Marantz.com says it supports 4K/60 4:4:4. I wouldn't be surprised if this was a cable issue. Even though the 7009 isn't a HDCP 2.2 receiver, this is probably the first time your cables are seeing this kind of bandwidth from your PC. I suggest replacing every single HDMI cable in your setup. Every. Single. One. You could get away with just buying a new HDMI cable from the PC to the receiver and the receiver to the projector, but you'll have to remember to replace everything when you buy a new receiver or you'll have 'problems' again.

When I upgraded to a 4K setup, I replaced ALL of my HDMI cables so I NEVER have to worry about this again. Zero problems.

Read this: 4K HDMI Cable Choice Matters
Dreamliner is online now  
post #27013 of 31979 Old 10-23-2017, 02:13 AM
Member
 
MrDiegoRU-SPB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 12
my (a) cable works fine 4k60 via direct connection. (b) cable works the same (they all one label made) 4k60 when connected directly. the only problem when Marantz appear in the way)
i cant change (a) cable because its laid above a curtain ceiling, same as atmos speakers acoustic cables.
MrDiegoRU-SPB is offline  
post #27014 of 31979 Old 10-23-2017, 04:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
996911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBenavides View Post
thanks. have you used him before?

I know it's bad to mention this subject, but has he fixed a 'too dark in HDR" problem for others on JVC line?
No, as he is NOT familiar with the RS500/600 gamma requirements for HDR. I asked him this and, as has been said, he has a different opinion on this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mzs22 View Post
I have used him in the past ,but I have not had my 770 for that long and have not had it calibrated yet. He dialed in my Epson and has also done my audio. Highly recommended. I believe Jeff is very familiar with the JVC projectors, your best bet would be to contact him on his website.
Yes and no. He may be familiar with the JVCs (and able to do a great job with Rec709) but he is NOT familiar or experienced with the gamma requirements for HDR on these machines.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RonF View Post
According to Manni, Kris Deering, Zombie and everyone else most familiar with JVC auto cal and use of Arve's tool ....these are required to absolutely optimize at least the older 2015 JVCs for their HDR capabilities. I don't know about this year's new ones. Be sure to talk to Jeff about this as he is of a different opinion or at least he was about 6 weeks ago when I asked those questions. Jeff has done wonderful Rec 709 calibrations for me in the past.
Correct, he is of a different opinion.....*see above responses*

Cheers,
Ray
996911 is offline  
post #27015 of 31979 Old 10-23-2017, 06:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2384
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
I believe there was a cutoff date for Linker/Integral purchases that could be applied towards a discount on the Vertex.
Yup, there is, when they ship.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDiegoRU-SPB View Post
my (a) cable works fine 4k60 via direct connection. (b) cable works the same (they all one label made) 4k60 when connected directly. the only problem when Marantz appear in the way)
i cant change (a) cable because its laid above a curtain ceiling, same as atmos speakers acoustic cables.
I know it's not intuitively obvious, but just because a cable works between two devices, doesn't mean it will work between two other devices. It's not uncommon for a marginal cable to work between two devices, and fail when used between two other devices. It could be that your PC has a "stronger" output than your Marantz and that the Marantz can't successfully get the signal to the projector, while the video card can overcome the marginal cable, for example.
Dreamliner likes this.
stanger89 is offline  
post #27016 of 31979 Old 10-23-2017, 11:30 AM
Member
 
MrDiegoRU-SPB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 12
yes, i think its signal strengh from Marantz not enough to pass for 17m cable. Its not a real problem, i wont use HTPC for media streaming after receiving Himedia q10.
the reason i not sad also because i understand and want to get new AVR/processor for HDR/2020 native and ofcourse powerfull hdmi cables will be)
MrDiegoRU-SPB is offline  
post #27017 of 31979 Old 10-23-2017, 05:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,015
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1623 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javs View Post
1: Yes, BBO is what may change. The curves themselves rely on the projectors baseline gamma being correct so you need to make sure you correct the Normal gamma.
3: It will probably actually be slightly dimmer, but accurate. There is a chance it will be brighter, but most Spyder 5 units eat a little bit of the peak white output during calibration. I have two that do this.
Hey javs, ran my Autocal...checked black levels on Arve curves...all intact as pre Autocal as resolving down to bar 81 flashing and bar 77 not...all good!

Edit: I seem to have more color pop as pre Autocal I had color set to 5 for pop, color is now 0 and lots of pop...
krichter1 and Javs like this.

Video:JVC N7 Sony 85” 900F Sony 55” 900F
Audio: Paradigm Prestige 95, 55C, 15b Dual JL Audio D110
Receiver/Amp: Anthem 1120, Emotiva XPA-5 Gen 2
Source: Panasonic UB820
Triple black velvet bat cave
asharma is online now  
post #27018 of 31979 Old 10-23-2017, 06:48 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2384
Quote:
Originally Posted by asharma View Post
Edit: I seem to have more color pop as pre Autocal I had color set to 5 for pop, color is now 0 and lots of pop...
Sounds like you had some gamma droop.
stanger89 is offline  
post #27019 of 31979 Old 10-23-2017, 06:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,015
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1623 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Sounds like you had some gamma droop.
Only 325 high lamp hours on bulb...

Video:JVC N7 Sony 85” 900F Sony 55” 900F
Audio: Paradigm Prestige 95, 55C, 15b Dual JL Audio D110
Receiver/Amp: Anthem 1120, Emotiva XPA-5 Gen 2
Source: Panasonic UB820
Triple black velvet bat cave
asharma is online now  
post #27020 of 31979 Old 10-23-2017, 07:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RonF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sunny SoCal
Posts: 2,091
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Wow... that is really great news Coach! Sounds like Chad has once again done his magic!

I'll have to have him back to setup a few more gamma choices too but this time it'll have to be AFTER we get to our new home in your area (found a fantastic house on the 6th hole of the Tanasi golf course in Tellico Lake (Loudon), and just across the street from the lake to boot!)!

As you know I've been silent the last month due this whole Tennessee trip thing and once we found our dream home, then having to work to get ours up for sale once we got back after Labor Day it's all but encompassed every passing minute of our lives these days (I HATE this whole process and I said the last time 9 years ago this would BE our last time! ).

Now if we can only get our house sold in this soooft ars market we'll be moving down your way and I'll have to start this whole process of a theater room all over again (can't believe I'm doing this... Uhhhggg... but at least the house has a huge 30x24' room w/ 8' ceilings in the lower level to accommodate a nice big one this time!)... [/quote]

Wow Kevin .... congrats on the beautiful house on the golf course overlooking the lake. You have "arrived". Seriously that is really nice!

krichter1 likes this.
RonF is offline  
post #27021 of 31979 Old 10-23-2017, 08:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Earth (most days!)
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2096 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonF View Post

Wow Kevin .... congrats on the beautiful house on the golf course overlooking the lake. You have "arrived". Seriously that is really nice!


Hey thanks Ron! We just found out our house sold today so this looks like it's going to happen after all! I'm gonna need a lot of "Coach"ing help when get there I know that!

Dang man... you're gone make me wanna go back to church with that pic! Wow-eee. .

(I know reposting others pictures is a No-No but with hers I couldn't resist... yeah I know... I'm waiting for the lightning from above to strike me down!).
RonF likes this.

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


==> Our 4K/3D Immersive Theater
krichter1 is offline  
post #27022 of 31979 Old 10-24-2017, 10:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2384
Well, looks like I'll be part of this family a while longer. The initial 640 impressions are "not positive enough" to convince me it's worth the upgrade so I 'll be sticking with my RS600 for a while. Now I just need my vertex to show up.
Tom Bley, mbw23air and krichter1 like this.
stanger89 is offline  
post #27023 of 31979 Old 10-24-2017, 10:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
996911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Well, looks like I'll be part of this family a while longer. The initial 640 impressions are "not positive enough" to convince me it's worth the upgrade so I 'll be sticking with my RS600 for a while. Now I just need my vertex to show up.
could you elaborate on "not positive enough"

Cheers,
Ray
996911 is offline  
post #27024 of 31979 Old 10-24-2017, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 2,351
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1146 Post(s)
Liked: 669
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Well, looks like I'll be part of this family a while longer. The initial 640 impressions are "not positive enough" to convince me it's worth the upgrade so I 'll be sticking with my RS600 for a while. Now I just need my vertex to show up.
Care to give more details? Was looking to upgrade to a RS540 in 2018.

Looks like @996911 beat me to it
johnson636 is offline  
post #27025 of 31979 Old 10-24-2017, 10:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2384
Basically, looks like PQ wise, it would be a nearly lateral move from my RS600. Contrast, brightness, lens are all the same. e-Shift 5 sounds like a real improvement, but a subtle one at best with real world content. Also the initial reports are that the DI works the same with HDR as on our machines (with the Linker stripping HDR). So the improvements all seem to be ergonomic to me, DI in HDR, usable HDR presets, etc I've already got all that with my RS600+ Linker, though of course it was more work (Arve's tool, Linker, etc).

All that's not saying anything bad about the x40's of course, but I was hoping (probably unrealistically) for more of an improvement from e-Shift 5 and for a more HDR optimized DI. They don't sound like duds or anything (though Javs might have a bit of a dud), but more like what you'd expect from a few refinements to the existing platform, which just isn't enough for me to justify the cost. When I originally preordered a 540, I was assuming about a net $1000 upgrade cost after selling my 600 (and maybe break even if I sold my Planar too), but once I changed to the 640, and with the lack of interest in my 600 it was looking like more than a $3000 net cost. Which personally is too much just to get low lag mode and some ergonomic improvements.
mbw23air likes this.
stanger89 is offline  
post #27026 of 31979 Old 10-24-2017, 11:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 2,351
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1146 Post(s)
Liked: 669
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
with the lack of interest in my 600 it was looking like more than a $3000 net cost. Which personally is too much just to get low lag mode and some ergonomic improvements.
One could argue that the longer we wait to sell our RS500/600, the less resell value they'll have At least that's my dilemma.
johnson636 is offline  
post #27027 of 31979 Old 10-24-2017, 12:04 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2384
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnson636 View Post
One could argue that the longer we wait to sell our RS500/600, the less resell value they'll have At least that's my dilemma.
Personally I don't go into a projector purchase assuming any sort of future resale value, and then any resale I get is a bonus. Of course at the same time, I have to weight the net cost (including selling the old one) vs the expected benefits.
erkq likes this.
stanger89 is offline  
post #27028 of 31979 Old 10-24-2017, 12:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12,716
Mentioned: 159 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5235 Post(s)
Liked: 5486
resale is already done with 2 generations old now. major kudos to @Javs for showing great objective info between the new model and last gen (same as our e-shift 4).

I like the RS600 even more now as this series was the first major change in a while for brightness, HDR capabilities + WCG, e-shift 4 improvements vs. previous implementations, etc.

We just watched Spiderman Homecoming 3D twice this past weekend, guests were loving the 3D and overall picture quality. Then an HDR presentation with Apollo 13 which has never looked better than the recent UHD release.

bring on the Vertex and a few more years of enjoyment until some groundbreaking updates under 10K. I still have 3 years of warranty left
mbw23air, krichter1, Ted99 and 3 others like this.
zombie10k is online now  
post #27029 of 31979 Old 10-24-2017, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2384
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post
bring on the Vertex and a few more years of enjoyment until some groundbreaking updates under 10K. I still have 3 years of warranty left
Yup, I plan to put the Vertex between my MRX1120 and my Planar 8150 and RS600. I'll have the Vertex scale everything to 1080p for the Planar.

I even had the radical idea of trying to use my Radiance XE to do an HDR cal for my Planar just for fun It should be possible with a cube calibration and with the multi-point gamma cal, though not sure it's worth the trouble.
stanger89 is offline  
post #27030 of 31979 Old 10-24-2017, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
COACH2369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 3,407
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1168 Post(s)
Liked: 986
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonF View Post
Wow... that is really great news Coach! Sounds like Chad has once again done his magic!

I'll have to have him back to setup a few more gamma choices too but this time it'll have to be AFTER we get to our new home in your area (found a fantastic house on the 6th hole of the Tanasi golf course in Tellico Lake (Loudon), and just across the street from the lake to boot!)!

As you know I've been silent the last month due this whole Tennessee trip thing and once we found our dream home, then having to work to get ours up for sale once we got back after Labor Day it's all but encompassed every passing minute of our lives these days (I HATE this whole process and I said the last time 9 years ago this would BE our last time! ).

Now if we can only get our house sold in this soooft ars market we'll be moving down your way and I'll have to start this whole process of a theater room all over again (can't believe I'm doing this... Uhhhggg... but at least the house has a huge 30x24' room w/ 8' ceilings in the lower level to accommodate a nice big one this time!)...
Wow Kevin .... congrats on the beautiful house on the golf course overlooking the lake. You have "arrived". Seriously that is really nice!

[/QUOTE]

Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post
Hey thanks Ron! We just found out our house sold today so this looks like it's going to happen after all! I'm gonna need a lot of "Coach"ing help when get there I know that!

Dang man... you're gone make me wanna go back to church with that pic! Wow-eee. .

(I know reposting others pictures is a No-No but with hers I couldn't resist... yeah I know... I'm waiting for the lightning from above to strike me down!).
So both of you guys are heading to Tennessee? If so, it sounds like you guys are going to be neighbors and we have almost doubled out Knoxville HTE group. lol
COACH2369 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
jvc-rs500u synch/display issue? , RS600

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off