JVC Calibration Software V6 For 2015 Models (X9000,X7000,X5000,RS400,RS500,RS600) - Page 146 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1288Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4351 of 4381 Old 03-27-2020, 11:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,527
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6133 Post(s)
Liked: 2545
Quote:
Originally Posted by tswire View Post
So trying to follow this. The i1DisplayPro which currently is not compatible with JVC Autocal software is now working with this hack. I have x770 and I think autocal 9. This would be the best way to do a calibration for colour and gamma on your own? Where’s the best place in Canada to pick one up Dominic?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The hack has been tested with Autocal 7 and Autocal 11; there’s no reason why it wouldn’t work with the in-between versions.

Sorry but I can’t recommend a place to buy. In Canada the price seems to be very close to the new Plus version. Ordering from the US may work out cheaper.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 03-27-2020 at 08:44 PM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4352 of 4381 Old 03-30-2020, 10:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Going to be doing my first autocal, I have already calibrated it manually so do I need to reset colour profile and colour temp back to factory default setting or does it not affect the autocal process?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
johnnyboy632 is offline  
post #4353 of 4381 Old 03-31-2020, 12:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SirMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1221 Post(s)
Liked: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyboy632 View Post
Going to be doing my first autocal, I have already calibrated it manually so do I need to reset colour profile and colour temp back to factory default setting or does it not affect the autocal process?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You definitely want to reset the projector to default settings before doing an autocal.

Technically it will work either way, but it will calibrate your current settings to reference.

Wouldn’t you rather have the default zeroed out settings be reference?
johnnyboy632 likes this.
SirMaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4354 of 4381 Old 03-31-2020, 02:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,527
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6133 Post(s)
Liked: 2545
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyboy632 View Post
Going to be doing my first autocal, I have already calibrated it manually so do I need to reset colour profile and colour temp back to factory default setting or does it not affect the autocal process?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The manual settings do not affect the actual calibration, but their effects will be reflected in the Autocal log, making it harder to judge the results shown in the log

Those previous settings will no longer be valid after Autocal in any case, so you might well reset them before rather than after running Autocal.
johnnyboy632 likes this.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 03-31-2020 at 12:37 PM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4355 of 4381 Old 04-01-2020, 02:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 9
JVC Calibration Software V6 For 2015 Models (X9000,X7000,X5000,RS400,RS500,RS600)

My first autocal gamma/colour. anyone know if these are good results. Should I keep or try again




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
johnnyboy632 is offline  
post #4356 of 4381 Old 04-01-2020, 09:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,527
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6133 Post(s)
Liked: 2545
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyboy632 View Post
Ok this is where it gets confusing for me, because autocal only calibrates one colour temp only, is that correct? so do I have to manually calibrate using a custom colour temp with 6500k correction value for the picture modes that use a different iris? That means the autocal calibration I did wouldn’t apply to the new custom colour temp.
If you have done colour Autocal properly for all the mode/iris settings that you need, they should all read pretty much the same, so you only need one custom colour for manual correction.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4357 of 4381 Old 04-01-2020, 09:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 9
JVC Calibration Software V6 For 2015 Models (X9000,X7000,X5000,RS400,RS500,RS600)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
If you have done colour Autocal properly for all the mode/iris settings that you need, they should all read pretty much the same, so you only need one custom colour for manual correction.

Yes so I did a full gamma/colour temp cal then ran colour only cal for each color profile with the specific iris setting that I am using for each user mode. after each cal the results showed that each colour profile and iris setting tracked pretty much the same at approx 6500k going by the results diagram before saving. Am I correct in saying that it should be ok to keep the same 6500k preset for all modes? So what specifically is getting adjusted when doing an color autocal only? Cheers


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by johnnyboy632; 04-01-2020 at 10:00 PM.
johnnyboy632 is offline  
post #4358 of 4381 Old 04-02-2020, 01:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I made today full calibration according to Manni guide.
In the first calibration (gamma+color) I got really good result and all the dots appears exactly on D65.
In the next step, (color, lens aperture, cmd), After few calibrations in CMD off, Lens -10 I saw that the dots is near the D65 and not on the D65 like before.
This is normally?

In another case, I want to find the peakY of my pj to import gamma curves, I tried to do that with HCFR but it’s not found my Spyder.(driver Installed).
I also made test with the Spyder5 Elite software, but I don’t understand from the results how to know the peakY.
The results:
White point - 0321 0340
Brightness - 773.5
Ty for helps
liel is offline  
post #4359 of 4381 Old 04-02-2020, 01:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,527
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6133 Post(s)
Liked: 2545
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyboy632 View Post
Yes so I did a full gamma/colour temp cal then ran colour only cal for each color profile with the specific iris setting that I am using for each user mode. after each cal the results showed that each colour profile and iris setting tracked pretty much the same at approx 6500k going by the results diagram before saving. Am I correct in saying that it should be ok to keep the same 6500k preset for all modes? So what specifically is getting adjusted when doing an color autocal only? Cheers


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If you use Spyder5 for Autocal it doesn’t not take into consideration the screen characteristics. Plus some Spyder5s are not that accurate to start with.

The “adjustment” is based on measurements taken off the screen , possibly with a more accurate meter.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4360 of 4381 Old 04-02-2020, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,527
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6133 Post(s)
Liked: 2545
Quote:
Originally Posted by liel View Post
I made today full calibration according to Manni guide.
In the first calibration (gamma+color) I got really good result and all the dots appears exactly on D65.
In the next step, (color, lens aperture, cmd), After few calibrations in CMD off, Lens -10 I saw that the dots is near the D65 and not on the D65 like before.
This is normally?

In another case, I want to find the peakY of my pj to import gamma curves, I tried to do that with HCFR but it’s not found my Spyder.(driver Installed).
I also made test with the Spyder5 Elite software, but I don’t understand from the results how to know the peakY.
The results:
White point - 0321 0340
Brightness - 773.5
Ty for helps
At -10 the light level is quite a bit lower, so you may see some dots drifting away from D65, especially the darker grey ones.

You need to use the ArgyllCMS driver in HCFR’s Drivers folder.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4361 of 4381 Old 04-02-2020, 02:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I can know the peakY from the spyder software?
liel is offline  
post #4362 of 4381 Old 04-02-2020, 05:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
If you use Spyder5 for Autocal it doesn’t not take into consideration the screen characteristics. Plus some Spyder5s are not that accurate to start with.

The “adjustment” is based on measurements taken off the screen , possibly with a more accurate meter.

I also own i1d3 meter with hcfr. Will that work to adjust with better results? Can I adjust the 6500k preset and should that be ok for all modes sdr and HDR?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
johnnyboy632 is offline  
post #4363 of 4381 Old 04-02-2020, 06:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,527
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6133 Post(s)
Liked: 2545
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyboy632 View Post
I also own i1d3 meter with hcfr. Will that work to adjust with better results? Can I adjust the 6500k preset and should that be ok for all modes sdr and HDR?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The i1D3 is generally considered a better meter than the Spyder.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4364 of 4381 Old 04-04-2020, 10:07 PM
Senior Member
 
kwk2293's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 40
does the hack work with the i1display pro oem rev a
kwk2293 is offline  
post #4365 of 4381 Old 04-05-2020, 04:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,527
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6133 Post(s)
Liked: 2545
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwk2293 View Post
does the hack work with the i1display pro oem rev a
The hack has been withdrawn by the author due to potential copyright issues.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4366 of 4381 Old 04-05-2020, 05:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,710
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2957 Post(s)
Liked: 2082
Did the hack offer a live of control that exceeds Arve's tool or simple enable other light meters?


My current setup.
Recommended podcasts: The Next Picture Show, the /filmcast, AV Rant.
nathan_h is online now  
post #4367 of 4381 Old 04-05-2020, 05:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,527
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6133 Post(s)
Liked: 2545
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Did the hack offer a live of control that exceeds Arve's tool or simple enable other light meters?
The hack has the same functionality as the original JVC Autocal, other than supporting the i1D3.

The curves produced using Arve’s tool “overlays” on the projector’s Normal gamma, and therefore will only work correctly (accurately) if the projector has no gamma droop. And gamma droop can only be corrected with Autocal.
nathan_h likes this.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4368 of 4381 Old 04-05-2020, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
kwk2293's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
The hack has been withdrawn by the author due to potential copyright issues.
was wondering what happen to links. i have version 34 it should still work shouldn’t it
kwk2293 is offline  
post #4369 of 4381 Old 04-05-2020, 08:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Danonano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimHamburg View Post
Edit: There is a new version to be found on the developer's website: https://autocal.banjobyte.com/
Also now in english:
https://autocal.banjobyte.com/?lang=en
I'm not able to find any downloads at the link. Do you think it was removed?
Danonano is offline  
post #4370 of 4381 Old 04-05-2020, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,527
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6133 Post(s)
Liked: 2545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danonano View Post
I'm not able to find any downloads at the link. Do you think it was removed?
See post 4365 above.

This was what the site showed on March 30:
Quote:
I am currently checking the legal situation and will contact you as soon as I have any news. Could you please remove any links to this website while checking this? Thanks

If you have any questions write me at [email protected]
https://web.archive.org/web/20200330...banjobyte.com/

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 04-05-2020 at 08:53 AM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4371 of 4381 Old 04-06-2020, 04:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,710
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2957 Post(s)
Liked: 2082
Anyone have a copy they downloaded and would be willing to share?


My current setup.
Recommended podcasts: The Next Picture Show, the /filmcast, AV Rant.
nathan_h is online now  
post #4372 of 4381 Old 04-06-2020, 07:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
neo_2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Damn, i haven't saved the software due to the this whole situation, and now i can't
neo_2009 is online now  
post #4373 of 4381 Old 04-06-2020, 07:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Maybe it’s beginners question but I have to know, what is that PeakY?
I try to find answer on this forum for few hours and still found nothing...
I saw in this thread that I can know the peakY with Spyder5 software, I made calibration and see that my white luminance Y is 733, what is mean?
I want to import gamma curves from jvc macros pack and don’t know what is the correct gamma for me.
Ty for helps!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	843C58AC-9A84-4A22-B8C8-05D8906E261A_1586227056852.jpeg
Views:	55
Size:	235.8 KB
ID:	2706808  

Last edited by liel; 04-06-2020 at 07:37 PM.
liel is offline  
post #4374 of 4381 Old 04-06-2020, 08:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,527
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6133 Post(s)
Liked: 2545
Quote:
Originally Posted by liel View Post
Maybe it’s beginners question but I have to know, what is that PeakY?
I try to find answer on this forum for few hours and still found nothing...
I saw in this thread that I can know the peakY with Spyder5 software, I made calibration and see that my white luminance Y is 733, what is mean?
I want to import gamma curves from jvc macros pack and don’t know what is the correct gamma for me.
Ty for helps!
If you click on the link in my signature “Creating a basic...”, that post contains a link describing how to measure PeakY.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 04-07-2020 at 05:14 AM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4375 of 4381 Old 04-07-2020, 06:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by liel View Post
Maybe it’️s beginners question but I have to know, what is that PeakY?
I try to find answer on this forum for few hours and still found nothing...
I saw in this thread that I can know the peakY with Spyder5 software, I made calibration and see that my white luminance Y is 733, what is mean?
I want to import gamma curves from jvc macros pack and don’️t know what is the correct gamma for me.
Ty for helps!
If you click on the link in my signature “Creating a basic...”, that post contains a link describing how to measure PeakY.
I saw that post but there is no explaining how to do that with Spyder5 software.
“ NOTE: Youn can also use the Spyder software to measure the peak nits.”
liel is offline  
post #4376 of 4381 Old 04-07-2020, 07:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,527
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6133 Post(s)
Liked: 2545
Quote:
Originally Posted by liel View Post
I saw that post but there is no explaining how to do that with Spyder5 software.
“ NOTE: Youn can also use the Spyder software to measure the peak nits.”
I tried out the SpyderX software and one of the first things it did was to measure the luminance and ask you to adjust to the target.

I don’t know what the “733” corresponds to. Make sure you’re measuring off the screen, not directly off the projector lens as when using Autocal.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 04-07-2020 at 08:31 AM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4377 of 4381 Old 04-07-2020, 12:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 1
maybe its that?
I installed the senesor 30cm from the screen like the expamle in the software.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1234.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	96.7 KB
ID:	2707048  
liel is offline  
post #4378 of 4381 Old 04-09-2020, 11:04 AM
Member
 
Vaugha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
The hack has been withdrawn by the author due to potential copyright issues.
As my luck has it, it has been removed EXACTLY two days after I decided to research doing autocal on my X790 by myself and well before I knew it existed. Now it's too late.


Last edited by Vaugha; 04-09-2020 at 01:17 PM. Reason: Clarified the timing
Vaugha is offline  
post #4379 of 4381 Old 05-01-2020, 03:13 AM
Member
 
saltanar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 12
autocal hack latest version

hello, can someone send me a PM with the lastest hacked version?
Thanks in advance.
saltanar is offline  
post #4380 of 4381 Old 05-24-2020, 05:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,527
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6133 Post(s)
Liked: 2545
Hidden Gem - Meter Correction Matrix

Quote:
Originally Posted by KarlKlammer View Post
I don't know if someone else already found out that Autocal has some hidden settings that allow an XYZ correction matrix for the connected meter.

The option is called 'matrixOfSensor' and is located in the file %userprofile%\AppData\Roaming\JVCKENWOOD\Projector Calibration Software *\init.xml.
This is a feature that has been asked by many, and yet it has existed at least since v7!
Dominic Chan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off