JVC Calibration Software V6 For 2015 Models (X9000,X7000,X5000,RS400,RS500,RS600) - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1226Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 4166 Old 12-14-2015, 06:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stef2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: China
Posts: 1,275
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Thank you for your work! I can't wait to try it! If only JVC would suppport additional meters...
krichter1, tom10536 and Manni01 like this.
stef2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 4166 Old 12-15-2015, 08:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Earth (most days!)
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2096 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Outstanding Manni!



"Hail, hail, the gang's all here
What the heck do we care
What the heck do we care
Hail, hail, the gang's all here
What the heck do we care now!"

Manni01 likes this.

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


==> Our 4K/3D Immersive Theater
krichter1 is offline  
post #33 of 4166 Old 12-15-2015, 04:33 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Hugo S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: France
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Superbe, MERCI Manni.

Hugo
Manni01 likes this.
Hugo S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 4166 Old 12-15-2015, 10:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,327
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2724 Post(s)
Liked: 1956
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoked21 View Post
So few questions from a pj noob. Running RS400.

1) So from the sounds of it, Spyder5 isn't yet supported. I haven't searched eBay yet, but it looks like the 4s are out of stock on Amazon etc.
Any time frame or guess for 5 support?

2) Also, I'm a mac user. Short of a win vm, I'm guessing I'm SOL on running the actual JVC SW...Or borrow or buy a cheap Win machine. True? Has JVC typically not supported Mac?

3) This one will likely draw a few laughs. How necessary is the calibration? After spending tens of thousands on a dedicated HT, it might seem insane not to do so. But how much is gained from running an in-depth calibration vs a more manual Spears&Munsil type manual adjustment? Am I missing more to the story/benefits here? I suppose that one is like someone asking me if they really need to run REQ on their prepro.....

Thanks for the patience guys! I know more about audio and LCDs etc. Trying to come up to speed on my RS400 investment.

1. First half of 2016
2. No Mac support
3. You can put crap tires on a porsche if you want to but why?
nathan_h is offline  
post #35 of 4166 Old 12-16-2015, 06:42 AM
Senior Member
 
strawberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoked21 View Post

3) This one will likely draw a few laughs. How necessary is the calibration? After spending tens of thousands on a dedicated HT, it might seem insane not to do so. But how much is gained from running an in-depth calibration vs a more manual Spears&Munsil type manual adjustment? Am I missing more to the story/benefits here? I suppose that one is like someone asking me if they really need to run REQ on their prepro.....

Thanks for the patience guys! I know more about audio and LCDs etc. Trying to come up to speed on my RS400 investment.
IMO- there is always a real and tangible benefit to be had from doing a grayscale and gamma calibration, neither of which can be accomplished without a meter. Even considering the fact that the Spyder meters aren't as consistently accurate as others, using one to do an autocal is still going to be light years better than anything you'll accomplish with a disc alone.
nathan_h and krichter1 like this.
strawberry is offline  
post #36 of 4166 Old 12-16-2015, 09:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 743 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by strawberry View Post
IMO- there is always a real and tangible benefit to be had from doing a grayscale and gamma calibration
...
Absolutely! A proper gray scale and gamma is at least as important as a color calibration. The realism a proper distribution of light offers is jaw dropping in my experience. Looking at the results of my first proper 21 pt gamma calibration was one of my "holy [email protected]" moments in HT.

I'm sure I'm about to have another such moment as I'm currently watching an RS20 with an RS500 on order! Can hardly wait. It's Christmas!!
krichter1 and strawberry like this.
erkq is offline  
post #37 of 4166 Old 12-16-2015, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
drj2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Anyone know if you can use the Spyder4tv probe with the JVC version 6.0 calibration software? It is the same probe as the 4 pro or elite with software specific for calibrating HD displays.
drj2000 is offline  
post #38 of 4166 Old 12-16-2015, 04:40 PM
Member
 
lancenell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Spokane
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Can anyone recommend where someone could go for ISF Calibration school -- a school for amateurs and for professionals?

Thanks!
IsDon likes this.
lancenell is offline  
post #39 of 4166 Old 12-16-2015, 05:30 PM
Scott Horton, techht.com
 
GetGray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mid-South USA
Posts: 5,733
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 167
GetGray is offline  
post #40 of 4166 Old 12-16-2015, 07:53 PM
Member
 
lancenell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Spokane
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by GetGray View Post
Thank you Scott
lancenell is offline  
post #41 of 4166 Old 12-17-2015, 09:55 AM
Senior Member
 
drj2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by drj2000 View Post
Anyone know if you can use the Spyder4tv probe with the JVC version 6.0 calibration software? It is the same probe as the 4 pro or elite with software specific for calibrating HD displays.
For anyone interested I emailed JVC support - the Spyder4tv probe will work with the version 6.0 software. I was able to find new one on clearance for $99 Cdn.
IMDave and Manni01 like this.
drj2000 is offline  
post #42 of 4166 Old 12-17-2015, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9,038
Mentioned: 314 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5382 Post(s)
Liked: 5465
Thanks for letting us know, please confirm here when you get it to work and I'll add this info to the first post.
Manni01 is online now  
post #43 of 4166 Old 12-17-2015, 10:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Earth (most days!)
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2096 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
But either the Pro or Elite will work (whichever we find best price)?
krichter1 is offline  
post #44 of 4166 Old 12-18-2015, 03:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9,038
Mentioned: 314 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5382 Post(s)
Liked: 5465
Quote:
Originally Posted by krichter1 View Post
But either the Pro or Elite will work (whichever we find best price)?

Yes (provided you mean Spyder4, we don't know which models will be supported for the Spyder5 yet)
krichter1 likes this.
Manni01 is online now  
post #45 of 4166 Old 12-18-2015, 08:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
krichter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Earth (most days!)
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2096 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni01 View Post
Yes (provided you mean Spyder4, we don't know which models will be supported for the Spyder5 yet)
Yep thanks!

Kevin

You only live once, but if you live it right, once is enough.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


==> Our 4K/3D Immersive Theater
krichter1 is offline  
post #46 of 4166 Old 12-18-2015, 11:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stoked21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Kansas City (Lenexa)
Posts: 2,287
Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1526 Post(s)
Liked: 932
I see there is a spyder capture pro kit on Amazon for $195. Says it includes the 4 elite (in addition to unneeded stuff).

Seems low cost? I see that the 5 elite and 5 pro as well as just the 4 elite by itself typically cost more?
Stoked21 is offline  
post #47 of 4166 Old 12-19-2015, 07:46 AM
Mod & Bluray Reviewer
Moderator
 
Lee Weber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,534
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 483
I got a spyder4 at a local shop yesterday...went through the steps and am getting whacky results, however, gamma and grayscale seemed to track really well in the softwares results.
How do I determine if it is a bad meter?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0347.jpg
Views:	437
Size:	156.6 KB
ID:	1129634  
Lee Weber is offline  
post #48 of 4166 Old 12-19-2015, 09:12 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12,755
Mentioned: 160 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5270 Post(s)
Liked: 5544
zombie10k is offline  
post #49 of 4166 Old 12-19-2015, 11:39 AM
Mod & Bluray Reviewer
Moderator
 
Lee Weber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,534
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 483
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post
Lee, were you facing the meter at the screen vs. the projector?


Yes. Like you would sit it on a monitor, but like a foot away from the screen.
Is that wrong?
Lee Weber is offline  
post #50 of 4166 Old 12-19-2015, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12,755
Mentioned: 160 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5270 Post(s)
Liked: 5544
check out page 8 in the instructions

http://www3.jvckenwood.com/english/d...6_en_v1_00.pdf

the meter has to face the projector around half way between the screen and projector.

The first calibration creates a baseline, you may have to end up restoring the factory settings from the INIT file it creates in the backup directory. I am not sure if a 2nd recal doing it the correct way will fix it.

Let's wait for Manni's input on this.
Manni01 likes this.
zombie10k is offline  
post #51 of 4166 Old 12-19-2015, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9,038
Mentioned: 314 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5382 Post(s)
Liked: 5465
Nothing to add
Manni01 is online now  
post #52 of 4166 Old 12-19-2015, 03:10 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12,755
Mentioned: 160 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5270 Post(s)
Liked: 5544
maybe it's best then to restore the factory config and run it the correct way.
zombie10k is offline  
post #53 of 4166 Old 12-19-2015, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9,038
Mentioned: 314 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5382 Post(s)
Liked: 5465
Yes, and I suggest then to read the first post, read the user manual, read the links and read the recap.

This is NOT a plug and play software. I've taken the time to explain everything, if people don't take the time to read, there isn't much more I can do.
Manni01 is online now  
post #54 of 4166 Old 12-20-2015, 02:40 PM
Senior Member
 
drj2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni01 View Post
Yes, and I suggest then to read the first post, read the user manual, read the links and read the recap.

This is NOT a plug and play software. I've taken the time to explain everything, if people don't take the time to read, there isn't much more I can do.
I can confirm the spyder4tv probe works with the JVC version 6 software. I calibrated a couple of user settings and everything seemed to work well. I do have a couple of questions I am hoping more knowledgeable members can provide the answers to:

1. Manni I downloaded your rec 709 NF file. I used it for a calibration of one of the user modes and I got the (-) beside the color temperature and gamma results. I read through your tutorial and the JVC manual. What I am missing?

2. Using the import feature under the settings tab, I attempted to restore the INIT file to the projector. It didn't appear to change my calibrated USER 1 and 2 back to factory. It also didn't remove Manni's REC 709 from the color profile choices. Did I not use the restore function properly or do I have to do a factory reset on the projector to complete the process?

Thank in advance
drj2000 is offline  
post #55 of 4166 Old 12-20-2015, 03:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9,038
Mentioned: 314 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5382 Post(s)
Liked: 5465
Quote:
Originally Posted by drj2000 View Post
I can confirm the spyder4tv probe works with the JVC version 6 software. I calibrated a couple of user settings and everything seemed to work well. I do have a couple of questions I am hoping more knowledgeable members can provide the answers to:

1. Manni I downloaded your rec 709 NF file. I used it for a calibration of one of the user modes and I got the (-) beside the color temperature and gamma results. I read through your tutorial and the JVC manual. What I am missing?

2. Using the import feature under the settings tab, I attempted to restore the INIT file to the projector. It didn't appear to change my calibrated USER 1 and 2 back to factory. It also didn't remove Manni's REC 709 from the color profile choices. Did I not use the restore function properly or do I have to do a factory reset on the projector to complete the process?

Thank in advance
You need to re-read the recap and follow the procedure. Autocal can't correct gamma or color temp if you select a custom color profile, hence the (-) after these. When a custom colour profile is corrected, only gamut is calibrated, which is why it's suggest to do it last, after gamma and color temp have been corrected.

Restoring the backup restores the default calibration tables/values, but doesn't reset the custom user names or user settings. If you want to reset these as well, you have to do a factory reset.
Manni01 is online now  
post #56 of 4166 Old 12-20-2015, 03:17 PM
Senior Member
 
drj2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni01 View Post
You need to re-read the recap and follow the procedure. Autocal can't correct gamma or color temp if you select a custom color profile, hence the (-) after these. When a custom colour profile is corrected, only gamut is calibrated, which is why it's suggest to do it last, after gamma and color temp have been corrected.

Restoring the backup restores the default calibration tables/values, but doesn't reset the custom user names or user settings. If you want to reset these as well, you have to do a factory reset.
Manni

Thanks for the quick reply. I did do the gamma and color temperature first, before downloading your REC 709 file. I guess I missed the part about not being able to calibrate a custom color profile.
drj2000 is offline  
post #57 of 4166 Old 12-21-2015, 01:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9,038
Mentioned: 314 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5382 Post(s)
Liked: 5465
Quote:
Originally Posted by drj2000 View Post
Manni

Thanks for the quick reply. I did do the gamma and color temperature first, before downloading your REC 709 file. I guess I missed the part about not being able to calibrate a custom color profile.
Then you are good to go
Manni01 is online now  
post #58 of 4166 Old 12-25-2015, 10:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 743 Post(s)
Liked: 513
I just bought a used Spyder4Pro for $94. After reading through this thread it seems my C6 may be a more reliable meter. Should I just forego the JVC autocal and use my CalMAN/C6/eeColor system to calibrate from scratch or should I do an autocal with the Spyder and compare the results to the C6 running with CalMan to see what shape the Spyder is in? I assume the C6 has less unit-to-unit variability that what I read about the Spyder.
erkq is offline  
post #59 of 4166 Old 12-26-2015, 04:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9,038
Mentioned: 314 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5382 Post(s)
Liked: 5465
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkq View Post
I just bought a used Spyder4Pro for $94. After reading through this thread it seems my C6 may be a more reliable meter. Should I just forego the JVC autocal and use my CalMAN/C6/eeColor system to calibrate from scratch or should I do an autocal with the Spyder and compare the results to the C6 running with CalMan to see what shape the Spyder is in? I assume the C6 has less unit-to-unit variability that what I read about the Spyder.
The main advantage of the JVC Autocal software is to provide a near perfect baseline with flat gamma and perfectly tracking gamut without the need for an external correction. For example, you can't passthrough 3D blurays or 4K content with an eecolor, and 4K content can't be calibrated by a non-pro Radiance.

This is only true if your specific spyder unit is reasonably accurate, and yes there is no way to know unless you measure it against a reference or near reference spectro. The i1d3 is fairly accurate on LCOS, so it is more likely to be better than the spyder4, but calman or the eecolor won't help you to correct the gamma droop once it gets really bad, or to correct 3D blurays or 4K content.

i would say that an average Spyder4 will get you at least 80% there, a better consumer meter like e i1d3 (or a known good spyder4 or 5) will then take you 90% there, and a reference meter with a 3D LUT will bridge the last gap (in the right hands).

For me, it's not either/or.

I use the JVC Autocal and my known good spyder4 to get a near perfect baseline for all my non MadVR corrected sources, including 4K content like content from an nVidia shield or a Roku 4 which can't be corrected by a non-pro Radiance, I use my Discus trained to an i1pro2 in Calman Ultimate to set 100% white to D65, get a BT1886 calibration for all my sources in 2 clicks on the dark gamma control, and then I run a full 3D LUT for MadVR in Calman (the same as eecolor except it doesn't prevent the playback of 3D Blurays or 4K content) for critical content on my HTPC, mostly my blurays and dvds.

While the JVC Autocal can be used on its own, it's not as easy to use as a good software with a decent consumer meter like the i1d3. It's not newbie friendly.

I see it as a tool amongst many which allows me to get the most out of my JVC, doing away with external 3D LUT boxes like the eecolor or my Radiance mini which get in the way of 3D and/or 4K content.

It's up to you to decide whether using the eecolor or a Radiance with an i1d3 is a better solution or not.

If you have a fully correctable colour profile, a gamma droop which is not so bad that it's not correctable by the eecolor without causing banding or posterization, and if you have no need to play 3D Bluray or 4K content, then I'd say stick to the eecolor. It's easier, faster, and you don't have to learn the JVC Autocal and deal with a possibly less accurate meter.

If you experience any of the above, then use to JVC Autocal to get a better baseline. It doesn't mean you can't use your i1d3 and eecolor to get even better results with some of your sources.
VideoGrabber likes this.

Last edited by Manni01; 12-26-2015 at 05:35 AM.
Manni01 is online now  
post #60 of 4166 Old 12-26-2015, 05:23 AM
Member
 
Rich V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Has anyone contacted Datacolor to see if they can provide a response sheet for a select spyder meter? Could they hand select a meter?
I would be happy to pay a premium to get a known "good" spyder since I have no way of testing one myself.

This could be a small business opportunity for the entrepreneur who offers select on spec meters for JVC autocal.

Last edited by Rich V; 12-26-2015 at 05:38 AM.
Rich V is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off