JVC Calibration Software V6 For 2015 Models (X9000,X7000,X5000,RS400,RS500,RS600) - Page 47 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1224Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1381 of 4161 Old 01-11-2017, 07:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tom Bley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IL. USA
Posts: 3,392
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 898 Post(s)
Liked: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post
Why would I want to do that?
Damn, you must have been a sleep for the last year
Tom Bley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1382 of 4161 Old 01-11-2017, 07:40 PM
wse
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 9,503
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2207 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Bley View Post
Damn, you must have been a sleep for the last year
Just upgraded to 4K two months ago not even!
wse is offline  
post #1383 of 4161 Old 01-15-2017, 02:08 AM
Member
 
pippo53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Good morning, I had a doubt. I reached 400 operating hours of my X5000 and wanted to recalibrate. I do not remember if the brightness and contrast should be adjusted before or after the auto calibration.
Thank you
pippo53 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1384 of 4161 Old 01-15-2017, 06:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,215
Mentioned: 118 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4318 Post(s)
Liked: 1556
Quote:
Originally Posted by pippo53 View Post
I do not remember if the brightness and contrast should be adjusted before or after the auto calibration.
Autocal ignores the "manual" brightness and contrast settings. However, after Autocal you may find it necessary to re-adjust the brightness and contrast.
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #1385 of 4161 Old 01-15-2017, 11:33 AM
Member
 
pippo53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Autocal ignores the "manual" brightness and contrast settings. However, after Autocal you may find it necessary to re-adjust the brightness and contrast.
Thanks!!
pippo53 is offline  
post #1386 of 4161 Old 01-15-2017, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1124 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Autocal ignores the "manual" brightness and contrast settings. However, after Autocal you may find it necessary to re-adjust the brightness and contrast.
After auto-cal of Gamma, I found that I could adjust Brightness with the patterns down quite a bit. This then meant I needed to use my other meter (i1d3 Pro) to recalibrate greyscale as that brightness adjustment (from +3 to 0) required it.
Sittler27 is offline  
post #1387 of 4161 Old 01-15-2017, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1124 Post(s)
Liked: 86
How often should one run the auto-cal? Every 200 hours or is it ok to go up to 500 hours between?
Sittler27 is offline  
post #1388 of 4161 Old 01-15-2017, 12:53 PM
Member
 
pippo53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
How often should one run the auto-cal? Every 200 hours or is it ok to go up to 500 hours between?
I after 200 hours of operation (Eco mode) have found no change (Gamma and CIE curve)
pippo53 is offline  
post #1389 of 4161 Old 01-16-2017, 03:02 AM
Newbie
 
Ent-Italy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Rome - Italy
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi Guys, could anyone help me? I have the following doubts: if I do two gamma calibrations, one with filter and one without filter (standard and reference preset) the result, for gamma curves, will be different? In other words, every time will change the setting from profile with filter to profile without filter or inversely, must do a new calibration? Or instead, for gamma values, JVC RS-500 has different storage slots? In this case the gamma values, for all profiles, and for the two different situations, (with filter-without filter) will be automatically recalled for the related choise and isn't necessary repeat the calibrations?
Thanks
Ent-Italy is offline  
post #1390 of 4161 Old 01-16-2017, 02:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stef2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,271
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 282
I just wanted to report how happy I am with the results of my (first) autocal.

It sure seems daunting at first, but everything becomes very clear as you go through the steps clearly described in the first posts of this thread.

I got some incredible results (grayscale tracking perfectly and deltaE all below 0.5 between 5 and 100 ire)! I was able to decrease my JVCs brightness setting by two notches and gained around 5% total brightness for 100% white versus 300 hours ago!

Next step is to tackle the HDR WCG stuff, as soon as I get my hands on the OPPO.

But for now, my SDR 1080p calibration has never been that good! (on paper and in real life)

I can now get rid of my Lumagen Radiance XD that did a wonderful job until now (along with Chromapure's autocal). The Lumagen cannot improve my calibration results anymore...

Last edited by stef2; 01-16-2017 at 02:22 PM.
stef2 is offline  
post #1391 of 4161 Old 01-17-2017, 06:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,215
Mentioned: 118 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4318 Post(s)
Liked: 1556
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Jones View Post
I wonder if the new software, supporting the 2017 projectors, will also support the 2015/2016 models. I would really like to be able to use my i1Pro2 instead of a Spyder 5 for doing the auto calibration of my RS600.
No, the new software (JVC Projector Calibration Software 9, which can use the i1Pro 2 spectro) only supports the 2017 projectors.
The previous version was 7; not sure why they skip 8 in the numbering - maybe they will introduce an update for the previous projectors?

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 01-18-2017 at 06:07 AM.
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #1392 of 4161 Old 01-17-2017, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
bighifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Louisville, ky
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Bley View Post
Damn, you must have been a sleep for the last year
don't have to calibrate your dreams and the are in Super Ultra HD.

If I agree with you then we will both be wrong
bighifi is offline  
post #1393 of 4161 Old 01-18-2017, 04:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kkpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 92
If one only uses the calibration software to upload the BT color profile, does it affect the baseline of all the color profiles? It seems like my black level was crushed watching a standard blu-ray not using the BT color profile. It may just be the disc though.
kkpro is offline  
post #1394 of 4161 Old 01-18-2017, 06:53 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2384
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post
Why would I want to do that?
Rather than derail this thread, check out about any of the last 100 pages of the RS600 thread, lots of info in there.
stanger89 is offline  
post #1395 of 4161 Old 01-19-2017, 12:27 AM
Member
 
crabarts231's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Taiwan/Vietnam
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
No, the new software (JVC Projector Calibration Software 9, which can use the i1Pro 2 spectro) only supports the 2017 projectors.
The previous version was 7; not sure why they skip 8 in the numbering - maybe they will introduce an update for the previous projectors?
V.8 is for the DLA-Z1......cross the fingers, wish we could have the i1 pro2 for autocal....
Here is the link of V.8:
http://www3.jvckenwood.com/english/d...ationsoft.html
crabarts231 is offline  
post #1396 of 4161 Old 01-20-2017, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 741 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Jones View Post
I wonder if the new software, supporting the 2017 projectors, will also support the 2015/2016 models. I would really like to be able to use my i1Pro2 instead of a Spyder 5 for doing the auto calibration of my RS600.
For me the most important autocal feature is gamma. Wouldn't the I1 Pro have a difficult time with the lower range of gamma measurement? I have an I1 Pro 2 and I only use it to profile my C6.
erkq is offline  
post #1397 of 4161 Old 01-22-2017, 05:30 PM
Member
 
mikeaymar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Problems with running Autocal

I ran my first autocal today. The process was pretty straightforward (thanks to Manni et al), but I ran into a couple of problems.

First, I have a rear projection setup. There is really no way to get the Spyder between the projector and the screen, since the light path is folded with two mirrors. JVC technical support said to just put the Spyder on the viewing side of the screen, looking back into the light path. The autocal software shows the meter slightly to the left of the target box (i.e., closer to the screen), which isn't too surprising. Will the autocal still work properly in this situation?

Second, during my first calibration session, the software crashed at 14% complete in the final step, where you select SAVE. The factory settings file (INIT) wasn't saved. I ran a second autocal session after rebooting everything, and it seemed to go well, and the INIT file was created. However, I am concerned that what was saved in the second session isn't really the factory settings INIT file, and that the factory settings were overwritten in the first, aborted calibration. Anyone have any thoughts about whether what is in my saved INIT file from the second session, is really the factory settings? Not that there is anything I can do about it either way.

Thanks
Mike
mikeaymar is offline  
post #1398 of 4161 Old 01-24-2017, 03:51 AM
Member
 
Alex1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carbon Ft Print View Post
This is an JVC autocal thread ... where one is suppose to ask questions about JVC autocal.


That being said ... do you have a calibration disk? Contrast (CR) ctrl sets the brightest white (level 235) without clipping any of the 3 RGB channels. Brightness (BR) control sets the darkest black (16) without prematurely clipping any of the near black levels. Gamma works between the brightest white and the darkest black, but does not influence CR or BR. Gamma will increase or decrease the brightness of "typical objects" in a movie. The lower the gamma, the brighter the objects will be. The higher the gamma, the darker the objects will be. Gamma does not (or should not) affect setting CR or BR. For more details: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...l#post46550833


Nat/Std/6500K/2.4 is close to THX only in terms of setting white/blk point and somewhat color temperature (6500K) accuracy. THX goes beyond this and sets color temperature and RGB primaries more accurately. THX will be slightly dimmer picture than Nat/Std/6500K/G2.4 due to the additional calibration performed in THX and that THX uses a filter lens ... the filter lens snaps into place when THX is selected to provide more saturated primaries ... but the lens is darker which darkens the picture a little. You should be able to use either THX or Nat/Std/6500K/G2.2. I would use G2.2 rather than G2.4 if the picture looks too dark in G2.4.


Your HT has bright light reflective surfaces, so use the brightest settings as a default (Nat/Std/6500K/G2.2). Don't be scared to try other settings ... and see what you like better. It's all a matter of personal preferences. You are better off with a slightly brighter setting due to the white ceiling ... but don't make it too bright or you may get eye fatigue and/or you may see some discoloration. There are several ways to brighten the picture: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...l#post48241753


The brightest calibrated setting for Nat/Std/6500K/G2.2 is at its default settings (CR/BR=0). This is a very bright setting and many reduce the brightness by reducing the Lens Aperture. If the projector is too bright, one can reduce the LA anywhere from 0 to -15. Your choice.


When people say a light controlled room (a dark room), they are referring to no ambient light shining on the projector screen (from outside sun or a lamp) ... and ... all light reflective surfaces (walls, ceiling, floor) are really dark or black ... like black velvet black ... so no light from the projector bulb is reflected off the ceiling, walls or floor back into the screen. In your case with White ceiling, your better off with a slightly brighter picture because the brighter light will constrict the eye's pupil and will make the brain think it is seeing darker blacks. The light reflection off of your white ceiling is elevating the lowest black level on your screen ... so a brighter screen will help.


As far as Nat/Std/6500k/G2.4 vs Cin/Cin1/xenon/GammaA. Find an outdoor scene with Reference quality 4K/2K blu ray with costumes with highly saturated colors (Gods of Egypt opening celebration scene, Star Trek Into Darkness opening scene (great reds and whites), Kingsman) and pause it. View it under Nat/Std, then Cin/Cin1 ... go back and forth ... see what you like better. Some people like a more natural scene (no edge enhancements nor use of a wider color space other than what the blu ray was mastered in) with a highly calibrated projector (rec709 only). Some like the more saturated colors in Cin/Cin1 because it make the colorful costumes pop more and these colors are closer to what one sees in a commercial movie theater. You need to decide what your preference is. There is no wrong or right answer. Remember, JVC gives you many options to chose from, wider (cin1) and smaller (Std) color spaces via the many color profile to choose from, skin tones and memory colors which look good no matter what color profile you are using, tools to make the picture clearer and sharper, different brightness levels (Lamp Low High), different gamma levels to correct for under or over exposed dvds and blu rays or to correct for bright or light controlled ambient conditions. Can't do any better than JVC.


Good Luck!
Good afternoon Carbon Ft Print!
How should I proceed?
I chose to install my JVC 7000 are as follows:
Cinema, Cinema 1,Xenon 2, gamma A, Low Lamp. To remove a small haze and denser black color, I set the Brightness (-2).
What do you think is better? Set the brightness of the (-2) or change the "Dark level" section in the gamma settings? For example, (-1)?
And further. How low can reduce the lens aperture?
Just in my case? !!!
Now I set the aperture (-3), but I want a little more below. I'm afraid of losing the brightness of colors in the process. Without a meter, brightness mode THX (unchanged), similar to (-4-5) for Cinema 1. Screen white matte 103 inches.
Alex1973 is offline  
post #1399 of 4161 Old 01-30-2017, 05:35 AM
Member
 
pippo53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Hi, I have a X5000. I read and re-read this forum but it is not yet clear if I have to redo the complete autocal (gamma + color) if I change the lamp from low to high, to create a profile for the HDR with BT2020 color space
Tanks
pippo53 is offline  
post #1400 of 4161 Old 01-30-2017, 05:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1124 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by pippo53 View Post
Hi, I have a X5000. I read and re-read this forum but it is not yet clear if I have to redo the complete autocal (gamma + color) if I change the lamp from low to high, to create a profile for the HDR with BT2020 color space
Tanks
You need to have two gamma runs (one for low and one for high lamp).

You need to have an individual color only run (no gamma) for each lens aperture setting you use.

Now, what I'm not clear on is with the multiple color only runs, do you need to store each of these in a separate color mode setting or does the projector within one color mode setting record and know it is on a different aperture setting after it does the auto-cal for color only?
Sittler27 is offline  
post #1401 of 4161 Old 01-30-2017, 11:40 AM
Member
 
pippo53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I have 3 settings and wonder if I made an exact procedure for Autocal:


Set1
Rec709 in user1 (for HDTV and bluray)
Colour profile: Rec-709NF (JVC's)
Color Temp: User1, with the 6500K preset
Gamma: User1, with the 2.4 preset and +2 on dark gamma for BT1886
Iris: -14
CMD: off
Lamp: Low


Set2
Rec709 in user2 (for sport)
Colour profile: Rec-709NF (JVC's)
Color Temp: User2, with the 6500K preset
Gamma: Normal
Iris: -13
CMD: off
Lamp: Low


Set3
BT2020 in user3 (for UHD Bluray)
Colour profile: BT.2020 (JVC's)
Color Temp: User2, with the 6500K preset
Gamma: User3, with the 2.4 preset and +2 on dark gamma for BT1886 (selected by default for non HDR UHD Blurays) and with the Gamma D preset with +10 on picture tone, +5 on dark gamma and +5 on bright gamma.
Iris: -7
CMD: off
Lamp: high


The procedure I used is this:


1) In the settings (last option in the main menu), select gamma + color. I select High for 33 steps.
2) Go to calibrate, the first option in the main menu
3) Select a standard color profile, like natural,
4) Switch all processing off during calibration, so things like Clear Black and Motion Enhance.
5) Select gamma normal.
6) Select 6500K color temp.
7) Check that the iris is fully open (best position to calibrate gamma) and that CMD is off.
8) Lamp: low
9) Run the calibration.
10) Save the calibration


Now Autocal only color for the two of iris values (-13 and -14)
1) In the settings (last option in the main menu), select color.
2) Go to calibrate, the first option in the main menu
3) Select Rec-709NF color profile.
4) Select gamma normal.
5) Select 6500K color temp.
6) Iris=-14
7) Lamp: low
8) Run the calibration.
9) Save the calibration in User1


Same procedure but with Iris = -13 and save in User2

Then repeat the complete Autocal (gamma + color) for Lamp = high
1) In the settings (last option in the main menu), select gamma + color. I select High for 33 steps.
2) Go to calibrate, the first option in the main menu
3) Select a standard color profile, like natural,
4) Switch all processing off during calibration, so things like Clear Black and Motion Enhance.
5) Select gamma normal.
6) Select 6500K color temp.
7) Check that the iris is fully open (best position to calibrate gamma) and that CMD is off.
8) Lamp: high
9) Run the calibration.
10) Save the calibration


Then autocal only color with iris = -7 color profile BT.2020 and save in user3
This procedure is correct?


Tanks
pippo53 is offline  
post #1402 of 4161 Old 01-30-2017, 04:03 PM
Member
 
danbez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
You need to have two gamma runs (one for low and one for high lamp).

You need to have an individual color only run (no gamma) for each lens aperture setting you use.

Now, what I'm not clear on is with the multiple color only runs, do you need to store each of these in a separate color mode setting or does the projector within one color mode setting record and know it is on a different aperture setting after it does the auto-cal for color only?
I have the same question. Right now I use the same user profile for BT2020 SDR and Rec709. Basically, I switch those values instead of having 2 different user profiles. When calibrating the projector, I did a Color only run on Rec709, changed it to BT2020 and run it again. Is this OK - will both settings maintain the correct calibration when used under the same user profile?
danbez is offline  
post #1403 of 4161 Old 01-30-2017, 04:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2384
I can't say for sure, but IMO it's a lot more effort to dig down into the menus to change the colorspace, than to just pick one of the discrete User Memory keys on my remote.
stanger89 is offline  
post #1404 of 4161 Old 01-30-2017, 06:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1124 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbez View Post
I have the same question. Right now I use the same user profile for BT2020 SDR and Rec709. Basically, I switch those values instead of having 2 different user profiles. When calibrating the projector, I did a Color only run on Rec709, changed it to BT2020 and run it again. Is this OK - will both settings maintain the correct calibration when used under the same user profile?
I think this response diluted what I was actually after in the first place and was never responded to, which is simply the answer to the following:

Does auto-cal save colorspace calibrations by Iris position?

(so if I do a setting at -5 it saves, -6 it saves separately so when I go back to -5 or -6 it adjusts to what the autocal set without me needing to interface anymore with it?)

Danbez - you are actually asking a slightly different question....that if you change Color settings under one profile it picks up the other autocal....I'm actually asking just about iris positions.
Sittler27 is offline  
post #1405 of 4161 Old 01-30-2017, 06:46 PM
Member
 
danbez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post

Danbez - you are actually asking a slightly different question....that if you change Color settings under one profile it picks up the other autocal....I'm actually asking just about iris positions.
Oopps! Sorry Sittler27!
danbez is offline  
post #1406 of 4161 Old 01-31-2017, 04:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
I think this response diluted what I was actually after in the first place and was never responded to, which is simply the answer to the following:

Does auto-cal save colorspace calibrations by Iris position?

(so if I do a setting at -5 it saves, -6 it saves separately so when I go back to -5 or -6 it adjusts to what the autocal set without me needing to interface anymore with it?)

Danbez - you are actually asking a slightly different question....that if you change Color settings under one profile it picks up the other autocal....I'm actually asking just about iris positions.
Supposedly it's by ranges, like 0 to -5 is one, -6 to -10 another, etc. I think the recommendation to cover your bases is run it at 0, -5, -10, -15. Though if you always use the same aperture, or couple of apertures, you could just run it for those.
stanger89 is offline  
post #1407 of 4161 Old 01-31-2017, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1124 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Supposedly it's by ranges, like 0 to -5 is one, -6 to -10 another, etc. I think the recommendation to cover your bases is run it at 0, -5, -10, -15. Though if you always use the same aperture, or couple of apertures, you could just run it for those.
And so even if I say use Rec 709 color setting, that when I shift between for example user mode 1 which is Rec 709 @ -5 and user mode 2 which is still Rec 709 but @-11, both will be color calibrated differently according to what auto-cal set in the JVC's internals?
Sittler27 is offline  
post #1408 of 4161 Old 01-31-2017, 07:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2384
Yup.
stanger89 is offline  
post #1409 of 4161 Old 01-31-2017, 08:08 AM
Member
 
pippo53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 3
This procedure is correct?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pippo53 View Post


I have 3 settings and wonder if I made an exact procedure for Autocal:
....

......
This procedure is correct?

Post #1401
This procedure is correct?
Tanks
pippo53 is offline  
post #1410 of 4161 Old 02-01-2017, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Hello I just finished my first calibration on my RS400U. I calibrated for each step of the IRIS 0, -5, -10, -15, etc.

After calibration, can I turn the Auto IRIS back on? I'm assuming that since I calibrated for the range of IRIS settings, then I'd be fine switching the Auto setting back on?

Can someone clarify? Thanks!
weboperations is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off