Official JVC DLA-RS400 (X550/X5000) Owner's Thread - Page 156 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3547Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4651 of 5799 Old 09-15-2017, 01:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MichaelZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,749
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by nellie75 View Post
I emailed Chad B yesterday about a calibration and my poor HDR image. I had no idea he lived in Ohio and was just an hour away from Cincy! He's coming tomorrow!
I just had my rs400 calibrated by Chad B. and he did an excellent job on it. My 2D, 3D and 4K HDR videos all have better depth and color especially the 4K HDR!
Macroblocker likes this.
MichaelZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4652 of 5799 Old 09-15-2017, 06:09 PM
Member
 
nellie75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelZ View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by nellie75 View Post
I emailed Chad B yesterday about a calibration and my poor HDR image. I had no idea he lived in Ohio and was just an hour away from Cincy! He's coming tomorrow!
I just had my rs400 calibrated by Chad B. and he did an excellent job on it. My 2D, 3D and 4K HDR videos all have better depth and color especially the 4K HDR!
I'm debating on investing in a calibration for my RS400 with Chad B or getting a newer model. Need to decide soon. Chad is available next week if I keep what I got. I'd
Like the gaming in a new model but Chad B can get a better HDR image on a RS400 than a stock RS420 image in HDR.
nellie75 is offline  
post #4653 of 5799 Old 09-15-2017, 07:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
slateef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Heaven
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What do most people set the color temp to for 1080p/blu ray content? 6500K?

I dream of a better tomorrow... where chickens can cross roads and not have their motives questioned.
slateef is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4654 of 5799 Old 09-15-2017, 10:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MichaelZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,749
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by nellie75 View Post
I'm debating on investing in a calibration for my RS400 with Chad B or getting a newer model. Need to decide soon. Chad is available next week if I keep what I got. I'd
Like the gaming in a new model but Chad B can get a better HDR image on a RS400 than a stock RS420 image in HDR.
I thought about buying a newer unit but after considering the newer units I decided to see what Chad B. could do by calibrating my rs400 and he did an excellent job. I thought if you get something newer, you still have the issue of is it calibrated properly from the factory or does it need to be calibrated for your particular environment so I wanted to see what improvement Chad B. could do for me and I will say that I am not interested in upgrading for a while. BTW I just watched GotG2 in 3D and it looked fantastic!
MichaelZ is offline  
post #4655 of 5799 Old 09-17-2017, 07:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
slateef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Heaven
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by slateef View Post
What do most people set the color temp to for 1080p/blu ray content? 6500K?
Anyone?

I dream of a better tomorrow... where chickens can cross roads and not have their motives questioned.
slateef is offline  
post #4656 of 5799 Old 09-17-2017, 07:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 7,095
Mentioned: 132 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4991 Post(s)
Liked: 1912
Quote:
Originally Posted by slateef View Post
What do most people set the color temp to for 1080p/blu ray content? 6500K?
The same colour temperature (D65) is used for SD, HD, and UHD.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4657 of 5799 Old 09-18-2017, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
rmilewsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Anyone have a link to or know the best settings to get an OPPO UDP203 using WCG / HDR to work and look the best connected to the RS400? I've had the RS400 calibrated but only for blu ray and 3D. I've updated the firmware so the 2020 profile is available.
rmilewsk is offline  
post #4658 of 5799 Old 09-20-2017, 01:06 AM
Senior Member
 
bassage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Is there a way to watch a 4k disc with the HDR turned off?
bassage is offline  
post #4659 of 5799 Old 09-20-2017, 03:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,163
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1445 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassage View Post
Is there a way to watch a 4k disc with the HDR turned off?
Kind of. Pretty certain you need a Panasonic UB900 and an HD Fury. I never bothered with that because that is $900 of gear.

Why do you ask?
Dreamliner is online now  
post #4660 of 5799 Old 09-20-2017, 05:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,451
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1654 Post(s)
Liked: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassage View Post
Is there a way to watch a 4k disc with the HDR turned off?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
Kind of. Pretty certain you need a Panasonic UB900 and an HD Fury. I never bothered with that because that is $900 of gear.

Why do you ask?
To turn off HDR while still maintaining WCG/BT2020, you either need an HDFury Integral or the new Vertex, which can do this with the Panasonic, the Philips, and possibly other UHD BD players, or the Oppo 203/205, which has this ability built-in. From what I've read, the Oppo doesn't do this as accurately as the Panasonic/HDFury combination, but how much difference there is, I don't know.

The other option, built into many UHD BD players, is to simply turn off HDR, which will cause it to also get rid of WCG/BGT2020, such that you end up with Rec709, the 'usual' Bluray color space.

With 4k/HDR BD's, there are 3 possible visual advantages (setting aside that often the Atmos soundtrack is only available with the 4k disc): 4k resolution, Wide Color Gamut, and High Dynamic Range. With the HDFury option, you maintain 4k and WCG, losing HDR. With fully turning off HDR in the second option, you maintain 4k resolution, but lose both WCG and HDR.

HTH.

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is online now  
post #4661 of 5799 Old 09-21-2017, 06:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Frank D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,877
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassage View Post
Is there a way to watch a 4k disc with the HDR turned off?
You need the hd fury linker. The hd fury Integral will not work for this. As others have suggested a panny ub900 works really well or the ub400 which is cheaper but is not sold in the US. It is sold in Canada.
Frank D is offline  
post #4662 of 5799 Old 09-21-2017, 07:18 PM
Senior Member
 
bill1908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have a Phillips and a intergal and get bt2020 with my 4910.
bill1908 is offline  
post #4663 of 5799 Old 09-22-2017, 02:54 AM
Member
 
jespermart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
A company called HD Fury makes a product that will help the RS400/500/600 remember the custom Gamma so it doesn't switch back to Gamma D every time you load a 4K disc, but it's like $250. (I didn't buy this and just hit the gamma button on the JVC remote to get to the custom curve I created)..
What are the product name from HD-Fury?, they have a lot of products
jespermart is offline  
post #4664 of 5799 Old 09-22-2017, 04:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,451
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1654 Post(s)
Liked: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank D View Post
You need the hd fury linker. The hd fury Integral will not work for this. As others have suggested a panny ub900 works really well or the ub400 which is cheaper but is not sold in the US. It is sold in Canada.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bill1908 View Post
I have a Phillips and a intergal and get bt2020 with my 4910.
As bill1908 points out, the HDFury Integral will, in fact, allow SDR/BT2020 with certain players (Panasonic UB900, Philips BDP7501, possibly others). The Integral will not prevent auto-switching to Gamma D, or enable the use of Dynamic Iris (for those who like that function; I personally don't). For that, either the Linker would be needed, or the soon to be available Vertex, which apparently combines the functions of both the Linker and Integral (and possibly adding other functions; I haven't personally researched this item).

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is online now  
post #4665 of 5799 Old 09-22-2017, 08:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Seattle,WA
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post
As bill1908 points out, the HDFury Integral will, in fact, allow SDR/BT2020 with certain players (Panasonic UB900, Philips BDP7501, possibly others). The Integral will not prevent auto-switching to Gamma D, or enable the use of Dynamic Iris (for those who like that function; I personally don't). For that, either the Linker would be needed, or the soon to be available Vertex, which apparently combines the functions of both the Linker and Integral (and possibly adding other functions; I haven't personally researched this item).
Just to add to this, the Linker will also allow SDR/BT2020 just like the Integral.
Hawks07 is offline  
post #4666 of 5799 Old 09-22-2017, 05:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MA. USA
Posts: 4,549
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 642
The RS400 is pretty impressive IMO, plenty of Lumens on a modest screen, and pretty clean...
It's not a "cheap" unit compared to others out there, but it's my 5th PJ, and far more expensive than all the others( I put more hrs on PJs over the years than folks would believe)...I marvel at it every time I turn it on, and would DEFINITELY do it again, without question.

Why waste $ on more cheap stuff, it's like challenging a dragon with a pocket knife.
muzz is offline  
post #4667 of 5799 Old 09-22-2017, 10:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,163
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1445 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by muzz View Post
The RS400 is pretty impressive IMO, plenty of Lumens on a modest screen, and pretty clean...
It's not a "cheap" unit compared to others out there, but it's my 5th PJ, and far more expensive than all the others( I put more hrs on PJs over the years than folks would believe)...I marvel at it every time I turn it on, and would DEFINITELY do it again, without question.
Agreed. It hits the apex of value/performance very well.

I recommend new buyers look to the RS420 to avoid the Custom Gamma & Gamma D HDR hassle but there is no compelling reason for a RS400 user to upgrade to a RS420 or even the RS440.
Dreamliner is online now  
post #4668 of 5799 Old 09-22-2017, 10:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nexgen76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 759 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
Agreed. It hits the apex of value/performance very well.

I recommend new buyers look to the RS420 to avoid the Custom Gamma & Gamma D HDR hassle but there is no compelling reason for a RS400 user to upgrade to a RS420 or even the RS440.
I don't know.....eshift5 looked pretty damn good when i viewed it at CEDIA on the RS670.

JVC NX5 Panasonic UB820 PC Madvr
Sliver Ticket 120' Cinema white screen
Aggressive 1299 L/C/R/, Volt 10XL x 2 surround, MKII Atmos Modules x 4(Jav's build)
Pioneer Elite SC-LX801 Acurus A125x5
Ported Primate SI 18" HST subs x 2(DIY) V.B.S.S.x 4(MBM)
Nexgen76 is offline  
post #4669 of 5799 Old 09-22-2017, 10:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,163
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1445 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexgen76 View Post
I don't know.....eshift5 looked pretty damn good when i viewed it at CEDIA on the RS670.
Going from a RS400 to a RS670 where the price is likely 5X the value of your RS400 isn't really a fair comparison.
Dreamliner is online now  
post #4670 of 5799 Old 09-22-2017, 10:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MA. USA
Posts: 4,549
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 642
Ok, I won't upgrade till Full 4k panels.... not happening

Why waste $ on more cheap stuff, it's like challenging a dragon with a pocket knife.
muzz is offline  
post #4671 of 5799 Old 09-22-2017, 10:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,163
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1445 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by muzz View Post
Ok, I won't upgrade till Full 4k panels.... not happening
I said that before I bought my RS400.

I really hope the cost of true 4K comes down quickly. I'd really like a 4K laser. I have a feeling JVC will ship 4K bulb projectors to retain an ultra expensive model for laser.
Dreamliner is online now  
post #4672 of 5799 Old 09-24-2017, 03:29 PM
Senior Member
 
rmilewsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I just got my oppo 203 hooked up to my RS400. Like most people have noticed the image looks dark when viewing 4K. I tried source direct and it was working for a while but then started displaying 1080P even with a 4K disk inserted. It's strange that the oppo 203 menus pictures look great but a 4K image doesn't look that great.. I'm guessing the menu images are in SDR.

When the projector was displaying 4K at 24p I saw nothing but a black screen. When the RS400 said it was displaying an image at 4K at 60 Hz I saw an image. Does anyone know why?

I'm wondering what people have the display options set to? Source direct, auto ?


I've updated to the latest firmware a bit ago but I don't see the bt2020 profile available. Do I need to do something else to have it show up as an option?



I tried the HDR off option but the 400 started displaying connections at 1080 P even though I had a 4K disk inserted. I also tried the strip metadata and the image looked dark. I turned down the luminance to 200 and it looked better but still even close to as good as my oppo 103 that has been calibrated with the RS400.


Does anyone have a link to the best settings for the OPPO 203 connected to the RS400?
rmilewsk is offline  
post #4673 of 5799 Old 09-25-2017, 08:57 AM
Member
 
tklein2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Hello. I have a x550 and a Ruku ultra for my streaming. When I change the display settings on the Ruku to send 4K HDR, my screen will flicker, no error messages, just flicker, go black then come back... unwatchable. I also have a Sony 4k bd player that does not do that when viewing 4k HDR content via the same Netflix app. Although I noticed the Sony sends 24 fps vice 60 fps for the same Netflix movie? Are there any setting with my projector or Ruku that will fix this flicker? I do have a brand new high speed HDMI cable rated at the 18 gbps between the projector and my Yamaha A3060 receiver. Would the HD Fury fix this while still allowing me to watch HDR content, i.e. view the HDR looking like HDR?
tklein2 is offline  
post #4674 of 5799 Old 09-25-2017, 04:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nexgen76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 759 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmilewsk View Post
I just got my oppo 203 hooked up to my RS400. Like most people have noticed the image looks dark when viewing 4K. I tried source direct and it was working for a while but then started displaying 1080P even with a 4K disk inserted. It's strange that the oppo 203 menus pictures look great but a 4K image doesn't look that great.. I'm guessing the menu images are in SDR.

When the projector was displaying 4K at 24p I saw nothing but a black screen. When the RS400 said it was displaying an image at 4K at 60 Hz I saw an image. Does anyone know why?

I'm wondering what people have the display options set to? Source direct, auto ?


I've updated to the latest firmware a bit ago but I don't see the bt2020 profile available. Do I need to do something else to have it show up as an option?



I tried the HDR off option but the 400 started displaying connections at 1080 P even though I had a 4K disk inserted. I also tried the strip metadata and the image looked dark. I turned down the luminance to 200 and it looked better but still even close to as good as my oppo 103 that has been calibrated with the RS400.


Does anyone have a link to the best settings for the OPPO 203 connected to the RS400?

Gamma D is broken & the only thing i founded that helped me with having dark HDR image was buying the Panny UB900 player that has HDR slider that does awesome job far as brightness & not raising the black floor.To me that was the game changer over the Oppo 203.

JVC NX5 Panasonic UB820 PC Madvr
Sliver Ticket 120' Cinema white screen
Aggressive 1299 L/C/R/, Volt 10XL x 2 surround, MKII Atmos Modules x 4(Jav's build)
Pioneer Elite SC-LX801 Acurus A125x5
Ported Primate SI 18" HST subs x 2(DIY) V.B.S.S.x 4(MBM)
Nexgen76 is offline  
post #4675 of 5799 Old 09-25-2017, 10:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,163
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1445 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexgen76 View Post
Gamma D is broken & the only thing i founded that helped me with having dark HDR image was buying the Panny UB900 player that has HDR slider that does awesome job far as brightness & not raising the black floor.To me that was the game changer over the Oppo 203.
Have you set up custom gamma?
Dreamliner is online now  
post #4676 of 5799 Old 09-25-2017, 10:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nexgen76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 759 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
Have you set up custom gamma?
Yes i have & that helped also...But Panny HDR slider was the difference maker.
Dreamliner likes this.

JVC NX5 Panasonic UB820 PC Madvr
Sliver Ticket 120' Cinema white screen
Aggressive 1299 L/C/R/, Volt 10XL x 2 surround, MKII Atmos Modules x 4(Jav's build)
Pioneer Elite SC-LX801 Acurus A125x5
Ported Primate SI 18" HST subs x 2(DIY) V.B.S.S.x 4(MBM)
Nexgen76 is offline  
post #4677 of 5799 Old 09-25-2017, 11:14 PM
Senior Member
 
MDesigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by tklein2 View Post
Hello. I have a x550 and a Ruku ultra for my streaming. When I change the display settings on the Ruku to send 4K HDR, my screen will flicker, no error messages, just flicker, go black then come back... unwatchable. I also have a Sony 4k bd player that does not do that when viewing 4k HDR content via the same Netflix app. Although I noticed the Sony sends 24 fps vice 60 fps for the same Netflix movie? Are there any setting with my projector or Ruku that will fix this flicker? I do have a brand new high speed HDMI cable rated at the 18 gbps between the projector and my Yamaha A3060 receiver. Would the HD Fury fix this while still allowing me to watch HDR content, i.e. view the HDR looking like HDR?
What HDMI cable and what length? Sound's like a cable issue.

JVC DLA-RS500
MDesigns is offline  
post #4678 of 5799 Old 09-25-2017, 11:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
jake51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I was wondering about HDMI EDID
Do I have to change it to EDID A every time I'm watching a 4K BD movie?
Or can I just leave it on EDID B?
I can't see any difference
jake51 is online now  
post #4679 of 5799 Old 09-26-2017, 06:15 AM
Member
 
tklein2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by MDesigns View Post
What HDMI cable and what length? Sound's like a cable issue.
I don't remember the brand off the top of my head, but I remember doing some research to make sure people with 25 foot runs were happy with HDMI 2.0x content. I was on Ruku's website last night and I noticed they recommended that my projector's HDMI settings be set to Enhanced. I checked and I had mine set to Super White... I changed it to Auto. For the brief time I watched HDR last night, everything worked fine. If it starts flaking out again, I'll set it to Enhanced... I don't really want to do that because it makes other sources appear washed out a bit.
tklein2 is offline  
post #4680 of 5799 Old 10-01-2017, 09:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jive Turkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: good old USA
Posts: 2,459
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 590 Post(s)
Liked: 494
Vertex for RS400?

I'm trying to decide on getting an HDFury Vertex or not for my RS400. The feature of holding custom Gamma settings is nice (rather than D default upon handshake), but I'm wondering more about being able to enable the Dynamic Iris in HDR?

My calibrator told me he disables the Iris altogether in his calibration, which sounds good by me as I don't use it to date. I'm wondering if the DI in HDR might be a benefit as the lamp ages, thinking if I have to raise the brightness it would be good to compensate for the rise in the black floor level? Revert back to DI and former brightness setting upon lamp replacement.

Overthinking? I do that a lot.

See ya. Dave

"High Fidelity audio has been like a dog chasing his tail. High Fidelity in my marriage has been much more rewarding because she knows where I sleep."
Jive Turkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
DLA-RS400 , DLA-RS500U

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off