Official JVC DLA-RS400 (X550/X5000) Owner's Thread - Page 176 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3511Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5251 of 5652 Old 09-02-2018, 10:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
usc1995's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sunny Southern California
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderguy View Post
Sounds like you got a good deal. I would think you need a CPU that benches at least 2500 on passmark (the higher the better), yours should be a bit higher than that.

The Celeron probably passmarks under that. I have had issues with streaming even 1080p on old laptops that bench much lower than that passmark.



I use an i7 desktop for PC stuff on the projector, though I never stream with it, just use a Roku for that.


Yeah, this laptop scores 3738 on the pass mark and works great for what I need it for. I am really happy with the deal and would encourage anyone who just needs a Windows computer for running calibration programs to buy used. It’s not a HTPC but a PC for HT.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
usc1995 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5252 of 5652 Old 09-02-2018, 10:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14,025
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2420 Post(s)
Liked: 1314
Quote:
Originally Posted by usc1995 View Post
Yeah, this laptop scores 3738 on the pass mark and works great for what I need it for. I am really happy with the deal and would encourage anyone who just needs a Windows computer for running calibration programs to buy used. It’s not a HTPC but a PC for HT.
I have a Lenovo I use just for remote desktop, passmark is 3050 (technically official passmark is 2600, but when I ran it was 3000+).
I paid $260 about 3 months ago (though mine was new).

It's pretty cheaply built for sure, but it works for what I need. Only 4GB Ram but I don't use it for HTPC.
I also had a $200 Chinese Tablet that died after a year.

**Updated Projector Calculator Released NOV 2017**
-- www.webprojectorcalculator.com --
coderguy is offline  
post #5253 of 5652 Old 09-02-2018, 10:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bahn Yuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Send a message via AIM to Bahn Yuki Send a message via MSN to Bahn Yuki Send a message via Yahoo to Bahn Yuki
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post
I have seen multiple posts of people selling their Oppo 203's, and after buying the UB820, still had money in their pocket. So this looks encouraging for you.
I'm one of those people. The ub820 is a game changer for my rs400. I honestly believe my rs400 has a better picture than my Samsung 55q8fn. Can't compete with my LG 65C7 with Dolby Vision but I've never seen my JVC look as good.

I do use the hdr optimizer and use auto 2 on the DI for the projector when it's at to manual iris at - 7.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
DLCPhoto likes this.

JVC RS400, Denon X6300H, Klipsch RP-280F x 2, RP-450C, RB-51 II x 2, RS-42 II x 2, RB-41 II x 2, R-150M in 7.1.4, 150" Silver Ticket
LG 65C7, Denon X4300H, Klipsch RF-26 x 2, RC-52 II, Onkyo speakers in 5.1.4 setup
TCL 55P605, Klipsch 2.1 Certified THX speakers
Sony 34XBR960 x 2
Bahn Yuki is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5254 of 5652 Old 09-03-2018, 04:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,355
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1560 Post(s)
Liked: 693
Quote:
Originally Posted by steevo123 View Post
Check out the UB820 thread. Streaming services 4k HDR so far a verrrry mixed bag. Basically the ub820 is a great disk player. Gotta go elsewhere (shield, roku, etc) for streaming.
Yeah, that's my impression as well. I have been following that thread as well, and see the mixed reports there.

I have a Roku Premiere+ for streaming, and it works fine. But the main limitation at this point is that we'd still need to use our custom gamma curves on this content. That still works well, but it would be awesome to have the UB820 allow us to use its tone-mapping for streaming content. Hopefully this can be added with a firmware update, but who knows.

I'll likely get the UB820 for use with playing UHD discs, even without the streaming, but boy it would be nice to have that as well!

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is online now  
post #5255 of 5652 Old 09-03-2018, 05:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,425
Mentioned: 121 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4483 Post(s)
Liked: 1678
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post
Yeah, that's my impression as well. I have been following that thread as well, and see the mixed reports there.

I have a Roku Premiere+ for streaming, and it works fine. But the main limitation at this point is that we'd still need to use our custom gamma curves on this content. That still works well, but it would be awesome to have the UB820 allow us to use its tone-mapping for streaming content. Hopefully this can be added with a firmware update, but who knows.

I'll likely get the UB820 for use with playing UHD discs, even without the streaming, but boy it would be nice to have that as well!
I don’t plan to buy a UB820 but am curious about its functionality, so I hope to get a quick answer here. Does the UB820’s HDR optimizer work with only disc contents, or with streaming as well (even if the current implementation may not be optimal)?
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #5256 of 5652 Old 09-03-2018, 05:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,355
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1560 Post(s)
Liked: 693
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
I don’t plan to buy a UB820 but am curious about its functionality, so I hope to get a quick answer here. Does the UB820’s HDR optimizer work with only disc contents, or with streaming as well (even if the current implementation may not be optimal)?
zombie10k has reported that unfortunately, at least with Netflix HDR streaming, it is not possible at this time to take advantage of the UB820's tone-mapping. I'm not sure about Amazon, as he hasn't reported his results, but there is apparently some issues with drop-outs of some type, even with fast, wired connections. And YouTube is also having issues with HDR.

So the answer at this time is that the new tone-mapping is only working and available for discs, and not yet for streaming.

I have been trying to get Robert Zohn's attention, who apparently has some direct contact with Panasonic people, to look into this, and get some idea whether this is possible to fix with a firmware update, but I haven't yet been successful.

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is online now  
post #5257 of 5652 Old 09-04-2018, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 23,985
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6390 Post(s)
Liked: 6388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bahn Yuki View Post
I'm one of those people. The ub820 is a game changer for my rs400. I honestly believe my rs400 has a better picture than my Samsung 55q8fn. Can't compete with my LG 65C7 with Dolby Vision but I've never seen my JVC look as good.

I do use the hdr optimizer and use auto 2 on the DI for the projector when it's at to manual iris at - 7.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
I was just talking with chad b about this, he feels the JVC picture quality is better then a 900F Sony LED but not as good as a Sony Z9D, your 55Q8FN is about equal to a 900F So great observation !
Bahn Yuki likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #5258 of 5652 Old 09-04-2018, 05:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
You should try it and let me know. Also, if you do the power cycle thing and watch a 4K movie or two then shut the projector off and come back the next day to watch another 4K movie, does it look good right away?
Today I played the movie "The Martian" While on the initial menu screen I noticed the image was dull so I rebooted the projector and it looked considerably better. When I selected play, the screen went black and I realised the projector was changing the video output, as if the menu page was different resolution to the actual movie. Once the image came back on and the movie was playing I once again noticed the image had become dull again so I paused the movie and again I rebooted the projector. After the reboot the image looked a lot better.

I have attached two photos. Image 69 is before and image 70 is after reboot.

Keep in mind both images look terrible that is because of the camera and lighting etc but there is a clear difference in contrast.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020869.JPG
Views:	62
Size:	1.45 MB
ID:	2450938   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020870.JPG
Views:	58
Size:	1.32 MB
ID:	2450940  
kyone2k is offline  
post #5259 of 5652 Old 09-04-2018, 05:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,425
Mentioned: 121 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4483 Post(s)
Liked: 1678
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyone2k View Post
Today I played the movie "The Martian" While on the initial menu screen I noticed the image was dull so I rebooted the projector and it looked considerably better. When I selected play, the screen went black and I realised the projector was changing the video output, as if the menu page was different resolution to the actual movie. Once the image came back on and the movie was playing I once again noticed the image had become dull again so I paused the movie and again I rebooted the projector. After the reboot the image looked a lot better.

I have attached two photos. Image 69 is before and image 70 is after reboot.

Keep in mind both images look terrible that is because of the camera and lighting etc but there is a clear difference in contrast.
You need to check the Picture Mode and Info screen when the screen is “dull” and when it looks “better”, to see what the differences are.
Dreamliner likes this.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #5260 of 5652 Old 09-04-2018, 07:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,089
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1368 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
You need to check the Picture Mode and Info screen when the screen is “dull” and when it looks “better”, to see what the differences are.
I really do think one is on Gamma D or something...
Dreamliner is online now  
post #5261 of 5652 Old 09-18-2018, 10:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Picking up an RS400 today and am looking for right/best HDMI solutions.

In reading Dreamliner's EXCELLENT Starter guide, I've decided to go with the Monoprice he recommends.

Two questions:

1. I know that the max recommended length of HDMI cable for HDMI 2 (especially with the JVC's) is no longer than 25 feet. That's pretty much exactly what I need in terms of length but...will I have issues being right at the 25 foot length?

2. Besides running with a Panasonic UB820 UHD Blu-ray player, I'll also be running an Nvidia shield for streaming off of my Nas (Synology 1812+). What type of HDMI switcher would I need to assure perfect sync/playback from all sources to the projector?

Thanks in advance!!
Bahn Yuki likes this.
Darrin is offline  
post #5262 of 5652 Old 09-18-2018, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
usc1995's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sunny Southern California
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrin View Post
Picking up an RS400 today and am looking for right/best HDMI solutions.



In reading Dreamliner's EXCELLENT Starter guide, I've decided to go with the Monoprice he recommends.



Two questions:



1. I know that the max recommended length of HDMI cable for HDMI 2 (especially with the JVC's) is no longer than 25 feet. That's pretty much exactly what I need in terms of length but...will I have issues being right at the 25 foot length?



2. Besides running with a Panasonic UB820 UHD Blu-ray player, I'll also be running an Nvidia shield for streaming off of my Nas (Synology 1812+). What type of HDMI switcher would I need to assure perfect sync/playback from all sources to the projector?



Thanks in advance!!

Most of us use an AVR as our switcher. What are you doing for audio if you are not using a receiver?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
usc1995 is online now  
post #5263 of 5652 Old 09-18-2018, 12:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by usc1995 View Post
Most of us use an AVR as our switcher. What are you doing for audio if you are not using a receiver?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I'm doing lowly Dolby Digital and DTS via coaxial into a Meridian 861v4. So I only need the switcher for video.
Darrin is offline  
post #5264 of 5652 Old 09-21-2018, 11:27 AM
Member
 
ashvash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi all,

thanks to this forum, i have the rec.2020 and the custom gamma curves.
using nvidia shield
yamaha tsr-5810
jvc dla-x550r

getting display option from shield: 3840x2160 59.940 Hz YUV 420 10-bit Rec. 2020
also had option for and switched to: YUV 422 12-bit Rec. 2020

earlier i was on 3840x2160 60 Hz. but had issues, screen would go blank in middle of movie. fine, shield recommends 59.940 Hz and I will leave it on that one.

BUT why cant i get option for 4:4:4?
it's only available per shield as RGB 8-bit.

I should be able to have shield output 3840x2160 59.940 Hz YUV 444 and have it pass thru from receiver to PJ

please help?
or just leave at my current settings: 3840x2160 59.940 Hz YUV 422 12-bit Rec. 2020
ashvash is offline  
post #5265 of 5652 Old 09-29-2018, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
indus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hi


I have the x5000 and have only recently tried to watch 4k films. These are being played from a Zappiti 4k media player. At present I'm not trying HDR as I can't cope with the noise of high lamp (HDR switched off via the Zappiti)



Anyway, the picture doesn't look right at all despite me fiddling about with it. After asking for some advice on another site I've been directed here as it seems I need some custom curves.


Could anybody point me in the right direction for these please?


Thanks very much.
indus1 is offline  
post #5266 of 5652 Old 09-29-2018, 12:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,425
Mentioned: 121 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4483 Post(s)
Liked: 1678
Quote:
Originally Posted by indus1 View Post
Anyway, the picture doesn't look right at all despite me fiddling about with it. After asking for some advice on another site I've been directed here as it seems I need some custom curves.
You can start with this:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post55447874
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #5267 of 5652 Old 09-30-2018, 06:54 AM
Senior Member
 
indus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post

Thank you. I'm struggling to know where to start because there are so many curves out there. In that link the post provides a link to Manni's curves but when I click on it I'm taken to Manni's info on the vertex, macro lenses and all sorts.

Are you able to point me to a couple of decent curves please? I have the X5000, white screen which is 9ft wide a light controlled black room. I definitely don't want to use high lamp mode as it is far too noisy. It doesn't have to be perfect, just somewhere to start.

Thanks for your help
indus1 is offline  
post #5268 of 5652 Old 09-30-2018, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,425
Mentioned: 121 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4483 Post(s)
Liked: 1678
Quote:
Originally Posted by indus1 View Post
Thank you. I'm struggling to know where to start because there are so many curves out there. In that link the post provides a link to Manni's curves but when I click on it I'm taken to Manni's info on the vertex, macro lenses and all sorts.

Are you able to point me to a couple of decent curves please? I have the X5000, white screen which is 9ft wide a light controlled black room. I definitely don't want to use high lamp mode as it is far too noisy. It doesn't have to be perfect, just somewhere to start.
The link to vertex etc also includes the curves. You can also try Javs’ v3 curves:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post55203652
Instructions are given in the same link.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 09-30-2018 at 07:56 AM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #5269 of 5652 Old 09-30-2018, 10:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,089
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1368 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by indus1 View Post
Thank you. I'm struggling to know where to start because there are so many curves out there. In that link the post provides a link to Manni's curves but when I click on it I'm taken to Manni's info on the vertex, macro lenses and all sorts.

Are you able to point me to a couple of decent curves please? I have the X5000, white screen which is 9ft wide a light controlled black room. I definitely don't want to use high lamp mode as it is far too noisy. It doesn't have to be perfect, just somewhere to start.

Thanks for your help
I suggest taking a look at my JVC 4K QuickStart Guide (clicky). There is a section in there about loading premade curves.
Modicen likes this.
Dreamliner is online now  
post #5270 of 5652 Old 10-18-2018, 12:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,185
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Getting ready to hook up my ShieldTV and watch some 4K netflix....
Is the only thing i need to do in the pj is turn on Eshift, thanx

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction
kgveteran is offline  
post #5271 of 5652 Old 10-18-2018, 01:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,492
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4627 Post(s)
Liked: 2933
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Getting ready to hook up my ShieldTV and watch some 4K netflix....
Is the only thing i need to do in the pj is turn on Eshift, thanx
Most likely you won't have to do that either. It should come on automatically when it receives 4K. But whether or not that's the only thing you need to do will remain to be seen. 4K transmission over HDMI can be very flaky so I guess you'll discover if the projector syncs or not and if it syncs at 4K etc.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #5272 of 5652 Old 10-18-2018, 01:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,355
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1560 Post(s)
Liked: 693
22 Jump Street Blu-ray problem

Just an odd occurrence here.

I recently bought the 21 Jump Street/22 Jump Street combo blu-ray. 21 Jump Street plays just fine. But whenever I try to play 22 Jump Street, I keep losing HDMI sync between the player and my RS400. The screen goes black, then blue, HDMI is renegotiated, the picture re-appears, only to be lost again within a minute or two.

This occurred with both my Philips BDP-7501 player and my Sony BDP-S5500.

I went back to Best Buy, and exchanged it for another copy, and found the exact same problem!

I then contacted Sony, sent them back mine, and had them send me another, and once again, I kept losing sync when trying to play the 22 Jump Street disc.

One might be tempted to think this is an HDMI cable issue, but I have played hundreds of regular and UHD Blu-rays, including the 4k/HDR 60Hz Billy Lynn UHD Blu-ray, all without any problems.

And the same 22 Jump Street Blu-ray plays fine on my Sony X-800 that I have connected to my Sony XBR900E 75" 4k/HDR TV.

The one Sony sent me came with a digital UV code, so I redeemed this, and played it via my Roku Premiere+ without problem.

It's just so weird that I thought I'd post here, and see if anyone else has this blu-ray and/or has experienced this type of problem.

Just a strange curiosity...

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is online now  
post #5273 of 5652 Old 10-19-2018, 09:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,425
Mentioned: 121 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4483 Post(s)
Liked: 1678
Gamma D Revisited

While optimum HDR performance can only be achieved using custom curves, there are still people who, for whatever reasons, prefer not to "get into" custom curves. If you're one of those owners, the following settings for Gamma D will give you much better results than the JVC Default settings of Picture Tone (PT), Dark Level (DL), Bright Level (BL), especially when running in low power mode.

For 1000-nits movies: PT=15, DL=7, BL=4
For 2000-nits to 4000-nits movies: PT=16, DL=7, BL=7 (i.e., all controls at their maximum settings).
Additionally, try increasing Brightness to 3 or 4.

Even if you do use custom curves, you can still use the above Gamma D settings, if you don't have a Linker and the projector occasionally switches back to Gamma D.
VideoGrabber likes this.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 10-27-2018 at 10:41 AM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #5274 of 5652 Old 10-20-2018, 10:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Modicen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: R.I.
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
While optimum HDR performance can only be achieved using custom curves, there are still people who, for whatever reasons, prefer not to "get into" custom curves. If you're one of those owners, the following settings for Gamma D will give you much better results than the JVC Default settings of Picture Tone (PT), Dark Level (DL), Bright Level (BL).

For 1000-nits movies: PT=15, DL=7, BL=4
For 2000-nits to 4000-nits movies: PT=16, DL=7, BL=7 (i.e., all controls at their maximum settings).
Additionally, try increasing Brightness to 3 or 4.

Even if you do use custom curves, you can still use the above Gamma D settings, if you don't have a Linker and the projector occasionally switches back to Gamma D.
Hi Dominic, How can you tell which movies are 1000 nits and which ones are 2000 nits?
Modicen is offline  
post #5275 of 5652 Old 10-20-2018, 11:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,425
Mentioned: 121 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4483 Post(s)
Liked: 1678
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modicen View Post
Hi Dominic, How can you tell which movies are 1000 nits and which ones are 2000 nits?
There’s a master list on AVS Forum somewhere.
You can create two user Picture Modes with different settings, and switch to the higher one if you notice clipping.
Modicen likes this.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #5276 of 5652 Old 10-23-2018, 06:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,185
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Getting ready to hook up my ShieldTV and watch some 4K netflix....
Is the only thing i need to do in the pj is turn on Eshift, thanx
Most likely you won't have to do that either. It should come on automatically when it receives 4K. But whether or not that's the only thing you need to do will remain to be seen. 4K transmission over HDMI can be very flaky so I guess you'll discover if the projector syncs or not and if it syncs at 4K etc.
Ok, im getting 4K per my info screen, netflix (LukeCage season1 Ep1)through a NvidiaShieldTV. No flicking, total picture lock.

Picture is dark, super detailed, but dark.

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction
kgveteran is offline  
post #5277 of 5652 Old 10-23-2018, 07:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,425
Mentioned: 121 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4483 Post(s)
Liked: 1678
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Ok, im getting 4K per my info screen, netflix (LukeCage season1 Ep1)through a NvidiaShieldTV. No flicking, total picture lock.

Picture is dark, super detailed, but dark.
Try the settings I listed in post 5273 above.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #5278 of 5652 Old 10-24-2018, 02:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,185
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Ok, im getting 4K per my info screen, netflix (LukeCage season1 Ep1)through a NvidiaShieldTV. No flicking, total picture lock.

Picture is dark, super detailed, but dark.
Try the settings I listed in post 5273 above.
Ok, when i change the settings for 4K content, will those changes be stored as a user setting that i will have to manually change for 1080p, switch between those two resolutions ?

Thanx for the list of settings

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction
kgveteran is offline  
post #5279 of 5652 Old 10-24-2018, 04:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,425
Mentioned: 121 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4483 Post(s)
Liked: 1678
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Ok, when i change the settings for 4K content, will those changes be stored as a user setting that i will have to manually change for 1080p, switch between those two resolutions ?

Thanx for the list of settings
The deciding factor is dynamic range (HDR vs SDR), not resolution (4K vs 1080p).

The projector automatically switches to Gamma D when HDR is detected. Those settings I listed only affect Gamma D and hence HDR, so no manual switching is required. However, you may still want to create a custom picture mode as other settings are different (e.g., BT.2020 for colour profile, iris wide open to maximize peak luminance).
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #5280 of 5652 Old 10-24-2018, 04:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,185
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Any other 4K setting adjustments ?

It looks a little dim still, high level brightens up things but fan noise yuck

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction
kgveteran is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
DLA-RS400 , DLA-RS500U

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off