Official JVC DLA-RS400 (X550/X5000) Owner's Thread - Page 177 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3530Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5281 of 5759 Old 10-24-2018, 04:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,921
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4859 Post(s)
Liked: 1835
Do you see Gamma D displayed when playing HDR contents? Click on that and the next screen will show those three settings.
Dominic Chan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5282 of 5759 Old 10-24-2018, 04:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,259
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Do you see Gamma D displayed when playing HDR contents? Click on that and the next screen will show those three settings.
Gotcha Ty

Any idea why my keystone isnt working......

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction

Last edited by kgveteran; 10-24-2018 at 06:03 PM.
kgveteran is online now  
post #5283 of 5759 Old 10-24-2018, 08:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,921
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4859 Post(s)
Liked: 1835
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Gotcha Ty

Any idea why my keystone isnt working......
You shouldn’t be using keystone. Point the projector straight ahead and use lens shift to centre the image on screen.
Dominic Chan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5284 of 5759 Old 10-25-2018, 02:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,259
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Gotcha Ty

Any idea why my keystone isnt working......
You shouldn’t be using keystone. Point the projector straight ahead and use lens shift to centre the image on screen.
Its a little higher than the screen :0/

I think i may have maxed out my lens shift, i dont know why its gray, and cant be accessed

The image looks good, but like a flat subwoofer response, i like a curve, where should i look to begin giving this image a little pop

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction

Last edited by kgveteran; 10-25-2018 at 04:51 AM.
kgveteran is online now  
post #5285 of 5759 Old 10-25-2018, 04:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,921
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4859 Post(s)
Liked: 1835
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Its a little higher than the screen :0/

I think i may have maxed out my lens shift, i dont know why its gray, and cant be accessed
The vertical lens shift limit is +/-80%, so it can be placed higher than the top edge of the the screen without causing keystone distortion.

Was there any active inputs connected when you tried to adjust keystones?
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #5286 of 5759 Old 10-25-2018, 05:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,259
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Its a little higher than the screen :0/

I think i may have maxed out my lens shift, i dont know why its gray, and cant be accessed
The vertical lens shift limit is +/-80%, so it can be placed higher than the top edge of the the screen without causing keystone distortion.

Was there any active inputs connected when you tried to adjust keystones?
Yes, i had my ShieldTV playin 4K netflix.

I need a video curve and not sure where to begin

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction
kgveteran is online now  
post #5287 of 5759 Old 10-25-2018, 06:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,921
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4859 Post(s)
Liked: 1835
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Yes, i had my ShieldTV playin 4K netflix.

I need a video curve and not sure where to begin
The instructions for Javs curves are here:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post55203652

If you find that too daunting, you can also try my quick settings which give a much better picture than the Gamma D defaults:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post56987686
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #5288 of 5759 Old 10-25-2018, 10:18 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,526
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6661 Post(s)
Liked: 6641
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrin View Post

1. I know that the max recommended length of HDMI cable for HDMI 2 (especially with the JVC's) is no longer than 25 feet. That's pretty much exactly what I need in terms of length but...will I have issues being right at the 25 foot length? I am way over 25FT with my HDMI on my JVC, no issues...... RUIPRO HDMI Fiber Cable

2. Besides running with a Panasonic UB820 UHD Blu-ray player, I'll also be running an Nvidia shield for streaming off of my Nas (Synology 1812+). What type of HDMI switcher would I need to assure perfect sync/playback from all sources to the projector? A good receiver will do it You need one anyway right?

Thanks in advance!!
Answered above.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #5289 of 5759 Old 10-26-2018, 06:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,259
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Yes, i had my ShieldTV playin 4K netflix.

I need a video curve and not sure where to begin
The instructions for Javs curves are here:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post55203652

If you find that too daunting, you can also try my quick settings which give a much better picture than the Gamma D defaults:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post56987686
What in the hell is Javs talking about, i cant even image what I need to learn to begin to absorb that post :0)
Is it me ? Seriously, how do i educate myself to begin understanding

I did ur quick settings

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction

Last edited by kgveteran; 10-26-2018 at 06:18 AM.
kgveteran is online now  
post #5290 of 5759 Old 10-27-2018, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,259
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Does anyone watch HDR or 4K (I personally dont know the difference) in low power setting, in high mode the fan is entirely too loud.

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction

Last edited by kgveteran; 10-27-2018 at 10:17 AM.
kgveteran is online now  
post #5291 of 5759 Old 10-27-2018, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,921
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4859 Post(s)
Liked: 1835
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Does anyone watch HDR or 4K (I personally dont know the difference) in low power setting, in high mode the fan is entirely too loud.
If you use my settings of Gamma D 16,7,7 (Brightness 4) and still find the picture too dim, you will have to use custom curves and/or high power.
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #5292 of 5759 Old 10-27-2018, 11:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,259
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Does anyone watch HDR or 4K (I personally dont know the difference) in low power setting, in high mode the fan is entirely too loud.
If you use my settings of Gamma D 16,7,7 (Brightness 4) and still find the picture too dim, you will have to use custom curves and/or high power.
Just watched a 4k Netflix movie, it was 2:35:1 and it looked fine detailed, bright enough, could of dropped the brightness a little, the movie was The Transfiguration. Good movie.
Now LukeCage Netflix4K looks very dim but still detailed.......

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction
kgveteran is online now  
post #5293 of 5759 Old 10-28-2018, 12:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,144
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1422 Post(s)
Liked: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
What in the hell is Javs talking about, i cant even image what I need to learn to begin to absorb that post :0)
Is it me ? Seriously, how do i educate myself to begin understanding

I did ur quick settings
I made a JVC 4K QuickStart Guide SPECIFICALLY for people like you. Please read it. You will be very glad you did.
Modicen likes this.
Dreamliner is online now  
post #5294 of 5759 Old 10-28-2018, 04:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,259
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
What in the hell is Javs talking about, i cant even image what I need to learn to begin to absorb that post :0)
Is it me ? Seriously, how do i educate myself to begin understanding

I did ur quick settings
I made a JVC 4K QuickStart Guide SPECIFICALLY for people like you. Please read it. You will be very glad you did. [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/smile.gif[/IMG]
Thank you, i read the instructions.
In the end will i have 3 different user setting for HDR, they would all be different Gamma curves

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction

Last edited by kgveteran; 10-28-2018 at 06:26 PM.
kgveteran is online now  
post #5295 of 5759 Old 10-28-2018, 07:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,144
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1422 Post(s)
Liked: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Thank you, i read the instructions.
In the end will i have 3 different user setting for HDR, they would all be different Gamma curves
For the Custom Curves step (which links to here), step 7/8 lays that out. I only have one curve loaded (JAVS V3). I use User Mode 1 for HD, 2 for 4K and 3 for 3D.

I’ll be updating the thread to strongly suggest buying a UB820 4K player. It has built-in SDR Conversion and Tone Mapping which allows you to skip over custom curves for discs (still need BT2020 color profile) but you’ll probably still want a custom curve loaded for streaming content though.

All this will make sense as you start working the guide. It is very thorough and complete. You will not get stuck and it will all make sense as you go.

Take about an hour to go through it and you’ll be set. I bet you’ll be done in 30 minutes.
Dreamliner is online now  
post #5296 of 5759 Old 10-29-2018, 06:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,259
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Thank you, i read the instructions.
In the end will i have 3 different user setting for HDR, they would all be different Gamma curves
For the Custom Curves step (which links to here), step 7/8 lays that out. I only have one curve loaded (JAVS V3). I use User Mode 1 for HD, 2 for 4K and 3 for 3D.

I’ll be updating the thread to strongly suggest buying a UB820 4K player. It has built-in SDR Conversion and Tone Mapping which allows you to skip over custom curves for discs (still need BT2020 color profile) but you’ll probably still want a custom curve loaded for streaming content though.

All this will make sense as you start working the guide. It is very thorough and complete. You will not get stuck and it will all make sense as you go.

Take about an hour to go through it and you’ll be set. I bet you’ll be done in 30 minutes.
My biggest hurdle was, why does the RS have 3 presets, and what to put on them ? I had a feeling it was HD(1080p) , 4K/HDR, and for me an extra, i dont Watch 3D.....
I will digest this, thanx for the constant reply’s to my inexperience

Isnt there a way to just adjust through the pj’s setting menu, or a breakout of each parameter ???

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction

Last edited by kgveteran; 10-29-2018 at 09:58 AM.
kgveteran is online now  
post #5297 of 5759 Old 10-29-2018, 06:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,921
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4859 Post(s)
Liked: 1835
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
My biggest hurdle was, why does the RS have 3 presets, and what to put on them ? I had a feeling it was HD(1080p) , 4K/HDR, and for me an extra, i dont Watch 3D.....
I will digest this, thanx for the constant reply’s to my inexperience
For SDR you don’t really need to “use up” a gamma slot, just use one of the standard gammas (2.2 or 2.4). You can have multiple HDR curves (e.g., 1200 nits, 4000 nits, brighter overall) and store them in the custom slots.
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #5298 of 5759 Old 10-29-2018, 09:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,144
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1422 Post(s)
Liked: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
My biggest hurdle was, why does the RS have 3 presets, and what to put on them ? I had a feeling it was HD(1080p) , 4K/HDR, and for me an extra, i dont Watch 3D.....
I will digest this, thanx for the constant reply’s to my inexperience
Yep, exactly as Dominic says. It's like the presets on your car radio, you don't have to use them all.

Quick Tip: If you just read the guide it will be kind of confusing. As you physically do it and follow along with the guide, it will make much more sense. Once you do it the first time, you'll realize how simple it really is.
Dreamliner is online now  
post #5299 of 5759 Old 10-30-2018, 05:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,259
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
My biggest hurdle was, why does the RS have 3 presets, and what to put on them ? I had a feeling it was HD(1080p) , 4K/HDR, and for me an extra, i dont Watch 3D.....
I will digest this, thanx for the constant reply’s to my inexperience
Yep, exactly as Dominic says. It's like the presets on your car radio, you don't have to use them all. [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/smile.gif[/IMG]

Quick Tip: If you just read the guide it will be kind of confusing. As you physically do it and follow along with the guide, it will make much more sense. Once you do it the first time, you'll realize how simple it really is. [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/cool.gif[/IMG]
No way i will even try this, what are the chances an “i.t.” guy from work can assist me ? I know you say dont let them, but i really have no choice.

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction
kgveteran is online now  
post #5300 of 5759 Old 10-30-2018, 05:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,144
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1422 Post(s)
Liked: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
No way i will even try this, what are the chances an “i.t.” guy from work can assist me ? I know you say dont let them, but i really have no choice.
Honestly, it isn't even that hard. Just download the JVC software and see if you can connect to the projector with it. Start there. If you can do that much, the rest is easy peasy.

If you show my guide to anyone they'll probably think its super simple. Literally all you have to do is install one piece of software on your computer (that I linked you to), connect to the projector (which I linked instructions to), and load 2 files (which I linked you to). The rest is just messing with settings in the projector (which I detailed also). You just have to get started. If you just look at it, it seems like way to much to take in. Once you start doing it, you'll realize it isn't so bad.

You can't screw this up. Worst case scenario is you get stuck. You won't break anything.

You can get help if you want, but I believe in you!
Dreamliner is online now  
post #5301 of 5759 Old 11-01-2018, 03:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,259
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
My biggest hurdle was, why does the RS have 3 presets, and what to put on them ? I had a feeling it was HD(1080p) , 4K/HDR, and for me an extra, i dont Watch 3D.....
I will digest this, thanx for the constant reply’s to my inexperience
For SDR you don’t really need to “use up” a gamma slot, just use one of the standard gammas (2.2 or 2.4). You can have multiple HDR curves (e.g., 1200 nits, 4000 nits, brighter overall) and store them in the custom slots.
But, regardless i will need a SD 1080p user preset, and have two left over for HDR right ?

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction
kgveteran is online now  
post #5302 of 5759 Old 11-01-2018, 04:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,921
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4859 Post(s)
Liked: 1835
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
But, regardless i will need a SD 1080p user preset, and have two left over for HDR right ?
As mentioned previously, for SDR you do not need to use custom gamma, just use the Normal or some other non-custom presets. You can use the three custom gammas all for HDR.
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #5303 of 5759 Old 11-01-2018, 05:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,259
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
But, regardless i will need a SD 1080p user preset, and have two left over for HDR right ?
As mentioned previously, for SDR you do not need to use custom gamma, just use the Normal or some other non-custom presets. You can use the three custom gammas all for HDR.
So, if the three user settings are preset for HDR, what exactly happens when i play a 1080p content ?

Im sorry i have not really read enough anout my owm pj

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction
kgveteran is online now  
post #5304 of 5759 Old 11-01-2018, 06:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,921
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4859 Post(s)
Liked: 1835
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
So, if the three user settings are preset for HDR, what exactly happens when i play a 1080p content ?
I don't quite understand your question. When you play 1080p SDR content, don't use a custom gamma. Just use a standard Picture Mode.
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #5305 of 5759 Old 11-02-2018, 05:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,259
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
So, if the three user settings are preset for HDR, what exactly happens when i play a 1080p content ?
I don't quite understand your question. When you play 1080p SDR content, don't use a custom gamma. Just use a standard Picture Mode.
You dont understand , because i dont know what the hell my own pj does !
Im gonna go back to square one and understand what my settings even do.....

......i’ll be back

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction
kgveteran is online now  
post #5306 of 5759 Old 11-04-2018, 11:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,259
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
So, if the three user settings are preset for HDR, what exactly happens when i play a 1080p content ?
I don't quite understand your question. When you play 1080p SDR content, don't use a custom gamma. Just use a standard Picture Mode.
Did some read’n, i get it now. I’ve done some simple gamma settings. User 1 is standard hidef, user2 is a lower nit gamma, and user3 is a higher nit.

So the JVC software has its own tool for installing, and Jav’s has its own install tool, the Arve,Python thing.

I’ll be ready to do the curves soon

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction

Last edited by kgveteran; 11-04-2018 at 11:56 AM.
kgveteran is online now  
post #5307 of 5759 Old 11-04-2018, 11:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,921
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4859 Post(s)
Liked: 1835
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Did some read’n, i get it now. I’ve done some simple gamma settings. User 1 is standard hidef, user2 is a lower nit gamma, and user3 is a higher nit.

So the JVC software has its own tool for installing, and Jav’s has its own install tool, the Arve,Python thing.

I think.......
There’s no need to use up a User gamma for standard HiDef, just select a preset and adjust to taste, if necessary.

You can load the custom curves in JVC format without installing Arve/Python.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 11-04-2018 at 11:45 AM.
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #5308 of 5759 Old 11-04-2018, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 7,259
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 761 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Did some read’n, i get it now. I’ve done some simple gamma settings. User 1 is standard hidef, user2 is a lower nit gamma, and user3 is a higher nit.

So the JVC software has its own tool for installing, and Jav’s has its own install tool, the Arve,Python thing.

I think.......
There’s no need to use up a User gamma for standard HiDef, just select a preset and adjust to taste, if necessary.

You can load the custom curves in JVC format without installing Arve/Python.
So, Arve/Python are tools for Jav’s curves

As of Feb 20th still looking for a Marantz SR7010
**HT Build https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...-door-0-a.html **


DIY HT builds, are 90%planning, 10%construction
kgveteran is online now  
post #5309 of 5759 Old 11-04-2018, 01:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,921
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4859 Post(s)
Liked: 1835
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
So, Arve/Python are tools for Jav’s curves
Jav’s curves are available in both formats, Arve and JVC.
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #5310 of 5759 Old 11-05-2018, 02:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,144
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1422 Post(s)
Liked: 747
I'd start by using the JVC Calibration software to load curves as it is a bit simpler. You need it anyway to load the BT2020 profile (if your projector doesn't already have it). I loaded both and flipped back and forth and noticed no difference between the Arve & JVC versions. And again, all of this is explained in my guide.
Dreamliner is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
DLA-RS400 , DLA-RS500U

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off