The Official Sony VPL-VW550ES/ VPL-VW675ES Owners Thread - Page 63 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1115Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1861 of 2038 Old 04-16-2018, 03:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
Easy thing to try is to reset the 3D pre-set you use and see what gamma it says it uses when you retry it.
I set 3D to D75 and upped the bulb to high on mie. Found the results very pleasing.
OK thanks. Yes d75 the neutral one. Sounds good. I'll try the reset and that. Low lamp was plenty bright on my 110" screen though. Projector is quieter too.
MOberhardt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1862 of 2038 Old 04-16-2018, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,048
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1857 Post(s)
Liked: 1020
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOberhardt View Post
OK thanks. Yes d75 the neutral one. Sounds good. I'll try the reset and that. Low lamp was plenty bright on my 110" screen though. Projector is quieter too.
I just wanted max brightness with 3D so went with high bulb.
MOberhardt likes this.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #1863 of 2038 Old 04-16-2018, 03:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
I just wanted max brightness with 3D so went with high bulb.
No issues with crosstalk if too bright (eg being able to see through the closed shutter more)?

BTW, does anyone know how to get to that Low Input Lag setting? When it shows up? The manual shows it on expert settings under color space, but it doesn't show there (on the HarperVision screenshot post here either https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...l#post50420241)
MOberhardt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1864 of 2038 Old 04-16-2018, 04:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,048
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1857 Post(s)
Liked: 1020
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOberhardt View Post
No issues with crosstalk if too bright (eg being able to see through the closed shutter more)?

BTW, does anyone know how to get to that Low Input Lag setting? When it shows up? The manual shows it on expert settings under color space, but it doesn't show there (on the HarperVision screenshot post here either https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...l#post50420241)
I didn't notice any real issues with crosstalk (once my brain had got used to the 3D that is!)

As for input lag reduction, I think it is unavailable in 3D and 4K IIRC.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #1865 of 2038 Old 04-16-2018, 04:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
I didn't notice any real issues with crosstalk (once my brain had got used to the 3D that is!)

As for input lag reduction, I think it is unavailable in 3D and 4K IIRC.
So the projector was your first home 3D? Or was it much better?

I'm really looking forward to sitting down properly and watching complete 3D movies on the projector. Especially any native 3D movies with the Imax scenes.
MOberhardt is offline  
post #1866 of 2038 Old 04-16-2018, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
PBonn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Regarding the German curves and setting changes...

as a result of changing the gain settings for D65, I noticed clouds in a test scene took on a red cast when comparing to the stock Sony HDR presentation. If I reduce red gain from the recommended +27 to +20, the red cast is gone, but then I wonder if I'm reducing the BT2020 range.

I haven't noticed any other posts here or on the other Sony 4k threads where someone has this issue.

Sure wish Sony would enable BT2020 without the source sending it as HDR...i.e. allowing using the Oppo 203 HDR to SDR capabilities.

I'll do some more testing in awhile to see how the German curves with the red gain reduced compare.

Anyone else notice this?
thanks
Paul
PBonn is offline  
post #1867 of 2038 Old 04-17-2018, 03:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,048
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1857 Post(s)
Liked: 1020
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOberhardt View Post
So the projector was your first home 3D? Or was it much better?

I'm really looking forward to sitting down properly and watching complete 3D movies on the projector. Especially any native 3D movies with the Imax scenes.
My first 3D was a Samsung TV, but at 40" it was just too small to do it justice.

I then had a VW90ES which was Sony's first 3D capable projector and that was a massive improvement just due to the size of the image.
The 3D on the 90 could have been brighter (something they fixed in the 95) but on the whole it was watchable.

3D on the 550 is leagues ahead of the 90. Better colours, brightness, motion and resolution (upscaled to 4K by default).
MOberhardt likes this.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #1868 of 2038 Old 04-17-2018, 03:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,048
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1857 Post(s)
Liked: 1020
Quote:
Originally Posted by PBonn View Post
Regarding the German curves and setting changes...

as a result of changing the gain settings for D65, I noticed clouds in a test scene took on a red cast when comparing to the stock Sony HDR presentation. If I reduce red gain from the recommended +27 to +20, the red cast is gone, but then I wonder if I'm reducing the BT2020 range.

I haven't noticed any other posts here or on the other Sony 4k threads where someone has this issue.

Sure wish Sony would enable BT2020 without the source sending it as HDR...i.e. allowing using the Oppo 203 HDR to SDR capabilities.

I'll do some more testing in awhile to see how the German curves with the red gain reduced compare.

Anyone else notice this?
thanks
Paul
Hi.
Could be peculiar to your unit. Got to remember that no two examples will be the same, and so the exact settings recommended in general may not work for you, so you did the pertinent thing and adjusted to suit.
There are no hard and fast rules with this stuff.
A sensible idea is to take any posted settings as a starting point only and adjust according to taste.

It's part of the fun too.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #1869 of 2038 Old 04-17-2018, 12:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
My first 3D was a Samsung TV, but at 40" it was just too small to do it justice.

I then had a VW90ES which was Sony's first 3D capable projector and that was a massive improvement just due to the size of the image.
The 3D on the 90 could have been brighter (something they fixed in the 95) but on the whole it was watchable.

3D on the 550 is leagues ahead of the 90. Better colours, brightness, motion and resolution (upscaled to 4K by default).
Ah yes, the upscaling too! My first and only other 3d is a 55" Sony. I wasn't interested at first (after abortive attempts trying that horrible analglyph 3d), but after seeing a movie, I was hooked. I think it was Dredd. The Blu Ray just had the 3d included.
MOberhardt is offline  
post #1870 of 2038 Old 04-17-2018, 01:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Could someone help me troubleshoot?

Hey gang. After trying for weeks to fix this problem, I give up and now I'm asking for help. I own a Sony VPLVW675ES (obviously) and it is connected to my Xbox One X via a Denon AVR-X4300H. I've purchased several different HDMI cords to connect the XBOneX to the AVR, but no matter what I do I cannot get the setup to recognize the HDR 10 capabilities of the projector. Whenever I try to change the signal format to Enhanced, the screen goes blank or i get really bad grain and then it automatically switches back to Standard format. I am afraid that the problem lies in the HDMI cord that connects the Receiver to the Projector, due to its length (25+ feet, maybe 50). I really don't want to buy another long HDMI cord and rerun it, but if that's what it takes to play Halo 3 in 4k HDR, then by golly I'm willing to do it! Is there any specific solution to this problem, and if I do need a new long HDMI, which one should I buy that I KNOW will work? (Also what would be the most cost-effective cord to purchase while still getting the features I need?) If any of you guys could help me out, it would be greatly appreciated.
SwaggyAdult is offline  
post #1871 of 2038 Old 04-17-2018, 03:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwaggyAdult View Post
Hey gang. After trying for weeks to fix this problem, I give up and now I'm asking for help. I own a Sony VPLVW675ES (obviously) and it is connected to my Xbox One X via a Denon AVR-X4300H. I've purchased several different HDMI cords to connect the XBOneX to the AVR, but no matter what I do I cannot get the setup to recognize the HDR 10 capabilities of the projector. Whenever I try to change the signal format to Enhanced, the screen goes blank or i get really bad grain and then it automatically switches back to Standard format. I am afraid that the problem lies in the HDMI cord that connects the Receiver to the Projector, due to its length (25+ feet, maybe 50). I really don't want to buy another long HDMI cord and rerun it, but if that's what it takes to play Halo 3 in 4k HDR, then by golly I'm willing to do it! Is there any specific solution to this problem, and if I do need a new long HDMI, which one should I buy that I KNOW will work? (Also what would be the most cost-effective cord to purchase while still getting the features I need?) If any of you guys could help me out, it would be greatly appreciated.
Check the port on the projector side, make sure it is set to enhanced as well. Under Functions -> HDMI Signal Format -> Enhanced. It defaults to standard, idiotically enough.
MOberhardt is offline  
post #1872 of 2038 Old 04-17-2018, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1801 Post(s)
Liked: 1116
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwaggyAdult View Post
Hey gang. After trying for weeks to fix this problem, I give up and now I'm asking for help. I own a Sony VPLVW675ES (obviously) and it is connected to my Xbox One X via a Denon AVR-X4300H. I've purchased several different HDMI cords to connect the XBOneX to the AVR, but no matter what I do I cannot get the setup to recognize the HDR 10 capabilities of the projector. Whenever I try to change the signal format to Enhanced, the screen goes blank or i get really bad grain and then it automatically switches back to Standard format. I am afraid that the problem lies in the HDMI cord that connects the Receiver to the Projector, due to its length (25+ feet, maybe 50). I really don't want to buy another long HDMI cord and rerun it, but if that's what it takes to play Halo 3 in 4k HDR, then by golly I'm willing to do it! Is there any specific solution to this problem, and if I do need a new long HDMI, which one should I buy that I KNOW will work? (Also what would be the most cost-effective cord to purchase while still getting the features I need?) If any of you guys could help me out, it would be greatly appreciated.
Have you tried testing directly connecting the Xbox to the Sony 675 with a short good HDMI cord?

If your problem goes away it most likely is your cord or some issue with the AVR box. If you still have the problem then it most likely resides in the Xbox settings or the projector settings.
markmon1 likes this.
GregCh is offline  
post #1873 of 2038 Old 04-17-2018, 03:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregCh View Post
Have you tried testing directly connecting the Xbox to the Sony 675 with a short good HDMI cord?

If your problem goes away it most likely is your cord or some issue with the AVR box. If you still have the problem then it most likely resides in the Xbox settings or the projector settings.
I'll try to connect directly ASAP, I've checked the xbox settings and AVR settings a million times. Either I'm missing something or it's not there haha

Also, the Enhanced Format issue is present when using Xbox AND my 4K player.
SwaggyAdult is offline  
post #1874 of 2038 Old 04-17-2018, 03:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOberhardt View Post
Check the port on the projector side, make sure it is set to enhanced as well. Under Functions -> HDMI Signal Format -> Enhanced. It defaults to standard, idiotically enough.
That's what I meant when I said the Enhanced format won't work. Under HDMI Signal Format, Enhanced will show "No Signal," and then revert to Standard.
SwaggyAdult is offline  
post #1875 of 2038 Old 04-17-2018, 04:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwaggyAdult View Post
That's what I meant when I said the Enhanced format won't work. Under HDMI Signal Format, Enhanced will show "No Signal," and then revert to Standard.
So it allows you to select Enhanced on that menu (so it is available) but on selection it shows No Signal and then reverts back to Standard. Odd. It might be cable. What cable have you tried? A cable that is definitely rated for 18 GBPS over a run that long? I personally have a Fibbr fiber optic cable and no issues with that. But not just any cable will work. Definitely try Greg's suggestion. But at over 25ft, you really want fiber optic. 25ft there are some recommended copper cables that are OK, but I've not tried any.
MOberhardt is offline  
post #1876 of 2038 Old 04-17-2018, 06:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,502
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4637 Post(s)
Liked: 2942
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOberhardt View Post
No issues with crosstalk if too bright (eg being able to see through the closed shutter more)?

BTW, does anyone know how to get to that Low Input Lag setting? When it shows up? The manual shows it on expert settings under color space, but it doesn't show there (on the HarperVision screenshot post here either https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...l#post50420241)
Those things are all locked out unless you're at 1080p. But the lag is really low even at 4k if you use game mode.
MOberhardt likes this.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is online now  
post #1877 of 2038 Old 04-17-2018, 06:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
Those things are all locked out unless you're at 1080p. But the lag is really low even at 4k if you use game mode.
Ah, right. Thanks

Does anyone here have Reality Creation off? I tend to dislike having post processing occurring, but the HarperVision settings post here does actually have it on.
MOberhardt is offline  
post #1878 of 2038 Old 04-17-2018, 08:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,502
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4637 Post(s)
Liked: 2942
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOberhardt View Post
Ah, right. Thanks

Does anyone here have Reality Creation off? I tend to dislike having post processing occurring, but the HarperVision settings post here does actually have it on.
I love reality creation even in games. It's one of the nicest enhancements I've ever seen in a display.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is online now  
post #1879 of 2038 Old 04-17-2018, 08:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
I love reality creation even in games. It's one of the nicest enhancements I've ever seen in a display.
I might do some digging to see if I can figure out exactly what it is doing.
MOberhardt is offline  
post #1880 of 2038 Old 04-18-2018, 10:45 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,001
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6395 Post(s)
Liked: 6393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
I didn't notice any real issues with crosstalk (once my brain had got used to the 3D that is!)
Ya, my brain does not dig 3D to much
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #1881 of 2038 Old 04-19-2018, 02:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,048
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1857 Post(s)
Liked: 1020
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOberhardt View Post
I might do some digging to see if I can figure out exactly what it is doing.
Even though Reality Creation technically isn't necessary with a 4K native signal, it does give the image a nice boost if used judiciously.
MOberhardt likes this.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #1882 of 2038 Old 04-19-2018, 02:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,048
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1857 Post(s)
Liked: 1020
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwaggyAdult View Post
That's what I meant when I said the Enhanced format won't work. Under HDMI Signal Format, Enhanced will show "No Signal," and then revert to Standard.
Hi.
So, Enhanced Format mode - Check

Next thing to do is on the preset you have set for your xbox, switch HDR on the projector to off.

If you get a picture then, then the issue must be with the signal format going in and my guess is the xbox pushes out a 4k 60hz HDR signal at the standard 4:2:2 chroma when set to operate at 4K 60hz.

Is there a setting on the xbox that allows you to force 4K 60hz 4:2:0 chroma? (The highest 4K 50 or 60hz signal that can be received and processed by these projectors is 4K 4:2:0 10bit.)

Alternatively you can just set the xbox to output 4K 60hz in 8 bit, but that won't be HDR.

As already suggested, try a known 18Gbps cable direct from the xbox to the projector, to see if that eliminates the issue. If not then it is the xbox settings I would wager.

Cheers.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #1883 of 2038 Old 04-24-2018, 04:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Well, I got my seating and finally christened my home cinema last night. It has been all worth it, the long long 20 year plan (and technology is in a pretty perfect achievable home user state at the moment), and the construction efforts and research.

I watched Gravity 3D first up (with Atmos) and that was just breathtaking and such a great example of Atmos with the quietness, and use of the 3D soundscape. The opening scenes at the Hubble were just so immersive. No crosstalk either I could notice. And low lamp as well. I then watched Hancock in 4K - I mainly chose it for run time as I knew I'd be getting tired by the end. I do need to try some more reference 4K titles. 4K was great, but after that Gravity experience, it was hard to measure against that!

I'm also impressed with the Pana900 with the subtitle shift and luminance. I didn't actually need them, but tried it out.
Archibald1 likes this.
MOberhardt is offline  
post #1884 of 2038 Old 04-25-2018, 02:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,048
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1857 Post(s)
Liked: 1020
Yay! Great news on the seating.

Finally the time has come to just sit down and enjoy all the kit!

MOberhardt likes this.

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #1885 of 2038 Old 04-28-2018, 03:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,048
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1857 Post(s)
Liked: 1020
@MOberhardt

Please post some images from your room of your favourite movies if you get a chance.

Cheers.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #1886 of 2038 Old 04-28-2018, 01:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
@MOberhardt

Please post some images from your room of your favourite movies if you get a chance.

Cheers.
To be honest, my attempts haven't been to good...
MOberhardt is offline  
post #1887 of 2038 Old 04-29-2018, 03:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,048
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1857 Post(s)
Liked: 1020
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOberhardt View Post
To be honest, my attempts haven't been to good...
Just some quick snaps on your camera phone would do.

Now you have your room up and running, you must feel a great deal of satisfaction, especially after the length of the journey.
MOberhardt likes this.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #1888 of 2038 Old 04-30-2018, 01:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
Just some quick snaps on your camera phone would do.

Now you have your room up and running, you must feel a great deal of satisfaction, especially after the length of the journey.
I'll give it a go. I'm still getting the feel of it and tuning to taste. I watched Zero Dark Thirty last night and was using that to tune up blacks. Somany examples of both incredibly dark scenes, as well as heavy backlight with dark fabrics and parts. I'm actually finding the projector too bright for my eyes even on low lamp, and ended up winding the Iris brightness back to 60% to get the best level of detail. And on some scenes where I struggled with the bright backlight, if I blocked the bright areas roughly with my hands I could see more. I don't understand the panel tv industry and fans seming desire for more lumens... My eyes only have one iris setting... It isn't like my eye is taking HDR pictures with multiple exposure shots...

To be honest I have a screen issue on the drop down with some ripples and have to go thru a warranty swap on it.
MOberhardt is offline  
post #1889 of 2038 Old 04-30-2018, 04:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,048
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1857 Post(s)
Liked: 1020
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOberhardt View Post
To be honest I have a screen issue on the drop down with some ripples and have to go thru a warranty swap on it.
I had that issue at one point.

I used some metal rods (in the drop down pole) to weigh the bottom of the screen down and then used some matt tape to evenly tension the bottom edge of the screen to the pole.

If the screen is pulling to much in the centre of the bottom pole you will get a V shape ripple from that point. I also gently bent that part of the pole upwards a tiny bit to relieve the pressure, but I would just do the weights and tape first, as that is easily reversible.

Unless just getting a replacement is easier of course.

I don't know how much you spent on your screen but any less than a few hundred poundollars (in my experience) will not get you a thick screen made of good material that will stay flat.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #1890 of 2038 Old 04-30-2018, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 703 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
I had that issue at one point.

I used some metal rods (in the drop down pole) to weigh the bottom of the screen down and then used some matt tape to evenly tension the bottom edge of the screen to the pole.

If the screen is pulling to much in the centre of the bottom pole you will get a V shape ripple from that point. I also gently bent that part of the pole upwards a tiny bit to relieve the pressure, but I would just do the weights and tape first, as that is easily reversible.

Unless just getting a replacement is easier of course.

I don't know how much you spent on your screen but any less than a few hundred poundollars (in my experience) will not get you a thick screen made of good material that will stay flat.
It is a good one, a Screen Technics, which is a highly regarded Australian maker. I got it on recommendations. It has a very heavy bottom rod already. The ripples are actually at the top. I was considering trying to rig a vertical clamping mechanismto be able to attach a tension once down (and might still build something even if I get a replacement in prep...
It is a pretty heavy unit, 27kg / 60lb. I'm not looking forward to having to pull it off and swap it... I might get some help this time...

I've been in contact with Screen Technics and they seemed OK and will replace it.
MOberhardt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off