Official JVC RS520/RS620 (X7500/X9500) Owner's Thread - Page 114 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10165Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3391 of 5034 Old 10-05-2017, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
barhoram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,692
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandyka View Post
Only via the Linker you can get the DI working with HDR enabled. The Oppo's strip function is to get SDR BT2020.
Thanks for the quick reply. Is there benefit to SDR BT2020 via the Opps vs. HDR and no DI (if there is no linker in the setup). Which would be better?

Do the new 540/640 models still have this same limitation with HDR and DI?

I don't really like talking about my flair
barhoram is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3392 of 5034 Old 10-05-2017, 08:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 3,879
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2327 Post(s)
Liked: 1422
Quote:
Originally Posted by barhoram View Post
Thanks for the quick reply. Is there benefit to SDR BT2020 via the Opps vs. HDR and no DI (if there is no linker in the setup). Which would be better?

Do the new 540/640 models still have this same limitation with HDR and DI?
The new models fixed this issue so no need for a Linker, the SDR BT2020 is basically NO HDR and YES Wide Color gamut that was the preferred method on the prev gen where HDR wasn't all the crash hot but now most of us prefer full HDR with DI IMO.

JVC RS620/X9500 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, ML Balanced force 210 as the beast. Panasonic UB900, STAX-3170 earspeakers, HTPC, PS4, PS3, Amiga 500 etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...l#post50298297
Bandyka is offline  
post #3393 of 5034 Old 10-05-2017, 09:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
barhoram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,692
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Once a UHD disk is started in a player, Do you have to wait a certain amount of time before manually engaging HDR on the projector for it to work for DI....or does the timing not matter??

Hoping there is a discrete serial command for forcing manual HDR?

I don't really like talking about my flair
barhoram is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3394 of 5034 Old 10-05-2017, 09:08 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bytehoven View Post
I'm still debating but leaning toward the x990. The "street" cost difference between the the 5xx/7xx and 6xx/9xx projectors have not been this close, so the 6xx/9xx projector is kinda getting a double discount, albeit at the expense of 2 years of extra warranty coverage. Not a bad trade though.

I'd like to be able to settle in and let this more mature "tock" 6xx/9xx JVC carry me for a long while... kinda like some of our RS1 owners have done 'til now. (who am I kidding?)

I too am curious why JVC has gotten the 2018 X series pricing schedule out to dealers, while the RS series is delayed. Looks like I might be a (X-men) as well.
Quote:
Originally Posted by barhoram View Post
Once a UHD disk is started in a player, Do you have to wait a certain amount of time before manually engaging HDR on the projector for it to work for DI....or does the timing not matter??
It doesn't matter at all when you do it.

Quote:
Hoping there is a discrete serial command for forcing manual HDR?
It's just a user mode, you save a user mode configured for HDR, and then you select that user mode when you watch HDR. And yes there are discrete commands for each user mode.
stanger89 is offline  
post #3395 of 5034 Old 10-05-2017, 09:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 3,879
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2327 Post(s)
Liked: 1422
Quote:
Originally Posted by barhoram View Post
Once a UHD disk is started in a player, Do you have to wait a certain amount of time before manually engaging HDR on the projector for it to work for DI....or does the timing not matter??

Hoping there is a discrete serial command for forcing manual HDR?
With the linker it works exactly the same way as normal bluray playback. You can do it either way.

JVC RS620/X9500 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, ML Balanced force 210 as the beast. Panasonic UB900, STAX-3170 earspeakers, HTPC, PS4, PS3, Amiga 500 etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...l#post50298297
Bandyka is offline  
post #3396 of 5034 Old 10-05-2017, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
zorax2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by schm66 View Post
What's the lag on RS520 like for 4K gaming? Is it still in the 30ms-40ms range?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandyka View Post
Round 30ms and is perfectly fine unless you are an extreme hardcore competition gamer but then even wireless controllers are a no go..
@Bandyka Do you know if someone has actually tested the RS520 or RS620 for 4K using output of the Leo Bodnar tool by passing the 4K signal first through an HDFury Integral and then an HDFury Linker, before outputting to the JVC projector?

I've seen the approx 30ms for 1080p in numerous spots and feel comfortable with that. I've seen quotes of between 30ms to 40ms for 4K but haven't been able to find a source indicating how that number was actually determined. I'd be thrilled if 4K is actually at 30ms as that's good enough for me for gaming. I, probably like many other gamers, want to be sure that input lag measurement is accurate. (i.e. - all the claims that the new Sony 285 and 385 are 10ms - that was passed on over and over in the various threads but it turns out that the lag is closer to 36ms for 1080p and 55ms for 4K.)

Does anyone have any idea as to how the JVC might react to different refresh speeds (30Hz, 60Hz), 8, 10 or 12 bit, or 4:2:0, 4:2:2 or 4:4:4 or using HDR or WCG might effect input lag? Or, will 4K lag be the same no matter what "flavor" of 4K is fed to the projector?

I've got an Xbox One X on order and definitely want a RS540 but have to be certain the 4K input lag is around 30ms before pulling the trigger.

7.2.4 with Denon X4300W, ATI 2005 & 1807 Amps, Kef Reference 203 Mains, 202c Ctr, 201 Surr, Ci200RR-THX Top Rears, Q300 Frt Hts, E301 Rear Surr, Power Sound Audio PSA dual S3600i Subs,
GIK & DIY Acoustics, JVC X790/RS540 Projector, Stewart Neve 100" Screen, Panasonic Blu-Ray DMP-UB900, Xbox One X, Crowson Transducers, INSTEON, UDI ISY994i, Amazon Echo
zorax2 is offline  
post #3397 of 5034 Old 10-05-2017, 08:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1801 Post(s)
Liked: 1116
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorax2 View Post
@Bandyka
I've seen the approx 30ms for 1080p in numerous spots and feel comfortable with that. I've seen quotes of between 30ms to 40ms for 4K but haven't been able to find a source indicating how that number was actually determined. I'd be thrilled if 4K is actually at 30ms as that's good enough for me for gaming. I, probably like many other gamers, want to be sure that input lag measurement is accurate. (i.e. - all the claims that the new Sony 285 and 385 are 10ms - that was passed on over and over in the various threads but it turns out that the lag is closer to 36ms for 1080p and 55ms for 4K.)
The Sony numbers aren't accurate because there haven't been enough measurements yet with the new projectors. Most likely both 1080p and 4K come in at about 33 - 40 ms. So I wouldn't consider that 55 ms number any more correct than the original 10 ms number.

The JVCs have been out for 9 months with the new game mode. The numbers I have seen have been measured between 39 ms - 42 ms. Those are pretty accurate.

So I doubt there is any real world difference between the Sony and the JVC with regards to input lag.
GregCh is online now  
post #3398 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 01:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 3,879
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2327 Post(s)
Liked: 1422
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorax2 View Post
@Bandyka Do you know if someone has actually tested the RS520 or RS620 for 4K using output of the Leo Bodnar tool by passing the 4K signal first through an HDFury Integral and then an HDFury Linker, before outputting to the JVC projector?

I've seen the approx 30ms for 1080p in numerous spots and feel comfortable with that. I've seen quotes of between 30ms to 40ms for 4K but haven't been able to find a source indicating how that number was actually determined. I'd be thrilled if 4K is actually at 30ms as that's good enough for me for gaming. I, probably like many other gamers, want to be sure that input lag measurement is accurate. (i.e. - all the claims that the new Sony 285 and 385 are 10ms - that was passed on over and over in the various threads but it turns out that the lag is closer to 36ms for 1080p and 55ms for 4K.)

Does anyone have any idea as to how the JVC might react to different refresh speeds (30Hz, 60Hz), 8, 10 or 12 bit, or 4:2:0, 4:2:2 or 4:4:4 or using HDR or WCG might effect input lag? Or, will 4K lag be the same no matter what "flavor" of 4K is fed to the projector?

I've got an Xbox One X on order and definitely want a RS540 but have to be certain the 4K input lag is around 30ms before pulling the trigger.
My brain tested it I compared it to my HDR TV which has very low lag and I could not detect a difference, I know exactly how painful it was to play on the old models or any other PJ without low lag mode, trust me this is not the case here it's a safe bet. I use it with the Ps4Pro and a top end PC with a 1080ti and it is prefect for me and no I can't see any issue with 30/60fps.

JVC RS620/X9500 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, ML Balanced force 210 as the beast. Panasonic UB900, STAX-3170 earspeakers, HTPC, PS4, PS3, Amiga 500 etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...l#post50298297
Bandyka is offline  
post #3399 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 01:34 AM
Member
 
mit_hd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: California
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I own a Panasonic AE8000U and am pretty happy with the projector; however, I love 3D movies and the Panasonic is pretty dim in 3D mode. I have to crank up the brightness all the way up running the dreadful Dynamic mode (2471 lumens according to projector central), and still not getting a satisfactorily bright image . I'm considering buying the RS520 now that the price has become more affordable. I know that RS520 is very bright in 2D, but I'm not sure if it is bright enough in 3D?

Thanks for your time.
mit_hd is offline  
post #3400 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 05:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
barhoram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,692
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Is there anything that can strip HDR similar to the HD Fury Linker that is a little more rack friendly, or rack mountable??

My new RS520 (with CMD Fixed) should be here Monday. Thanks Mike!

I don't really like talking about my flair
barhoram is offline  
post #3401 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 05:44 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 3,446
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by barhoram View Post
Is there anything that can strip HDR similar to the HD Fury Linker that is a little more rack friendly, or rack mountable??

My new RS520 (with CMD Fixed) should be here Monday. Thanks Mike!
Not cheap, but the Lumagen Radiance Pro series:
http://www.lumagen.com/testindex.php?module=products

HT: Oppo UDP-203 -> Lumagen RadiancePro 4446 {18 GHz input x2 & 18 GHz output x1 cards} - "new (112818 FW)" 18 GHz microcode - parallel outs to --> [Audio: Denon 5308CI] --> [Video: JVC RS520 FW v30.1]
HT Details: link
Mike_WI is offline  
post #3402 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 05:45 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 3,446
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Question CMD fixed in RS520?

Quote:
Originally Posted by barhoram View Post
Is there anything that can strip HDR similar to the HD Fury Linker that is a little more rack friendly, or rack mountable??

My new RS520 (with CMD Fixed) should be here Monday. Thanks Mike!
I may have missed it. How did you get CMD fixed in RS520?

Mike

HT: Oppo UDP-203 -> Lumagen RadiancePro 4446 {18 GHz input x2 & 18 GHz output x1 cards} - "new (112818 FW)" 18 GHz microcode - parallel outs to --> [Audio: Denon 5308CI] --> [Video: JVC RS520 FW v30.1]
HT Details: link
Mike_WI is offline  
post #3403 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 05:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
barhoram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,692
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_WI View Post
Not cheap, but the Lumagen Radiance Pro series:
http://www.lumagen.com/testindex.php?module=products
curious...what feature that they list for the Radiance Pro addresses the HDR stripping?

I don't really like talking about my flair
barhoram is offline  
post #3404 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 05:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
barhoram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,692
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_WI View Post
I may have missed it. How did you get CMD fixed in RS520?

Mike
Ordered a new one..the current batch that they just received (Per Mike G) shipped with the fix in place!

I don't really like talking about my flair
barhoram is offline  
post #3405 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 06:04 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 3,446
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by barhoram View Post
curious...what feature that they list for the Radiance Pro addresses the HDR stripping?
To avoid going off topic and to more specifically address your inquiries, you might post at this thread:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/37-vid...ro-series.html

HT: Oppo UDP-203 -> Lumagen RadiancePro 4446 {18 GHz input x2 & 18 GHz output x1 cards} - "new (112818 FW)" 18 GHz microcode - parallel outs to --> [Audio: Denon 5308CI] --> [Video: JVC RS520 FW v30.1]
HT Details: link
Mike_WI is offline  
post #3406 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 06:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_WI View Post
Not cheap, but the Lumagen Radiance Pro series:
http://www.lumagen.com/testindex.php?module=products
Yeah, for the price of a Radiance Pro you could get a new RS540 that doesn't need the HDR stripped.
stanger89 is offline  
post #3407 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 07:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
barhoram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,692
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 47
The Oppo 203 is supposed to strip HDR metadata as well...but it doesn't work for the JVC..why is that? Any chance that that will change?

I don't really like talking about my flair
barhoram is offline  
post #3408 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 08:00 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6,359
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1243 Post(s)
Liked: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by barhoram View Post
Ordered a new one..the current batch that they just received (Per Mike G) shipped with the fix in place!
And RSx20/Xx70/Xx700 models can be sent to JVC california for the firmware/software CMD upgrade.
Mike_WI likes this.
Bytehoven is offline  
post #3409 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 08:53 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 3,446
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Yeah, for the price of a Radiance Pro you could get a new RS540 that doesn't need the HDR stripped.
Agree.
Lumagen does more than strip HDR metadata, but it is a rack mountable option.

Mike

HT: Oppo UDP-203 -> Lumagen RadiancePro 4446 {18 GHz input x2 & 18 GHz output x1 cards} - "new (112818 FW)" 18 GHz microcode - parallel outs to --> [Audio: Denon 5308CI] --> [Video: JVC RS520 FW v30.1]
HT Details: link
Mike_WI is offline  
post #3410 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 10:02 AM
Senior Member
 
btran33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Somewhere in the vicinity of Earth
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Hi:
My new RS520 should be here next Monday. I keep hearing that the RS500/520 has two manual iris systems beside the DI. What is that about and how to control the two iris? My current X75/RS56 has the manual Iris that you control via the menu and remote.
Thanks,
BT
btran33 is offline  
post #3411 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 10:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2384
From a user perspective it's the same, there's just the one Aperture control. However physically, inside the projector there are actually two mechanisms.
stanger89 is offline  
post #3412 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
btran33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Somewhere in the vicinity of Earth
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
From a user perspective it's the same, there's just the one Aperture control. However physically, inside the projector there are actually two mechanisms.
Can you elaborate on that? So we (user) don't have to do anything with the second mechanism?
Thanks,
BT
btran33 is offline  
post #3413 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 10:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2384
There's just one control in the menu, it works just like on all the JVCs, it's just implemented with two mechanisms inside the projector instead of one.
stanger89 is offline  
post #3414 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 01:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
barhoram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,692
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 47
...wondering if there is any chance this will work with new RS520 I have coming......Current Oppo 203 is in theater lobby with an in-wall HDMI run back to the equipment room. It's about 15' - 20' and was installed about 10 years ago (blue jeans inwall HDMI cable). Never had an issue with 1080p out of it to projector. It runs to pre-amp, and from there, an HDMI cable (in conduit) to the projector (15').

I will run a new 4K certified cable from equipment room to projector. Any chance I can add HD Fury Linker in the equipment room, keep Oppo in the lobby with existing in-wall HDMI to the Linker, and new 4K HDMI from Linker to projector?

Worst case, I will move the 203 to the equipment room, but we have gotten used to it in the lobby.

I don't really like talking about my flair
barhoram is offline  
post #3415 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 03:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 15,786
Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6617 Post(s)
Liked: 7690
Quote:
Originally Posted by barhoram View Post
...wondering if there is any chance this will work with new RS520 I have coming......Current Oppo 203 is in theater lobby with an in-wall HDMI run back to the equipment room. It's about 15' - 20' and was installed about 10 years ago (blue jeans inwall HDMI cable). Never had an issue with 1080p out of it to projector. It runs to pre-amp, and from there, an HDMI cable (in conduit) to the projector (15').

I will run a new 4K certified cable from equipment room to projector. Any chance I can add HD Fury Linker in the equipment room, keep Oppo in the lobby with existing in-wall HDMI to the Linker, and new 4K HDMI from Linker to projector?

Worst case, I will move the 203 to the equipment room, but we have gotten used to it in the lobby.
Put the Linker after the receiver ( between the receiver and the projector ) and you will be fine.
Craig Peer is online now  
post #3416 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
seanbryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Knowhere
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by barhoram View Post
The Oppo 203 is supposed to strip HDR metadata as well...but it doesn't work for the JVC..why is that? Any chance that that will change?
Oppo does not strip HDR metadata. All it does is tone map HDR to SDR. For some ridiculous reason, they chose to call this "strip metadata". That has lead to confusion about what the feature does and adds confusion when people are discussing the act of actually removing HDR metadata.
seanbryan is offline  
post #3417 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 05:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
barhoram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,692
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanbryan View Post
Oppo does not strip HDR metadata. All it does is tone map HDR to SDR. For some ridiculous reason, they chose to call this "strip metadata". That has lead to confusion about what the feature does and adds confusion when people are discussing the act of actually removing HDR metadata.
got it. thank you for the clarification. yep..confusing.

Other than the HD Fury Linker and (out of my range)Radiance are they other devices that can strip HDR metadata?

I don't really like talking about my flair
barhoram is offline  
post #3418 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 05:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
seanbryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Knowhere
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by barhoram View Post
got it. thank you for the clarification. yep..confusing.

Other than the HD Fury Linker and (out of my range)Radiance are they other devices that can strip HDR metadata?
There's also the HD Fury Vertex, available soon I believe. Nothing else as far as I am aware.
seanbryan is offline  
post #3419 of 5034 Old 10-06-2017, 05:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
healthnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 922 Post(s)
Liked: 908
I want to add my voice to those who have benefited from Chad B’s calibration services. I expected him to be knowledgeable and skillful, what I didn’t expect was how polite, approachable, considerate, thorough and helpful he was throughout the day long process. I thought my blu ray presentation couldn’t be significantly improved, but Chad definitely did. The biggest advancement, though, was his implantation of the HDR curves: for the first time in my system, blu ray and 4k HDR are most definitely NOT indistinguishable! I now have true, accurate, natural looking HDR, and it is very impressive! I could’ve spent hours figuring out how to properly implement these curves, but I would not have had the benefit of Chad’s extensive experience. Since he also does audio calibration, I plan to have him come out again to properly calibrate my audio system. If you have access to Chad’s services, and want to get the most out of your display, I would highly recommend Chad!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bandyka and Maddog56 like this.
healthnut is online now  
post #3420 of 5034 Old 10-08-2017, 05:32 AM
Senior Member
 
btran33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Somewhere in the vicinity of Earth
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Hi all:
I received the A Stock RS520 last night, which is faster than they said in the tracking, no complain there! Anyway, I just installed the new projector and run it for a few hrs now. Everything seems fine but I did noticed a small blue dot in the middle of the screen. I can only see the dot during the source switching or if I use the hide button, I can't see it during normal viewing contain. Is that something consider as normal? or something I should worry about?
After I put in a few more hrs and have a chance to do some basic calibrations, I'll write up my thought between this new RS520 and my trusty RS56/X75 as I thought that would help those who are in the same boat with me that torn between upgrade or wait for true laser 4K, etc...
Thanks,
BT
jj-34 likes this.
btran33 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off