Official JVC RS520/RS620 (X7500/X9500) Owner's Thread - Page 98 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10176Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2911 of 5131 Old 08-14-2017, 10:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4,263
Mentioned: 89 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2546 Post(s)
Liked: 1646
Quote:
Originally Posted by EllisGJ View Post
If anyone can reproduce this problem on demand - a set of steps that causes the failure - it would help JVC with the diagnosis.
its to do with ANY CMD mode, mine locks up if any option in the cmd menu activated even low lag sometimes.

EPSON TW-9300 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, DIY Subs 18" 24hz tune and 12" 17hz tune Panasonic UB900, HTPC, etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post50298297
Bandyka is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2912 of 5131 Old 08-14-2017, 12:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 12,171
Mentioned: 109 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3478 Post(s)
Liked: 2206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandyka View Post
DO NOT pull the power cord you will damage the PJ. hold down the power switch on the back of the PJ until shuts off gracefully.
Thanks much for that. I'm sure you're right, but if JVC thought there was a better way to force shutdown for a locked PJ, why is it not mentioned in the manual? Or did I miss it?

Deadwood II Theater (Previous Deadwood Theater HTOM)
Anthem AVM 60 7.4.4; Classé SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4; MiniDSP OpenDRC-AN
Oppo UDP-203; Oppo BDP-93; Win10 media PC w/Roon+Kodi; Roku Ultra; DirecTV Genie
Adam Audio S3V/S3H LCR, KEF Ci200QS 4 srrnd, Tannoy Di6 DC 4 hts, Hsu ULS-15 4 subs
JVC RS520; Stewart Cima Neve screen 125" diag 2.35:1, MLP at 115"
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #2913 of 5131 Old 08-14-2017, 04:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,443
Mentioned: 532 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7222 Post(s)
Liked: 6908
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
Thanks much for that. I'm sure you're right, but if JVC thought there was a better way to force shutdown for a locked PJ, why is it not mentioned in the manual? Or did I miss it?
Holding the power button on the rear of the actual PJ works in the case of this lockup bug. Hold it as long as it takes, but when my PJ crashed a few times, this always made the PJ shutdown properly.

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2914 of 5131 Old 08-14-2017, 04:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,443
Mentioned: 532 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7222 Post(s)
Liked: 6908
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandyka View Post
its to do with ANY CMD mode, mine locks up if any option in the cmd menu activated even low lag sometimes.
Is your PJ still locking up?

Did you update the FW?

Or are you saying it used to lock up. Mine hasnt locked up since I did the FW update months ago.

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is offline  
post #2915 of 5131 Old 08-14-2017, 07:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 5,243
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1097 Post(s)
Liked: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackgold9 View Post
So, I'm still chasing the HDR dragon, and am wondering if dropping from a 120' 1.0 gain to 100' higher gain (exact number TBD) screen would be a significant improvement. As I understand it there is a brightness increase from shrinking the screen, and higher gain seems like an easy brightness win (below whatever point makes the screen start to sparkle).

Thoughts?
Seymour has a 2.0 gain screen with minimal artifacts. I'm trying to get him to do a higher gain screen, for he said he can go up to 3.5 gain. Waiting to hear if he can. If not, I'll go with the 2.0 gain and report back. Should improve hdr as well as provide more contrast with a bright image.
blee0120 is offline  
post #2916 of 5131 Old 08-14-2017, 08:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,443
Mentioned: 532 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7222 Post(s)
Liked: 6908
Quote:
Originally Posted by blee0120 View Post
Seymour has a 2.0 gain screen with minimal artifacts. I'm trying to get him to do a higher gain screen, for he said he can go up to 3.5 gain. Waiting to hear if he can. If not, I'll go with the 2.0 gain and report back. Should improve hdr as well as provide more contrast with a bright image.
Pretty interesting, it would be great to be able to close down the iris fully to get maximum contrast.

But I keep thinking that the black floor would also raise in relation to the grain. I suppose its a little bit of a trade off.

Whats the word on Seymour screens? Are they expensive?

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is offline  
post #2917 of 5131 Old 08-14-2017, 08:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 5,243
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1097 Post(s)
Liked: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javs View Post
Pretty interesting, it would be great to be able to close down the iris fully to get maximum contrast.

But I keep thinking that the black floor would also raise in relation to the grain. I suppose its a little bit of a trade off.

Whats the word on Seymour screens? Are they expensive?
Not really. Pretty affordable with a 30 day return policy. A win/win to me. I'll probably try out the 100in first. I know with the HP 2.4 gain, the contrast was great. Something fun to always try out. Interested to see how 500-600nit on a projector looks, as well as 120k+ CR at 25ftL for 2D blu ray and all the light you need in 3D. Or even 100k+ CR with 100nit for uhd BD. All of the fun possibilities.
blee0120 is offline  
post #2918 of 5131 Old 08-15-2017, 01:50 AM
Member
 
scott_richardson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Hey guys! I have FINALLY just got my 9500 setup over the weekend and wanted to test out my anamorphic lens.

I was using my PS4 Pro and Netflix, however the anamorphic option was greyed out on the projector.

When I played a Bluray from the PS4 Pro, anamorphic mode was available.

Can someone advise why this could be? Is there a limitation with the anamorphic stretch? Is it limited to 24p material like on Bluray?

Kindest regards,

Scott

PS - gonna need to dig through this forum to determine best way to set up two presets for the projector. One for anamorphic and one for 16x9.
scott_richardson is offline  
post #2919 of 5131 Old 08-15-2017, 04:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2390
Quote:
Originally Posted by blee0120 View Post
Seymour has a 2.0 gain screen with minimal artifacts. I'm trying to get him to do a higher gain screen, for he said he can go up to 3.5 gain. Waiting to hear if he can. If not, I'll go with the 2.0 gain and report back. Should improve hdr as well as provide more contrast with a bright image.
I assume that's a solid screen?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blee0120 View Post
Or even 100k+ CR with 100nit for uhd BD. All of the fun possibilities.
Yeah, that's really what I'm looking for. I may have to be looking into a Severtson or Stewart microperf this fall.
stanger89 is offline  
post #2920 of 5131 Old 08-15-2017, 10:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
EllisGJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_richardson View Post
Can someone advise why this could be? Is there a limitation with the anamorphic stretch? Is it limited to 24p material like on Bluray?
I believe it doesn't work with 60 fps.
EllisGJ is offline  
post #2921 of 5131 Old 08-15-2017, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2390
Quote:
Originally Posted by EllisGJ View Post
I believe it doesn't work with 60 fps.
Specifically a lot of the processing features are disabled at 4K60 due to processing power limitations. 4K24 is "only" 60% more pixels than 1080p60, where as 4K60 is 4 times more.
stanger89 is offline  
post #2922 of 5131 Old 08-15-2017, 11:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 5,243
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1097 Post(s)
Liked: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I assume that's a solid screen?



Yeah, that's really what I'm looking for. I may have to be looking into a Severtson or Stewart microperf this fall.
It's a solid screen. I'll ask if it can be.
blee0120 is offline  
post #2923 of 5131 Old 08-15-2017, 02:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 14,806
Mentioned: 413 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5810 Post(s)
Liked: 5669
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I assume that's a solid screen?



Yeah, that's really what I'm looking for. I may have to be looking into a Severtson or Stewart microperf this fall.
You'll have to basically go nothing but microperf to improve over what seymour has in the 1.0 gain material. I've tested them all and even the severtson 1.18 doesn't provide an appreciable enough difference to the 1.0 gain XD or enlightor bright, depending on which avenue of seymour you go down.

European Models do not accept banana plugs
Belly of the Beast: Bass Bunker Theater
beastaudio is offline  
post #2924 of 5131 Old 08-15-2017, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2390
Yeah, I was thinking of investigating probably the 1.3/1.4 gain Stewart/Severtson, and maybe give the 1.8 gain a shot too. Severtson's actually got a 2.2 gain microperf (Stellar White), but I'm assuming that might hotspot pretty badly, I don't think any of these are retroreflective.
stanger89 is offline  
post #2925 of 5131 Old 08-15-2017, 03:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Rengozu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: TN
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_richardson View Post
Hey guys! I have FINALLY just got my 9500 setup over the weekend and wanted to test out my anamorphic lens.

I was using my PS4 Pro and Netflix, however the anamorphic option was greyed out on the projector.

When I played a Bluray from the PS4 Pro, anamorphic mode was available.

Can someone advise why this could be? Is there a limitation with the anamorphic stretch? Is it limited to 24p material like on Bluray?
I only have the RS600 model, but it's the same for me. Always irritated me for whatever the reason. If I use VUDU through the clunky menus of the Samsung UHD player I can use it no problem, but if I want to use my phone to scroll through VUDU to easily select what I want to watch and then send it to my Chromecast it won't let me use the lens.

JMAX Home Theatre
Spoiler!
Rengozu is offline  
post #2926 of 5131 Old 08-15-2017, 04:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 5,243
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1097 Post(s)
Liked: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Yeah, I was thinking of investigating probably the 1.3/1.4 gain Stewart/Severtson, and maybe give the 1.8 gain a shot too. Severtson's actually got a 2.2 gain microperf (Stellar White), but I'm assuming that might hotspot pretty badly, I don't think any of these are retroreflective.
I need to look up the Severtson screens. Thanks for the heads up.
blee0120 is offline  
post #2927 of 5131 Old 08-15-2017, 10:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4,263
Mentioned: 89 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2546 Post(s)
Liked: 1646
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
Thanks much for that. I'm sure you're right, but if JVC thought there was a better way to force shutdown for a locked PJ, why is it not mentioned in the manual? Or did I miss it?
Simply because it's not meant to happen at all, it's the same procedure with any computer and is a common mistake to pull the plug yet it is nowhere to be found in any manual.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Javs View Post
Is your PJ still locking up?

Did you update the FW?

Or are you saying it used to lock up. Mine hasnt locked up since I did the FW update months ago.
Yeah it still stuffes up and no I haven't done the update since I see many of the members are still experiencing it after the update so did not want to risk a bricked PJ as I am now overseas so there is no warranty cover I believe or is it covered internationally? Also I made a mistake in my post it's not the CMD menu it's blur reduction. Since by holding the button it can be shut down gracefully it's still OK for the occasional lock up and I can live without FI.

BTW just to write something positive as well, so far anyone whom I showed the new room all commented without knowing what the equipment was "there is so much depth to the image it's quite 3D like and never seen it so sharp and detailed".

I am still amazed myself every day. Watched Logan UHD and found the dynamic range was quite exceptional.
Javs likes this.

EPSON TW-9300 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, DIY Subs 18" 24hz tune and 12" 17hz tune Panasonic UB900, HTPC, etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post50298297
Bandyka is online now  
post #2928 of 5131 Old 08-16-2017, 01:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SwiftsCreek, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,920
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 2817
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandyka View Post
Simply because it's not meant to happen at all, it's the same procedure with any computer and is a common mistake to pull the plug yet it is nowhere to be found in any manual.



Yeah it still stuffes up and no I haven't done the update since I see many of the members are still experiencing it after the update so did not want to risk a bricked PJ as I am now overseas so there is no warranty cover I believe or is it covered internationally? Also I made a mistake in my post it's not the CMD menu it's blur reduction. Since by holding the button it can be shut down gracefully it's still OK for the occasional lock up and I can live without FI.

BTW just to write something positive as well, so far anyone whom I showed the new room all commented without knowing what the equipment was "there is so much depth to the image it's quite 3D like and never seen it so sharp and detailed".

I am still amazed myself every day. Watched Logan UHD and found the dynamic range was quite exceptional.
Hi Mate,

As you will remember i was having "Lockups" on regular basis to the point i was gong to ditch my X9500. Since updating to the 30.1 firmware i have had absolutely "0" lockups or issues.....just to put your mind at resat with the firmware update. I am still running the Linker / UB900/ HTPC / Pioneer LX88 ......and i still have the Oppo 203 relegated to gathering dust!

Regarding the image quality from the X9500.... a little while ago i finally got to view the Z1/RS4500 first hand as i was contemplating purchasing one.
Lets just say i came home and am now quite happy to have the X9500 in my theatre and have no intentions of replacing it .
woofer is offline  
post #2929 of 5131 Old 08-16-2017, 09:24 AM
Member
 
lunnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Ok, to clarify thing I think there is 2 kinds of locking problems here:

1) a Hard lock up That make you loose visual and or get green noise and that you must do a hard power down to recover from. This one I think they fixed it with the 30.1 update.

2) a soft lock up that will also make you loose visual with green noise(Therefore look very similar to number 1 problem), but this one you can still use the remote to change source, disable CMD etc.. but blindly. and disabling CMD or changing source for a different resolution/refresh rate combo will give you back a picture(sometime it is lock for all resolution and event with CMD off so it is not 100% repeatable pattern here). This one you can usee the power off button on the remote to close the projector. And it is still happening with 30.1.

Prior to updating to 30.1 I used to get both issues(took me a while to figure out it was 2 differents issues) But now since I updated a few month ago I only get issue number 2. Still anoying because most of the time that mean I still need to power down/power up to recover.

I suppose problem 2 is happing because something in the HDMI chain get screwed up(receiver, cable, etc). For me it is happening when I change resolution/Regresh rate on my HTPC or change source to my Roku or PS4 thru the receiver. interesting is the fact that it never happend on my Cable box witch is 1080p. as all other devices are 4k. I've just change my cable box for a 4k box this week so I will wait and see if I start getting the issue on my cable box also.

-Lunnar
"Tempo is everything, perfection unattainable..."
lunnar is offline  
post #2930 of 5131 Old 08-16-2017, 10:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
monstosity12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 14
well, about to purchase a 4k player. Had a question regarding this however.

To be short and sweet... Which one is the best?

I remeber reading someone doing a side by side comparison of them, but cant seem to find it. Sorry if this was asked again and again.

Last edited by monstosity12; 08-16-2017 at 10:48 AM.
monstosity12 is offline  
post #2931 of 5131 Old 08-16-2017, 10:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4,263
Mentioned: 89 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2546 Post(s)
Liked: 1646
Quote:
Originally Posted by woofer View Post
Hi Mate,

As you will remember i was having "Lockups" on regular basis to the point i was gong to ditch my X9500. Since updating to the 30.1 firmware i have had absolutely "0" lockups or issues.....just to put your mind at resat with the firmware update. I am still running the Linker / UB900/ HTPC / Pioneer LX88 ......and i still have the Oppo 203 relegated to gathering dust!

Regarding the image quality from the X9500.... a little while ago i finally got to view the Z1/RS4500 first hand as i was contemplating purchasing one.
Lets just say i came home and am now quite happy to have the X9500 in my theatre and have no intentions of replacing it .
G'day,

Thanks for the feedback I might give the update a crack.

Yep same setup here (except the AVR) and Oppo ditched long ago and yes I got the same impressions after seeing the Z1 and I quite simply think we have the best home cinema machine on the market right now in the sub 50K segment period.

EPSON TW-9300 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, DIY Subs 18" 24hz tune and 12" 17hz tune Panasonic UB900, HTPC, etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post50298297
Bandyka is online now  
post #2932 of 5131 Old 08-16-2017, 10:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4,263
Mentioned: 89 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2546 Post(s)
Liked: 1646
Quote:
Originally Posted by monstosity12 View Post
well, about to purchase a 4k player. Had a question regarding this however.

To be short and sweet... Which one is the best?

I remeber reading someone doing a side by side comparison of them, but cant seem to find it. Sorry if this was asked again and again.
Short answer: UB900
Erod likes this.

EPSON TW-9300 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, DIY Subs 18" 24hz tune and 12" 17hz tune Panasonic UB900, HTPC, etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post50298297
Bandyka is online now  
post #2933 of 5131 Old 08-16-2017, 03:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Highjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,553
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1323 Post(s)
Liked: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by monstosity12 View Post
well, about to purchase a 4k player. Had a question regarding this however.

To be short and sweet... Which one is the best?

I remeber reading someone doing a side by side comparison of them, but cant seem to find it. Sorry if this was asked again and again.
This is what you are looking for:


May the success of a Nation be judged not by its collective wealth nor by its power, but by the contentment of its people.
Hiran J Wijeyesekera - 1985.
Highjinx is offline  
post #2934 of 5131 Old 08-16-2017, 04:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Erod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,062
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked: 941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandyka View Post
Short answer: UB900
Yep. Picture quality is notably better.
Erod is offline  
post #2935 of 5131 Old 08-17-2017, 02:48 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
chipvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 929
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Anyone else run an oppo 205 directly to a RS520. Need to get the correct settings of both. Getting sparkles all over the screen. Do I need to set the Color Bit down. I think its set at 12 bit.
chipvideo is offline  
post #2936 of 5131 Old 08-17-2017, 05:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Soo.. I got my OPPO-203, connected to Pioneer sc-lx59, then to JVS RS520. I also got the 1st 4k uhd disk to test it - The Magnificent Seven (somehow it arrived before Lucy or Pacific Rim or a few others from ebay). Oppo is set to direct output \ auto wherever possible, Pioneer in passthrough mode. A few questions:

1. Am I getting the right picture from Oppo (please look into attached pic)?

2. What are the best settings for HDR out of the box without any tweaks? I have HDR picture mode automatically kicked in, HDR BT2020 color space, gamma set to HDR (ST.2084) by default but the colors are way dark and reddish in that mode. I like setting it to Normal most with manual Iris set to ~ -9, is that OK or it ruins the HDR picture?

Thanks a lot!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2wtsr.jpg (281.8 KB, 57 views)
RAzZin is offline  
post #2937 of 5131 Old 08-17-2017, 05:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4,263
Mentioned: 89 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2546 Post(s)
Liked: 1646
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAzZin View Post
Soo.. I got my OPPO-203, connected to Pioneer sc-lx59, then to JVS RS520. I also got the 1st 4k uhd disk to test it - The Magnificent Seven (somehow it arrived before Lucy or Pacific Rim or a few others from ebay). Oppo is set to direct output \ auto wherever possible, Pioneer in passthrough mode. A few questions:

1. Am I getting the right picture from Oppo (please look into attached pic)?

2. What are the best settings for HDR out of the box without any tweaks? I have HDR picture mode automatically kicked in, HDR BT2020 color space, gamma set to HDR (ST.2084) by default but the colors are way dark and reddish in that mode. I like setting it to Normal most with manual Iris set to ~ -9, is that OK or it ruins the HDR picture?

Thanks a lot!
No offence but you have a lot of reading to do. Please search this thread for HDR settings and also the Oppo thread for HDR issues. No it's not OK to run UHD HDR discs in Normal mode you either strip HDR and run it in SDR with BT2020 color or full HDR BT2020 and HDR gamma.

EPSON TW-9300 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, DIY Subs 18" 24hz tune and 12" 17hz tune Panasonic UB900, HTPC, etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post50298297
Bandyka is online now  
post #2938 of 5131 Old 08-17-2017, 05:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 28,608
Mentioned: 289 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14047 Post(s)
Liked: 11715
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by chipvideo View Post
Anyone else run an oppo 205 directly to a RS520. Need to get the correct settings of both. Getting sparkles all over the screen. Do I need to set the Color Bit down. I think its set at 12 bit.
Sparkles have to do with the screen, not the projector, but running a brighter projector will bring out the sparkle in the screen more.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #2939 of 5131 Old 08-17-2017, 06:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandyka View Post
No offence but you have a lot of reading to do. Please search this thread for HDR settings and also the Oppo thread for HDR issues. No it's not OK to run UHD HDR discs in Normal mode you either strip HDR and run it in SDR with BT2020 color or full HDR BT2020 and HDR gamma.
Hmm ok will do, thanks. Do I at least get the right content from Oppo according my info srceen?
RAzZin is offline  
post #2940 of 5131 Old 08-17-2017, 11:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4,263
Mentioned: 89 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2546 Post(s)
Liked: 1646
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAzZin View Post
Do I at least get the right content from Oppo according my info srceen?
Can't tell for certain since you are displaying the PJ info screen not the players' but he colors don't look right it seems you are using Rec709 not BT2020.

EPSON TW-9300 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, DIY Subs 18" 24hz tune and 12" 17hz tune Panasonic UB900, HTPC, etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post50298297
Bandyka is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off