Official JVC DLA-RS420 (DLA-X570R) Owners Thread - Page 17 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3468Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #481 of 2678 Old 04-04-2017, 09:19 AM
Member
 
lunnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueMp5 View Post


Also, in my old house I had an Epson 1080UB system, and I feel like this is not much better or brighter, and I keep hearing how bright these should be. Also blacks are not very good


This cant be right? Shouldn't this be far superior to my old 1080p system. I feel like I have spent a lot of money to be disappointed in this
I recently upgraded from an Epson 8700UB(and I had a 1080UB prior to that) to the DLA-R570 and it was a good step up for me. more brighness, better contrast and 4k +HDR of course with the right content look mindblowing(everyone looking for demo material, grab the LG Chess demo http://demo-uhd3d.com/fiche.php?cat=uhd&id=145)

going form the 1080UB to the 8700UB was also a small step up, so you should see a good improvement for sure.

But with these new toys come a new era of settings and possibilities. I consider myself pretty well versed in the calibration departement, but I still feel like a new born with this projector....still so much to learn.

don't give up, there must be something wrong in your chain for sure.
dkwilcox likes this.

-Lunnar
"Tempo is everything, perfection unattainable..."
lunnar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #482 of 2678 Old 04-04-2017, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2166 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
I wouldnt worry about calibrating it. Put it into Natural, Standard, 6500k and Gamma at Custom (2.5 to 2.2 or so depending on what you like). It will be accurate if your screen is relatively neutral.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

Last edited by AMartin56; 04-04-2017 at 10:48 AM.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #483 of 2678 Old 04-04-2017, 10:39 AM
Member
 
BlueMp5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
Your problem is your cat6 HDMI balun. What length cable do you need? If 25' and less, there are several premium certified to chose from. If you need longer, then I would recommend the Celerity fiber optic.

They installed the Blustream HEX70B http://www.blustream.co.uk/hex70b-kit/
I think the run is 30-35 ft total
BlueMp5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #484 of 2678 Old 04-04-2017, 10:46 AM
Member
 
BlueMp5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
I wouldnt worry about calibrating it. Put it into Natural, Standard, 6500k and Gamma at Custom (2.5 to 2.2 or so depending on what you lime). It will be accurate if your screen is relatively neutral.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

So don't let it use HDR and Rec 2020 etc ? I think that is what it changes to when I play a UHD BluRay movie
BlueMp5 is offline  
post #485 of 2678 Old 04-04-2017, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2166 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueMp5 View Post
So don't let it use HDR and Rec 2020 etc ? I think that is what it changes to when I play a UHD BluRay movie
IMO leave HDR on the defaults. I was speaking about non HDR.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #486 of 2678 Old 04-04-2017, 10:51 AM
 
Andreas21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1133 Post(s)
Liked: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
I wouldnt worry about calibrating it. Put it into Natural, Standard, 6500k and Gamma at Custom (2.5 to 2.2 or so depending on what you lime). It will be accurate if your screen is relatively neutral.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Then you need to have the Stewart Studiotek 100 and I highly recommend owners of these JVCs to calibrate them after 100 hours of use as the gamma drop usually comes between 30-100 hours.
dkwilcox likes this.
Andreas21 is offline  
post #487 of 2678 Old 04-04-2017, 10:53 AM
 
Andreas21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1133 Post(s)
Liked: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueMp5 View Post
So don't let it use HDR and Rec 2020 etc ? I think that is what it changes to when I play a UHD BluRay movie
HDR on default is not that good and after the gamma drop you need big changes to make it look good. And of course you should use the settings the JVC automaticly puts it self into when watching UHD BD. I think you can find some good settings for the standard HDR settings (if I am not mistaken it is +4 for Dark Level and -1-2 on the Bright Level) and this will give you a good starting point. Check out @Javs signature as I think he has some HDR settings for the new models there...

Last edited by Andreas21; 04-04-2017 at 10:59 AM.
Andreas21 is offline  
post #488 of 2678 Old 04-04-2017, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2166 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andreas21 View Post
Then you need to have the Stewart Studiotek 100 and I highly recommend owners of these JVCs to calibrate them after 100 hours of use as the gamma drop usually comes between 30-100 hours.
Mine has been a bit odd. 300 hours now and gamma still measured properly at 200ish hours. My grayscale was also pretty much dead on once I entered the screen number for my brand. As you mentioned elsewhere it needs adjusting when I fire up CMD.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
AMartin56 is offline  
post #489 of 2678 Old 04-04-2017, 11:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,527
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6661 Post(s)
Liked: 6644
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueMp5 View Post
Yes light controlled room. Grey painted walls.
What color is the ceiling? It is hard to go with the all matte black......
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #490 of 2678 Old 04-04-2017, 11:11 AM
 
Andreas21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1133 Post(s)
Liked: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
Mine has been a bit odd. 300 hours now and gamma still measured properly at 200ish hours. My grayscale was also pretty much dead on once I entered the screen number for my brand. As you mentioned elsewhere it needs adjusting when I fire up CMD.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Yes, the screen number can work in some cases, but not in others. If you have no gamma drop in 200+ hours you have a rare and stable JVC...

Last edited by Andreas21; 04-04-2017 at 12:51 PM.
Andreas21 is offline  
post #491 of 2678 Old 04-04-2017, 11:42 AM
Member
 
BlueMp5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
What color is the ceiling? It is hard to go with the all matte black......

Ceiling is still white right now. Hope to color match soon to walls
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7738.jpg
Views:	155
Size:	99.3 KB
ID:	2067785  
BlueMp5 is offline  
post #492 of 2678 Old 04-04-2017, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buddylee123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,516
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 904 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueMp5 View Post
Ceiling is still white right now. Hope to color match soon to walls
I think you might be getting a lot of reflection with the current setup that could be hurting your contrast and black level. My room has dark gray walls, dark carpet, and a black ceiling but my picture was greatly improved by adding black fabric on the side walls and on the floor a few feet out from the screen. Check out the thread below but be warned that it is addicting

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...r-go-back.html

Last edited by Buddylee123; 04-04-2017 at 04:15 PM.
Buddylee123 is offline  
post #493 of 2678 Old 04-04-2017, 01:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueMp5 View Post
Ceiling is still white right now. Hope to color match soon to walls


What is the size of that screen?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
k3nnis is offline  
post #494 of 2678 Old 04-04-2017, 02:04 PM
Member
 
BlueMp5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by k3nnis View Post
what is the size of that screen?


Sent from my iphone using tapatalk

120"
BlueMp5 is offline  
post #495 of 2678 Old 04-04-2017, 02:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueMp5 View Post
120"


Ok how wide is your room? My 110" going to look small


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
k3nnis is offline  
post #496 of 2678 Old 04-04-2017, 04:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,459
Mentioned: 241 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12498 Post(s)
Liked: 10117
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueMp5 View Post
Ceiling is still white right now. Hope to color match soon to walls
Your room is really hurting what the image could be.
Ronman79 and Haiej like this.
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #497 of 2678 Old 04-04-2017, 04:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Columbus, Oh
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Just out of curiosity, do these not have CEC? I can't find any option for it, and it definitely isn't working on mine..

Other than that, great projector! Works great for gaming, I'm very glad I didn't go for a 400 (or 500) as with the low lag turned off it's nearly unplayable. Gaming using PS4 pro w/4k.
Dandlj likes this.
averyrm is offline  
post #498 of 2678 Old 04-06-2017, 06:23 AM
Senior Member
 
IBJamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lake Villa, IL
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by averyrm View Post
Just out of curiosity, do these not have CEC? I can't find any option for it, and it definitely isn't working on mine..

Other than that, great projector! Works great for gaming, I'm very glad I didn't go for a 400 (or 500) as with the low lag turned off it's nearly unplayable. Gaming using PS4 pro w/4k.
Hypothetically, if it did have CEC, how would you use it? I don't see the point...
IBJamon is offline  
post #499 of 2678 Old 04-06-2017, 06:09 PM
Son
Member
 
Son's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Two Rivers Wi
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Just picked up a RS420 The weekend will be fun...
Craig Peer, ScottSFA, Javs and 2 others like this.
Son is offline  
post #500 of 2678 Old 04-06-2017, 06:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,019
Mentioned: 489 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6913 Post(s)
Liked: 6619
Quote:
Originally Posted by Son View Post
Just picked up a RS420 The weekend will be fun...
Congrats!

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is online now  
post #501 of 2678 Old 04-06-2017, 07:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buddylee123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,516
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 904 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Son View Post
Just picked up a RS420 The weekend will be fun...
Congrats, It's awesome, can't stop watching mine.
Buddylee123 is offline  
post #502 of 2678 Old 04-07-2017, 03:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Just got the 570R
Buddylee123 likes this.
Tom Mathew is offline  
post #503 of 2678 Old 04-07-2017, 08:24 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Columbus, Oh
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by IBJamon View Post
Hypothetically, if it did have CEC, how would you use it? I don't see the point...
Turn on an input, the projector fires up, rather than having to find the remote.

Since all of our media is controlled via a PS4 or phones, it's nice to not have to use another remote.
averyrm is offline  
post #504 of 2678 Old 04-07-2017, 11:45 AM
Senior Member
 
IBJamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lake Villa, IL
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by averyrm View Post
Turn on an input, the projector fires up, rather than having to find the remote.

Since all of our media is controlled via a PS4 or phones, it's nice to not have to use another remote.
I guess I can see that. I don't use mine that way for every source; for example, PS4 remote play, or using my HTPC to play music with the screen off. I also have my Marantz AVP doing multi-zone, so that I can use my PS4 upstairs if I want.

Now that I think of it, you might be able to use RS232 for this kind of thing, though Harmony is probably easiest.
IBJamon is offline  
post #505 of 2678 Old 04-07-2017, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
pacman9270's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Picked up an X570R and Oppo 203. Hope to have a great experience.

Theater Setup: 5.2.5 (10.1 Auro3D) / ~3100 cu.ft. / Vaulted Ceiling
Projector:JVC DLA-X570R Screen:SI Performance Series 16:9 100" Source Player:Oppo BDP-103D/UDP-203 Pre/Pro:Marantz AV8802A Amps:Emotiva XPA-5(Fronts/Surrounds) and BasX A500(Heights) Fronts/Surrounds:Sonus Faber Venere 2.0 Center:Sonus Faber Venere Center Front/Rear Heights:Definitive Technology PM1000 / ProCenter1000(VOG) Subwoofer:Dual SVS SB-2000 Speaker Wire:Monoprice CL2 12-AWG w/Bananas ICs:BlueJeanCables/Mediabridge
pacman9270 is offline  
post #506 of 2678 Old 04-07-2017, 12:53 PM - Thread Starter
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2166 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacman9270 View Post
Picked up an X570R and Oppo 203. Hope to have a great experience.
If you use motion smoothing​ at all I would recommend testing the Clear Motion Drive function prior to the end of your return period. It is currently broken as described in the dedicated thread discussing the issue on these forums.

If you don't use motion smoothing of any type you have nothing to worry about.
pacman9270 likes this.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #507 of 2678 Old 04-07-2017, 01:36 PM
Senior Member
 
IBJamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lake Villa, IL
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
If you use motion smoothing​ at all I would recommend testing the Clear Motion Drive function prior to the end of your return period. It is currently broken as described in the dedicated thread discussing the issue on these forums.

If you don't use motion smoothing of any type you have nothing to worry about.
I never realized that enabling low latency disables CMD so I have never even tested it since I game on this projector.

Motion Enhance, which can be on with low latency mode, it set to 'low' by default and I haven't noticed any issues.
jorgebetancourt likes this.
IBJamon is offline  
post #508 of 2678 Old 04-07-2017, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2166 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by IBJamon View Post
I never realized that enabling low latency disables CMD so I have never even tested it since I game on this projector.

Motion Enhance, which can be on with low latency mode, it set to 'low' by default and I haven't noticed any issues.
With Motion Enhance you might see ringing around moving objects but maybe not in a video game. It's another worthless feature I would turn off.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
AMartin56 is offline  
post #509 of 2678 Old 04-07-2017, 03:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 955
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 629 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by IBJamon View Post
I never realized that enabling low latency disables CMD so I have never even tested it since I game on this projector.

Motion Enhance, which can be on with low latency mode, it set to 'low' by default and I haven't noticed any issues.
I dont have any issues either or probably haven't noticed and I've had the projector from day one
jorgebetancourt is offline  
post #510 of 2678 Old 04-08-2017, 04:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Need some guidance.
1) basement light controlled room. 20 feet length and 137 inch wide. How big a screen can I pair with the x570r?
2) I was thinking 130 inch wide (not diag) 2.35:1 screen with projector at 19 feet. Would this be ok? Or is 130 inch wide too much for x570r?

I have black non reflective drape on walls and ceiling.
Tom Mathew is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off