Official JVC DLA-RS420 (DLA-X570R) Owners Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3461Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 2645 Old 02-07-2017, 09:14 PM
Member
 
steste1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whopper80 View Post
Hi,

I currently have the Epson 5040UBE which I just purchased in November. It has too many issues with 4k / 60hz though and HDR so I am thinking of returning it (for a 600$ loss) and then ordering the JVC RS420.

I have a hard time finding an online store though that sells it. Where did you buy it from (in the US)?
Also, are there any lag issues with gaming or anything else that causes issues on this one?

Thanks!
I got mine from Cleveland Plasma. Chris is awesome. I called late at night and was expecting to get a machine so that I could get the business hours. Instead I got Chris. I was fine calling back in the morning, but he went back and took my order.
BroodishProdigy likes this.
steste1122 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 2645 Old 02-08-2017, 07:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buddylee123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,451
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 867 Post(s)
Liked: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
Thank you. That makes sense and matches what I'm seeing. Auto 1 definitely crushes more shadow detail. I like 2 better. I assume it would be best to leave the iris off for proper gamma but I've never had a projector with one so I'd like to try it for awhile. it also seems to lessen the amount of overspray I see when zooming.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Have you watched any dark movies with the auto iris set to 2? I had the Sony 45ES for a few days and the only complaint that I have was the black level on really dark scenes. I watched Gravity and Tron on it and the dark scenes were more of a dark gray than black.
Buddylee123 is online now  
post #33 of 2645 Old 02-08-2017, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2166 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buddylee123 View Post
Have you watched any dark movies with the auto iris set to 2? I had the Sony 45ES for a few days and the only complaint that I have was the black level on really dark scenes. I watched Gravity and Tron on it and the dark scenes were more of a dark gray than black.
Only one movie with that setting so far and it wasn't particularly dark. But I had a 40ES before and the 420 displays more contrast than the Sony even without the iris active.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
AMartin56 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 2645 Old 02-08-2017, 12:20 PM
Member
 
lunnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 42
anyone can confirm that you can use Clear Motion Drive with native 4k 24fps or 30fps content?

thanks
k3nnis likes this.

-Lunnar
"Tempo is everything, perfection unattainable..."
lunnar is offline  
post #35 of 2645 Old 02-08-2017, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,309
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11652 Post(s)
Liked: 9213
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whopper80 View Post
Hi,

I currently have the Epson 5040UBE which I just purchased in November. It has too many issues with 4k / 60hz though and HDR so I am thinking of returning it (for a 600$ loss) and then ordering the JVC RS420.

I have a hard time finding an online store though that sells it. Where did you buy it from (in the US)?
Also, are there any lag issues with gaming or anything else that causes issues on this one?

Thanks!
Not sold online. Click link and then click on 420.
http://pro.jvc.com/prof/attributes/c...oductId=PRO6.1
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #36 of 2645 Old 02-09-2017, 09:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 7,480
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 1524
Does anyone have any PQ setting they'd like to share? I will be getting mine calibrated in a few months but if there are any ideal setting I should be running. I've been playing around with it for the last few days. The lockon times are certainly better than my old x550. They seemed to almost be cut in half when I did the latest firmware on my OPPO 203.... Still takes way to long IMO but at least it's better.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is online now  
post #37 of 2645 Old 02-10-2017, 09:00 PM
Senior Member
 
BMac1203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: NoVA
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Just got my 420 this evening - what a light cannon!

I'll post pics tomorrow - loving it, so far, but I can't get my AppleTV 4th Gen to sync through my Denon 4300H worked as it should with my old Optoma DLP, but with the JVC it never outputs any video...
BMac1203 is offline  
post #38 of 2645 Old 02-11-2017, 07:59 AM - Thread Starter
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2166 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
So I've been playing around with the motion settings a bit and I believe my favorite combination for 1080p/24 Blu-ray is E-Shift off (although that may not matter) Low Latency Off. Clear Motion Drive at Low and Motion Enhance off.

The last setting was a bit of a surprise but it seemed like combining it with CMD low was creating a hair too much SOE for me. CMD alone was providing the judder reduction I crave.

Unfortunately I'm still searching for a better solution for 24fps films broadcast at 60 Hz. Inverse Telecine restores proper cadence from what I can tell but you get judder. I may turn off everything for that material and learn to 'enjoy' the pulldown blur.
Buddylee123 likes this.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #39 of 2645 Old 02-11-2017, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
BMac1203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: NoVA
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Also - hoping someone can teach me what I need to buy to start using the JVC calibration software
BMac1203 is offline  
post #40 of 2645 Old 02-11-2017, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2166 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMac1203 View Post
Also - hoping someone can teach me what I need to buy to start using the JVC calibration software
Spyder 5 Pro.

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/con...C&Q=&A=details

The software:

http://www3.jvckenwood.com/english/d...ationsoft.html

I found it easiest to talk to the projector via my home network. Give it an IP address and plug it into your router. My laptop via wireless on the same network had no issues finding it.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
AMartin56 is offline  
post #41 of 2645 Old 02-11-2017, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,836
Mentioned: 474 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6777 Post(s)
Liked: 6393
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
Spyder 5 Pro.

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/con...C&Q=&A=details

The software:

http://www3.jvckenwood.com/english/d...ationsoft.html

I found it easiest to talk to the projector via my home network. Give it an IP address and plug it into your router. My laptop via wireless on the same network had no issues finding it.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
The Spyder Pro is a waste of money, just get the Express.

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is online now  
post #42 of 2645 Old 02-11-2017, 04:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,836
Mentioned: 474 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6777 Post(s)
Liked: 6393
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
So I've been playing around with the motion settings a bit and I believe my favorite combination for 1080p/24 Blu-ray is E-Shift off (although that may not matter) Low Latency Off. Clear Motion Drive at Low and Motion Enhance off.

The last setting was a bit of a surprise but it seemed like combining it with CMD low was creating a hair too much SOE for me. CMD alone was providing the judder reduction I crave.

Unfortunately I'm still searching for a better solution for 24fps films broadcast at 60 Hz. Inverse Telecine restores proper cadence from what I can tell but you get judder. I may turn off everything for that material and learn to 'enjoy' the pulldown blur.
Try up-scaling your blurays to 2160p either with HTPC, MadVR or a UHD Player... You are leaving 50% of the capable resolution of your projector on the table by not doing it. Trust me.

http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/197026

http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/196783
sonichart, Haiej and Dandlj like this.

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is online now  
post #43 of 2645 Old 02-11-2017, 06:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
elmalloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,962
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
Wireless HDMI is not built in and honesty isn't something I would try with 4K. I hear too many CABLE horror stories as it is.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Right, but AFAIK wireless technology (WiGig, etc.) carries more bandwidth than cables. At least with the Epson models, the wireless HDMI is as performant (no additional lag) as HDMI and it doesn't seem to suffer from the cabling issues people are having.

IN PROGRESS - Outdoor Theater:
Epson G7500U, Carl's Place CIH 21ft wide x 9ft screen

Game room:
Epson 5040UBE, Denon S920W, Philips BDP7501, NVidia Shield TV, PS4 Pro, SI 110"
elmalloc is offline  
post #44 of 2645 Old 02-11-2017, 06:22 PM
Senior Member
 
BMac1203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: NoVA
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Here are my pictures:

You can see my hand-me-down Optoma HD180 vs the 420.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1283.JPG
Views:	692
Size:	257.1 KB
ID:	1960473   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1281.JPG
Views:	644
Size:	242.4 KB
ID:	1960481   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1280.JPG
Views:	645
Size:	184.7 KB
ID:	1960489   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1279.JPG
Views:	647
Size:	350.8 KB
ID:	1960497   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1278.JPG
Views:	680
Size:	349.2 KB
ID:	1960505  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1277.JPG
Views:	599
Size:	331.5 KB
ID:	1960513   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1276.JPG
Views:	619
Size:	175.1 KB
ID:	1960521  

Media Room: JVC DLA-RS420, ST 125" 2.35:1 screen, Denon AVR-x4300h, Outlaw Audio 7125, Sony UBP-X800, Klipsch RF-7ii fronts, RC-64ii center, RS-62ii x2 surrounds && RS-41ii x2 backs, HSU VTF-3 MK5 x2 subs, Micca M-8C heights, ATV 4K

Living Room: 65" Sony XBR65X900E; Sonos Playbase
BMac1203 is offline  
post #45 of 2645 Old 02-11-2017, 06:27 PM - Thread Starter
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2166 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javs View Post
Try up-scaling your blurays to 2160p either with HTPC, MadVR or a UHD Player... You are leaving 50% of the capable resolution of your projector on the table by not doing it. Trust me.

http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/197026

http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/196783
My Oppo UHD player arrived today. I'm playing around with the settings now. Just not sure what settings I should run with. I have one 4K disc (X-Men Apocalypse) and it looks pretty good with the default HDR settings on the 420 if maybe a tad over cooked at times. I'm also experimenting with the differences in motion if I have the Oppo send 4K 60 Hz rather than 4K 24.

The strip Metadata and HDR off settings also look decent but frankly it can be a bit difficult to know what it should look like.

I still have my old player hooked up but will likely move entirely to the Oppo at some point.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #46 of 2645 Old 02-11-2017, 06:30 PM - Thread Starter
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2166 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
BMac1203: Having never had a JVC the size of the lens is what jumped out at me. It's about the size of a grapefruit!

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
AMartin56 is offline  
post #47 of 2645 Old 02-11-2017, 08:59 PM - Thread Starter
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2166 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
So I played around a little bit more with the Oppo UHD player. I doubt I've unearthed any amazing mysteries but here are my impressions.

HDR leaves a little to be desired. Bright scenes look great but dark scenes suffer from elevated black levels (at least with the 420s default settings).

IMO the main reason HDR looks so great is because of BT2020. Unfortunately until they upgrade the firmware it appears there is no way to view SDR BT2020 from the Oppi. The Strip Metadata feature doesn't do a good enough job yet.

But I'm sure Oppo will address it and when they do I'll be pleased. I also need them to add the ability to pass HDR from my PS4 Pro through the Oppo to my projector. I don't mind the elevated black levels with video games.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #48 of 2645 Old 02-13-2017, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 23,813
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6308 Post(s)
Liked: 6310
Have some good news guys..... Good old Chad B had a DLA-RS420U to play with all weekend thanks to us. He will have a "FULL" review up in a day or two I did get a teaser out of him, we where getting a 35 MS response time
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #49 of 2645 Old 02-13-2017, 12:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bachiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Have some good news guys..... Good old Chad B had a DLA-RS420U to play with all weekend thanks to us. He will have a "FULL" review up in a day or two I did get a teaser out of him, we where getting a 35 MS response time
Nice - can't wait !
Bachiano is offline  
post #50 of 2645 Old 02-13-2017, 02:05 PM
Member
 
AVRams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Have some good news guys..... Good old Chad B had a DLA-RS420U to play with all weekend thanks to us. He will have a "FULL" review up in a day or two I did get a teaser out of him, we where getting a 35 MS response time
Please provide a link to this review ☺
AVRams is offline  
post #51 of 2645 Old 02-13-2017, 02:28 PM
Member
 
flyinmunky99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 46
So from what i have read the main issue i'm concerned about is this vertical Banding when CMD is used. I briefly had a Epson 9300 and didn't like the motion on it. Id like to hear some more opinions on how native motion is without CMD. Even if banding popped up only on the odd occasion that would still be too much for me, i would always be looking for it.
flyinmunky99 is offline  
post #52 of 2645 Old 02-13-2017, 04:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
jbn008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 801
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Have some good news guys..... Good old Chad B had a DLA-RS420U to play with all weekend thanks to us. He will have a "FULL" review up in a day or two I did get a teaser out of him, we where getting a 35 MS response time
Chris, did he mention is "motion enhancement" added any more lag? I still gives you the option to turn it on after selecting low latency.

If not, hopefully he'll mention it in his review. thanks
John Feimster likes this.
jbn008 is offline  
post #53 of 2645 Old 02-13-2017, 04:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,836
Mentioned: 474 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6777 Post(s)
Liked: 6393
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyinmunky99 View Post
So from what i have read the main issue i'm concerned about is this vertical Banding when CMD is used. I briefly had a Epson 9300 and didn't like the motion on it. Id like to hear some more opinions on how native motion is without CMD. Even if banding popped up only on the odd occasion that would still be too much for me, i would always be looking for it.
The banding would be in UHD only IIRC... And its nothing new, its always been there.

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is online now  
post #54 of 2645 Old 02-13-2017, 06:58 PM
Toe
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Toe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 16,648
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2661 Post(s)
Liked: 3383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javs View Post
The banding would be in UHD only IIRC... And its nothing new, its always been there.
All the CMD banding I have reported is from blu ray and 3d blu ray as I don't even have a UHD player yet. Also, the banding was most definitely not there on my RS40 and RS45 so this is a new development sometime after those models.
Toe is offline  
post #55 of 2645 Old 02-13-2017, 07:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,836
Mentioned: 474 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6777 Post(s)
Liked: 6393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toe View Post
All the CMD banding I have reported is from blu ray and 3d blu ray as I don't even have a UHD player yet. Also, the banding was most definitely not there on my RS40 and RS45 so this is a new development sometime after those models.
Settings please.

What are you using for Bluray source?

Deep Colour on etc?

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is online now  
post #56 of 2645 Old 02-13-2017, 07:41 PM
Toe
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Toe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 16,648
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2661 Post(s)
Liked: 3383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javs View Post
Settings please.

What are you using for Bluray source?

Deep Colour on etc?
Using Zombies starter guide settings on an Oppo 93. Banding happens in either low or high CMD. You can pause a scene with banding and turn the CMD on/off and watch the banding come and go. Posted a bunch of time stamps in Zombies thread from Toy Story 3, Lego movie and Dinosaurs Giants of Patagonia 3d (if you have this, just que up the 1 minute 36 second mark up through 1:58. This 22 second section shows the banding issue well, but you can see it in all the time stamps I posted. Others have posted a few time stamps as well in the 520/620 owners thread from a few other films.
Toe is offline  
post #57 of 2645 Old 02-13-2017, 07:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,836
Mentioned: 474 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6777 Post(s)
Liked: 6393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toe View Post
Using Zombies starter guide settings on an Oppo 93. Banding happens in either low or high CMD. You can pause a scene with banding and turn the CMD on/off and watch the banding come and go. Posted a bunch of time stamps in Zombies thread from Toy Story 3, Lego movie and Dinosaurs Giants of Patagonia 3d (if you have this, just que up the 1 minute 36 second mark up through 1:58. This 22 second section shows the banding issue well, but you can see it in all the time stamps I posted. Others have posted a few time stamps as well in the 520/620 owners thread from a few other films.
Thanks Ill check em out in a few days.
Toe likes this.

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is online now  
post #58 of 2645 Old 02-14-2017, 03:57 AM - Thread Starter
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2166 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
I watched a bit more UHD Blu-ray last night and strangely enough I seemed to like everything (CMD and Motion Enhance) completely off the most. Which is strange since on any of my other displays this would not be ideal. It probably helped that the movies I watched avoided aggressive camera pans for the most part.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
AMartin56 is offline  
post #59 of 2645 Old 02-14-2017, 05:14 AM
Member
 
broomet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMac1203 View Post
Just got my 420 this evening - what a light cannon!
BMac1203 - are you using this projector with an ALR screen? I have a Dark Energy Abyss 0.9 ALR screen on its way and am really torn trying to decide between the Epson 5040 and this JVC RS420. Only concern about the JVC is the lower lumen output on this screen.
broomet is offline  
post #60 of 2645 Old 02-14-2017, 07:33 AM - Thread Starter
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2166 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
Regarding banding...

I can't remember what thread mentioned it but someone posted that a good test was the finale of Skyfall with all the fire in the background. It was even mentioned that toggling CMD when paused made it very apparent...You didn't have to watch it in motion.

So I ran that test. And yes I can see it. But frankly it's very subtle IMO.

Of course it should be said that my screen isn't completely uniform and that is evident with sky pans etc so maybe I'm just used to a similar artifact.
AMartin56 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off