Sony VPL-VW385ES Owners Thread - Page 111 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1448Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3301 of 3690 Old 07-12-2018, 05:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
DJR662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 658 Post(s)
Liked: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
Yea you can set the iris target to like 100 or 80 or where you like it and then engage the full or limited dynamic iris and it should use the setting you entered as a target.
Okay, thanks.
DJR662 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3302 of 3690 Old 07-12-2018, 06:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,757
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2290 Post(s)
Liked: 1236
Quote:
Originally Posted by freshmanjs View Post
Thanks. Will try that. Enhanced mode does work with directv box.
I concur with @GregCh in that it will be a combo of HDMI and HDCP issues. You must make sure your cables are capable of 18Gbps by direct connection and then once you have set HDMI to 'Enhanced' on the projector everything connected will need to be HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2 compliant. I am guessing your Balun fulfills neither of these criteria.

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #3303 of 3690 Old 07-12-2018, 06:35 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 27,175
Mentioned: 269 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12996 Post(s)
Liked: 10634
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJR662 View Post
From the top of my head: The distance between the backwall and my dropdown screen is about 5,5 inch (a 75Z9D is mounted to that wall). Distance between rightside wall and screen is roughly 7 inch. Distance between leftside wall and screen is 8 feet. Distance between ceiling and screen is around 9,8 inch. Then there's the light colored laminate flooring in our living room, and the TV cabinet (which is placed directly beneath the sceen) has a plate made out of glass on top of it.
An ALR screen will do a lot for you and would be the route I would recommend.

Added
After catching up on the posts, I see that is the route you decided to go. That will do more for your overall image than going to the 385.
DJR662 likes this.

Last edited by Mike Garrett; 07-12-2018 at 06:40 AM.
Mike Garrett is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3304 of 3690 Old 07-12-2018, 08:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 25,211
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7017 Post(s)
Liked: 7034
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJR662 View Post
When the missus says no, she really means NO.
Wow, anything but white in my place......

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJR662 View Post
I've made up my mind btw. I'm going to replace my current screen with the Cinegrey 5D. Should I feel the need later on, my dealer has offered to bring his 385ES demo unit to my house. That way we can compare it to my 285ES and see how much of an improvement it would make on my screen and under my viewing conditions. I can then decide whether it's worth it replacing the 285ES with a 385ES.
There is a great answer.......
DJR662 likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #3305 of 3690 Old 07-12-2018, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 27,175
Mentioned: 269 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12996 Post(s)
Liked: 10634
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Strange, Sony is no longer listed as an option on Projector Centrals calculator. Must be some kind of glitch.
http://www.projectorcentral.com/proj...ulator-pro.cfm

Sony is still listed on the Classic version.
http://www.projectorcentral.com/proj...calculator.cfm
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #3306 of 3690 Old 07-12-2018, 05:01 PM
Senior Member
 
freshmanjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregCh View Post
Yes, but that could be because your directv box doesn't support HDMI 2.0. So the Sony software check does something like this.

It checks to see if the attached device supports 2.0 and if enhanced mode is turned on. If those two things are true it outputs in HDMI 2.0 format. Your modem then fails because it only supports HDMI 1.4. Your AppleTV always uses HDMI 2.0 when the connected display is polling for HDMI 2.0. It doesn't matter what your output settings are.

With your directv box connected. Your Sony software again polls the connected source device. It reports that it only supports HDMI 1.4. So the Sony, even though it s set to enhanced realizes that your source device is HDMI1.4 and drops down to HDMI 1.4 to communicate. Your balun modem then works fine for that connection because it supports HDMI 1.4.

I know that sounds convoluted but I think that is what you have happening. Try the test with a short cable connected directly. Make sure the cable supports HDMI 2.0a. Most any cable that says it supports 18Gbps will work for that short distance.

Those balun modems are funky. They work but can cause all kinds of unusual HDMI handshake problems. I am using one right now that supports speeds to 18Gbps and HDMI 2.0a. It works but it still just gives up the ghost every now and then. I usually have to do a power off reset of the transmitter and receiver to get it back in order. There is also a lot of unnecessary delay in HDMI handshaking with video blinking out every once in awhile. I need to run an Optical HDMI cable to solve the issue but I just haven't bothered as it will require figuring out how to run a long cable without leaving exposed cable on the theater wall.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
I concur with @GregCh in that it will be a combo of HDMI and HDCP issues. You must make sure your cables are capable of 18Gbps by direct connection and then once you have set HDMI to 'Enhanced' on the projector everything connected will need to be HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2 compliant. I am guessing your Balun fulfills neither of these criteria.
Thanks guys!!! New 18GHz capable balun is coming next week. I will report back after trying it out.
freshmanjs is offline  
post #3307 of 3690 Old 07-12-2018, 05:48 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 27,175
Mentioned: 269 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12996 Post(s)
Liked: 10634
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by freshmanjs View Post
Thanks guys!!! New 18GHz capable balun is coming next week. I will report back after trying it out.
What did you order?
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #3308 of 3690 Old 07-12-2018, 05:53 PM
Senior Member
 
freshmanjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
What did you order?
TechLogix TL-FO2-HDC. HDMI 2.0 & Control over Two Fiber Optic Cable Extender

https://www.tlnetworx.com/products/tl-fo2-hdc
freshmanjs is offline  
post #3309 of 3690 Old 07-12-2018, 09:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1,987
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2027 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Quote:
Originally Posted by freshmanjs View Post
TechLogix TL-FO2-HDC. HDMI 2.0 & Control over Two Fiber Optic Cable Extender

https://www.tlnetworx.com/products/tl-fo2-hdc
Did you try a short cable test first? I wouldn't want to order a new balun without making sure it was the problem? I think it probably is but hooking the Apple TV 4K up directly to the projector with a short good cable is an easy test.
Archibald1 likes this.
GregCh is offline  
post #3310 of 3690 Old 07-14-2018, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
freshmanjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregCh View Post
Did you try a short cable test first? I wouldn't want to order a new balun without making sure it was the problem? I think it probably is but hooking the Apple TV 4K up directly to the projector with a short good cable is an easy test.
It's a great idea, but not so easy to do. The apple tv is far away from the projector (which is why I need the fiber cable and balun). Hard to move it for a test. I was going to get this balun anyway. Will keep you posted. thanks!!
freshmanjs is offline  
post #3311 of 3690 Old 07-14-2018, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1,987
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2027 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Quote:
Originally Posted by freshmanjs View Post
It's a great idea, but not so easy to do. The apple tv is far away from the projector (which is why I need the fiber cable and balun). Hard to move it for a test. I was going to get this balun anyway. Will keep you posted. thanks!!
The Apple TV is the size of a hockey puck. It has wifi for internet. Seriously, can't you temporarily, just sit the Apple TV on the projector. Plug in a short HDMI cable, plug in power to the same plug as the projector. Then you should be good to go for a test. You don't need an AVR for this test.

It should be a piece of cake to move. The Apple TV weighs something like 8 ounces.
llang269 and Mike Garrett like this.
GregCh is offline  
post #3312 of 3690 Old 07-17-2018, 08:55 AM
Member
 
Cashuout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 7
I'm wondering if Mike could reach out to me to give me a price quote on 385es

Equipment:
Silver ticket 125" 2:35:1 - JVC-DLA-NX9 - Panamorph Paladin DCR - Lumagen Radiance Pro ( ordered ) - Denon X4400H - Oppo 203 - Apple TV 4K - I Pad controled Lighting /System ( harmony hub ) - Outlaw 5000 - Klispch 450C - 2x RP 280 - 2x RP 150 - 2x RP 240s Bi - 2x RP SW12 - PLUS 2x SVS PB2000 - 4x Polk RC80i in-ceiling [ 7.4.4 System ]
Cashuout is offline  
post #3313 of 3690 Old 07-17-2018, 05:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What's the best settings for 4k HDR and 3d contents on a 1.0 gain screen? With 4k HDR content, is converting HDR to SDR by using pixel shader math in Madvr better than passthrough and let the projector do it?
Thanks
Duong Vu is offline  
post #3314 of 3690 Old 07-17-2018, 05:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,788
Mentioned: 119 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5679 Post(s)
Liked: 3732
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cashuout View Post
I'm wondering if Mike could reach out to me to give me a price quote on 385es
Why don't you contact him rather than posting in a public forum hoping he happens to read this and find a way to contact you? His email is very easy to find and in his signature.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is online now  
post #3315 of 3690 Old 07-17-2018, 05:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 27,175
Mentioned: 269 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12996 Post(s)
Liked: 10634
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
Why don't you contact him rather than posting in a public forum hoping he happens to read this and find a way to contact you? His email is very easy to find and in his signature.
Yes, that would be best.
Fargus777 likes this.
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #3316 of 3690 Old 07-17-2018, 06:35 PM
Member
 
Cashuout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 7
I tried so send you a message and it doesnt work. I dont see a email for you Mike.

Equipment:
Silver ticket 125" 2:35:1 - JVC-DLA-NX9 - Panamorph Paladin DCR - Lumagen Radiance Pro ( ordered ) - Denon X4400H - Oppo 203 - Apple TV 4K - I Pad controled Lighting /System ( harmony hub ) - Outlaw 5000 - Klispch 450C - 2x RP 280 - 2x RP 150 - 2x RP 240s Bi - 2x RP SW12 - PLUS 2x SVS PB2000 - 4x Polk RC80i in-ceiling [ 7.4.4 System ]
Cashuout is offline  
post #3317 of 3690 Old 07-17-2018, 06:39 PM
Member
 
Cashuout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 7
How do I see forum members signatures? Or enable somehow.

Equipment:
Silver ticket 125" 2:35:1 - JVC-DLA-NX9 - Panamorph Paladin DCR - Lumagen Radiance Pro ( ordered ) - Denon X4400H - Oppo 203 - Apple TV 4K - I Pad controled Lighting /System ( harmony hub ) - Outlaw 5000 - Klispch 450C - 2x RP 280 - 2x RP 150 - 2x RP 240s Bi - 2x RP SW12 - PLUS 2x SVS PB2000 - 4x Polk RC80i in-ceiling [ 7.4.4 System ]
Cashuout is offline  
post #3318 of 3690 Old 07-17-2018, 06:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,788
Mentioned: 119 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5679 Post(s)
Liked: 3732
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cashuout View Post
How do I see forum members signatures? Or enable somehow.
I guess use a computer or get out of enhanced mobile view?

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is online now  
post #3319 of 3690 Old 07-18-2018, 09:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 25,211
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7017 Post(s)
Liked: 7034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cashuout View Post
How do I see forum members signatures? Or enable somehow.
I think they are always up on the PC.......Mobile app you have to select to add signatures at the bottom of any page I believe.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #3320 of 3690 Old 07-18-2018, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 27,175
Mentioned: 269 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12996 Post(s)
Liked: 10634
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cashuout View Post
I tried so send you a message and it doesnt work. I dont see a email for you Mike.
I think you have to change settings, when using a phone.
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #3321 of 3690 Old 07-18-2018, 07:12 PM
Member
 
Speakender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 16
My home theater is in the process of being completed, and the 385ES plus a Panamorph DCR Paladin lens were ceiling-mounted yesterday; however, the projector is off center (left to right) from the screen wall by a few inches.

I know the 385ES has horizontal lens shift, but (1) cosmetically I find it annoying (because there’s no real reason for the projector not to be centered); (2) I’m concerned the lens shift plus the Panamorph will negatively impact image quality.

Panamorph says their lens can tolerate horizontal lens shift +/- 6”, but I’m still concerned.

Should I have the installer remount the projector or is the lens shift an acceptable solution (that won’t negatively impact image quality)?

Video: OPPO UDP-203 / Apple TV 4K —> Lumagen Radiance Pro 4446 —> Sony VPL-VW885ES —> Panamorph Paladin DCR —> Stewart Luxus Deluxe Wallscreen 135” 2.4:1 w/ StudioTek 130 G3 1.3 White; Audio: Anthem AVM 60 (Dolby Atmos 5.1.4) —> Rotel RMB-1585 / Lexicon DD-8 —> GoldenEar (GE) Triton Two+ LR, GE SuperCenter XXL center, GE Invisa HTR 7000 surround, GE Invisa MPX rear / JL Audio E-Sub e112-ASH sub
Speakender is offline  
post #3322 of 3690 Old 07-18-2018, 07:28 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 27,175
Mentioned: 269 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12996 Post(s)
Liked: 10634
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speakender View Post
My home theater is in the process of being completed, and the 385ES plus a Panamorph DCR Paladin lens were ceiling-mounted yesterday; however, the projector is off center (left to right) from the screen wall by a few inches.

I know the 385ES has horizontal lens shift, but (1) cosmetically I find it annoying (because there’s no real reason for the projector not to be centered); (2) I’m concerned the lens shift plus the Panamorph will negatively impact image quality.

Panamorph says their lens can tolerate horizontal lens shift +/- 6”, but I’m still concerned.

Should I have the installer remount the projector or is the lens shift an acceptable solution (that won’t negatively impact image quality)?
I could understand missing by 1/2", but several inches would be unacceptable to me.
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #3323 of 3690 Old 07-20-2018, 02:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,757
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2290 Post(s)
Liked: 1236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speakender View Post
Should I have the installer remount the projector or is the lens shift an acceptable solution (that won’t negatively impact image quality)?
My advice: Get it centred whilst it is relatively easy to do so! Too much lens shift will affect the picture.

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #3324 of 3690 Old 07-20-2018, 10:16 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 27,175
Mentioned: 269 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12996 Post(s)
Liked: 10634
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Have the installer furnish you with a lateral shift plate to center the projector. Offer to split the cost with him, since they are not very expensive and it will work with your next projector. Installer eats the labor.
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #3325 of 3690 Old 07-24-2018, 04:54 AM
Member
 
yousafm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Dear fellow Oppo 203/Sony 360 owners,

Have hit a complete disaster.

I was getting full 444 12bit output to my Sony 360 projector for both 1080p Bluray and 4K Bluray.

I was on firmware 20XEU-54-1127 on the Oppo and some movie titles did not launch so upgraded over the internet giving me firmware 20XEU-60-0625

Now I only get 444 8bit for 1080p bluray and 4.2.2 12bit for 4K Bluray. All that glamorous deep striking colour and image is gone.

Anyone experience this as 444/12bit gave me the image quality I always hoped for - am sad about this?

My Apple 4K is still going great with 12bit 444 colour


Any thoughts, help, advice much appreciated...

Thx
yousafm is offline  
post #3326 of 3690 Old 07-24-2018, 10:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
jbrinegar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 371 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by yousafm View Post
Dear fellow Oppo 203/Sony 360 owners,

Have hit a complete disaster.

I was getting full 444 12bit output to my Sony 360 projector for both 1080p Bluray and 4K Bluray.

I was on firmware 20XEU-54-1127 on the Oppo and some movie titles did not launch so upgraded over the internet giving me firmware 20XEU-60-0625

Now I only get 444 8bit for 1080p bluray and 4.2.2 12bit for 4K Bluray. All that glamorous deep striking colour and image is gone.

Anyone experience this as 444/12bit gave me the image quality I always hoped for - am sad about this?

My Apple 4K is still going great with 12bit 444 colour


Any thoughts, help, advice much appreciated...

Thx
what output settings do you have your oppo set to? Are you forcing 4:4:4 or do you have it on auto? Perhaps one of these settings changed after your update?

JVC RS2000//JVC RS540 in Triple Black Velvet batcave
Anthem mrx1120
Klipsch Ref series 7.2.4 setup
Oppo 203 //Xbox one X // Apple 4k TV// PS4 Pro
Stewart Filmscreen 135" 16x9 Cima Neve
jbrinegar is online now  
post #3327 of 3690 Old 07-24-2018, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
freshmanjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
I concur with @GregCh in that it will be a combo of HDMI and HDCP issues. You must make sure your cables are capable of 18Gbps by direct connection and then once you have set HDMI to 'Enhanced' on the projector everything connected will need to be HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2 compliant. I am guessing your Balun fulfills neither of these criteria.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregCh View Post
Did you try a short cable test first? I wouldn't want to order a new balun without making sure it was the problem? I think it probably is but hooking the Apple TV 4K up directly to the projector with a short good cable is an easy test.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
What did you order?

Thanks all for the help. The new 18Ghz capable balun has resolved the issue.
Archibald1 likes this.
freshmanjs is offline  
post #3328 of 3690 Old 07-25-2018, 06:48 AM
Member
 
yousafm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrinegar View Post
what output settings do you have your oppo set to? Are you forcing 4:4:4 or do you have it on auto? Perhaps one of these settings changed after your update?
Dear Jbringer,


So I reset to factory defaults and checked all settings under video.

It used to work with Auto for all settings including resolution, colour space and colour bit. Forcing 444-12bit does not change anything but see below my further findings...

I always get the correct 24fps output

Now I managed to get the 12bit 444 colour with 1080p BR discs using SOURCE DIRECT as an option. It was not like this before and am not sure if we lose anything else using source direct mode instead of auto.

Also SOURCE DIRECT I only get 422-12bit not 444-12bit with 4K BR which was not the case before firmware upgrade. So it seems something has changed with this new firmware. Amp pass through via Arcam 850 and direct from oppo to Sony 360 gives me the same results (again everything worked great before firmware change)



Thanks

Last edited by yousafm; 07-25-2018 at 06:53 AM.
yousafm is offline  
post #3329 of 3690 Old 07-26-2018, 04:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,757
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2290 Post(s)
Liked: 1236
Quote:
Originally Posted by yousafm View Post
Dear Jbringer,


So I reset to factory defaults and checked all settings under video.

It used to work with Auto for all settings including resolution, colour space and colour bit. Forcing 444-12bit does not change anything but see below my further findings...

I always get the correct 24fps output

Now I managed to get the 12bit 444 colour with 1080p BR discs using SOURCE DIRECT as an option. It was not like this before and am not sure if we lose anything else using source direct mode instead of auto.

Also SOURCE DIRECT I only get 422-12bit not 444-12bit with 4K BR which was not the case before firmware upgrade. So it seems something has changed with this new firmware. Amp pass through via Arcam 850 and direct from oppo to Sony 360 gives me the same results (again everything worked great before firmware change)



Thanks
Have you definitely set your HDMI ports on the projector to 'Enhanced'?

Also make sure your AVR is set to full 4:4:4 36bit (12bit) video passthrough, via what ever method that takes.

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #3330 of 3690 Old 07-26-2018, 06:14 AM
Member
 
yousafm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
Have you definitely set your HDMI ports on the projector to 'Enhanced'?

Also make sure your AVR is set to full 4:4:4 36bit (12bit) video passthrough, via what ever method that takes.
Thanks Archi,

Am sending Oppo my experience wit the firmware via online form - its possible they may welcome the feedback.

Nothing has changed in the setup but I retraced my steps logically and in testing direct connection to the Sony projector to make sure the firmware did not cause a sudden incompatibility with the the amp pass through - but no same problem using direct connection (HDMI 1 set to enhanced etc).

Using as source direct at the moment...

Thanks again....
yousafm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off