Official JVC - 20LTD - RS640 (x990/x9900) - RS540 (X790/x7900) - Owners Thread - Page 146 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 32126Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4351 of 13987 Old 01-23-2018, 06:26 PM
Senior Member
 
rlarsen462's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
I've had two calibrators tell me to not use them.
lol I literally just turned these on the other day...guessing with StudioTek 130 there's probably not much difference anyway but I'll go ahead and turn them off again.
Craig Peer likes this.
rlarsen462 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4352 of 13987 Old 01-23-2018, 11:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Looking at getting the 7900, but since this thread was started in April 2017, are we getting very close to the release of the new version. Debating whether to buy now or wait if its only a few months away to see what the next model offers?

My 5.4.2 HT
KEF Q750 Fronts and Q600 Centre
KEF C130 Atmos in-Ceiling & KEF Ci200 In-Wall Surrounds
2 x Speedwoofer 10s
JVC 7900 Projector, Yamaha 2070 Receiver, Panasonic 420 4K Player
Terminate is offline  
post #4353 of 13987 Old 01-23-2018, 11:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4,226
Mentioned: 89 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2526 Post(s)
Liked: 1630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminate View Post
Looking at getting the 7900, but since this thread was started in April 2017, are we getting very close to the release of the new version. Debating whether to buy now or wait if its only a few months away to see what the next model offers?
have you heard something on a new release?

EPSON TW-9300 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, DIY Subs 18" 24hz tune and 12" 17hz tune Panasonic UB900, HTPC, etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post50298297
Bandyka is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4354 of 13987 Old 01-23-2018, 11:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4,226
Mentioned: 89 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2526 Post(s)
Liked: 1630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
I've had two calibrators tell me to not use them.
I don't either I touch up calibration after autocal instead.

EPSON TW-9300 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, DIY Subs 18" 24hz tune and 12" 17hz tune Panasonic UB900, HTPC, etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post50298297
Bandyka is online now  
post #4355 of 13987 Old 01-24-2018, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
rlarsen462's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandyka View Post
I don't either I touch up calibration after autocal instead.
However I am assuming you have tools/software to do so (I don't unfortunately)? What is the downside supposedly to using the screen adjustment setting?
rlarsen462 is offline  
post #4356 of 13987 Old 01-24-2018, 08:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
seanbryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Knowhere
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminate View Post
Looking at getting the 7900, but since this thread was started in April 2017, are we getting very close to the release of the new version. Debating whether to buy now or wait if its only a few months away to see what the next model offers?
This thread was started in October 2017
seanbryan is online now  
post #4357 of 13987 Old 01-24-2018, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,003
Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8051 Post(s)
Liked: 10625
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminate View Post
Looking at getting the 7900, but since this thread was started in April 2017, are we getting very close to the release of the new version. Debating whether to buy now or wait if its only a few months away to see what the next model offers?
It's going to be an 8 month wait until after Cedia 2018 in September. And then the new models don't ship until Novemebr or December, so make that 10 months.
Craig Peer is offline  
post #4358 of 13987 Old 01-24-2018, 09:12 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,003
Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8051 Post(s)
Liked: 10625
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlarsen462 View Post
However I am assuming you have tools/software to do so (I don't unfortunately)? What is the downside supposedly to using the screen adjustment setting?
Probably no big deal either way. I couldn't really see any difference when I used it. Flip it on and off and see for yourself !
Craig Peer is offline  
post #4359 of 13987 Old 01-24-2018, 10:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 28,561
Mentioned: 289 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14015 Post(s)
Liked: 11685
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminate View Post
Looking at getting the 7900, but since this thread was started in April 2017, are we getting very close to the release of the new version. Debating whether to buy now or wait if its only a few months away to see what the next model offers?
If a new model (I would expect one) is coming, it will be announced in the fall and most likely ship in December.
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #4360 of 13987 Old 01-24-2018, 11:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,391
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7622 Post(s)
Liked: 7694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carbo View Post
With me I got two goods ones in a row. It's just that they packed it with broken styrofoam the first time and the case was cracked, otherwise it worked perfect(barring any unseen damage on the inside).

And that was JVC that did it that way. The seller sent it to me double boxed and in perfect condition, there was no damage on the outside boxes.
Well I like to say you could in case an item in 1/4" plate steel, the item suspended in mid air and a shipper would still find a way to damage it, with the box being perfect sounds like someone dropped it from a high distance to cause that type of damage......Happens to the best of us.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #4361 of 13987 Old 01-24-2018, 12:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
If a new model (I would expect one) is coming, it will be announced in the fall and most likely ship in December.
Probably can't say -- but will we see sub-$10K native 4K projectors in the next gen from JVC?
Skrill is offline  
post #4362 of 13987 Old 01-24-2018, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4,226
Mentioned: 89 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2526 Post(s)
Liked: 1630
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlarsen462 View Post
However I am assuming you have tools/software to do so (I don't unfortunately)? What is the downside supposedly to using the screen adjustment setting?
There should be no downside, the intent of the feature is to get as close to baseline as possible without "touch ups".

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skrill View Post
Probably can't say -- but will we see sub-$10K native 4K projectors in the next gen from JVC?
That is what I am really hoping for and praying they will have similar native contrast figures as current D-ILA models. I am hanging onto my 9500 with it's perfect lens until.

EPSON TW-9300 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, DIY Subs 18" 24hz tune and 12" 17hz tune Panasonic UB900, HTPC, etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post50298297
Bandyka is online now  
post #4363 of 13987 Old 01-24-2018, 03:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knightdriver View Post
Just opened a brand new x790. Worked fine for 2 hours then got this sweet line down the left side. (see attached images) Shows as red, green or blue depending on the background. Have any of you guys seen this before? I would assume this is considered a DOA unit?

I will also say that the lens was not as sharp as the x770 it replaced.

What a pain in the ass, waited for weeks and now this.

Update: Confirmed DOA by JVC support.

Knight.
Just received my replacement x790. I assume it is not normal for the focus grid to shift left or right while adjusting focus?

I have not noticed it on the x770 or the x790 that this unit is replacing. It's as if something is loose. Adjust focus in one direction and the focus grid moves to the right by maybe a couple pixels. Adjust the focus in the other direction and the focus grid moves a couple pixels to the left. Even more noticeable when zooming. I will spend a little more time with it tonight (after it's ceiling mounted) and maybe post a video of the issue. There also looks to be a lot of chromatic aberration on the sides. The vertical bars do not show separate pixels when focused to be narrow. If you focus to show pixels the bars are really wide and ghostly looking. It does not seem to be able to focus tack sharp anywhere. This replacement unit it the next serial number in line after the one it replaced.

Knight.
Knightdriver is offline  
post #4364 of 13987 Old 01-24-2018, 03:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,443
Mentioned: 532 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7222 Post(s)
Liked: 6908
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knightdriver View Post
Just received my replacement x790. I assume it is not normal for the focus grid to shift left or right while adjusting focus?

I have not noticed it on the x770 or the x790 that this unit is replacing. It's as if something is loose. Adjust focus in one direction and the focus grid moves to the right by maybe a couple pixels. Adjust the focus in the other direction and the focus grid moves a couple pixels to the left. Even more noticeable when zooming. I will spend a little more time with it tonight (after it's ceiling mounted) and maybe post a video of the issue. There also looks to be a lot of chromatic aberration on the sides. The vertical bars do not show separate pixels when focused to be narrow. If you focus to show pixels the bars are really wide and ghostly looking. It does not seem to be able to focus tack sharp anywhere. This replacement unit it the next serial number in line after the one it replaced.

Knight.
That is normal.

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is online now  
post #4365 of 13987 Old 01-24-2018, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
rlarsen462's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javs View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knightdriver View Post
Just received my replacement x790. I assume it is not normal for the focus grid to shift left or right while adjusting focus?

I have not noticed it on the x770 or the x790 that this unit is replacing. It's as if something is loose. Adjust focus in one direction and the focus grid moves to the right by maybe a couple pixels. Adjust the focus in the other direction and the focus grid moves a couple pixels to the left. Even more noticeable when zooming. I will spend a little more time with it tonight (after it's ceiling mounted) and maybe post a video of the issue. There also looks to be a lot of chromatic aberration on the sides. The vertical bars do not show separate pixels when focused to be narrow. If you focus to show pixels the bars are really wide and ghostly looking. It does not seem to be able to focus tack sharp anywhere. This replacement unit it the next serial number in line after the one it replaced.

Knight.
That is normal.
Yep mine occasionally jumps a bit when focusing too.
rlarsen462 is offline  
post #4366 of 13987 Old 01-24-2018, 08:30 PM
amt
Advanced Member
 
amt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Got my X790 today. I took down the RS2 and installed the 790. I used a new hdmi fiber cable from monoprice and no issues. After a quick zoom/shift/focus I played some content. First was Fifth Element on UHD BR (on Panny ub200). Wow, that is a more grainy than I remember. Then I tried Stranger Things on Netflix. This is when I realized I was not using HDR picture mode. I switched that on, and it was simply unwatchable. Way WAY to dark. So I guess I need to learn more about the gamma options for HDR. I honestly don’t care much for “speculator highlights”. I just want a contrast-y image with the full P3 color gamut.
SimpleTheater likes this.
amt is offline  
post #4367 of 13987 Old 01-24-2018, 08:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15,068
Mentioned: 90 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3019 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlarsen462 View Post
Yep mine occasionally jumps a bit when focusing too.
Yup, JVC's have been doing that since the beginning, it's always been that way.

**Updated Projector Calculator Released NOV 2017**
-- www.webprojectorcalculator.com --
coderguy is offline  
post #4368 of 13987 Old 01-24-2018, 09:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bytehoven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6,862
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1612 Post(s)
Liked: 1277
Quote:
Originally Posted by amt View Post
Got my X790 today. I took down the RS2 and installed the 790. I used a new hdmi fiber cable from monoprice and no issues. After a quick zoom/shift/focus I played some content. First was Fifth Element on UHD BR (on Panny ub200). Wow, that is a more grainy than I remember. Then I tried Stranger Things on Netflix. This is when I realized I was not using HDR picture mode. I switched that on, and it was simply unwatchable. Way WAY to dark. So I guess I need to learn more about the gamma options for HDR. I honestly don?t care much for ?speculator highlights?. I just want a contrast-y image with the full P3 color gamut.
Try the HDR settings in the first post of this thread. Ideally you will want to do a proper calibration, but they can get you started.

JVC DLA-X990 - 128" 2.35 1.3 Gain Screen - Vertex2 - X800M2 - UB820 - ATV4K64 - ROKU Ultra - PS4 - XBone
7.1.4 Atmos - Denon X4300H + Denon 3806(LCR) - JBL Control 5 - BIC Sub - Dayton
Bytehoven is offline  
post #4369 of 13987 Old 01-24-2018, 10:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 11,229
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4403 Post(s)
Liked: 8048
Quote:
Originally Posted by amt View Post
Got my X790 today. I took down the RS2 and installed the 790. I used a new hdmi fiber cable from monoprice and no issues. After a quick zoom/shift/focus I played some content. First was Fifth Element on UHD BR (on Panny ub200). Wow, that is a more grainy than I remember. Then I tried Stranger Things on Netflix. This is when I realized I was not using HDR picture mode. I switched that on, and it was simply unwatchable. Way WAY to dark. So I guess I need to learn more about the gamma options for HDR. I honestly don’t care much for “speculator highlights”. I just want a contrast-y image with the full P3 color gamut.
Stranger Things isn’t in HDR, only season 2. And if the JVC didn’t automatically go to the HDR mode than it wasn’t getting an HDR signal, so it would look really off using the HDR mode with non HDR content. The default curves on the new line aren’t the best but they aren’t that far off from even the custom curves.
Spizz, SimpleTheater and JJ7 like this.

My Home Theater UPDATED JUNE 2020
Technical Editor/Writer Sound and Vision Magazine
Deep Dive AV - Calibration, Consulting and Education
Kris Deering is offline  
post #4370 of 13987 Old 01-24-2018, 11:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Looking for some help on ideal mounting distance for my new 790. I?m using a Screen Innovations Slate .8 120 diagonal 16x9 inch screen with Chief ceiling mount. The screen calculator I tried says ideal distance is about 16ft which is about mid throw. Am I better off closer than mid throw to maximize brightnes? I did read not to mount to close with ALR screens though to avoid sparkles. Thank is advance for help this is my first projector!
cliffjrm is offline  
post #4371 of 13987 Old 01-25-2018, 09:00 AM
Member
 
XYVYX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by amt View Post
Got my X790 today. I took down the RS2 and installed the 790. I used a new hdmi fiber cable from monoprice and no issues. After a quick zoom/shift/focus I played some content. First was Fifth Element on UHD BR (on Panny ub200). Wow, that is a more grainy than I remember. Then I tried Stranger Things on Netflix. This is when I realized I was not using HDR picture mode. I switched that on, and it was simply unwatchable. Way WAY to dark. So I guess I need to learn more about the gamma options for HDR. I honestly don’t care much for “speculator highlights”. I just want a contrast-y image with the full P3 color gamut.
Funny.. that's the exact same thing I watched first when I got mine hooked up... and I thought the same thing too! "What a crappy, grainy transfer... looks as bad as Ghostbusters!". I tweaked the settings like what's on the 1st post and am pretty happy w/ the results so far. The Terminator 2 UHD looks amazing IMO, and I think I have every flavor of T2 that's been released.

I've got a vertex, but I haven't tried configuring it to strip the HDR metadata yet... I think it looks pretty darn good as-is. I haven't yet tried anything more advanced w/ gamma curves and whatnot either. I'll tweak it more once I get my new Stewart screen...

Magnepan 1.7s, Magnepan CC5, 2x JL F113 subs
2x Emotiva XPA-1 (L/R), XPA-5 (center, surrounds)
Emotiva XMC-1, Oppo UDP-205 & JVC RS540U + Stewart Cima 2.35:1 133"
XYVYX is offline  
post #4372 of 13987 Old 01-25-2018, 09:52 AM
amt
Advanced Member
 
amt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Deering View Post
Stranger Things isn’t in HDR, only season 2. And if the JVC didn’t automatically go to the HDR mode than it wasn’t getting an HDR signal, so it would look really off using the HDR mode with non HDR content. The default curves on the new line aren’t the best but they aren’t that far off from even the custom curves.
To clarify, I was watching season 2, through a Roku Ultra-something. I'll have to check if HDR was detected by the projector and if it automatically switched to HDR. When I did manually switch it to HDR, it did seem like it was HDR, since it had the characteristic super-bright highlights from things like lamps or lights in the scene. The problem was that the most interesting content on the screen was compressed (contrast-wise) so much that it made it too dark, almost no depth, and unwatchable. I did try the gamma presets with HDR mode, and some of those did help (number 2 I think), but I will go back and try the first-post settings, which I hope will make it much better.

Forgot to mention that I also tried planet earth 2 via panasonic ub200, and it was not on HDR picture mode automatically, and once I switched it, it also looked pretty terrible. Anyway, no point in worrying about that until I set up the new gamma presets.

What do most people here use for calibration? Chromapure + EyeOne Display 3 PRO?
amt is offline  
post #4373 of 13987 Old 01-25-2018, 10:23 AM
amt
Advanced Member
 
amt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by amt View Post

Forgot to mention that I also tried planet earth 2 via panasonic ub200, and it was not on HDR picture mode automatically, and once I switched it, it also looked pretty terrible. Anyway, no point in worrying about that until I set up the new gamma presets.
Oops, I meant watching this from Roku/Netflix, not the blu-ray player. I just tried planet earth 2 from the panny blu-ray player, and it is far, far better with ST.2084. It's slightly darker than I would prefer, so I will probably still use a custom gamma setting, but it's quite watchable now. I suspect Kris is right, and the Roku/Netflix was not sending HDR, and SDR input with HDR picture mode was far from optimal.
amt is offline  
post #4374 of 13987 Old 01-25-2018, 10:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
rprice54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by amt View Post
To clarify, I was watching season 2, through a Roku Ultra-something. I'll have to check if HDR was detected by the projector and if it automatically switched to HDR. When I did manually switch it to HDR, it did seem like it was HDR, since it had the characteristic super-bright highlights from things like lamps or lights in the scene. The problem was that the most interesting content on the screen was compressed (contrast-wise) so much that it made it too dark, almost no depth, and unwatchable. I did try the gamma presets with HDR mode, and some of those did help (number 2 I think), but I will go back and try the first-post settings, which I hope will make it much better.



Forgot to mention that I also tried planet earth 2 via panasonic ub200, and it was not on HDR picture mode automatically, and once I switched it, it also looked pretty terrible. Anyway, no point in worrying about that until I set up the new gamma presets.



What do most people here use for calibration? Chromapure + EyeOne Display 3 PRO?
It’s worth the 30 minutes (or less) to install one of the custom curves available on these forums. The vast majority of us are using some version of JAVS curves and are happy.

After an autocal with my Spyder5 the default HDR modes are watchable. They were way too dark OTB.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JJ7 and ddigler like this.
rprice54 is offline  
post #4375 of 13987 Old 01-25-2018, 12:52 PM
amt
Advanced Member
 
amt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Newbie question: can these projectors automatically switch gamma mode based on the input signal? For example, I have source devices sending 4k bt2020, but some programs are sdr and some programs are hdr. When the switch happens between sdr and hdr, can the projector automatically choose a specific gamma mode? My concern is that when a source switches from hdr to sdr, the projector is still using a gamma mode suited for hdr, and the sdr material is not displayed properly. Personally, I can check and set the mode each time I watch something new, but the rest of my family is never going to do that.

BTW, I did re-check StrangerThings season2 via Netflix/Roku, and it did have hdr enabled, but the st2084 was just too dark, so I will be loading one of the custom gamma curves provided here (thanks for those!)
amt is offline  
post #4376 of 13987 Old 01-25-2018, 01:05 PM
amt
Advanced Member
 
amt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by amt View Post
Newbie question: can these projectors automatically switch gamma mode based on the input signal?
OK, RTFM, saw that it should always switch in to HDR picture mode if HDR is sent to the projector. I need to confirm it switches back to something else if the signal changes back to SDR.
amt is offline  
post #4377 of 13987 Old 01-25-2018, 01:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 11,229
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4403 Post(s)
Liked: 8048
Quote:
Originally Posted by amt View Post
OK, RTFM, saw that it should always switch in to HDR picture mode if HDR is sent to the projector. I need to confirm it switches back to something else if the signal changes back to SDR.
It does exactly that. So if you have a mode that is calibrated for SDR, it will use that mode (which is whatever picture mode you had selected BEFORE it went to the HDR picture mode when it got an HDR signal). So once this is set, you never have to select a picture mode again, it will do it automatically.

My Home Theater UPDATED JUNE 2020
Technical Editor/Writer Sound and Vision Magazine
Deep Dive AV - Calibration, Consulting and Education
Kris Deering is offline  
post #4378 of 13987 Old 01-25-2018, 02:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 28,561
Mentioned: 289 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14015 Post(s)
Liked: 11685
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skrill View Post
Probably can't say -- but will we see sub-$10K native 4K projectors in the next gen from JVC?
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #4379 of 13987 Old 01-25-2018, 04:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 28,561
Mentioned: 289 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14015 Post(s)
Liked: 11685
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffjrm View Post
Looking for some help on ideal mounting distance for my new 790. I?m using a Screen Innovations Slate .8 120 diagonal 16x9 inch screen with Chief ceiling mount. The screen calculator I tried says ideal distance is about 16ft which is about mid throw. Am I better off closer than mid throw to maximize brightnes? I did read not to mount to close with ALR screens though to avoid sparkles. Thank is advance for help this is my first projector!
Mount as close as you can, based on your screen, if you want HDR. That would be around 14' for your screen, due to throw restrictions for your screen.
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #4380 of 13987 Old 01-26-2018, 02:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
talon95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by amt View Post
OK, RTFM, saw that it should always switch in to HDR picture mode if HDR is sent to the projector. I need to confirm it switches back to something else if the signal changes back to SDR.
Although if you change the mode after it has switched to HDR, I've had mine not auto switch back. So sometimes you can break the auto switch.
talon95 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off