Official JVC - 20LTD - RS640 (x990/x9900) - RS540 (X790/x7900) - Owners Thread - Page 395 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 31678Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11821 of 12760 Old 06-15-2019, 06:04 AM
DIY Granddad (w/help)
 
MississippiMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Byhalia, Mississippi. Waaaay down in the Bottoms
Posts: 22,279
Mentioned: 285 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3815 Post(s)
Liked: 1773
Send a message via Skype™ to MississippiMan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solarium View Post
Gotcha. Btw, are you recommending:

1. High Contrast Material (0.95 gain)
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...BNPFIPBVL&th=1

or

2. Grey Material (1.0 gain)
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...BNPFIPBVL&th=1

Surprisingly, the High Contrast looks a bit better despite being a tiny bit lower in gain because it's surface is just a wee bit smoother, and it's focus is on enhancing Contrast.


Too bad that type doesn't come in the Thin Bezel design.

"They said it couldn't be done. Well, we sure showed 'em otherwise!"
HAS Advanced Audio and Imaging Solutions...Audio Transducers & Projection Screen Coatings
MississippiMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11822 of 12760 Old 06-15-2019, 07:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,698
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1357 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by BdoUK View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
I own an X970R (sorry couldn't find that thread) that I use a few times a week. Recently had a period of no use lasting 2 weeks.

Now I can hear the iris clicking as it adjusts automatically.

Is there something I need to do to fix it or does it need repair?

It is obviously out of warranty period now.
I know you posted this a number of months ago but did you find a resolution to your issue? My DI has had a few instances where it starts to "click" as it attempts to adjust. Typically it works itself out but it is worrisome especially since I've already had my RS540 replaced once.

Curious if anyone else has noticed this behavior on the DI.
It will be a warranty repair. I just haven’t taken it in yet.

Mine started that way and now clicks all the time. I can also visibly see the iris changing on most scenes.
Sittler27 is offline  
post #11823 of 12760 Old 06-15-2019, 08:08 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,783
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6788 Post(s)
Liked: 6791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kranthi Vatti View Post
I think that would be a fair assessment. I only bought the screen a month ago and maybe in a year or so I might change that and go small. My concern is more with is it okay to buy from a seller on eBay and will JVC honor warranty. Seller mentioned that I need to ship item to them and they will get serviced.
The number one No/No is selling these units online. If the dealer has a checkout system online you know they are NOT authorized. That right there is a red flag, you buy a new unit from an authorized dealer they are not going to be handling it that way. A batch of 540U are coming thru to authorized dealers next month rumor has it, the 540U is just about the same as the 640U /990R as those units just have hand selected parts.

Last edited by Cleveland Plasma; 07-07-2019 at 10:16 AM.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11824 of 12760 Old 06-15-2019, 08:20 AM
Senior Member
 
BdoUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
It will be a warranty repair. I just haven’t taken it in yet.

Mine started that way and now clicks all the time. I can also visibly see the iris changing on most scenes.
I guess I have that to look forward to

Last year I had to have my original RS540 replaced due to failure of the lamp iris. I've been very happy with the replacement unit but also just had it calibrated by ChadB a month ago (lost my original ChadB calibration on the first unit when the lamp iris failed). I certainly hope that a repair of the DI would not impact my calibration.
BdoUK is offline  
post #11825 of 12760 Old 06-15-2019, 08:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 7,142
Mentioned: 133 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5022 Post(s)
Liked: 1934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solarium View Post
Gotcha. Btw, are you recommending:

1. High Contrast Material (0.95 gain)
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...BNPFIPBVL&th=1

or

2. Grey Material (1.0 gain)
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...BNPFIPBVL&th=1
The HC Grey material looks much darker than the matte grey, even though the rated gains are within 5% of each other. I suggest you order a sample kit prior to finalizing your decision.

BTW, there’s a dedicated thread on Silver Ticket Screens:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/23-sc...et-screen.html

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 06-15-2019 at 08:26 AM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #11826 of 12760 Old 06-16-2019, 04:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Solarium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What’s the best way to clean the lens? It doesn’t have any smear on it but just some dust, do we use condensed air?

HT: LG OLED65B7A, Denon AVR-X7200WA, B&W CM10 S2, CMC2 S2, CM5 S2, HTR-7000 x4 (atmos), SVS SB13 Ultra x2
Desktop: KEF LS50 Wireless, KEF PSW4000 (https://pcpartpicker.com/user/Fridge...s/#view=r2V6Mp)
Portable: Chord Mojo, Shure KSE-1500
Solarium is offline  
post #11827 of 12760 Old 06-16-2019, 06:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 7,142
Mentioned: 133 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5022 Post(s)
Liked: 1934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solarium View Post
What’s the best way to clean the lens? It doesn’t have any smear on it but just some dust, do we use condensed air?
Never use compressed air to clean a lens. Just use a manual bulb blower.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #11828 of 12760 Old 06-17-2019, 08:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Krbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Finger Lakes
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Just ordered the x790. Was super torn between this and the Epson 5050ub. Very happy I went JVC, I'm finally part of the club!

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
Krbass is offline  
post #11829 of 12760 Old 06-17-2019, 09:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
neo_2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Same here, ordered a new JVC X7900, got a fantastic offer from the oficial Portuguese dealer (Delaudio), it was too good to pass.
The X7900 will replace an excellent Optoma HD87, and i'm hopping that the JVC will last me at least 5 years, as even with the new price, it was a step investment.

My environment was inspired by Soulnight's excellent tutorial on how to build a Velvet tent: Transformer son salon en salle semi-dédié: mode d'emploi!
Tom Riddle and Mike Johnson 3 like this.
neo_2009 is online now  
post #11830 of 12760 Old 06-17-2019, 11:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
790 Setup

My 790 showed up after 1.5 months of waiting! A few things:

1. What a beast! This thing is HUGE compared to my Epson 5030
2. HDMI handshake times, based on what I was reading would be annoying to me, are not an issue! Longer than my Epson 5030? Yeah, but not by much.
3. Got Dominic’s and Jav’s curves installed via JVC software. Easy (other than spending way too much time looking around before realizing you have to “double click” the custom gamma drop down).
4. On my 92” 1.0 gain, light controlled room, the out of box HDR was very good. The new curves certainly improve it, but I was pretty happy to begin with.
5. It’s not loud (on low), but I can hear it (I could also hear my 5030 on low too).
6. I’m starting to learn my way around the machine (so many more options), but boy would it be super helpful if there was a simple “starter” guide that explained/laid out the hierarchy of settings. Eg. User profiles vs. Colour profiles, vs. Gamma profiles (that are under colour profiles), etc. As a I said, I am starting to get it sorted, but found this the most confusing from an end user standpoint. I mostly have “Natural” and “HDR” set how I want for non-HDR and HDR content so I don’t imagine I will have to continue to play around with the plethora of settings. I’ve read hundreds of pages (and lots of good detailed instructions) but don’t think I ever saw a beginner’s guide..? Anyone point me at one?
7. Until I got my ATV4K all set in sync with my 790, it was a real bugger/mess of sorting through what things should be set to to always look right (and not washed out). Got it, but boy does this all seem more complicated than it needs to be (thanks HDR!).

Thanks for those that pushed me to the JVC vs. The 5050 I was looking at. I’m a happy camper.
Haiej likes this.
DrJykill is offline  
post #11831 of 12760 Old 06-17-2019, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Solarium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I can't get my xbox to recognize the JVC as a HDR capable output device, I'm using the same HDMI cables as I did as my previous HT3550 setup (which my xbox did recognize). Is there additional settings on the JVC I need to enable to support HDR?

HT: LG OLED65B7A, Denon AVR-X7200WA, B&W CM10 S2, CMC2 S2, CM5 S2, HTR-7000 x4 (atmos), SVS SB13 Ultra x2
Desktop: KEF LS50 Wireless, KEF PSW4000 (https://pcpartpicker.com/user/Fridge...s/#view=r2V6Mp)
Portable: Chord Mojo, Shure KSE-1500
Solarium is offline  
post #11832 of 12760 Old 06-17-2019, 07:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Solarium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solarium View Post
I can't get my xbox to recognize the JVC as a HDR capable output device, I'm using the same HDMI cables as I did as my previous HT3550 setup (which my xbox did recognize). Is there additional settings on the JVC I need to enable to support HDR?
/smacks head, I had to enable enhanced mode on my Denon receiver. Fixed now. Man... this projector is on a whole different plane than anything I’ve owned previously!

HT: LG OLED65B7A, Denon AVR-X7200WA, B&W CM10 S2, CMC2 S2, CM5 S2, HTR-7000 x4 (atmos), SVS SB13 Ultra x2
Desktop: KEF LS50 Wireless, KEF PSW4000 (https://pcpartpicker.com/user/Fridge...s/#view=r2V6Mp)
Portable: Chord Mojo, Shure KSE-1500
Solarium is offline  
post #11833 of 12760 Old 06-18-2019, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Solarium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What power supply cable do you guys use if you need something longer? I have an old one I was using that I looped through the ceiling for my BenQ 1070, will any power supply work?

Also, I'm looking for a cheaper alternative to the Chief mount.

Does anyone have experience with this mount?

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...tor_Mount.html

HT: LG OLED65B7A, Denon AVR-X7200WA, B&W CM10 S2, CMC2 S2, CM5 S2, HTR-7000 x4 (atmos), SVS SB13 Ultra x2
Desktop: KEF LS50 Wireless, KEF PSW4000 (https://pcpartpicker.com/user/Fridge...s/#view=r2V6Mp)
Portable: Chord Mojo, Shure KSE-1500
Solarium is offline  
post #11834 of 12760 Old 06-18-2019, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Solarium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What power supply cable do you guys use if you need something longer? I have an old one I was using that I looped through the ceiling for my BenQ 1070, will any power supply work?

Also, I'm looking for a cheaper alternative to the Chief mount.

Does anyone have experience with this mount?

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...tor_Mount.html

HT: LG OLED65B7A, Denon AVR-X7200WA, B&W CM10 S2, CMC2 S2, CM5 S2, HTR-7000 x4 (atmos), SVS SB13 Ultra x2
Desktop: KEF LS50 Wireless, KEF PSW4000 (https://pcpartpicker.com/user/Fridge...s/#view=r2V6Mp)
Portable: Chord Mojo, Shure KSE-1500
Solarium is offline  
post #11835 of 12760 Old 06-18-2019, 11:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrillcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,370
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 564 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solarium View Post
Also, I'm looking for a cheaper alternative to the Chief mount.

Does anyone have experience with this mount?

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...tor_Mount.html
I have that mount. It was great for my old Panasonic AE8000U, but the JVC is heavier. It holds it, but it is more susceptible to unintended movement. It just can't lock down as solidly with the JVC's weight on it. I'm not concerned with it falling, but I do have to re-aim the projector about once a month.

I have an order in on the Chief mount.

I love my iPhone, but it will never replace my turntable. I've never seen Titanic OR XXXXXXXXX. Alexa is a stripper name.

The Cinema 1858 Remodel Thread
thrillcat is online now  
post #11836 of 12760 Old 06-18-2019, 12:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Solarium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrillcat View Post
I have that mount. It was great for my old Panasonic AE8000U, but the JVC is heavier. It holds it, but it is more susceptible to unintended movement. It just can't lock down as solidly with the JVC's weight on it. I'm not concerned with it falling, but I do have to re-aim the projector about once a month.

I have an order in on the Chief mount.
You convinced me lol, figure if we spent thousands of dollars on a projector what's another few hundred for a mount right?

I think they overcharge for those extension columns, I need about 9-12" and it's $94 on the website. Is there another place I can just get the extension pipes, like home depot or somewhere? What sizes will I need?

HT: LG OLED65B7A, Denon AVR-X7200WA, B&W CM10 S2, CMC2 S2, CM5 S2, HTR-7000 x4 (atmos), SVS SB13 Ultra x2
Desktop: KEF LS50 Wireless, KEF PSW4000 (https://pcpartpicker.com/user/Fridge...s/#view=r2V6Mp)
Portable: Chord Mojo, Shure KSE-1500
Solarium is offline  
post #11837 of 12760 Old 06-18-2019, 12:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,732
Mentioned: 254 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12705 Post(s)
Liked: 10324
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kranthi Vatti View Post
I think that would be a fair assessment. I only bought the screen a month ago and maybe in a year or so I might change that and go small. My concern is more with is it okay to buy from a seller on eBay and will JVC honor warranty. Seller mentioned that I need to ship item to them and they will get serviced. They appear to be a decent seller with lots of history on eBay. What probability could it be that these models are the B grade products as I read on Internet that there may be B grade JVC’s as well. The model number they gave does not reflect that. X990RBK . And if I do blackout with some curtains on the three sides for like 8 feet and also a 8 feet black rug in the floor that can be removed and installed on demand. This might make it blackout. Will that help with the brightness scenario.
Another issue is I need the projector at 14 ft 8 inch to 14ft 10 inch because of ceiling outlets and some other arrangements. The JVC manual says that for 150 inch the throw required is about 14.83 feet but projector central lists that as 15.25 . Who do I believe and also could projector central calculator be wrong???
I would trust the owner's manual, but keep in mind I would not use the absolute minimum. I would allow two or three inches to spare.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #11838 of 12760 Old 06-18-2019, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,732
Mentioned: 254 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12705 Post(s)
Liked: 10324
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan87 View Post
I purchased my 790 from echo and optics... Good seller for sure.
Except I am pretty sure they are not an authorized JVC dealer.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #11839 of 12760 Old 06-18-2019, 12:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,732
Mentioned: 254 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12705 Post(s)
Liked: 10324
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by MississippiMan View Post
That Link is for a RS520...a model that only has 8-bit Color Processing.


The low hours are a plus....but unless it was a 2018 purchase, you might be down to less than a year left on the Warranty


Also...the seller isn't a JVC Dealer, just a Owner.whose real business is :
TecnidentUSA..... manufactures and sells high quality orthodontic supplies

....so don't mouth off. It doesn't seem to be a bad deal though, however..............



For that $2999.00 you could walk into a NEW Epson 5050ub and save over $400.00 to boot. Just sayin'.
The 520 is not limited to 8 bit color processing. The 520 can do full 12 bit end to end.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #11840 of 12760 Old 06-18-2019, 02:35 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,921
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 676 Post(s)
Liked: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solarium View Post
You convinced me lol, figure if we spent thousands of dollars on a projector what's another few hundred for a mount right?



I think they overcharge for those extension columns, I need about 9-12" and it's $94 on the website. Is there another place I can just get the extension pipes, like home depot or somewhere? What sizes will I need?


It is just regular plumbing pipe thread, so I think you just need a (2”?) pipe flange and the pipe in whatever length you need and some black paint.

Not sure about the diameter, but check the product sheet for either the Chief mount or their extensions.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is offline  
post #11841 of 12760 Old 06-18-2019, 03:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Solarium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I followed all the recommended calibration settings, and it made a HUGE benefit to the default HDR settings which were too dark.

I have trouble finding this "advanced menu" setting, and can't find it anywhere on my JVC. Is this only available for X990R/RS640 models?

Also, I bought my JVC RS540 from ebay used, they said the light bulb was replaced and has 0 hours. I later noticed that there's a "reset lamp hours" option in the menu. Could this be done without actually changing the lamp?

HT: LG OLED65B7A, Denon AVR-X7200WA, B&W CM10 S2, CMC2 S2, CM5 S2, HTR-7000 x4 (atmos), SVS SB13 Ultra x2
Desktop: KEF LS50 Wireless, KEF PSW4000 (https://pcpartpicker.com/user/Fridge...s/#view=r2V6Mp)
Portable: Chord Mojo, Shure KSE-1500
Solarium is offline  
post #11842 of 12760 Old 06-18-2019, 03:31 PM
DIY Granddad (w/help)
 
MississippiMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Byhalia, Mississippi. Waaaay down in the Bottoms
Posts: 22,279
Mentioned: 285 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3815 Post(s)
Liked: 1773
Send a message via Skype™ to MississippiMan
Someone doesn't have the right info...who? Who really knows?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
The 520 is not limited to 8 bit color processing. The 520 can do full 12 bit end to end.

The 520 is clearly and plainly listed as having 8-Bit Color Processing.








"If" you or someone else can post a screen shot of the Info Window showing that it is processing Video in 12 bit Color, or provide some magical way one can make it do so...I'll gladly retract. The fact that it will "accept 12-Bit Color doesn't mean it will provide 12-Bit Color
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	JVC520.jpg
Views:	226
Size:	45.1 KB
ID:	2581722  

"They said it couldn't be done. Well, we sure showed 'em otherwise!"
HAS Advanced Audio and Imaging Solutions...Audio Transducers & Projection Screen Coatings

Last edited by MississippiMan; 06-18-2019 at 03:37 PM.
MississippiMan is offline  
post #11843 of 12760 Old 06-18-2019, 03:45 PM
DIY Granddad (w/help)
 
MississippiMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Byhalia, Mississippi. Waaaay down in the Bottoms
Posts: 22,279
Mentioned: 285 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3815 Post(s)
Liked: 1773
Send a message via Skype™ to MississippiMan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solarium View Post
You convinced me lol, figure if we spent thousands of dollars on a projector what's another few hundred for a mount right?

I think they overcharge for those extension columns, I need about 9-12" and it's $94 on the website. Is there another place I can just get the extension pipes, like home depot or somewhere? What sizes will I need?


https://www.supplyhouse.com/Everflow...8-Brass-Nipple


Here's one a 1/2 the price above


https://www.zoro.com/beck-black-pipe...01/i/G3639176/




A few Home Depots and other Hardware Stores do sell 1-1/2" Black Steel Pipe and will cut and thread to order....but I'd call around first.

"They said it couldn't be done. Well, we sure showed 'em otherwise!"
HAS Advanced Audio and Imaging Solutions...Audio Transducers & Projection Screen Coatings
MississippiMan is offline  
post #11844 of 12760 Old 06-18-2019, 03:54 PM
DIY Granddad (w/help)
 
MississippiMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Byhalia, Mississippi. Waaaay down in the Bottoms
Posts: 22,279
Mentioned: 285 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3815 Post(s)
Liked: 1773
Send a message via Skype™ to MississippiMan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

If you buy a used projector and you do not have the original receipt from the original buyer you can not prove date of purchase and there would be zero warranty odds are.......Maybe JVC would go off the build date on the unit if you where lucky, but they could stand firm and say we need the original receipt which proves date unit was put in service.

Yes...anyone touting that he's selling a Projector and claiming it has 2 yrs valid warranty left but who cannot produce the original Receipt, your better off passing on it if such means enough to matter.



I know I seldom have issues with A/V Receivers under Warranty but with no receipt, because that is exactly what they do...go by "the Ship Date to the Distributor". But some also will not honor a 2nd Owner claim so most people who realize that just say they cannot find their receipt.



Projectors......not even.......no chance.

"They said it couldn't be done. Well, we sure showed 'em otherwise!"
HAS Advanced Audio and Imaging Solutions...Audio Transducers & Projection Screen Coatings
MississippiMan is offline  
post #11845 of 12760 Old 06-18-2019, 04:54 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12,925
Mentioned: 168 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5419 Post(s)
Liked: 5778
Quote:
Originally Posted by MississippiMan View Post
The 520 is clearly and plainly listed as having 8-Bit Color Processing.

"If" you or someone else can post a screen shot of the Info Window showing that it is processing Video in 12 bit Color, or provide some magical way one can make it do so...I'll gladly retract. The fact that it will "accept 12-Bit Color doesn't mean it will provide 12-Bit Color
if they were stuck at 8bit, there would be noticeable banding with the R. Masciola's UHD HDR color sweeps. The eshift projectors since 2015+ handle this no problem.

Also the sky scene in Billy Lynn 4K/60 HDR title is a good test as well. The sky will have obvious banding on projectors that can't handle at least 10 bit color.

Where is the evidence besides the mis-labeled projectorcentral.com info?





https://www.projectorreviews.com/jvc...al-features-2/

The D-ILA (LCoS) panels used by JVC support 12-bit color resolution and the signal processing within these projectors also support the 12-bit depth.

https://www.soundandvision.com/conte...ojector-review

The updated polarizer and other electronics also upgraded the top two projectors to full 12-bit resolution performance from input to output, a first for any projector I’m aware of on the market today.
Mike_WI and thrillcat like this.
zombie10k is online now  
post #11846 of 12760 Old 06-19-2019, 06:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I know this has propably been discussed before, but I'm having hard time finding it.


What settings would you suggest for the X7900 with panasonic ub420(820) for UHD discs with HDR->SDR conversion.


I'm currently using the settings from the first post, but they are for x9900.

I have a 120" 16:9 screen with a 1.0 ('ish) gain.

Any changes, that I should try?
My projector is unfortunately not calibrated.
ThePenaxer is offline  
post #11847 of 12760 Old 06-19-2019, 08:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 7,142
Mentioned: 133 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5022 Post(s)
Liked: 1934
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePenaxer View Post
I know this has propably been discussed before, but I'm having hard time finding it.


What settings would you suggest for the X7900 with panasonic ub420(820) for UHD discs with HDR->SDR conversion.


I'm currently using the settings from the first post, but they are for x9900.

I have a 120" 16:9 screen with a 1.0 ('ish) gain.

Any changes, that I should try?
My projector is unfortunately not calibrated.
There are no differences between the x7900 and the x9900, as far as settings are concerned. However, I would not increase the Contrast setting on the JVC projectors.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #11848 of 12760 Old 06-19-2019, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 3,879
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1500 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solarium View Post
I followed all the recommended calibration settings, and it made a HUGE benefit to the default HDR settings which were too dark.

I have trouble finding this "advanced menu" setting, and can't find it anywhere on my JVC. Is this only available for X990R/RS640 models?

Also, I bought my JVC RS540 from ebay used, they said the light bulb was replaced and has 0 hours. I later noticed that there's a "reset lamp hours" option in the menu. Could this be done without actually changing the lamp?
Which settings did you use? I am on Page 21 of this very long thread and have yet to come across any settings besides the ones on Post #1 .

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #11849 of 12760 Old 06-19-2019, 01:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 3
[QUOTE=BdoUK;58184066]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
My DI has had a few instances where it starts to "click" as it attempts to adjust. Typically it works itself out but it is worrisome especially since I've already had my RS540 replaced once.
Curious if anyone else has noticed this behavior on the DI.
Have you noticed if the iris still opens fully when you hear the click ?
Mine doesn't. It shows a diamond shape even if the scene projected is very bright. Funny thing is that both lens and lamp irises were replaced 2 months ago for the same problem....
speedo1512 is offline  
post #11850 of 12760 Old 06-19-2019, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Solarium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post
Which settings did you use? I am on Page 21 of this very long thread and have yet to come across any settings besides the ones on Post #1 .
It's on page 1, it says:

"Advanced Menu
Clear Black = LOW (try HIGH for nice RC type detail boost in darker parts of the image)
Lamp Power = LOW
Lens Aperture = Manual -5 to -9 (0 if you like max lumen output)
(for max brightness and best dynamic contrast set Lens Aperture = 0 and AUTO 2)"

I can't find these settings and the "advanced menu" tab.

HT: LG OLED65B7A, Denon AVR-X7200WA, B&W CM10 S2, CMC2 S2, CM5 S2, HTR-7000 x4 (atmos), SVS SB13 Ultra x2
Desktop: KEF LS50 Wireless, KEF PSW4000 (https://pcpartpicker.com/user/Fridge...s/#view=r2V6Mp)
Portable: Chord Mojo, Shure KSE-1500
Solarium is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off