Official JVC - 20LTD - RS640 (x990/x9900) - RS540 (X790/x7900) - Owners Thread - Page 402 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 31731Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12031 of 12895 Old 07-24-2019, 10:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ScottAvery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Great Falls, VA
Posts: 1,819
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 735 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Perhaps my issue is with the Oppo 203, but I have tried powercycling that, too, with no luck. If I can manage to blindly get the Oppo to start playing material from the disc player that is a different native format, it will cause the projector to synch to a new signal type, which wakes things back up, then I can go back to what I was doing.
ScottAvery is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12032 of 12895 Old 07-25-2019, 06:03 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,960
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 706 Post(s)
Liked: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottAvery View Post
Perhaps my issue is with the Oppo 203, but I have tried powercycling that, too, with no luck. If I can manage to blindly get the Oppo to start playing material from the disc player that is a different native format, it will cause the projector to synch to a new signal type, which wakes things back up, then I can go back to what I was doing.


Check the output signal setting on the OPPO. Also try starting up the OPPO without a disc in the player, which causes it to go to the menu screen vice the disc menu.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is online now  
post #12033 of 12895 Old 07-26-2019, 05:27 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,965
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6871 Post(s)
Liked: 6870
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solarium View Post



I'm using pretty much exactly the same setup, Xbox One X --> Denon 3400H --> RS540, and have practically the same issue. It usually happens in the dashboard screen as well, and it goes away if I change the resolution to 1080p. If you're running a 30+ inch HDMI cable, I would seriously consider "upgrading" to a better cable, as that fixed my problem (alternatively you can go for a shorter distance). We got the Audioquest Cinnamon cable from Best Buy, which absurdly expensive at $350, but nontheless fixed an issue even the RUIPRO optical HDMI cable didn't fix. In the end, I figured out it wasn't my projector being defective, it was a HDMI cable problem.
So you are saying it was not the cables then? Did you end up taking that expensive cable back and getting a different one?
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12034 of 12895 Old 07-26-2019, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
dengland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Rockledge, FL
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
There were no firmware updates for the X990/RS640. You will probably need to send the projector in for repair.
Exchange unit was received today and the failed unit is already in route back to them. I am not the original owner of the projector so it was a tiny hassle. JVC was able to trace that it was bought from an authorized dealer. I had to get the original sales receipt. Earlier in the thread someone mentioned, no original receipt, no sale. Pretty good advice.

Very please with JVC. They could of walked away from this as I was not the original owner.

Thanks again Mike for the responses.
Mike Garrett and woodhead2 like this.
dengland is offline  
post #12035 of 12895 Old 07-27-2019, 10:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Carbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boston, MA , USA
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quick question. I seem to remember reading something about NOT shutting this projector down in HDR mode for some reason. Can someone remind me why?

I was just finishing Alita Battle Angel(at the credits) and we had a power outage for like one second. Everything rebooted fine and I don't seem to be having any problems but I remember reading something and can't remember what was said.

1) JVC RS540, Yamaha CX-A5100, Outlaw Audio 7700 & 7140, Wharfedale Jade 7's series speakers, RSL C34e(Atmos)
2) LG OLED65B6, Integra DRC-R1, Emotiva XPA9, Klipsch RP8000F, Klipsch RP404C, Klipsch RP500SA, Klipsch RP140D
Carbo is online now  
post #12036 of 12895 Old 07-28-2019, 04:32 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,516
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2830 Post(s)
Liked: 1961
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carbo View Post
Quick question. I seem to remember reading something about NOT shutting this projector down in HDR mode for some reason. Can someone remind me why?

I was just finishing Alita Battle Angel(at the credits) and we had a power outage for like one second. Everything rebooted fine and I don't seem to be having any problems but I remember reading something and can't remember what was said.
That would probably be me.

At least on my unit, if you have very different settings for HDR and SDR iris (aperture) - ie iris more open for HDR - when you boot up having shut down previously in HDR, with an SDR source playing, it won't reset the lamp iris back to the proper SDR position. So when you next go into HDR mode it tries to drive the iris back to more open than the mechanism allows, and grinds. It appears to me to be a bug in the way auto HDR mode is implemented.

I've not have much luck getting anyone else to try it out as it makes a horrid gear grinding noise when you do it, and there were a spate of iris mech failures on these units, so I don't think folk are keen to torture their units...!

If you have to be safe next time you power it on you'd want to ensure an HDR source is playing before you power on. That way all the states should be aligned and when you stop playback and drop back to SDR mode everything should be back to normal.
bobof is online now  
post #12037 of 12895 Old 07-28-2019, 12:41 PM
Senior Member
 
rman222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question direct mask command?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BdoUK View Post
Have any Harmony Hub users found a way to map a custom mask selection to a device or activity command? I see there are shortcut commands for various lens shift settings but don't see one for custom mask selection.
Hi all,
I have not found any responses to this question and I have the exact question. Would like to be able to send a "custom mask" command directly to the projector.... Has anyone found a way to do that?
Thanks in advance,
Joe H
rman222 is offline  
post #12038 of 12895 Old 07-28-2019, 02:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Carbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boston, MA , USA
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
That would probably be me.

At least on my unit, if you have very different settings for HDR and SDR iris (aperture) - ie iris more open for HDR - when you boot up having shut down previously in HDR, with an SDR source playing, it won't reset the lamp iris back to the proper SDR position. So when you next go into HDR mode it tries to drive the iris back to more open than the mechanism allows, and grinds. It appears to me to be a bug in the way auto HDR mode is implemented.

I've not have much luck getting anyone else to try it out as it makes a horrid gear grinding noise when you do it, and there were a spate of iris mech failures on these units, so I don't think folk are keen to torture their units...!

If you have to be safe next time you power it on you'd want to ensure an HDR source is playing before you power on. That way all the states should be aligned and when you stop playback and drop back to SDR mode everything should be back to normal.
Thanks, Yup that was what I remember reading. It didn't effect me, that I can tell. I had my projector calibrated by Chadb and it powered back on to a SDR signal from the AppleTV home screen when it came back on. It seems to be working just the way it was before.

1) JVC RS540, Yamaha CX-A5100, Outlaw Audio 7700 & 7140, Wharfedale Jade 7's series speakers, RSL C34e(Atmos)
2) LG OLED65B6, Integra DRC-R1, Emotiva XPA9, Klipsch RP8000F, Klipsch RP404C, Klipsch RP500SA, Klipsch RP140D
Carbo is online now  
post #12039 of 12895 Old 07-28-2019, 02:49 PM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,516
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2830 Post(s)
Liked: 1961
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carbo View Post
Thanks, Yup that was what I remember reading. It didn't effect me, that I can tell. I had my projector calibrated by Chadb and it powered back on to a SDR signal from the AppleTV home screen when it came back on. It seems to be working just the way it was before.
If you didn't hear the lamp iris move back to home position when you powered up your lamp iris may well be in the "wrong" position now (think about it, if you didn't hear it - it didn't teleport home!). The lamp iris doesn't actually have a huge impact on light output across its range of travel (by deliberately putting it in the wrong place using this method you can measure the lamp iris's effect, which is usually impossible), but if you have a colorimeter / light meter it is measureable.

The time you'd be most likely to notice would be when you next play HDR. And then you'd only likely see anything problematic if your HDR and SDR modes have very different iris settings. Mine were at -11 and -5 I recall at the time I noticed it. What are your iris settings for each?
bobof is online now  
post #12040 of 12895 Old 07-28-2019, 02:55 PM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,516
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2830 Post(s)
Liked: 1961
Quote:
Originally Posted by rman222 View Post
Hi all,
I have not found any responses to this question and I have the exact question. Would like to be able to send a "custom mask" command directly to the projector.... Has anyone found a way to do that?
Thanks in advance,
Joe H
Page 26 has the commands you need, though you need to understand how to send them:
http://pro.jvc.com/pro/attributes/PR...lish_Final.pdf

There is an implementation of the bulk of the JVC protocol in ARVE's util in python:
https://github.com/arvehj/jvcprojectortools

Someone just worked on this and made a REST API, don't know if it has enough of the API implemented to do what you want - EDIT: looks like mask is implemented:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post58349892
ScottAvery likes this.
bobof is online now  
post #12041 of 12895 Old 07-28-2019, 03:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Carbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boston, MA , USA
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 197
I will have to check and see.

1) JVC RS540, Yamaha CX-A5100, Outlaw Audio 7700 & 7140, Wharfedale Jade 7's series speakers, RSL C34e(Atmos)
2) LG OLED65B6, Integra DRC-R1, Emotiva XPA9, Klipsch RP8000F, Klipsch RP404C, Klipsch RP500SA, Klipsch RP140D
Carbo is online now  
post #12042 of 12895 Old 07-28-2019, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
rman222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
Page 26 has the commands you need, though you need to understand how to send them:
http://pro.jvc.com/pro/attributes/PR...lish_Final.pdf

There is an implementation of the bulk of the JVC protocol in ARVE's util in python:
https://github.com/arvehj/jvcprojectortools

Someone just worked on this and made a REST API, don't know if it has enough of the API implemented to do what you want - EDIT: looks like mask is implemented:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post58349892
Bobof
Thank you very much,
Joe H
bobof likes this.
rman222 is offline  
post #12043 of 12895 Old 07-28-2019, 09:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Carbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boston, MA , USA
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
If you didn't hear the lamp iris move back to home position when you powered up your lamp iris may well be in the "wrong" position now (think about it, if you didn't hear it - it didn't teleport home!). The lamp iris doesn't actually have a huge impact on light output across its range of travel (by deliberately putting it in the wrong place using this method you can measure the lamp iris's effect, which is usually impossible), but if you have a colorimeter / light meter it is measureable.

The time you'd be most likely to notice would be when you next play HDR. And then you'd only likely see anything problematic if your HDR and SDR modes have very different iris settings. Mine were at -11 and -5 I recall at the time I noticed it. What are your iris settings for each?
ChadB had it set up with either Auto 2 for both or Manual 0 for HDR and -10 for SDR. I have been leaving it at Auto 2. So I am guessing it is alright. Nothing funny happens when it activates.
bobof likes this.

1) JVC RS540, Yamaha CX-A5100, Outlaw Audio 7700 & 7140, Wharfedale Jade 7's series speakers, RSL C34e(Atmos)
2) LG OLED65B6, Integra DRC-R1, Emotiva XPA9, Klipsch RP8000F, Klipsch RP404C, Klipsch RP500SA, Klipsch RP140D
Carbo is online now  
post #12044 of 12895 Old 07-30-2019, 12:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone know if the RS540 is fussy with the order in which devices are switched when changing sources?

I use a harmony remote in my setup and for some of my sources, I'll just get a black screen or no signal so wondering if that might be a cause for issues. If I mess around and unplug/plug the device it'll work. Case in point is with my Xfinity box - I'll hear audio but no picture. If I power cycle the box sometimes the video will appear.
rinse82 is offline  
post #12045 of 12895 Old 07-30-2019, 02:26 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Dennis.Mitchell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: N Massapequa, NY USA
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by rinse82 View Post
Anyone know if the RS540 is fussy with the order in which devices are switched when changing sources?

I use a harmony remote in my setup and for some of my sources, I'll just get a black screen or no signal so wondering if that might be a cause for issues. If I mess around and unplug/plug the device it'll work. Case in point is with my Xfinity box - I'll hear audio but no picture. If I power cycle the box sometimes the video will appear.
If the different source devices are sending different resolutions or refresh rates, there is a long pause when switching. Try to standard the startup resolution of the different devices. For example, set all of them to 1080p 24fps.

Dennis
Dennis.Mitchell is offline  
post #12046 of 12895 Old 08-01-2019, 06:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Madaeel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Just wanted to report back that I played at least 8hrs this past weekend in 4K/60 and had no issues whatsoever with my picture dropping out so I'm 100% convinced now that the cable solved my issue. Now I just gotta run it through the wall.
coxy2416, Tom Riddle and catav like this.
Madaeel is offline  
post #12047 of 12895 Old 08-03-2019, 01:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ddigler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,007
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1113 Post(s)
Liked: 494
Official JVC - 20LTD - RS640 (x990/x9900) - RS540 (X790/x7900) - Owners Thread

What is the consensus regarding whether or not Dolby Vision and HDR10+ will be added via firmware update to rs640 in future?

Is it even possible?

Thanks for any insight.

Last edited by ddigler; 08-03-2019 at 01:11 PM.
ddigler is offline  
post #12048 of 12895 Old 08-03-2019, 01:16 PM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,516
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2830 Post(s)
Liked: 1961
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddigler View Post
What is the consensus regarding whether or not Dolby Vision and HDR10+ will be added via firmware update to rs640 in future?

Is it even possible?

Thanks for any insight.
No chance ever.
ddigler likes this.
bobof is online now  
post #12049 of 12895 Old 08-03-2019, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ddigler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,007
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1113 Post(s)
Liked: 494
Darn. Thought I remember hearing that.

Hardware limitation?

Are the newer model JVC PJs doing it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
ddigler is offline  
post #12050 of 12895 Old 08-03-2019, 02:28 PM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,516
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2830 Post(s)
Liked: 1961
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddigler View Post
Darn. Thought I remember hearing that.

Hardware limitation?

Are the newer model JVC PJs doing it?
a) There is no DV for home projection, Dolby have not created it as yet. No-one has done HDR10+ on projection yet from what I can see, either.
b) JVC don't do retrospective feature updates. A recent exception has been the addition of the auto tone mapping from the N series to the Z1 laser.
ddigler likes this.
bobof is online now  
post #12051 of 12895 Old 08-03-2019, 02:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ddigler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,007
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1113 Post(s)
Liked: 494
ddigler is offline  
post #12052 of 12895 Old 08-04-2019, 12:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ddigler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,007
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1113 Post(s)
Liked: 494
I am watching a UHD movie with HDR10. Under the info tab within the menu, HDR is indicating ‘ST.2084’. Can someone tell me what this means? What I’m trying to do is confirm that my player is outputting HDR10 correctly and that my x990 is receding it. Is there a better way for me to verify this?
ddigler is offline  
post #12053 of 12895 Old 08-04-2019, 12:37 PM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,516
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2830 Post(s)
Liked: 1961
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddigler View Post
I am watching a UHD movie with HDR10. Under the info tab within the menu, HDR is indicating ‘ST.2084’. Can someone tell me what this means? What I’m trying to do is confirm that my player is outputting HDR10 correctly and that my x990 is receding it. Is there a better way for me to verify this?
ST2084 is the HDR "PQ" gamma curve used for HDR10. If you see this on the info screen it means your player is correctly sending HDR10 to the projector.
ddigler likes this.
bobof is online now  
post #12054 of 12895 Old 08-04-2019, 01:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Bulb Replacement

I would like to purchase some bulb replacements for an X790. What are some of the best places to purchase just the bulb? Also, if I wanted to purchase an extra housing, is there a place to purchase used/discarded housings?
Merlin GS is offline  
post #12055 of 12895 Old 08-05-2019, 07:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,957
Mentioned: 256 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12853 Post(s)
Liked: 10490
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
a) There is no DV for home projection, Dolby have not created it as yet. No-one has done HDR10+ on projection yet from what I can see, either.
b) JVC don't do retrospective feature updates. A recent exception has been the addition of the auto tone mapping from the N series to the Z1 laser.
Yep and I would say that is a clear indicator that the RS4500/Z1 is carrying through for this fall, no replacement.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #12056 of 12895 Old 08-13-2019, 05:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Friendly Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Late to the Game

I'm late to the game, but I just ordered one of the last RS540s -- it will replace an 8 year old Sony HW30 which has been a loyal soldier but it was time to move on. I couldn't justify a native 4K with the current levels of contrast and price points. The 540 looks like a good fit.

Plus I need lens memory. Last year I mounted a 2.40 168" diagonal screen and have loved the results, but displaying 16:9 takes a minute of dinking around with the image size by hand so mostly I just don't watch 16:9 content in the theater room, which is a loss.

Looking ahead it appears that native 4K will be realized with a laser light source. Micro LED panels may eventually win the day, but the timing is uncertain and the concept may never be a real projector replacement.

And I will finally have a JVC projector. This tech moves rapidly enough that I just can justify putting big bucks into the latest and greatest only to be facing gear in a few months that is cheaper a better. The price of fleeting bragging rights is too high for a short buzz.
Friendly Fire is offline  
post #12057 of 12895 Old 08-15-2019, 06:38 AM
Member
 
Jacob22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Can anyone help me out with some measurement clarification? I just picked up a RS540U as my first ever projector so I am super stoked as well as I have Chad coming in October to calibrate it plus sound. I am trying to understand the limits of the lens shift capability. Does the lens shift zero-point assume the projector lens is at the top of the screen or the middle of the screen? Again, apologies for such a basic question but just trying to fully understand so I can get the right extension for my mount.

Example:

I have a 44.5 tall screen (2.35:1 screen), would that mean with a +/- 80% offset, I could mound the projector a maximum of 13.35" above the screen? (44.5 * 0.3 = 13.35)?

Last edited by Jacob22; 08-15-2019 at 06:48 AM.
Jacob22 is online now  
post #12058 of 12895 Old 08-15-2019, 06:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 7,385
Mentioned: 145 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5237 Post(s)
Liked: 2060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob22 View Post
Can anyone help me out with some measurement clarification? I just picked up a RS540U as my first ever projector so I am super stoked as well as I have Chad coming in October to calibrate it plus sound. I am trying to understand the limits of the lens shift capability. Does the lens shift zero-point assume the projector lens is at the top of the screen or the middle of the screen? Again, apologies for such a basic question but just trying to fully understand so I can get the right extension for my mount.
Middle. The lens shift can go up as much as it can go down.

JVC DLA-NX7; Denon AVR-X3400H; HD Fury Vertex; ATV4K; Fire TV Cube
JVC Projector Bright Curves; Optimizing HDR;
Creating a basic HDR curve using Arve’s Tool;
Replacing JVC Bare Bulbs
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #12059 of 12895 Old 08-15-2019, 05:47 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14,339
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2610 Post(s)
Liked: 1398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob22 View Post
Can anyone help me out with some measurement clarification? I just picked up a RS540U as my first ever projector so I am super stoked as well as I have Chad coming in October to calibrate it plus sound. I am trying to understand the limits of the lens shift capability. Does the lens shift zero-point assume the projector lens is at the top of the screen or the middle of the screen? Again, apologies for such a basic question but just trying to fully understand so I can get the right extension for my mount.

Example:

I have a 44.5 tall screen (2.35:1 screen), would that mean with a +/- 80% offset, I could mound the projector a maximum of 13.35" above the screen? (44.5 * 0.3 = 13.35)?
You are about correct, depending on tolerances.

www.webprojectorcalculator.com, pick your projector, select 2.35 lens memory from the Aspect Ratio drop down. Go to the details tab on the bottom left, and it will show you the exact # of inches you have in lens shift available as long as the PJ is horizontally centered.

You have to be careful with lens memory and lens shift, it's restrictive due to switching back and forth between 16:9, unless you want to always watch 2.35 only (and probably few do that unless they have multiple projectors installed).

**Updated Projector Calculator Released NOV 2017**
-- www.webprojectorcalculator.com --
coderguy is online now  
post #12060 of 12895 Old 08-16-2019, 05:09 AM
Member
 
Jacob22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderguy View Post
You are about correct, depending on tolerances.



www.webprojectorcalculator.com, pick your projector, select 2.35 lens memory from the Aspect Ratio drop down. Go to the details tab on the bottom left, and it will show you the exact # of inches you have in lens shift available as long as the PJ is horizontally centered.



You have to be careful with lens memory and lens shift, it's restrictive due to switching back and forth between 16:9, unless you want to always watch 2.35 only (and probably few do that unless they have multiple projectors installed).


Perfect! What a great website. I ended up moving my screen up a little bit since the way my room is configured it’s the only way without having the projector be below the door frame.
Jacob22 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off