Official JVC - 20LTD - RS640 (x990/x9900) - RS540 (X790/x7900) - Owners Thread - Page 403 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 31650Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12061 of 12689 Old 08-16-2019, 05:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,054
Mentioned: 497 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6932 Post(s)
Liked: 6640
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderguy View Post
You are about correct, depending on tolerances.



www.webprojectorcalculator.com, pick your projector, select 2.35 lens memory from the Aspect Ratio drop down. Go to the details tab on the bottom left, and it will show you the exact # of inches you have in lens shift available as long as the PJ is horizontally centered.



You have to be careful with lens memory and lens shift, it's restrictive due to switching back and forth between 16:9, unless you want to always watch 2.35 only (and probably few do that unless they have multiple projectors installed).
Hey side question, does your calculator assume a frame size when it lists screen size? Particularly distance from floor and ceiling?

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12062 of 12689 Old 08-16-2019, 07:16 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,692
Mentioned: 247 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12672 Post(s)
Liked: 10298
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javs View Post
Hey side question, does your calculator assume a frame size when it lists screen size? Particularly distance from floor and ceiling?
It is mislabeled. It should say top of image and bottom of image, rather than frame.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #12063 of 12689 Old 08-16-2019, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,727
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6757 Post(s)
Liked: 6761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin GS View Post
I would like to purchase some bulb replacements for an X790. What are some of the best places to purchase just the bulb? Also, if I wanted to purchase an extra housing, is there a place to purchase used/discarded housings?
<<< Click Here >>>
@Dominic Chan is selling loose bulbs that are the right bulbs and very good. They're cheap. I'd suggest one of those. There are guys just buying the bulb without the whole assembly very cheap, I do not know where that post is though

Quote:
Originally Posted by dengland View Post
Exchange unit was received today and the failed unit is already in route back to them. I am not the original owner of the projector so it was a tiny hassle. JVC was able to trace that it was bought from an authorized dealer. I had to get the original sales receipt. Earlier in the thread someone mentioned, no original receipt, no sale. Pretty good advice.

Very please with JVC. They could of walked away from this as I was not the original owner.
You have to prove when you bought it Glad you got a new one ......
giomania and Merlin GS like this.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12064 of 12689 Old 08-16-2019, 09:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14,084
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2457 Post(s)
Liked: 1325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
It is mislabeled. It should say top of image and bottom of image, rather than frame.
That's a good point, it actually says "Top of Screen", but yes, it should say "Top of Image". Not sure why I labeled it that way, must have had an autistic moment.

@Javs
A frame size is assumed at 4" thick, not sure what the average frame size really is, but 4" seemed safe as I think many are 2.5" to 3" thick, and some maybe are up to 4".
If you read the bottom of the Tips section, it tells you this in # 8...

8) The Min Req Ceiling Height is the minimum required ceiling height in your room for the given screen size. It is assumed a screen needs
at least 4 inches (10cm) of clearance for the screen frame's thickness.
Mike Garrett likes this.

**Updated Projector Calculator Released NOV 2017**
-- www.webprojectorcalculator.com --
coderguy is offline  
post #12065 of 12689 Old 08-16-2019, 03:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Do you know if the datacolor spyder X is compatible with the JVC Auto Calibration Software ?
Thank you.
Ender024 is offline  
post #12066 of 12689 Old 08-16-2019, 03:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,054
Mentioned: 497 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6932 Post(s)
Liked: 6640
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderguy View Post
That's a good point, it actually says "Top of Screen", but yes, it should say "Top of Image". Not sure why I labeled it that way, must have had an autistic moment.



@Javs

A frame size is assumed at 4" thick, not sure what the average frame size really is, but 4" seemed safe as I think many are 2.5" to 3" thick, and some maybe are up to 4".

If you read the bottom of the Tips section, it tells you this in # 8...



8) The Min Req Ceiling Height is the minimum required ceiling height in your room for the given screen size. It is assumed a screen needs

at least 4 inches (10cm) of clearance for the screen frame's thickness.
Great, so if it says I have 30cm top and bottom spare, that's including the frame?

Fantastic, because I am currently using this to help figure out the max sized screen I should be able to put in my room.

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is offline  
post #12067 of 12689 Old 08-16-2019, 03:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 7,102
Mentioned: 132 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4998 Post(s)
Liked: 1921
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ender024 View Post
Do you know if the datacolor spyder X is compatible with the JVC Auto Calibration Software ?
Thank you.
No, at least with the current versions.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #12068 of 12689 Old 08-16-2019, 04:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
No, at least with the current versions.
Thank you Dominic.
Ender024 is offline  
post #12069 of 12689 Old 08-17-2019, 06:04 AM
Senior Member
 
JonnyVee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quick question about the x790. When I first got it a few months ago the iris was silent and on the screen its operation was pretty seamless. However, in the past week, I’ve noticed pumping/flashing that is obvious and quite distracting. Then last night I noticed the iris was clicking when the pumping was occurring.

Is this a known issue with the iris?

Rec Room: JVC x790 w/120" Silver Ticket screen, Denon x4400H 5.1.4 with Kef Q100 L/R, Q200 centre, T101 surrounds, Ci160er rear atmos, Energy Rc-Mini - front atmos, SVS PC-2000. Family Room: LG 65B7P OLED, Denon x1500H 5.1 - Kef Q500, Q200c, Energy v-mini - surrounds. Extra Gear: X-Rite i1Display Pro, Calman Home Enthusiast, HDFury Vertex2, & HTPC w/2080 Ti.
JonnyVee is offline  
post #12070 of 12689 Old 08-17-2019, 06:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
neo_2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 721
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Just received a X7900, and Chief RPA281, CMS003.
The CM115 ceiling plate is already properly placed at the ceiling.

I have a quick question on mounting the CMS003 extension column to the ceiling plate.
The manual states: "Tightening with torque exceeding the above range (1.5 n/M and 2.0 n/M) may cause damage to the unit .."

The extension column is painted black, with an "metallic grey" part:


May i assume that i should only tighten until the black part is reached, and not trying to tighten as much as possible?
neo_2009 is online now  
post #12071 of 12689 Old 08-17-2019, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 7,102
Mentioned: 132 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4998 Post(s)
Liked: 1921
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyVee View Post
Quick question about the x790. When I first got it a few months ago the iris was silent and on the screen its operation was pretty seamless. However, in the past week, I’ve noticed pumping/flashing that is obvious and quite distracting. Then last night I noticed the iris was clicking when the pumping was occurring.

Is this a known issue with the iris?
Sounds like it.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #12072 of 12689 Old 08-17-2019, 08:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,692
Mentioned: 247 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12672 Post(s)
Liked: 10298
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo_2009 View Post
Just received a X7900, and Chief RPA281, CMS003.
The CM115 ceiling plate is already properly placed at the ceiling.

I have a quick question on mounting the CMS003 extension column to the ceiling plate.
The manual states: "Tightening with torque exceeding the above range (1.5 n/M and 2.0 n/M) may cause damage to the unit .."

The extension column is painted black, with an "metallic grey" part:


May i assume that i should only tighten until the black part is reached, and not trying to tighten as much as possible?
No. Only tighten finger tight. If you torque it tight, even just using your hand, you may not ever get it apart, without destroying the parts. Aluminum threads gaul easily. You are not installing gas line that needs to be airtight. You use the set screw to lock everything down.
giomania and neo_2009 like this.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #12073 of 12689 Old 08-17-2019, 09:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
neo_2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 721
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
No. Only tighten finger tight...
Thank you.
neo_2009 is online now  
post #12074 of 12689 Old 08-17-2019, 10:38 AM
Senior Member
 
JonnyVee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Sounds like it.
Thank you Dominic. I’ll reach out to JVC Canada on Monday.

Rec Room: JVC x790 w/120" Silver Ticket screen, Denon x4400H 5.1.4 with Kef Q100 L/R, Q200 centre, T101 surrounds, Ci160er rear atmos, Energy Rc-Mini - front atmos, SVS PC-2000. Family Room: LG 65B7P OLED, Denon x1500H 5.1 - Kef Q500, Q200c, Energy v-mini - surrounds. Extra Gear: X-Rite i1Display Pro, Calman Home Enthusiast, HDFury Vertex2, & HTPC w/2080 Ti.
JonnyVee is offline  
post #12075 of 12689 Old 08-17-2019, 11:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
<<< Click Here >>>
@Dominic Chan is selling loose bulbs that are the right bulbs and very good. They're cheap. I'd suggest one of those. There are guys just buying the bulb without the whole assembly very cheap, I do not know where that post is though
Thanks!
Merlin GS is offline  
post #12076 of 12689 Old 08-18-2019, 12:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Toknowshita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Friendly Fire View Post
I'm late to the game, but I just ordered one of the last RS540s -- it will replace an 8 year old Sony HW30 which has been a loyal soldier but it was time to move on. I couldn't justify a native 4K with the current levels of contrast and price points. The 540 looks like a good fit.

Plus I need lens memory. Last year I mounted a 2.40 168" diagonal screen and have loved the results, but displaying 16:9 takes a minute of dinking around with the image size by hand so mostly I just don't watch 16:9 content in the theater room, which is a loss.

Looking ahead it appears that native 4K will be realized with a laser light source. Micro LED panels may eventually win the day, but the timing is uncertain and the concept may never be a real projector replacement.

And I will finally have a JVC projector. This tech moves rapidly enough that I just can justify putting big bucks into the latest and greatest only to be facing gear in a few months that is cheaper a better. The price of fleeting bragging rights is too high for a short buzz.
I made the same jump 2 years ago when the RS540 debuted. No regrets. It was a very significant upgrade from the HW30. I highly suggest getting a Panasonic UB820 to do the HDR to SDR BT.2020. HDR is still hit and miss with projectors and I have been more satisfied since using the UB820 in the last year.
Jive Turkey likes this.

Toknowshita is offline  
post #12077 of 12689 Old 08-18-2019, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
BdoUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyVee View Post
Quick question about the x790. When I first got it a few months ago the iris was silent and on the screen its operation was pretty seamless. However, in the past week, I’ve noticed pumping/flashing that is obvious and quite distracting. Then last night I noticed the iris was clicking when the pumping was occurring.



Is this a known issue with the iris?


I’ve been noticing the clicking DI on my RS540 over the last few months. What’s odd is that it happens maybe once during a 2 hour movie and tends to work itself out after 30-90 seconds then the DI performs as expected.

Would like to hear what JVC has told others that have experienced this issue.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
BdoUK is offline  
post #12078 of 12689 Old 08-19-2019, 06:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ddigler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,002
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1107 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
a) There is no DV for home projection, Dolby have not created it as yet. No-one has done HDR10+ on projection yet from what I can see, either.
b)
Spoiler!
I recently (pre-ordered) a rental of Godzilla - King of Monsters on 4k BD. bluray.com lists the HDR type of this disc as 'Dolby Vision and HDR10+.'

Understanding that DV and HDR10+ have not been implemented into PJ technology to date, how will my RS640 handle the DV and HDR10+ signal it will be receiving when I playback this UHD BD? Any tips or tricks to playing back DV and HDR10+ on my 640?

Last edited by ddigler; 08-19-2019 at 07:03 AM.
ddigler is online now  
post #12079 of 12689 Old 08-19-2019, 07:28 AM
Senior Member
 
BdoUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddigler View Post
I recently (pre-ordered) a rental of Godzilla - King of Monsters on 4k BD. bluray.com lists the HDR type of this disc as 'Dolby Vision and HDR10+.'



Understanding that DV and HDR10+ have not been implemented into PJ technology to date, how will my RS640 handle the DV and HDR10+ signal it will be receiving when I playback this UHD BD? Any tips or tricks to playing back DV and HDR10+ on my 640?


Nothing you need to do. The standard HDR10 layer is required and your projector will engage the HDR mode while playing the disc.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ddigler likes this.
BdoUK is offline  
post #12080 of 12689 Old 08-19-2019, 08:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
coxy2416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by BdoUK View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyVee View Post
Quick question about the x790. When I first got it a few months ago the iris was silent and on the screen its operation was pretty seamless. However, in the past week, I&#226;€&#x2122;&#xfe0f;ve noticed pumping/flashing that is obvious and quite distracting. Then last night I noticed the iris was clicking when the pumping was occurring.



Is this a known issue with the iris?


I&#226;€&#x2122;&#xfe0f;ve been noticing the clicking DI on my RS540 over the last few months. What&#226;€&#x2122;&#xfe0f;s odd is that it happens maybe once during a 2 hour movie and tends to work itself out after 30-90 seconds then the DI performs as expected.

Would like to hear what JVC has told others that have experienced this issue.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I have had pumping and clicking issues with the DI on multiple X790’s. The best thing I ever did was turn it off. Still get fantastic black levels and never have to wonder if the DI is acting up or it was part of the source material. Since I’ve done this I have not had one issue with my projector.

It wasn’t really an issue on SDR material but much more noticeable on HDR material.
giomania likes this.
coxy2416 is online now  
post #12081 of 12689 Old 08-19-2019, 10:18 AM
Senior Member
 
JonnyVee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by BdoUK View Post
I’ve been noticing the clicking DI on my RS540 over the last few months. What’s odd is that it happens maybe once during a 2 hour movie and tends to work itself out after 30-90 seconds then the DI performs as expected.

Would like to hear what JVC has told others that have experienced this issue.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by coxy2416 View Post
I have had pumping and clicking issues with the DI on multiple X790’s. The best thing I ever did was turn it off. Still get fantastic black levels and never have to wonder if the DI is acting up or it was part of the source material. Since I’ve done this I have not had one issue with my projector.

It wasn’t really an issue on SDR material but much more noticeable on HDR material.
JVC Canada contacted me and asked me to send them a video. In the meantime, I just turned DI off. Still a great projector with it off.

Rec Room: JVC x790 w/120" Silver Ticket screen, Denon x4400H 5.1.4 with Kef Q100 L/R, Q200 centre, T101 surrounds, Ci160er rear atmos, Energy Rc-Mini - front atmos, SVS PC-2000. Family Room: LG 65B7P OLED, Denon x1500H 5.1 - Kef Q500, Q200c, Energy v-mini - surrounds. Extra Gear: X-Rite i1Display Pro, Calman Home Enthusiast, HDFury Vertex2, & HTPC w/2080 Ti.
JonnyVee is offline  
post #12082 of 12689 Old 08-20-2019, 08:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
coxy2416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyVee View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by BdoUK View Post
I&#226;€&#x2122;&#xfe0f;ve been noticing the clicking DI on my RS540 over the last few months. What&#226;€&#x2122;&#xfe0f;s odd is that it happens maybe once during a 2 hour movie and tends to work itself out after 30-90 seconds then the DI performs as expected.

Would like to hear what JVC has told others that have experienced this issue.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by coxy2416 View Post
I have had pumping and clicking issues with the DI on multiple X790&#226;€&#x2122;&#xfe0f;s. The best thing I ever did was turn it off. Still get fantastic black levels and never have to wonder if the DI is acting up or it was part of the source material. Since I&#226;€&#x2122;&#xfe0f;ve done this I have not had one issue with my projector.

It wasn&#226;€&#x2122;&#xfe0f;t really an issue on SDR material but much more noticeable on HDR material.
JVC Canada contacted me and asked me to send them a video. In the meantime, I just turned DI off. Still a great projector with it off.
I also dealt with JVC in Mississauga and they were excellent to deal with. They ended up replacing my projector.

Are you experiencing the DI issues with SDR or HDR material?
coxy2416 is online now  
post #12083 of 12689 Old 08-20-2019, 10:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 2,135
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 696 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by coxy2416 View Post
I also dealt with JVC in Mississauga and they were excellent to deal with. They ended up replacing my projector.

Are you experiencing the DI issues with SDR or HDR material?

I've seen the same DI clicking on other JVC projectors. Even sent one in for repair, but it came back the same. JVC replaced it, new one developed the same problem. Sometimes it's fine, other times not. Sometimes fine for 30 minutes, other times it's problematic right from turn on. I've just come to assume it is what it is.
curlyjive is online now  
post #12084 of 12689 Old 08-20-2019, 11:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 2,135
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 696 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Can anyone help me understand the eshift graphics mode settings? I can't find a good explanation of what 2K vs 4K actually does and what should be used when. The manual stated use 4K when using content mastered in 4K. However, it never autodetects the incoming signal as 4K unless its 4k60, which think the manual states as well. Up close, looking at Alita, 2K seems to have more give the image more contrast between light and dark areas.

What are you guys using for that setting and do you change it per content?
curlyjive is online now  
post #12085 of 12689 Old 08-20-2019, 11:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
coxy2416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by curlyjive View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by coxy2416 View Post
I also dealt with JVC in Mississauga and they were excellent to deal with. They ended up replacing my projector.

Are you experiencing the DI issues with SDR or HDR material?

I've seen the same DI clicking on other JVC projectors. Even sent one in for repair, but it came back the same. JVC replaced it, new one developed the same problem. Sometimes it's fine, other times not. Sometimes fine for 30 minutes, other times it's problematic right from turn on. I've just come to assume it is what it is.
My experience has been similar. That why I turn off the DI, forget about it and enjoy the show!
coxy2416 is online now  
post #12086 of 12689 Old 08-20-2019, 08:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
neo_2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 721
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 261
While i'm waiting for a CMS009 extension column, i mounted the JVC X7900 in a shelf so i can try it.
As i'm not going to perform a full calibration for now, i've selected the THX mode, and performed a basic calibration with HD709 basic patterns (Black/white level, sharpness).

The JVC is paired with a 2:35:1 103" Dalite HD Progressive HD 0.9, in an optimized room with a back velvet tent.
I'm temporarily using a Ziddo X8 as my HTPC is out for 2 weeks.

I've had 3 DLP's in the past (Mits HC3100, Optoma 82 and 87), and went with the JVC as i wanted to have the JVC black levels.
Unfortunately, i'm a bit disappointed ... Although the clarity on Dark Scenes is greater than on the DLP's, the black isn't really black .... i was expecting that on dark scenes, the black would be almost black, and the dynamic iris would provide a near fade to black, but even on Auto 1, it doesn't happen.

I then selected a HD709 0% Dark full window, expecting to "see" a fade to black, and "seeing" all the room disappear (like when the projector is OFF) but even on Auto 1 (manual iris at -8), i could still see the "grey" screen, and the light emitted by the JVC was enough to discern the surroundings around the screen.

Configuration was:
- THX Mode
- Manual Iris at -8, on Auto 2
- Low latency On, the rest OFF
- eshift ON
- Ziddo is configured to use a Limited range (16-235), as well as the JVC.

Were my expectations too high, or could this be some misconfiguration?
neo_2009 is online now  
post #12087 of 12689 Old 08-21-2019, 08:58 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,365
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2705 Post(s)
Liked: 1859
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo_2009 View Post
While i'm waiting for a CMS009 extension column, i mounted the JVC X7900 in a shelf so i can try it.

As i'm not going to perform a full calibration for now, i've selected the THX mode, and performed a basic calibration with HD709 basic patterns (Black/white level, sharpness).



The JVC is paired with a 2:35:1 103" Dalite HD Progressive HD 0.9, in an optimized room with a back velvet tent.

I'm temporarily using a Ziddo X8 as my HTPC is out for 2 weeks.



I've had 3 DLP's in the past (Mits HC3100, Optoma 82 and 87), and went with the JVC as i wanted to have the JVC black levels.

Unfortunately, i'm a bit disappointed ... Although the clarity on Dark Scenes is greater than on the DLP's, the black isn't really black .... i was expecting that on dark scenes, the black would be almost black, and the dynamic iris would provide a near fade to black, but even on Auto 1, it doesn't happen.



I then selected a HD709 0% Dark full window, expecting to "see" a fade to black, and "seeing" all the room disappear (like when the projector is OFF) but even on Auto 1 (manual iris at -8), i could still see the "grey" screen, and the light emitted by the JVC was enough to discern the surroundings around the screen.



Configuration was:

- THX Mode

- Manual Iris at -8, on Auto 2

- Low latency On, the rest OFF

- eshift ON

- Ziddo is configured to use a Limited range (16-235), as well as the JVC.



Were my expectations too high, or could this be some misconfiguration?
If you have the means to measure the black level you would find (if your x7900 behaves the same as mine) that the DI doesn't fully close down until your manual iris is much more closed than - 8. I don't have my results in front of me, but I think the max DI closure is probably about twice as dark as that at - 8. However you will have not much light at all.

JVC have done this to reduce pumping (and it probably needs to be more still) but it does mean that as far as I can tell the dynamic contrast specs are likely a complete fiction.

Sent from my G8441 using Tapatalk
neo_2009 likes this.
bobof is online now  
post #12088 of 12689 Old 08-21-2019, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 7,102
Mentioned: 132 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4998 Post(s)
Liked: 1921
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
If you have the means to measure the black level you would find (if your x7900 behaves the same as mine) that the DI doesn't fully close down until your manual iris is much more closed than - 8.
How do you measure the effect of the dynamic iris separate from the manual iris?
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #12089 of 12689 Old 08-21-2019, 09:32 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,365
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2705 Post(s)
Liked: 1859
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
How do you measure the effect of the dynamic iris separate from the manual iris?
I did it a while back for my X7900, there is a table floating around here somewhere.
With some kind of light meter (I used my discus colorimeter with diffuser down on a tripod facing lens as it has quite wide dynamic range) you simply step through each of the manual iris steps measurping black and black white, then enable DI and display white then black (making sure you see the lens iris close down under control of the DI logic) and take the black measure then.
I mapped every step on my X7900 and if I recall up to - 9 they all close to the same step position. The fully closed DI position then gets progressively smaller until -14. At - 14 it is about twice as dark as at - 9.

Sent from my G8441 using Tapatalk
bobof is online now  
post #12090 of 12689 Old 08-21-2019, 10:00 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,365
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2705 Post(s)
Liked: 1859
Dug out the old info; these were the DI step results for my X7900:
bobof is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off