Official JVC - 20LTD - RS640 (x990/x9900) - RS540 (X790/x7900) - Owners Thread - Page 436 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 32126Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13051 of 13990 Old 01-10-2020, 11:06 AM
Member
 
jo5507's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North of Whistler, BC
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
That would be disappointing if that were the case given that they do promote the nature of the warranty on the product page and don't further qualify it.
Hope you get sorted out.
I've been searching for JVC warranty info on the X790/540 to no avail. Can someone please point me to a location?
jo5507 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13052 of 13990 Old 01-10-2020, 11:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
talon95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by jo5507 View Post
I've been searching for JVC warranty info on the X790/540 to no avail. Can someone please point me to a location?

If you find it let me know because I'm pretty sure it's not on the net. Either have to get it from your dealer or it comes in the box is what I was told.
talon95 is offline  
post #13053 of 13990 Old 01-10-2020, 12:59 PM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 4,208
Mentioned: 97 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3359 Post(s)
Liked: 2606
Quote:
Originally Posted by jo5507 View Post
I've been searching for JVC warranty info on the X790/540 to no avail. Can someone please point me to a location?
Any dealer selling these is legally obliged to provide it to you under US consumer law in advance of purchasing the unit. Ask someone for it. Let us know if you get a copy.
bobof is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13054 of 13990 Old 01-10-2020, 01:37 PM
Member
 
jo5507's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North of Whistler, BC
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
Any dealer selling these is legally obliged to provide it to you under US consumer law in advance of purchasing the unit. Ask someone for it. Let us know if you get a copy.
I have one on order so will ask the dealer. I have seen both 2 years and 3 years on shown on

different sites, which led me to digging for the entire statement out of curiosity. Strange it's not readily available.
bobof likes this.
jo5507 is offline  
post #13055 of 13990 Old 01-10-2020, 01:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
panman40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by talon95 View Post
That's the best scenario that it would just grind itself to bits so it's obviously broken. They wouldn't give me a reason. Just that they had elected to service mine instead per their warranty policy.


I have to think they're getting hurt financially by the large number of RS-x40 and N series failures. Wouldn't surprise me if they start exercising their option to repair more often.
N series failures ?,

JVC DLA-X7900 3D Projector, Sapphire 106" Electric screen, Sony KDL-55W905 3D TV, Panasonic UB820, UB700, BDT-380 MZ, BDT700, Sky Q 2TB, Fire TV 4K, ATV 4k, Marantz SR7012, 7.1.2, SVS PC2000 Sub, Kef Q600C Centre, Q300 fronts, Ci160QR Ceilings, CA SX60 Surrounds, Harmony 950+hub.
panman40 is offline  
post #13056 of 13990 Old 01-10-2020, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
talon95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by panman40 View Post
N series failures ?,

There seemed to be a lot of them early on. Slowed down now, at least reports on this forum.
panman40 and catav like this.
talon95 is offline  
post #13057 of 13990 Old 01-10-2020, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
catav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by jo5507 View Post
I have one on order so will ask the dealer. I have seen both 2 years and 3 years on shown on

different sites, which led me to digging for the entire statement out of curiosity. Strange it's not readily available.
Here's what came in my RS540 box.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	JVC Limited Warranty.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	730.2 KB
ID:	2667722   Click image for larger version

Name:	JVC Limited Warranty (side 2).jpg
Views:	30
Size:	656.6 KB
ID:	2667748  

Last edited by catav; 01-10-2020 at 05:05 PM.
catav is offline  
post #13058 of 13990 Old 01-10-2020, 04:58 PM
Member
 
jo5507's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North of Whistler, BC
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by catav View Post
Here's what came in my RS540 box.

Thanks. Anyone confirm if the X790 also has 3 years?
jo5507 is offline  
post #13059 of 13990 Old 01-10-2020, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
catav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by jo5507 View Post
Thanks. Anyone confirm if the X790 also has 3 years?
I read that originally the professional vs. commercial series had different length warranties. And that is why there were two lines of sales for basically the same PJ. I’m almost positive the warranty period is the same for either today here in the US, but you could call your dealer to be sure. Or maybe an X series owner could chime in.

Last edited by catav; 01-11-2020 at 01:42 PM.
catav is offline  
post #13060 of 13990 Old 01-10-2020, 05:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15,068
Mentioned: 90 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3019 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Quote:
Originally Posted by jo5507 View Post
Thanks. Anyone confirm if the X790 also has 3 years?
If you use CC's, then remember some Amex cards also still add a warranty, all the ones except the No-Fee cards.
catav likes this.

**Updated Projector Calculator Released NOV 2017**
-- www.webprojectorcalculator.com --
coderguy is offline  
post #13061 of 13990 Old 01-10-2020, 05:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
talon95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by jo5507 View Post
Thanks. Anyone confirm if the X790 also has 3 years?
What country are you in? I think that may matter IIRC. This USA site shows 3 years.

https://www.us.jvc.com/projectors/procision/dla_x790r/

BTW, this was also in my box which spells out the real terms of the warranty.

catav likes this.
talon95 is offline  
post #13062 of 13990 Old 01-10-2020, 06:22 PM
Member
 
jo5507's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North of Whistler, BC
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for the details. I'm in Canada and typically our warranties would be the same as the US market. I'll confirm with my dealer and post back.
jo5507 is offline  
post #13063 of 13990 Old 01-11-2020, 04:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Adamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,208
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1298 Post(s)
Liked: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by jo5507 View Post
Thanks for the details. I'm in Canada and typically our warranties would be the same as the US market. I'll confirm with my dealer and post back.
I’m in Canada as well. My dealers website said 2 years for the 790r. I’ve seen 5 year warranty for the 540 on Gibbys Electronics in Canada. If that’s true I should have got the 540. I do hate the look of the gold ring though.
Adamd is offline  
post #13064 of 13990 Old 01-11-2020, 05:24 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 4,208
Mentioned: 97 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3359 Post(s)
Liked: 2606
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamd View Post
I’m in Canada as well. My dealers website said 2 years for the 790r. I’ve seen 5 year warranty for the 540 on Gibbys Electronics in Canada. If that’s true I should have got the 540. I do hate the look of the gold ring though.
Not sure if things are like in the UK over there, but quite often specific retailers have standing practice where they extend (on their own risk) the warranty of big ticket items as a point of difference against competing retailers. (standing behind their product, yada yada). Two notable examples are Richer Sounds (specialist hifi box shifter, world record for highest sales per square metre https://www.guinnessworldrecords.com...area-annually/) with 6 year warranty on displays, and John Lewis (big department store) with 5 years. Those warranties - once the manufacturer's warranty is out - are usually served by their own service departments. So it is important to understand exactly what and from whom the warranty is; another good reason for full disclosure up front of warranty terms.

In the UK arguably they're not giving you very much - you get notionally 6 years statutory rights on big ticket items (as in you should be able to expect to get 6 years use out of something) but the warranty formalises something which is otherwise quite hard to claim - there is a burden of proof that the fault was intrinsic at time of purchase, needing to make an allowance for the use you've had from it in case a refund is necessary, etc. Most folk wouldn't claim under statutory rights because of this, but would find it easy to return to the store with a formal warranty provision out to 5 or 6 years.
bobof is online now  
post #13065 of 13990 Old 01-11-2020, 06:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
talon95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by BL4DE View Post
Mine has made a similar noise before and it seems to only happen when I have different fixed iris settings for different modes like -3 for THX but 0 for HDR. So I keep the same fixed iris position across all modes. I haven't heard mine grind against the extreme setting like that though
So far this has worked for mine. I set every preset to the same manual iris setting. I've got at least a half dozen on/off cycles on it now without the lamp iris going through it's range and grinding on startup.

I *think* for mine it is just certain combinations. I had change some of the presets recently in doing some testing of the bare lamp I bought from Dominic. I suspect this triggered the issue again. I saw this when I first got it if I left it on the HDR preset with manual set to zero.

So I'm thinking it is no more broken than it ever was in regards to the lamp iris. Fortunately I have recently moved to a setup where I'm just toggling low/high lamp for SDR/HDR and not moving the lamp iris. I really prefer that to avoid wear and tear on that iris as well as it switches modes faster without all the noise.
talon95 is offline  
post #13066 of 13990 Old 01-11-2020, 07:15 AM
Member
 
BL4DE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by talon95 View Post
So far this has worked for mine. I set every preset to the same manual iris setting. I've got at least a half dozen on/off cycles on it now without the lamp iris going through it's range and grinding on startup.

I *think* for mine it is just certain combinations. I had change some of the presets recently in doing some testing of the bare lamp I bought from Dominic. I suspect this triggered the issue again. I saw this when I first got it if I left it on the HDR preset with manual set to zero.

So I'm thinking it is no more broken than it ever was in regards to the lamp iris. Fortunately I have recently moved to a setup where I'm just toggling low/high lamp for SDR/HDR and not moving the lamp iris. I really prefer that to avoid wear and tear on that iris as well as it switches modes faster without all the noise.
Talon that is exactly what I have been doing since I first heard that grinding sound on startup. I did not sound sustainable and I noticed it only did that when I had decided I liked to keep THX mode at -3 and HDR at 0. So ever since all the same setting for fixed iris and yeah I just change to high lamp for HDR or turn DI on or off just for movies

This projector does get a pretty awesome number of bulb hours compared to my old Optoma. I decided to switch bulbs just because its a little dim and has 4000 hours

JVC RS 540
7.1.4, Klipsch 504c center channel, Hsu VTF-3 MK5 sub, Klipsch RP-280FA fronts, Hsu HB-1 MK2 surrounds and rears, and Klipsch RP-140SA rear heights
Denon X6400H
Xbox One X, HTPC
BL4DE is offline  
post #13067 of 13990 Old 01-11-2020, 10:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Delaware
Posts: 4,814
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1237 Post(s)
Liked: 643
FWI fellas I have a good friend that has a 640 for sale with a spare bulb.

The installed bulb has 1100 hours all in low lamp mode.

Mike Miles
[email protected]
mmiles is online now  
post #13068 of 13990 Old 01-12-2020, 02:13 PM
Senior Member
 
CHUCKCHILLOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Magnolia, Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I was watching YouTube with my Panasonic UB420 last night on my JVC RS540, in the middle of a video I was getting the Blue Screen no input from the JVC, where the sound would continue but, just a blue screen. I ended up toggling HDMI 1 to HDMI 2 just to get a handshake, which worked to get the image onscreen again. This makes me think there could be an issue with the projector and not the source. I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts or experiences like this.


A video signal that cannot be used with this unit has been input (The names of input terminals such as “HDMI-1” and “HDMI-2” will be displayed in yellow).

This is straight from the manual, and what I was seeing.

Last edited by CHUCKCHILLOUT; 01-12-2020 at 02:25 PM.
CHUCKCHILLOUT is offline  
post #13069 of 13990 Old 01-12-2020, 06:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
talon95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHUCKCHILLOUT View Post
I was watching YouTube with my Panasonic UB420 last night on my JVC RS540, in the middle of a video I was getting the Blue Screen no input from the JVC, where the sound would continue but, just a blue screen. I ended up toggling HDMI 1 to HDMI 2 just to get a handshake, which worked to get the image onscreen again. This makes me think there could be an issue with the projector and not the source. I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts or experiences like this.


A video signal that cannot be used with this unit has been input (The names of input terminals such as “HDMI-1” and “HDMI-2” will be displayed in yellow).

This is straight from the manual, and what I was seeing.
Does it do that with any other app/source/etc...? Could be a cable problem if it only does it with 4k. Might also try switching to the other HDMI port on the projector to see what that does. I honestly doubt it's a problem with the projector.
woodhead2 likes this.
talon95 is offline  
post #13070 of 13990 Old 01-13-2020, 08:15 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 28,568
Mentioned: 289 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14017 Post(s)
Liked: 11688
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by jo5507 View Post
I have one on order so will ask the dealer. I have seen both 2 years and 3 years on shown on

different sites, which led me to digging for the entire statement out of curiosity. Strange it's not readily available.
There are only two sites in the US with official information. One is JVC Consumer and it lists 3 year warranty. The consumer site is not as well maintained as the professional site which sells the Reference series models. Consumer site is managed from Japan. The Pro site is managed here in the us.
Consumer site listing 3 year warranty, but does not mention advanced replacement. https://www.us.jvc.com/projectors/procision/dla_x790r/
Pro site also lists 3 year warranty and lists advanced replacement.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2020-01-13 at 10.08.04 AM.png
Views:	22
Size:	1.24 MB
ID:	2669308  
Mike_WI likes this.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #13071 of 13990 Old 01-13-2020, 09:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Adamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,208
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1298 Post(s)
Liked: 722
I have heard 3 years for the x790r in the us and 2 years for Canada. They have been talking about this over at the x750 thread as well. It was confirmed for this model.

Last edited by Adamd; 01-13-2020 at 10:11 AM.
Adamd is offline  
post #13072 of 13990 Old 01-13-2020, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
CHUCKCHILLOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Magnolia, Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by talon95 View Post
Does it do that with any other app/source/etc...? Could be a cable problem if it only does it with 4k. Might also try switching to the other HDMI port on the projector to see what that does. I honestly doubt it's a problem with the projector.
I was watching Netflix last night and the same thing happened, so I switched over to my TIVO and back. So on the Panasonic UB420, it's been happening on HDR Netflix, HDR YouTube and 1080p YouTube. The Panasonic is set to 4k 444 60hz. On my PS4 there have been times I was playing God of War in HDR and the signal just dropped out and I had to power down and restart my PS4.
CHUCKCHILLOUT is offline  
post #13073 of 13990 Old 01-13-2020, 10:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 28,568
Mentioned: 289 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14017 Post(s)
Liked: 11688
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamd View Post
I have heard 2 years for the x790r in the us and 2 years for Canada. They have been talking about this over at the x750 thread as well. It was confirmed for this model.
In the US, it is 3 years. I provided the info from JVC in post 13070, both consumer and pro models.
giomania likes this.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #13074 of 13990 Old 01-13-2020, 10:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Adamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,208
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1298 Post(s)
Liked: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamd View Post
I have heard 2 years for the x790r in the us and 2 years for Canada. They have been talking about this over at the x750 thread as well. It was confirmed for this model.
In the US, it is 3 years. I provided the info from JVC in post 13070, both consumer and pro models.
Whoops that was a mistake I meant to say 3 years for US I’ll fix my last post.
Mike Garrett likes this.
Adamd is offline  
post #13075 of 13990 Old 01-13-2020, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
talon95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHUCKCHILLOUT View Post
I was watching Netflix last night and the same thing happened, so I switched over to my TIVO and back. So on the Panasonic UB420, it's been happening on HDR Netflix, HDR YouTube and 1080p YouTube. The Panasonic is set to 4k 444 60hz. On my PS4 there have been times I was playing God of War in HDR and the signal just dropped out and I had to power down and restart my PS4.

What cable{s} are you using? I assume you have an AVR doing the switching also? Could be a problem there. People might be able to diagnose this better with a more detailed description of your system. I've had trouble like that and it's always been a cable though.
talon95 is offline  
post #13076 of 13990 Old 01-13-2020, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
CHUCKCHILLOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Magnolia, Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by talon95 View Post
What cable{s} are you using? I assume you have an AVR doing the switching also? Could be a problem there. People might be able to diagnose this better with a more detailed description of your system. I've had trouble like that and it's always been a cable though.
I have a Marantz 6014. The cables I'm using are the one that came with the PS4 Pro, a Monoprice 4k cable for the Panasonic. For the projector I have tried 4 different cables. For the JVC I'm still using a cable that I got from Amazon about 3 years ago, but it is the only cable that can pass 4k 60HZ +HDR. So I think that the cable is OK. I always thought that for the cable you're either getting the signal or you are not, and I am usually getting the best signal that can be carried, so that's what I don't really get.
CHUCKCHILLOUT is offline  
post #13077 of 13990 Old 01-13-2020, 12:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
talon95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHUCKCHILLOUT View Post
I have a Marantz 6014. The cables I'm using are the one that came with the PS4 Pro, a Monoprice 4k cable for the Panasonic. For the projector I have tried 4 different cables. For the JVC I'm still using a cable that I got from Amazon about 3 years ago, but it is the only cable that can pass 4k 60HZ +HDR. So I think that the cable is OK. I always thought that for the cable you're either getting the signal or you are not, and I am usually getting the best signal that can be carried, so that's what I don't really get.

I've got multiple cables from Amazon that claim 18gpbs capable, but they don't all work well. My Roku in particular is very picky for some reason. Since multiple devices are having the same problem problem though, I'd start with the projector cable if it's not too difficult to run another one, even temporarily. These always work for me and others on this forum have reported the same success.



https://www.monoprice.com/product?c_...seq=1&format=2
talon95 is offline  
post #13078 of 13990 Old 01-13-2020, 03:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,398
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7622 Post(s)
Liked: 7697
Quote:
Originally Posted by jo5507 View Post
Thanks for the details. I'm in Canada and typically our warranties would be the same as the US market. I'll confirm with my dealer and post back.
That is not the case all the time, you will want to double check with your Canadian dealer. The USA version have a 3 year advanced exchange warranty, as many have noted already.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmiles View Post
FWI fellas I have a good friend that has a 640 for sale with a spare bulb.

The installed bulb has 1100 hours all in low lamp mode.
List that in this section >>> Click Here <<< Good luck with sale.......

Last edited by Cleveland Plasma; 01-13-2020 at 03:38 PM.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #13079 of 13990 Old 01-13-2020, 04:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
neo_2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 307
I'm considering buying a Spyder5 to perform a gamma calibration with JVC Autocal V10 (for a JVC X7900), and later an I1 Display PRO to be able to do a 3D LUT calibration on madVR.

When searching for autocal information, i saw this post from Manni:
Quote:
... with the JVC Autocal used to get a good baseline the 3D LUT doesn't make that much of a difference ..
I think i also saw another post (i've tried to find it, but i couldn't), were Manni also states than when using a 3DLUT, there may be no need for an Autocal calibration.

@Manni01 , please forgive me if i'm incorrectly interpreting what you posted ... Would you mind clarifying the above? Thank you!
neo_2009 is offline  
post #13080 of 13990 Old 01-13-2020, 05:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Delaware
Posts: 4,814
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1237 Post(s)
Liked: 643
CPlasma,

Thanks for the link. I would if I could but it ain’t mine to sell.

Mike Miles
[email protected]
mmiles is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off