Official JVC DLA-RS440 (DLA-X5900) - Page 30 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 403Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #871 of 928 Old 02-07-2019, 06:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,425
Mentioned: 121 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4483 Post(s)
Liked: 1678
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueWRXPride View Post
It's almost like the screen itself isn't square, but I can't imagine how that could be possible.
That is definitely possible. See this recent post:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post57335798

To check whether that’s the case, measure the screen diagonally both ways (top left to bottom right; top right to bottom left) and see.

Note that you currently also have a “roll” error - the left is lower than the right.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 02-07-2019 at 06:39 AM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #872 of 928 Old 02-07-2019, 06:39 AM
Senior Member
 
BlueWRXPride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Yeah I meant to take those measurements last night but I forgot, I'll check if the screen is square tonight.

Home Theater: Marantz SR6012, Fronts: Paradigm Titans, Sides: Paradigm Atoms, Surrounds: Paradigm ADP-170, Sub: RBH I-12
BlueWRXPride is offline  
post #873 of 928 Old 02-07-2019, 07:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Newbie question:

I'm rebuilding my theater in a few months after structural repairs, coming from an old 1080p Panasonic PT-AE2000 to an DLA-RS440 I bought last summer. It'll be fed by an Oppo 203 and full 4k Roku and Amazon Fire TV boxes, all through a Yamaha RX-A3070 (all of this equipment is sitting in storage).

I've been reading in the Oppo 203 thread about problems with tone-mapping HDR to SDR for projectors, compared to a Panasonic 4K player. Is that something to be concerned about with the RS440, which is an HDR10 projector, or is it only a problem for projectors that are pre-HDR10? The same question applies to DV to HDR conversion.


Last edited by Philnick; 02-07-2019 at 07:30 AM.
Philnick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #874 of 928 Old 02-07-2019, 08:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,425
Mentioned: 121 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4483 Post(s)
Liked: 1678
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
Newbie question:

I'm rebuilding my theater in a few months after structural repairs, coming from an old 1080p Panasonic PT-AE2000 to an DLA-RS440 I bought last summer. It'll be fed by an Oppo 203 and full 4k Roku and Amazon Fire TV boxes, all through a Yamaha RX-A3070 (all of this equipment is sitting in storage).

I've been reading in the Oppo 203 thread about problems with tone-mapping HDR to SDR for projectors, compared to a Panasonic 4K player. Is that something to be concerned about with the RS440, which is an HDR10 projector, or is it only a problem for projectors that are pre-HDR10? The same question applies to DV to HDR conversion.
If you use the RS440 itself for HDR tone mapping then there is no issue. However, many people prefer to use their OPPO to do tone mapping even when the projector has HDR curves; in that situation the issue will affect you (unless the recent OPPO firmware update fixed this issue).
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #875 of 928 Old 02-07-2019, 08:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueWRXPride View Post
I gave it a shot, but it still doesn't seem right. I had to point the projector up pretty high and shift the image lower (almost to the max shift) to get the left and right sides parallel. I tilted the projector up way more than the screen could possibly be out of level. Regardless, once I did that, and angled the projector side to side to get the sides in alignment with the sides of the screen, now the top and bottom are not in alignment. It's almost like the screen itself isn't square, but I can't imagine how that could be possible.
it is definitely possible happened to me once on fixed projector screen it got banged a little in shipping so when i installed it one corner was off a little bit . you could take couple measurements maybe or even use a carpenter square and see if corner of your frame isnt square on the screen. Was your old epson off like this or was installed so long ago not sure and did not notice? otherwise it is also possible that the left top corner your screen is sticking out a little further from the wall then the rest of the corners of the screen. also how high is the projector installed on ceiling you could always use a drop tub to lower it a little so wouldnt have use so much lens shift assuming you have enough clearance so it wont be too low.
golden78 is offline  
post #876 of 928 Old 02-07-2019, 08:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
If you use the RS440 itself for HDR tone mapping then there is no issue. However, many people prefer to use their OPPO to do tone mapping even when the projector has HDR curves; in that situation the issue will affect you (unless the recent OPPO firmware update fixed this issue).
I got the same answer in the Oppo thread (I was a bad boy and cross-posted this question). Apparently, the choice to tone map in the player is mainly made by folks who don't get enough brightness from their projectors in HDR mode.

I'm hoping that in a windowless basement room, on a nearly 1.0 gain screen (the Cream & Sugar Ultra recipe at Home Theater Shack: a 1:1 mix of acrylic silver paint and flat white latex), an image that's 11'6" - 3.5m - wide (not diagonal) from the JVC will be bright enough to use its own HDR tone-mapping mode.

Philnick is offline  
post #877 of 928 Old 02-07-2019, 12:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 131
only one way to find out...
golden78 is offline  
post #878 of 928 Old 02-07-2019, 01:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by golden78 View Post
only one way to find out...
I was hoping that I was giving enough info - screen reflectivity, size of projected image, and environment (a windowless room) - for someone else with an RS440 to be able to say whether the RS440 is bright enough in HDR mode. Otherwise, it'll be months before I can find out.

Philnick is offline  
post #879 of 928 Old 02-07-2019, 01:46 PM
Member
 
shoeboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Safety Harbor, FL
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
I was hoping that I was giving enough info - screen reflectivity, size of projected image, and environment (a windowless room) - for someone else with an RS440 to be able to say whether the RS440 is bright enough in HDR mode. Otherwise, it'll be months before I can find out.
I have an rs440 with 120" diagnol 16x9 screen in a semi-light controlled living room with light colored walls and have been satisfied with the HDR output using custom curves. I think you will be happy.
The main drawback to the oppo tone mapping (even if they fix the wide color saturation issue) is that it only works for sources routed through the oppo. I watch a fair amount of streaming content and also game on the PS4 pro and have found the 2000 nit curve to work pretty well across most/all content.

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk

JVC RS-440 | SI Slate 1.2 120" Zero Edge 16x9 screen | Fusion Lagoon Seating
Denon x4300H | Revel 5.1.4 F206/C205/W893/C763 | Dayton
Sealed 18-HO | Behringer EP4000
Tivo Bolt | Oppo 203 | Apple TV 4K | PS4 Pro | Nvidia Shield TV
shoeboo is online now  
post #880 of 928 Old 02-07-2019, 02:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoeboo View Post
I have an rs440 with 120" diagnol 16x9 screen in a semi-light controlled living room with light colored walls and have been satisfied with the HDR output using custom curves. I think you will be happy.
The main drawback to the oppo tone mapping (even if they fix the wide color saturation issue) is that it only works for sources routed through the oppo. I watch a fair amount of streaming content and also game on the PS4 pro and have found the 2000 nit curve to work pretty well across most/all content.

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk
Thank you! My screen will be 158" diagonal 16x9 (32% larger than yours). I haven't decided on wall coloring - they haven't been built yet - but I assume that darker walls and ceiling will make the screen look brighter by comparison than with light colored walls.

Where did you get your custom curves?

Philnick is offline  
post #881 of 928 Old 02-07-2019, 02:29 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 14,265
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2532 Post(s)
Liked: 2198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
Thank you! My screen will be 158" diagonal 16x9 (32% larger than yours). I haven't decided on wall coloring - they haven't been built yet - but I assume that darker walls and ceiling will make the screen look brighter by comparison than with light colored walls.

Where did you get your custom curves?
Yes, the darker/blacker your room the better. It makes a huge difference. Carpet matters too - if you are limited there, at least try to have something placed down in front of the screen. Check out the black out thread too for good ideas.
DavidHir is offline  
post #882 of 928 Old 02-07-2019, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,425
Mentioned: 121 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4483 Post(s)
Liked: 1678
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
Thank you! My screen will be 158" diagonal 16x9 (32% larger than yours).
Keep in mind that 32% larger screen means you’ll only get 57% of the brightness, everything else being equal.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #883 of 928 Old 02-07-2019, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Yes black velvet will be your best friend it makes a huge difference along with dark carpet etc.
golden78 is offline  
post #884 of 928 Old 02-28-2019, 03:48 AM
Member
 
Flavio61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Italy
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello, excuse my newbie question: the DLA-rs440 has the possibility to perform the calibration of the gray at 10 points. Where can I find it in the menu?
Flavio61 is offline  
post #885 of 928 Old 02-28-2019, 04:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,425
Mentioned: 121 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4483 Post(s)
Liked: 1678
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flavio61 View Post
Hello, excuse my newbie question: the DLA-rs440 has the possibility to perform the calibration of the gray at 10 points. Where can I find it in the menu?
For the last few generations of JVC projectors the gamma adjustment has to be done using the autocal software, not from the projector’s user interface. The latter only allows you to adjust gamma in three bands.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #886 of 928 Old 03-01-2019, 09:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 23,985
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6390 Post(s)
Liked: 6388
Quote:
Originally Posted by golden78 View Post
Yes black velvet will be your best friend it makes a huge difference along with dark carpet etc.
Yep, my room is all Flat dark grey including the ceiling......
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #887 of 928 Old 03-01-2019, 10:55 AM
Member
 
ManMower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Hi all,

I just spent (wasted) a good deal of time tweaking my projector ceiling mount, and in the process noticed that when I change direction with lens shift (make a very small leftward adjustment after adjusting to the right) I'll also get significant up/down shift for a bit.

on a 133" screen I get about an inch and a half of shift before motion is strictly horizontal.

Is this normal for a DLA-X5900, or should I freak out and try to make a warranty claim?
ManMower is offline  
post #888 of 928 Old 03-02-2019, 06:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Enjoying my new 590r, however...

Weird problem that has happened 2 times: a little while after selecting my 2.35 aspect zoom setting, zoom will start cycling in and out continuously. The projector is unresponsive to the remote, but the video keeps playing. I pull the power and restart and it is fine. Is this a problem others have seen?
Racerryan is offline  
post #889 of 928 Old 03-02-2019, 07:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 155
I haven't seen that issue with why 590R.

Has anyone updated their 590R? Is there a link to firmware updates for these? And a process?
Thanks!

NX5 / Panamorph / SI Slate Zero Edge Pro / Salamander Designs / AQ Niagra
AV8805 / UB9000 / AppleTV 4K / PS4 Pro / Connect / Node 2i / RPM-10 C
C1100 / D1100 / MC303s / 800D3 / HTM1D3 / 702 S2 / CCM7.3 / PC4000s
RaceCarDriver is offline  
post #890 of 928 Old 03-22-2019, 04:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
ed3120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Is it normal for convergence to look off when you are standing right in front of your screen?

Is going through the zones and doing the fine adjustment for red and blue a good idea that is really fixing the problem? Or is that just fake-fixing it with software interpolation or something and it’s really degrading the final picture?
ed3120 is offline  
post #891 of 928 Old 03-22-2019, 05:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
jbn008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 807
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed3120 View Post
Is it normal for convergence to look off when you are standing right in front of your screen?

Is going through the zones and doing the fine adjustment for red and blue a good idea that is really fixing the problem? Or is that just fake-fixing it with software interpolation or something and it’s really degrading the final picture?
it's normal for it not to be perfect. I've owned 8 JVCs (starting with the RS1) and have only had 1 that was spot on.

if you don't notice it on the menu lettering from your seating distance then i'd leave if off. If you feel the need to adjust, then i'd stick with whole pixel only.
jbn008 is offline  
post #892 of 928 Old 04-14-2019, 08:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Mark the Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 52
I have a 4300h / x590r installed for about 2 months. (bought it last year cheap but just finished the HT this year)

I am having issues with the 4300h HDMI and my projector, a JVC x590r. About every 5-10 minutes or so, the screen flickers white , and then goes black and recconects with my projector. Much more common on streaming apps on my HTPC but resolution on my PC is locked at 2160p24 at all times. Audio is uninterrupted during this. Anybody have this issue? HDMI cables are monoprice fiber optic and are reported to be good.

It seems to occur more when running 1080p signals versus 2160p.

Super frustrating and the AVR / projector is under warranty, but I don't want to return it if it some super secret menu setting issue?

Amp is in a rack and extremely well ventilted. ECO mode seems to not affect it. I suspect its the HDMi board as I heard this model had some issues with the 4300h on reddit, but wanted to rule out the projector.

Appreciate the help.
Mark the Red is online now  
post #893 of 928 Old 04-14-2019, 10:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bix26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 1,108
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 658 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed3120 View Post
Is it normal for convergence to look off when you are standing right in front of your screen?



Is going through the zones and doing the fine adjustment for red and blue a good idea that is really fixing the problem? Or is that just fake-fixing it with software interpolation or something and it’s really degrading the final picture?


That’s good advice.

I’ll also throw in my two cents here, Iv’e always thought it’s kind of funny how people are so concerned with convergence or even chromatic aberration. Sure, if you can see it at normal close distance it’s a legitimate concern. However, I suspect most complaints are from pixel peeping at super close distances.

I think a lot of people don’t realize that all lcd, plasma and oled have no convergence capability with no overlapping between the rgb subpixels. I realize the screen/viewing ratio is usually not the same. Still if you can’t see it in normal viewing, does it matter?
bix26 is offline  
post #894 of 928 Old 04-15-2019, 08:09 AM
Member
 
shoeboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Safety Harbor, FL
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark the Red View Post
I have a 4300h / x590r installed for about 2 months. (bought it last year cheap but just finished the HT this year)

I am having issues with the 4300h HDMI and my projector, a JVC x590r. About every 5-10 minutes or so, the screen flickers white , and then goes black and recconects with my projector. Much more common on streaming apps on my HTPC but resolution on my PC is locked at 2160p24 at all times. Audio is uninterrupted during this. Anybody have this issue? HDMI cables are monoprice fiber optic and are reported to be good.

It seems to occur more when running 1080p signals versus 2160p.

Super frustrating and the AVR / projector is under warranty, but I don't want to return it if it some super secret menu setting issue?

Amp is in a rack and extremely well ventilted. ECO mode seems to not affect it. I suspect its the HDMi board as I heard this model had some issues with the 4300h on reddit, but wanted to rule out the projector.

Appreciate the help.
I am using the RS440 version with the same receiver but not connected to HTPC (sources in signature). Have had good results with both a 50' monoprice slimerun fiber optic HDMI (pn 33281) and 35' Blue Jeans series-3 Active HDMI with all resolutions and framerates (even 4k60 HDR).
Do you have any displays connected to receiver via monitor 2 or zone 2?

JVC RS-440 | SI Slate 1.2 120" Zero Edge 16x9 screen | Fusion Lagoon Seating
Denon x4300H | Revel 5.1.4 F206/C205/W893/C763 | Dayton
Sealed 18-HO | Behringer EP4000
Tivo Bolt | Oppo 203 | Apple TV 4K | PS4 Pro | Nvidia Shield TV
shoeboo is online now  
post #895 of 928 Old 04-15-2019, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 14,265
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2532 Post(s)
Liked: 2198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark the Red View Post
I have a 4300h / x590r installed for about 2 months. (bought it last year cheap but just finished the HT this year)

I am having issues with the 4300h HDMI and my projector, a JVC x590r. About every 5-10 minutes or so, the screen flickers white , and then goes black and recconects with my projector. Much more common on streaming apps on my HTPC but resolution on my PC is locked at 2160p24 at all times. Audio is uninterrupted during this. Anybody have this issue? HDMI cables are monoprice fiber optic and are reported to be good.

It seems to occur more when running 1080p signals versus 2160p.

Super frustrating and the AVR / projector is under warranty, but I don't want to return it if it some super secret menu setting issue?

Amp is in a rack and extremely well ventilted. ECO mode seems to not affect it. I suspect its the HDMi board as I heard this model had some issues with the 4300h on reddit, but wanted to rule out the projector.

Appreciate the help.


With several variables, it really is going to come down to a process of elimination. For starters, I would remove the HTPC for now to try and isolate it to the projector and receiver. Try to start with the most basic set-up first to see if the problem is still occurring. Perhaps start with the video from a UHD player going directly into the projector and see how that goes. If all is fine, then the projector should be fine. Then go from there to the receiver, etc.


A faulty cable is still a possibility, but has to be ruled out one by one like everything else.

Last edited by DavidHir; 04-15-2019 at 08:45 AM.
DavidHir is offline  
post #896 of 928 Old 04-15-2019, 09:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Mark the Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 52
^^ Thanks David & Shoe. I do have a monitor 2 cable connected and I will try a process of elimination with that cable disconnected. The issue is almost entirely random. For instance, using the same cable I played about 3 hours of the Witcher 3 at 4k60 from my HTPC without any problems and the AVR was WARM let me tell you.

But when watching movies from Kodi DSplayer is rarely happens, but happens a LOT when watching the Windows 10 Netflix app or Amazon Prime. I really do not want to get a seperate streaming box because Netflix supports Atmos on Win10 only right now.

I'll try swapping out a cable and getting a new one highly rated on Amazon from my PC. I have 6' Ruipro Fiber Optic and a 6' Bluerigger 18GBs cable, and will try a third. I suspect the problem is the dual monitor issue or the 4300h AVR HDMI board. I connected a Sony 790p blu-ray player and my Denon would not output audio at all.

I read about handshaking issues on this threadm, but that was primarily the older JVC models.
Mark the Red is online now  
post #897 of 928 Old 04-15-2019, 01:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 14,265
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2532 Post(s)
Liked: 2198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark the Red View Post
I suspect the problem is the dual monitor issue or the 4300h AVR HDMI board. I connected a Sony 790p blu-ray player and my Denon would not output audio at all.
Yeah, that doesn't make any sense at all. Unless the cable is faulty, probably something wrong with the Denon.


I am using the Denon X3100 (but not running video through it) and have had no problems with several projectors and players...even when I used to run 1080p through it.
DavidHir is offline  
post #898 of 928 Old 04-15-2019, 01:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 14,265
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2532 Post(s)
Liked: 2198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark the Red View Post
I suspect the problem is the dual monitor issue or the 4300h AVR HDMI board. I connected a Sony 790p blu-ray player and my Denon would not output audio at all.
Yeah, that doesn't make any sense at all. Unless the cable is faulty, maybe something is wrong with the Denon.

I am using the Denon X3100 (but not running video through it) and have had no problems with several projectors and players...even when I used to run 1080p through it.
DavidHir is offline  
post #899 of 928 Old 04-17-2019, 08:53 AM
Member
 
shoeboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Safety Harbor, FL
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I received a warranty replacement rs440 and I believe it may have an issue with shifting the lens to adjust screen position that my previous unit didn't have. Before I go through the RMA process again I wanted to make sure this wasn't normal.

When I am in Lens Control\Shift and change directions from left to right, the image jumps up or down vertically. So if I keep pressing the left arrow, it moves perfectly horizontally, but if I then hit right arrow the image moves a little right but also drops about a centimeter. The reverse happens when going from right to left (raises about a centimeter). This makes it a pain to fine tune and I also feel like I have had more trouble keeping the screen position aligned perfectly with my low profile screen border (seems to go out of alignment more often).

JVC RS-440 | SI Slate 1.2 120" Zero Edge 16x9 screen | Fusion Lagoon Seating
Denon x4300H | Revel 5.1.4 F206/C205/W893/C763 | Dayton
Sealed 18-HO | Behringer EP4000
Tivo Bolt | Oppo 203 | Apple TV 4K | PS4 Pro | Nvidia Shield TV
shoeboo is online now  
post #900 of 928 Old 04-17-2019, 09:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 14,265
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2532 Post(s)
Liked: 2198
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoeboo View Post
I received a warranty replacement rs440 and I believe it may have an issue with shifting the lens to adjust screen position that my previous unit didn't have. Before I go through the RMA process again I wanted to make sure this wasn't normal.

When I am in Lens Control\Shift and change directions from left to right, the image jumps up or down vertically. So if I keep pressing the left arrow, it moves perfectly horizontally, but if I then hit right arrow the image moves a little right but also drops about a centimeter. The reverse happens when going from right to left (raises about a centimeter). This makes it a pain to fine tune and I also feel like I have had more trouble keeping the screen position aligned perfectly with my low profile screen border (seems to go out of alignment more often).
A little bit of jumping can be normal as you just have to give a little slack to then get it aligned. Can you ultimately get it perfectly aligned?

How much off centered is the projector to the center of the screen? This can play a role if it's off too much.
DavidHir is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
jvc projector , projector , projector help , projector screen advice , room correction

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off