Improving Madvr HDR to SDR mapping for projector - Page 166 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7314Likes

post #4951 of 7899 Old 02-07-2019, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2228 Post(s)
Liked: 773
1st post…
Madvr HDR to SDR mapping: already great, soon even better for projector?
Madvr HDR to SDR Mapping with special focus on projector.
It makes every projector or TV compatible with HDR even if they were not initially "marketed" for that.

Im sorry if I seem a bit dumb on all this as I’m very new to HDR. There are so many posts in this thread I don’t know where to start
I have been using madvr for years, currently with version v0.92.17 and the 1080Ti card.
I have owned JVC projectors for years but have always found trying to use HDR was too daunting!
Since I purchased the new JVC NX9 projector I have been loving HDR films using their auto tone mapping, it works very well.
But Im told using madvr would be better….

My questions are:
1. Would madvr be better than my NX9 for HDR films.
2. Would madvr be just as easy and automatic as the NX9 is for HDR films?

I see the first post on this page isn’t really a sticky of “how to do it” as it looks like the madvr versions have changed many times since that post on the 02/03/2018.
So if my questions 1 and 2 are YES, where do I really start here…. Is there a post using the latest madvr version (without bugs) of how to setup HDR for a projector, that once set it will select what’s needed automatically for each new film in an easy way.

Sorry to ask these dumb questions but I need some help.
Many thanks in advance..

Murray Thompson
X Owner RapalloAV
Absolutly no connection with RapalloNZ
CinemascopE Home Cinema Build & 2014 rebuild, plus new LED ceiling install Christmas 2018
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4952 of 7899 Old 02-07-2019, 12:45 PM

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post