Official Sony VPL-VW295ES Owners Thread - Page 33 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 290Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #961 of 1003 Old 03-10-2020, 12:59 PM
Newbie
 
Hookahice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm looking for an advice from anyone who owns either the VPL-VW385ES or VPL-VW295ES:
For the same exact price point (fairly decent price), I can get my hands on a brand new VPL-VW295ES projector with 0 hours, never used, never turned on, brand new, OR I can get a slightly older model but higher in the series, the VPL-VW385ES which may very well be B-Stock or refurbished, however, it does come with a brand new lamp that has 0 hours.

I know the main differences between these 2 models are the Contrast Ratio (200,000:1) and the Advanced Iris (i.e. Picture Position) which are only available on the VPL-VW385ES (2017), but it is 1 year older than the VPL-VW295ES (2018).

So my questions is, which one of these 2 projectors would you go for the same exact price point:

A brand new VPL-VW295ES?
OR
A used VPL-VW385ES with brand new lamp, but with the uncertainty that something else could be wrong with it?

My man-cave is very dark so I don’t have any issues with light interference and I mostly watch movies (wide-screen).

Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks!
Hookahice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #962 of 1003 Old 03-11-2020, 04:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,312
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 569 Post(s)
Liked: 361
The answer depends on what you will use the projector for. The 295 ES will play 60fps at 18 bits. The 385ES will not but it does have better black levels because of the advanced iris system and picture position memory. If you are a gamer the 295 might be a better choice. If you watch mostly movies the 385 could work. The other thing to consider is the warranty. The new unit will have a 3 year warranty. I am not sure what the 385es will have.
rwestley is online now  
post #963 of 1003 Old 03-11-2020, 07:42 AM
Newbie
 
Hookahice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post
The answer depends on what you will use the projector for. The 295 ES will play 60fps at 18 bits. The 385ES will not but it does have better black levels because of the advanced iris system and picture position memory. If you are a gamer the 295 might be a better choice. If you watch mostly movies the 385 could work. The other thing to consider is the warranty. The new unit will have a 3 year warranty. I am not sure what the 385es will have.
Thanks rwestley,

That's new information I was not aware of. It's weird, because the specs for computer signal input are identical on the spec sheets for both projectors! So I'm not sure where it says that the 385ES can't do 60fps at 18 bits? Do you know where I can find this information?

Also, is that the only thing? Or are there more playback modes that are not supported by either models? I do plan on playing all movies from my dedicated PC (with a 2080 RTX Ti video card) that is connected to the projector. I have all my HDR content hosted on that, and I'm using madVR for HDR playback. I will also use it for gaming here and there (but not nearly as often as watching movies).
Hookahice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #964 of 1003 Old 03-11-2020, 07:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 27,878
Mentioned: 279 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13494 Post(s)
Liked: 11128
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hookahice View Post
Thanks rwestley,

That's new information I was not aware of. It's weird, because the specs for computer signal input are identical on the spec sheets for both projectors! So I'm not sure where it says that the 385ES can't do 60fps at 18 bits? Do you know where I can find this information?

Also, is that the only thing? Or are there more playback modes that are not supported by either models? I do plan on playing all movies from my dedicated PC (with a 2080 RTX Ti video card) that is connected to the projector. I have all my HDR content hosted on that, and I'm using madVR for HDR playback. I will also use it for gaming here and there (but not nearly as often as watching movies).
Rwestly is correct. The 385 is limited to 13.5 Gbps and the 295 will do full 18Gbps. Where this really makes a difference is with 4K streaming content.
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #965 of 1003 Old 03-11-2020, 07:53 AM
Newbie
 
Hookahice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ohh wow! Well that makes it easier for me to make a decision I guess. I strictly plan on 4K playback so I'd need the full 18Gbps. You'd think they would specify this clearly on the specs sheet... but I didn't see anything ):
Hookahice is offline  
post #966 of 1003 Old 03-11-2020, 07:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 4,093
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2482 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hookahice View Post
Thanks rwestley,

That's new information I was not aware of. It's weird, because the specs for computer signal input are identical on the spec sheets for both projectors! So I'm not sure where it says that the 385ES can't do 60fps at 18 bits? Do you know where I can find this information?

Also, is that the only thing? Or are there more playback modes that are not supported by either models? I do plan on playing all movies from my dedicated PC (with a 2080 RTX Ti video card) that is connected to the projector. I have all my HDR content hosted on that, and I'm using madVR for HDR playback. I will also use it for gaming here and there (but not nearly as often as watching movies).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
Rwestly is correct. The 385 is limited to 13.5 Gbps and the 295 will do full 18Gbps. Where this really makes a difference is with 4K streaming content.
The 385 (360 over here) is fully capable of running games at 60hz in 8 bit colour with no issues. But 10bit (HDR) will be downsampled internally and will produce noticeable banding in large areas of similar colour.
Worth noting here however, is if you limit the frame rate of the game to 30hz or lower, you will be able to use 10/12bit colour HDR with no issues at 4:4:4.
If you can game in 50/60hz 4:4:4/RGB in 8 bit or watch movies in 4:4:4/RGB @ 24/25/30hz then the 360 would be the one to go for I think.
Even though the 295 (270) has better processing, the lower contrast in movies (not so much in games) will be noticeable.
Both are really good machines but the 360 will look better for movies and the lens memory function is worthwhile for some too.
Nice choice to have. Enjoy making it.

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.

Last edited by Archibald1; 03-11-2020 at 08:00 AM.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #967 of 1003 Old 03-11-2020, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 27,878
Mentioned: 279 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13494 Post(s)
Liked: 11128
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
The 385 (360 over here) is fully capable of running games at 60hz in 8 bit colour with no issues.
If you can game in 4:4:4/RGB in 8 bit or watch movies in 4:4:4/RGB 24hz then the 360 woul dbe the one to go for I think.
Even though the 295 (270) has better processing, the lower contrast in movies (not so much in games) will be noticeable.
Both are really good machines but the 360 will look better for movies and the lens memory function is worthwhile for some too.
Ncie choice to have. Enjoy making it.
Yes, 24hz UHD movies is no problem, but 4K streaming movies will dither down to 8 bits and and you will have some banding on the 385. Have to choose which trade off you can live with.
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #968 of 1003 Old 03-11-2020, 08:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 4,093
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2482 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
Yes, 24hz UHD movies is no problem, but 4K streaming movies will dither down to 8 bits and and you will have some banding on the 385. Have to choose which trade off you can live with.
Only if you cannot limit the frame rate to 30hz or less.
rwestley likes this.

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #969 of 1003 Old 03-12-2020, 09:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 25,711
Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7294 Post(s)
Liked: 7329
Quote:
Originally Posted by badchad65 View Post
I'm also considering aspect ratios and have concluded it's mostly a toss up.
Yep, maybe one day there will be one set standard but I doubt it......
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #970 of 1003 Old 03-14-2020, 06:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by anderde View Post
Is anyone using a UPS for their Sony Projector. Is it really needed?
I live in an area where we get high winds resulting in power outages and glitches.
I know that my 295es runs for a while to cool the bulb when the projector is shut down.
My main concern is a bulb explosion. Is this even an issue with the lamp that’s in the Sony?
Anyone?
anderde is offline  
post #971 of 1003 Old 03-15-2020, 09:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by anderde View Post
Anyone?
I have always used a UPS for all my projectors. Through the years there has been a lot of new construction in my area and a poor power grid so power spikes and brownouts were regular, not so much anymore, but I would not run a projector without one. Besides I spent way too much money on this projector to have a sudden power outage cause issues.

That's jut my opinion.
mcgrawjt is offline  
post #972 of 1003 Old 03-21-2020, 11:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
jake51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 82
I've had JVC projectors the last 10 years
Do you think I would be very disappointed with the contrast and black level from the Sony?
jake51 is offline  
post #973 of 1003 Old 03-22-2020, 04:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,312
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 569 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake51 View Post
I've had JVC projectors the last 10 years
Do you think I would be very disappointed with the contrast and black level from the Sony?
I think you might be disappointed. The JVC's still hold the crown from black levels. If you compare the 295/285 to the NX5 you will see a difference. The bigger difference will be seen if you have a light controlled room.
rwestley is online now  
post #974 of 1003 Old 03-22-2020, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
jake51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Yes, I have a batcave
jake51 is offline  
post #975 of 1003 Old 03-22-2020, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,312
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 569 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake51 View Post
Yes, I have a batcave
I think you would be happier with the JVC projectors which offer Digital Tone Mapping and better blacks. The NX 5 is in my opinion much better than Sony ES 295. If you want to go to the next level consider the NX7/RS 2000
rwestley is online now  
post #976 of 1003 Old 03-22-2020, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
jake51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 82
The NX5 is so heavy that I want it on a sturdy floor-standing shelf behind me
I don't want something that expensive/heavy to fall on me
But then I get two feet closer to the screen, fine as it is now
jake51 is offline  
post #977 of 1003 Old 03-22-2020, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,312
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 569 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake51 View Post
The NX5 is so heavy that I want it on a sturdy floor-standing shelf behind me
I don't want something that expensive/heavy to fall on me
But then I get two feet closer to the screen, fine as it is now
You can built a very sturdy shelf with two sheets of plywood put together and bolt it into the beams. That way you would have no problem. Several forum members have suggested sturdy a floor-standing shelf. Even with a shelf you don't want it too tip. over. Good luck.
rwestley is online now  
post #978 of 1003 Old 03-25-2020, 05:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Out West
Posts: 2,017
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1113 Post(s)
Liked: 560
Here's a review of the VW270ES

https://homecinema-tendances.eu/test-sony-vpl-vw270es/


which seems very similar to the VW295ES.
dbturbo2 likes this.
DunMunro is offline  
post #979 of 1003 Old 03-25-2020, 10:59 PM
Newbie
 
Hookahice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone know if there is a new version of the Custom HDR Foren Edition 2.0 Gamma settings?
This is the one I've got: https://mega.nz/#!og8zyIBA!KpcuqRsM3...2wSXlpx0iq9oTA

About to upload it to my brand new VW295ES, but was wondering if there is a newer version of these Gamma settings out there.

Thanks!
-HooK
Hookahice is offline  
post #980 of 1003 Old 03-26-2020, 03:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 4,093
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2482 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hookahice View Post
Does anyone know if there is a new version of the Custom HDR Foren Edition 2.0 Gamma settings?
This is the one I've got: https://mega.nz/#!og8zyIBA!KpcuqRsM3...2wSXlpx0iq9oTA

About to upload it to my brand new VW295ES, but was wondering if there is a newer version of these Gamma settings out there.

Thanks!
-HooK
Those curves look as good as any to get you going.

Make sure you save your original curves in each of those slots first and then you can experiment at will.

Hookahice likes this.

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #981 of 1003 Old 03-26-2020, 06:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,312
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 569 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
Those curves look as good as any to get you going.

Make sure you save your original curves in each of those slots first and then you can experiment at will.

Be sure you also follow the other instructions and use the recommended settings .

Projector settings:
Contrast enhancer → high or medium
Contrast: MAX
Brightness: 50
Color temperature: custom 5 → Gain R: +27 / G +4 / B: +2
HDR: OFF
Color space: BT2020
Hookahice and Archibald1 like this.
rwestley is online now  
post #982 of 1003 Old 03-27-2020, 07:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
VPL-VW295ES Noob Question

Hi All,

Just got my first projector system in my new home and I had the system professionally installed.

The only 4k HDR display i had before this was an LG OLED and it would always pop a little message on the TV letting me know when an HDR signal had been detected.

I haven't seen this on the VPL-VW295ES and was just wondering whether the unit doesn't support such a feature or maybe I'm not getting the expected picture quality?

I've observed what seem to be hit and miss results when attempting to watch 4K HDR video games, streams, or UHD discs so i'm just wondering whether there is any quick check I could try to verify the input signal.

Thanks all and stay safe!
RipSwitch is offline  
post #983 of 1003 Old 03-28-2020, 05:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
jqmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Projectors don't give you much if any pop-ups of any kind (Sony typically tells you which HDMI input you are on and that's about it); you have to ask for it. Navigate using the remote to the info part of the menu system and it will tell you the type of signal. Additionally, if you are receiving the HDR flag and you are in standard set up the projector menu associated with picture settings will change "Contrast" to "Contrast (HDR)".

Edit: Go out to Sony and DL the manual. Until then go Menu_Picture Menu_Cinema Black Pro_Contrast

Choose as appropriate.

From the manual: "When the HDR signal is input with “HDR10,” “HDR Reference,” “HLG,” or “Auto” set for “HDR,” “Contrast(HDR)” appears instead of “Contrast.”"

See also Menu_Picture Menu_Expert Settings_HDR

I also agree that asking in the correct thread will likely give you faster and better answers from users.

Last edited by jqmn; 03-28-2020 at 06:31 AM.
jqmn is online now  
post #984 of 1003 Old 03-28-2020, 06:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,312
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 569 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Welcome to the forum. I suggest that you read and post in the regular 295 thread on the forum. There is all kinds of information will help you. If you have any other questions it is best to post there.

I would suggest that you set up different profiles for SD & HDR since the 295 can not automatically switch since it does not Digital Tone Mapping.

If you have a basic calibration disk use it for SD.
Archibald1 likes this.
rwestley is online now  
post #985 of 1003 Old 03-28-2020, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 4,093
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2482 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post
Welcome to the forum. I suggest that you read and post in the regular 295 thread on the forum. There is all kinds of information will help you. If you have any other questions it is best to post there.

I would suggest that you set up different profiles for SD & HDR since the 295 can not automatically switch since it does not Digital Tone Mapping.

If you have a basic calibration disk use it for SD.
For the sake of clarity, I assume you mean SDR there not SD. SDR=Standard Dynamic Range, SD=Standard Definition.

@RipSwitch
For the 295/270 and 695/570 you have to set your presets for HDR and SDR separately.

e.g. I used 'Cinema 1' for SDR films (blurays) and 'Bright Cinema' for HDR films (UHD blurays). Both tweaked individually for the relevant content.
I also used 'TV' for broadcast SD/HD SDR.
You may also benefit from setting another preset for SDR streaming and another for HDR streaming depending on results with the other presets.

The settings required for HDR on a projector may not seem that intuitive (they can vary markedly from SDR settings) but just play around with settings and refer to the 295 thread for help.

Also make sure you set your HDMI ports on the PJ to 'Enhanced Format' and 'Auto or 'Limited' for Dynamic Range.

Enjoy your projector, especially in these troubled times. They are great.

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #986 of 1003 Old 03-28-2020, 07:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,312
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 569 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
For the sake of clarity, I assume you mean SDR there not SD. SDR=Standard Dynamic Range, SD=Standard Definition.

@RipSwitch
For the 295/270 and 695/570 you have to set your presets for HDR and SDR separately.

e.g. I used 'Cinema 1' for SDR films (blurays) and 'Bright Cinema' for HDR films (UHD blurays). Both tweaked individually for the relevant content.
I also used 'TV' for broadcast SD/HD SDR.
You may also benefit from setting another preset for SDR streaming and another for HDR streaming depending on results with the other presets.

The settings required for HDR on a projector may not seem that intuitive (they can vary markedly from SDR settings) but just play around with settings and refer to the 295 thread for help.

Also make sure you set your HDMI ports on the PJ to 'Enhanced Format' and 'Auto or 'Limited' for Dynamic Range.

Enjoy your projector, especially in these troubled times. They are great.
Yes. SDR and and HDR both tweaked individually Sorry I forgot to suggest setting the PJ ports to Enhanced and Auto
Thanks for the correction
rwestley is online now  
post #987 of 1003 Old 03-28-2020, 07:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Archibald1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 4,093
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2482 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post
Yes. SDR and and HDR both tweaked individually Sorry I forgot to suggest setting the PJ ports to Enhanced and Auto
Thanks for the correction
Hi.
No need to thank me bud.

I was just after clarity for the OP.

Things like SD and SDR can create much confusion if interchanged.
rwestley likes this.

“Remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don’t just give up."
Stephen Hawking.
Archibald1 is offline  
post #988 of 1003 Old 03-30-2020, 11:36 AM
Member
 
dbturbo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Have a 3 week old VW295ES that developed an issue 2 weeks ago - occasional random red blocks periodically flashing on the screen, predominantly in the middle to lower quarter of the screen. This has happened while streaming Netflix/Amazon and playing UHD/bluray discs on my UBP-820, while watching HD on Comcast (both live and DVR), and while playing PC movies thru MPC player. I have used 3 different certified HDMI cables all with the same result. Last night the issue occurred while watching an HD movie on the Comcast DVR, I immediately switched the HDMI cable over to my old HW50ES and it played with no issues. Appreciate any thoughts on the possible causes and remedy, thanks.
dbturbo2 is offline  
post #989 of 1003 Old 03-30-2020, 01:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,312
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 569 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbturbo2 View Post
Have a 3 week old VW295ES that developed an issue 2 weeks ago - occasional random red blocks periodically flashing on the screen, predominantly in the middle to lower quarter of the screen. This has happened while streaming Netflix/Amazon and playing UHD/bluray discs on my UBP-820, while watching HD on Comcast (both live and DVR), and while playing PC movies thru MPC player. I have used 3 different certified HDMI cables all with the same result. Last night the issue occurred while watching an HD movie on the Comcast DVR, I immediately switched the HDMI cable over to my old HW50ES and it played with no issues. Appreciate any thoughts on the possible causes and remedy, thanks.
How long is your cable? If it is long try the to put your UBP 820 next to the projector and run a UHD disk using a 6 foot cable to see if you still have the problem. If you do the projector might have a problem. Be sure you also set HDMI for enhanced. You might want to try that first.
rwestley is online now  
post #990 of 1003 Old 03-30-2020, 01:26 PM
Member
 
dbturbo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post
How long is your cable? If it is long try the to put your UBP 820 next to the projector and run a UHD disk using a 6 foot cable to see if you still have the problem. If you do the projector might have a problem. Be sure you also set HDMI for enhanced. You might want to try that first.
Thanks for the reply, HDMI is set to enhanced and UBP 820 is beside and plugged directly into the projector via a 6ft. certified HDMI cable.
dbturbo2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off