JvcControl - Free JVC Projector Ip Control Software - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
  • 10 Post By markmon1
  • 1 Post By markmon1
  • 1 Post By bobof
  • 1 Post By SirMaster
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 10-23-2018, 03:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,522
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4657 Post(s)
Liked: 2951
JvcControl - Free JVC Projector Ip Control Software

If anyone's interested, while doing some scripting on my system, I whipped up a quick little utility to control your JVC projector over your network from your windows PC. It's a quick command line utility that allows you to pass in the 2 digit remote control code and it will send it via network commands. List of all commands are included in the download file as well as source code.

You can download it here if you want it: http://www.hifiandtheater.com/jvccon...p-control-app/

Usage:
Run from command line passing the 2 digit command to execute.
JvcControl {Command}

Example: to switch to USER1:
JvcControl 6C

Setup:
Connect your projector to the network and enter its IP address into the
file JvcControlIp.txt which should be in the same folder as JvcControl.exe.

For help connecting your projector to your network see the manual. But
it’s advised to set the projector to a static IP address or assign it a
static IP in the router’s DHCP routing table. Verify connection to the
projector in command prompt using “ping” command. If you cannot ping
the projector, then you cannot communicate with it.
ping 192.168.1.10 <– for example.

There is no error checking. If you don’t specify command, nothing will happen.
If you specify garbage for a command, garbage gets sent to the projector and
who knows what happens.

The command list is for the RS1000/N5, RS2000/N7, RS3000/NX9 but JVC hasn’t switch
command codes in ages only adds them. So if your projector supports the function,
the code should work.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 03-01-2019, 03:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,522
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4657 Post(s)
Liked: 2951
I have updated to v1.1 on the download link. It now will auto detect the IP address if you run it without any commands. JvcControlIp.txt is no longer required and projector should be automatically found. You can still override this behavior and create a JvcControlIp.txt and enter your IP manually if the auto detection fails.
nanoodhaliwal likes this.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 03-14-2019, 09:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
SirMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Did you forget to include the source code in 1.1 zip?

I'd like to port this to Linux for my own use and the source code would be useful.

Thanks!
SirMaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 25 Old 03-14-2019, 11:44 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 2,889
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2339 Post(s)
Liked: 1486
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
Did you forget to include the source code in 1.1 zip?

I'd like to port this to Linux for my own use and the source code would be useful.

Thanks!
If you have the ability to use Python consider grabbing the Arve tools:
https://github.com/arvehj/jvcprojectortools
JVC_command, jvc_network and jvc_protocol.py implement a very complete 2 way interface for controlling and getting information out of a JVC projector.
SirMaster likes this.
bobof is offline  
post #5 of 25 Old 03-14-2019, 11:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
SirMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
If you have the ability to use Python consider grabbing the Arve tools:
https://github.com/arvehj/jvcprojectortools
JVC_command, jvc_network and jvc_protocol.py implement a very complete 2 way interface for controlling and getting information out of a JVC projector.
Ah, good point. Yeah I shall just utilize this. Thanks!
bobof likes this.
SirMaster is offline  
post #6 of 25 Old 07-01-2019, 03:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
If anyone's interested, while doing some scripting on my system, I whipped up a quick little utility to control your JVC projector over your network from your windows PC. It's a quick command line utility that allows you to pass in the 2 digit remote control code and it will send it via network commands. List of all commands are included in the download file as well as source code.

You can download it here if you want it: http://www.hifiandtheater.com/jvccon...p-control-app/

Usage:
Run from command line passing the 2 digit command to execute.
JvcControl {Command}

Example: to switch to USER1:
JvcControl 6C

Setup:
Connect your projector to the network and enter its IP address into the
file JvcControlIp.txt which should be in the same folder as JvcControl.exe.

For help connecting your projector to your network see the manual. But
it’s advised to set the projector to a static IP address or assign it a
static IP in the router’s DHCP routing table. Verify connection to the
projector in command prompt using “ping” command. If you cannot ping
the projector, then you cannot communicate with it.
ping 192.168.1.10 <– for example.

There is no error checking. If you don’t specify command, nothing will happen.
If you specify garbage for a command, garbage gets sent to the projector and
who knows what happens.

The command list is for the RS1000/N5, RS2000/N7, RS3000/NX9 but JVC hasn’t switch
command codes in ages only adds them. So if your projector supports the function,
the code should work.

Hi markmon1,

I'm trying to use this with my JVC projector and MadVR. I would like to the JVC projector to auto switch to SDR mode when non-HDR files (e.g. 1080p) are played and to switch to my HDR profile when I play 4k files. Can you please share how I can get this setup? I would appreciate any help as I'm new to this.

Thanks
entourage2194 is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 07-04-2019, 06:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,522
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4657 Post(s)
Liked: 2951
Quote:
Originally Posted by entourage2194 View Post
Hi markmon1,

I'm trying to use this with my JVC projector and MadVR. I would like to the JVC projector to auto switch to SDR mode when non-HDR files (e.g. 1080p) are played and to switch to my HDR profile when I play 4k files. Can you please share how I can get this setup? I would appreciate any help as I'm new to this.

Thanks
Are these just video inputs like user1, natural, cinema etc? If so this is easy to do with jvccontrol. Which projector do you have?

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old 07-06-2019, 02:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
Are these just video inputs like user1, natural, cinema etc? If so this is easy to do with jvccontrol. Which projector do you have?
I have the JVC X7900. Any help greatly appreciated
entourage2194 is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 07-06-2019, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,522
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4657 Post(s)
Liked: 2951
Quote:
Originally Posted by entourage2194 View Post
I have the JVC X7900. Any help greatly appreciated
I’d like to help but you didn’t answer all the questions so it not clear what you are trying to do....
markmon1 is offline  
post #10 of 25 Old 07-15-2019, 04:41 AM
Member
 
jespermart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Hey markmon1

I have tried your JvcControl utility but cannot make it change via madVR.
I want your utility to switch to 3 different profiles in madVR.
User 1 = bt.709, User 2 = b.2020 and User 3 = 3D. All profiles are working in madVR but the madVR command line doesn't change the user profile
I can ping my projector which is Jvc N5B and I can also get your utility to switch my Jvs N5B to user 1, 2 and 3 when I run it via Windows 10 run app.
But as soon as I add the commands to madVR, nothing happens.
I have tried to have your utility lying in the root of my c: drive and I have also tried to put the program into my madVR folder, but nothing happens.
Any help that can solve the problem is very much welcomed
jespermart is online now  
post #11 of 25 Old 07-15-2019, 05:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 8,946
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1307 Post(s)
Liked: 761
Nice work on this.

I'm currently looking for a better way to turn on and off my Sony projector which for the moment doesn't have a ethernet cable running to it. So that's rather a tangent but I see how useful this is to people who would need or want it. Things like smart switches can't be used well with projectors because they simply cut the power without letting the PJ do it's cool down routine.

I previously used home bridge and Harmony Hub to add the capability to Siri directly this was great but the newest beta version of IOS messed this up for me and it's back to the drawing board so to speak.
Brian Hampton is online now  
post #12 of 25 Old 07-15-2019, 10:56 PM
Member
 
blackbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Austria
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yesterday I also tried to use Jvc Control. To switch my picture mode. It also switches, but only once. Tonight I will try a bat. with delay.
blackbird is online now  
post #13 of 25 Old 07-16-2019, 05:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
I’d like to help but you didn’t answer all the questions so it not clear what you are trying to do....

Hi, sorry for the vague response. Yes I'd like to input to my User1 for SDR and HDR for 4k HDR content automatically based on content. I hope that's doable?

Thanks
entourage2194 is offline  
post #14 of 25 Old 07-16-2019, 05:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,522
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4657 Post(s)
Liked: 2951
Quote:
Originally Posted by jespermart View Post
Hey markmon1

I have tried your JvcControl utility but cannot make it change via madVR.
I want your utility to switch to 3 different profiles in madVR.
User 1 = bt.709, User 2 = b.2020 and User 3 = 3D. All profiles are working in madVR but the madVR command line doesn't change the user profile
I can ping my projector which is Jvc N5B and I can also get your utility to switch my Jvs N5B to user 1, 2 and 3 when I run it via Windows 10 run app.
But as soon as I add the commands to madVR, nothing happens.
I have tried to have your utility lying in the root of my c: drive and I have also tried to put the program into my madVR folder, but nothing happens.
Any help that can solve the problem is very much welcomed
Perhaps you can paste all your madVR scripts you use to launch it. I know someone else did get this working inside madVR.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 07-16-2019, 05:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,522
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4657 Post(s)
Liked: 2951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
Nice work on this.

I'm currently looking for a better way to turn on and off my Sony projector which for the moment doesn't have a ethernet cable running to it. So that's rather a tangent but I see how useful this is to people who would need or want it. Things like smart switches can't be used well with projectors because they simply cut the power without letting the PJ do it's cool down routine.

I previously used home bridge and Harmony Hub to add the capability to Siri directly this was great but the newest beta version of IOS messed this up for me and it's back to the drawing board so to speak.
Without ethernet control, you can get a USBUIRT and have the PC send IR commands to your projector. I use to operate my 285ES this way before I ran the network cable.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old 07-16-2019, 05:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,522
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4657 Post(s)
Liked: 2951
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackbird View Post
Yesterday I also tried to use Jvc Control. To switch my picture mode. It also switches, but only once. Tonight I will try a bat. with delay.
I'd need a lot more details on this if you're looking for help. What you're doing, how you're launching it, paste your script etc.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #17 of 25 Old 07-16-2019, 01:04 PM
Member
 
blackbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Austria
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
I'd need a lot more details on this if you're looking for help. What you're doing, how you're launching it, paste your script etc.
Thank You it works now
blackbird is online now  
post #18 of 25 Old 07-16-2019, 02:17 PM
Member
 
jespermart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackbird View Post
Thank You it works now
And what did you do to make it works
jespermart is online now  
post #19 of 25 Old 07-16-2019, 10:36 PM
Member
 
blackbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Austria
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Well I have several profiles in Madvr. Eg. One for HDR and one for SDR.
I generated two .bat files. HDR and SDR. In these files are the commands. It was important to delay so that the projector is done with the frequency adjustment until the command works. I have set a timeout of 10 seconds before that.
I do not speak English well so google Translate has to help out.
blackbird is online now  
post #20 of 25 Old 07-17-2019, 02:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,522
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4657 Post(s)
Liked: 2951
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackbird View Post
Well I have several profiles in Madvr. Eg. One for HDR and one for SDR.
I generated two .bat files. HDR and SDR. In these files are the commands. It was important to delay so that the projector is done with the frequency adjustment until the command works. I have set a timeout of 10 seconds before that.
I do not speak English well so google Translate has to help out.
You mean to make sure that the projector is not in the middle of resyncing HDMI because madVR changes the display?
What did you use to delay?

I just added into jvccontrol the ability to use a sleep at the end of any command. So:

JvcControl Lens1 sleep 10 <-- this will delay 10 seconds before changing to lens1.
Remember in a bat file JvcControl is a windows program so control returns to the batch file as soon as it's run. To avoid that and wait for JvcControl to exit you can use:

start /w JvcControl Lens1 sleep 10

I also updated the documentation to list many more hidden commands I added.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #21 of 25 Old 07-17-2019, 03:16 AM
Member
 
blackbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Austria
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Exactly! Sleep did not work with W10. So i set timeout 10


and Thank You for the Tool

Last edited by blackbird; 07-17-2019 at 08:40 AM.
blackbird is online now  
post #22 of 25 Old 07-17-2019, 02:32 PM
Member
 
jespermart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackbird View Post
Exactly! Sleep did not work with W10. So i set timeout 10


and Thank You for the Tool
Could you please post your batfiles😊
jespermart is online now  
post #23 of 25 Old 07-18-2019, 09:17 AM
Member
 
blackbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Austria
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jespermart View Post
Could you please post your batfiles😊

bat hdr off:


timeout /t 10 > nul

c:\JVCKontrolle\JvcControl 6A


bat hdr on:
timeout /t 10 > nul

c:\JVCKontrolle\JvcControl 68



and in Madvr:

if ((srcWidth < 2001) and (deintFps < 26)) "Bluray Profile"
else if ((srcWidth < 2001) and (deintFps > 25)) "Bluray 60p Profile"
else if ((srcWidth > 2000) and (deintFps < 26) and (not HDR)) "Ultra HD Bluray Profile"
else if ((srcWidth > 2000) and (deintFps < 26) and (HDR)) "UHD HDR"
else if ((srcWidth > 2000) and (deintFps > 25) and (not HDR)) "Ultra HD 60p Bluray Profile"
else if ((srcWidth > 2000) and (deintFps > 25) and (HDR)) "UHD 60 HDR"
else "Ultra HD Bluray Profile"


command line ecxecute when this profile is activated



C:\JVCKontrolle\hdr-ein10.bat
blackbird is online now  
post #24 of 25 Old 07-19-2019, 03:18 AM
Member
 
jespermart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackbird View Post
bat hdr off:


timeout /t 10 > nul

c:\JVCKontrolle\JvcControl 6A


bat hdr on:
timeout /t 10 > nul

c:\JVCKontrolle\JvcControl 68



and in Madvr:

if ((srcWidth < 2001) and (deintFps < 26)) "Bluray Profile"
else if ((srcWidth < 2001) and (deintFps > 25)) "Bluray 60p Profile"
else if ((srcWidth > 2000) and (deintFps < 26) and (not HDR)) "Ultra HD Bluray Profile"
else if ((srcWidth > 2000) and (deintFps < 26) and (HDR)) "UHD HDR"
else if ((srcWidth > 2000) and (deintFps > 25) and (not HDR)) "Ultra HD 60p Bluray Profile"
else if ((srcWidth > 2000) and (deintFps > 25) and (HDR)) "UHD 60 HDR"
else "Ultra HD Bluray Profile"


command line ecxecute when this profile is activated



C:\JVCKontrolle\hdr-ein10.bat
My problem is not to change to a specific user, when a profile start in madVR. It's to change back to user 1 when the madVR profile stops
jespermart is online now  
post #25 of 25 Old 07-19-2019, 04:03 AM
Member
 
blackbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Austria
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I would like to know that, too
blackbird is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
ip control , jvc projector , jvc remote

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off