Official JVC RS3000/NX9 - JVC RS2000/NX7/N7 - JVC RS1000/NX5/N5 - Owners Thread - Page 290 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 16847Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8671 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 11:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jeahrens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Iowa, USA
Posts: 4,135
Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2091 Post(s)
Liked: 1398
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffR1 View Post
Well I just took the plunge and bought an RS1000 at my local dealer !
Got it at a good price too, I had to pay a deposit and the rest cash or check (no Visa) because the profit margin is apparently quite tight.
I should be able to pick it up with in a week or less, the supplier has at least 2 in stock.

Pretty chuffed right now !

I may have to cut a hole the wall so, but that's OK.

Bye bye Sony !
Congrats! Report back on the pros and cons when you get it all dialed in!
JeffR1 and bobof like this.

jeahrens is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8672 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 11:32 AM
Member
 
Yoxxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
Just means the box was dropped flat. Have seen this happen on projectors we have inspected and then shipped.
Happened to my RS66 I bought from you guys. Box was the best I've ever seen a projector and the only projector I've ever had delivered broken.
Yoxxy is offline  
post #8673 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 11:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Erod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,859
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1274 Post(s)
Liked: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCOC View Post
Sorry but JVC better should be handling these malfunctioning devices quickly. There is nothing that great about it just the necessary customer service for a 8K $ device. It seems for some JVC can get away with almost anything. I do not tend to post here that often but it’s so obvious that for some JVC can’t do much wrong. If it would have been a Sony projector though then ...
JVC has earned vastly more benefit of the doubt over time than Sony has. Loads more.
dgrizzard likes this.

Video: JVC RS620/X9500 projector, Stewart ST130 screen, Panasonic ub820 UHD player
Audio: Anthem AVM60 preamp, Anthem MCA525 amp, B&K Reference 125.7 amp
Subs: dual SVS PC-12 cylinders
Speakers: RBH SV-661R and SV-661CR fronts, Jamo 626k4 side/rear surrounds, DefTech DI6.5R heights
Erod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8674 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 11:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 932 Post(s)
Liked: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald1 View Post
Or, hurried manufacture due to demand and long waiting lists…..
Perhaps, but not nearly as likely as being damaged in transit. Unless JVC is lying about checking them prior to shipping them out from California (unlikely) I would bet money on it being ok when it was shipped.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is offline  
post #8675 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 11:57 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
tigerhonaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: TN. USA
Posts: 1,684
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Liked: 631
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffR1 View Post
Well I just took the plunge and bought an RS1000 at my local dealer !

Got it at a good price too, I had to pay a deposit and the rest cash or check (no Visa) because the profit margin is apparently quite tight.
I should be able to pick it up with in a week or less, the supplier has at least 2 in stock.

Pretty chuffed right now !

I may have to cut a hole the wall so, but that's OK.

Bye bye Sony !
JeffR1,




Terry
tigerhonaker is offline  
post #8676 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 12:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChldsPlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,164
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1161 Post(s)
Liked: 672
@Manni

Any idea why the Gamma Settings command wouldn't work on iRule? Instead of bringing up the Gamma Settings screen as if I pushed the button on the remote, it changes the installation mode. And unlike the other buttons I have setup to change to various installation modes, it does so with a message on the screen telling me it's changing.

I think I recall the button working properly when I was using IP control, but now it's not with serial. I'm not 100% sure on this, though, I'm pretty sure I tested the button before.

This is the code:

\x21\x89\x01\x52\x43\x37\x33\x45\x35\x0A


Everyone - What do you guys suggests as some sort of vent deflector to help move the air to the side rather than in front? I'd like to limit the fan noise a bit if I can.

The Hodor Theater - Now with Atmos
Projector - JVC D-ILA NX7; Receiver - Yamaha Adventage A3050
LCR speakers - JTR Noesis 228 HT (3); Surr./Back - Klipsch Pro Cinema KPT-8000M (4)
Atmos In-ceiling - Niles DS8HD (4); Subs - Passive JTR Captivator Pro (2)

Last edited by ChldsPlay; 03-28-2019 at 12:54 PM.
ChldsPlay is online now  
post #8677 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 12:38 PM
Senior Member
 
multit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 158
My N5 has arrived today - it's from February 2019 and had 2.00 firmware installed.
After updating the unit and some minutes to get proper temperature, I checked some initial topics:
- sharpness very good into the corners, convergence quite good (a few klicks necessary maybe), no halos
- initial setttings quite perfect regarding brightness/contrast/color/clipping

Compared with my still running X5000 it's a few ticks brighter, but not that much, has quite similar contrast and black.
But the picture itself is significant better overall, due to better sharpness and steady image (both projectors at FI on low, no motion enhancer).
I tried some critical pans (taken from Borneo 4k docu) around trees and the N5 has no flicker and no noise at all.
Short conclusion... the N5 seems to be a worthy upgrade and the initial issues with the units from end of 2018 are gone.
I'm happy

Home theater room with a 7.2.4 setup,
Yamaha CX-A5200/MX-A5000, JVC X5000, Oppo 203,
nubert nuVero series 14/7/3/5 speakers
multit is offline  
post #8678 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 01:21 PM
Senior Member
 
KarlKlammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by multit View Post
My N5 has arrived today

I'm happy
Congratulations!

And you are not writing this in our beloved german forum?

Projection: JVC DLA-NX9
VP/Calibration: Lumagen Radiance Pro, LightSpace CMS, x-rite i1 Pro 2, x-rite i1 Display 3
KarlKlammer is offline  
post #8679 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 02:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Manchester, MA USA
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmonier View Post
JVC is NOT using new and different IR codes with this projector. I use the remote from my RS4910 with my RS3000 all the time (and I prefer it to the new remote). Or are you talking about "Picture Mode" since the new remote no longer has buttons for individual modes but just one button that brings up a selection screen.

Huh. Ok, so the RS3000 uses the same IR codes as the RS4910. I'm not familiar with the RS4910, but I can tell you that the RS2000 uses different codes than my old DILA projector, an RS65, and that none of the JVC options in the list of devices on the directv remote will control my projector. My old RS65 did use the same codes as the one I had before that, the J20. But they are different on the RS2000. Anyway, my question still stands - has anyone gotten a DirecTV remote to control the RS2000? I want to know if updating my DirecTV receiver and/or the remote would let me turn the projector on and off using the DirecTV remote. All I want is to be able to turn it on and off, that's it.
Dave T is offline  
post #8680 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 02:08 PM
Senior Member
 
multit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarlKlammer View Post
Congratulations!
And you are not writing this in our beloved german forum?
I did, but with more words rather than emotions according to the german behaviour

Home theater room with a 7.2.4 setup,
Yamaha CX-A5200/MX-A5000, JVC X5000, Oppo 203,
nubert nuVero series 14/7/3/5 speakers
multit is offline  
post #8681 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 02:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 932 Post(s)
Liked: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave T View Post
Huh. Ok, so the RS3000 uses the same IR codes as the RS4910. I'm not familiar with the RS4910, but I can tell you that the RS2000 uses different codes than my old DILA projector, an RS65, and that none of the JVC options in the list of devices on the directv remote will control my projector. My old RS65 did use the same codes as the one I had before that, the J20. But they are different on the RS2000. Anyway, my question still stands - has anyone gotten a DirecTV remote to control the RS2000? I want to know if updating my DirecTV receiver and/or the remote would let me turn the projector on and off using the DirecTV remote. All I want is to be able to turn it on and off, that's it.
I can't speak to the DirectTV remote (don't have/use one), but I've been using the exact same power on/off codes on my Pronto TSU9400 since I got my first JVC projector (about 20 years ago). I have changed none of the codes used by my Pronto for the JVC projectors.

1) JVC DLA-NX7 & Sony 65Z9D, Yamaha CX-A5200, Outlaw Audio 7900 & 7700, UDP-203, DP-UB9000, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
2) Sony 75Z9D, Yamaha RX-A3080, 2xOutlaw Audio 2200s, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
3) Sony 75X940E, Yamaha RX-A2080, UDP-203, UBP-X800M2, Roku Ultra
bwillcox is offline  
post #8682 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 02:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,246
Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5250 Post(s)
Liked: 3418
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChldsPlay View Post
@Manni

Any idea why the Gamma Settings command wouldn't work on iRule? Instead of bringing up the Gamma Settings screen as if I pushed the button on the remote, it changes the installation mode. And unlike the other buttons I have setup to change to various installation modes, it does so with a message on the screen telling me it's changing.

I think I recall the button working properly when I was using IP control, but now it's not with serial. I'm not 100% sure on this, though, I'm pretty sure I tested the button before.

This is the code:

\x21\x89\x01\x52\x43\x37\x33\x45\x35\x0A


Everyone - What do you guys suggests as some sort of vent deflector to help move the air to the side rather than in front? I'd like to limit the fan noise a bit if I can.
Well one reason this might not be bringing up the gamma screen as if you pressed the gamma button is because this is the wrong code for it
Looks like the correct code (in remote code emulation mode) would be:
\x21\x89\x01\x52\x43\x37\x33\xF5\x0A

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #8683 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 02:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
roar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffR1 View Post
Well I just took the plunge and bought an RS1000 at my local dealer !
Got it at a good price too, I had to pay a deposit and the rest cash or check (no Visa) because the profit margin is apparently quite tight.
I should be able to pick it up with in a week or less, the supplier has at least 2 in stock.

Pretty chuffed right now !

I may have to cut a hole the wall so, but that's OK.

Bye bye Sony !
I bought mine on the weekend local and I'm really enjoying it, 4 movies in the first 24hours, had to take a day off after that though. Finally putting my 4K movies to work rather than just enjoying the Dolby Atmos on them.
JeffR1 likes this.
roar is offline  
post #8684 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 02:58 PM
Senior Member
 
ajax-jp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Not quite Dallas, TX
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 33
My NX9 finally arrived.
I witnessed first hand some rough handling of the box, but I'm happy to say that as of right now it doesn't appear to have caused any problems.
Box showed some minor wear on the outside box; inside box had a single dent the size of a quarter/half-dollar that only went into the outside flap.
Foam is mostly in-tact, took plenty of pictures.

Projector is currently setup in its temporary spot until I can make some time to mount it. I have a chief mount / interface plate ready to go, just need to take down the 40ES.
Speaking of which... the thing is a beast.


Now to figure out what the hell I need to configure.

Speakers: Fronts: Triton One | Center: Supercenter XL | Surrounds: SuperSat 50 | Rear Surrounds: Invisa HTR 7000 | Atmos: 4x Invisa 650
Receiver: Anthem MRX 1120 | Electronics: XBOX One X, PS4 Pro, Roku Ultra, Chromecast Ultra | Power Management: Panamax M5400-PM
Projector: JVC DLA-NX9 | Screen: Screen Innovations Zero Edge Pro 135"
ajax-jp is offline  
post #8685 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 03:08 PM
Senior Member
 
oztheatre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
There is only one plant. The X models are made in the same plant as the RS models. Last year, all the boxes showed Thailand, same for the year before and the year before that. I know that the last four generations were made in Thailand.

Added
This is why there are no RS540/X790's available here in the US. Since there is only one plant, JVC can't build the RS540/X790, when plant tooling is set up for the new models.
Yes there's only one manufacturing plant, but it's been set up in different countries over the past 10 years. I know because I've had models from every line up and I'd pray to the projector gods each time for it be made in Japan.
Dandlj likes this.
oztheatre is offline  
post #8686 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 03:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChldsPlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,164
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1161 Post(s)
Liked: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChldsPlay View Post
@Manni

Any idea why the Gamma Settings command wouldn't work on iRule? Instead of bringing up the Gamma Settings screen as if I pushed the button on the remote, it changes the installation mode. And unlike the other buttons I have setup to change to various installation modes, it does so with a message on the screen telling me it's changing.

I think I recall the button working properly when I was using IP control, but now it's not with serial. I'm not 100% sure on this, though, I'm pretty sure I tested the button before.

This is the code:

\x21\x89\x01\x52\x43\x37\x33\x45\x35\x0A


Everyone - What do you guys suggests as some sort of vent deflector to help move the air to the side rather than in front? I'd like to limit the fan noise a bit if I can.
Well one reason this might not be bringing up the gamma screen as if you pressed the gamma button is because this is the wrong code for it [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/smile.gif[/IMG]
Looks like the correct code (in remote code emulation mode) would be:
\x21\x89\x01\x52\x43\x37\x33\xF5\x0A
So page 75 of the manual has it wrong?

The Hodor Theater - Now with Atmos
Projector - JVC D-ILA NX7; Receiver - Yamaha Adventage A3050
LCR speakers - JTR Noesis 228 HT (3); Surr./Back - Klipsch Pro Cinema KPT-8000M (4)
Atmos In-ceiling - Niles DS8HD (4); Subs - Passive JTR Captivator Pro (2)
ChldsPlay is online now  
post #8687 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 03:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 4,353
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2228 Post(s)
Liked: 773
Im trying to find the ZOOM/1.85 RS232 code for Aspect Ratio but its not in the manual. Can someone help me please as I cant even find 16:9 etc etc as Ive used the old codes from my X9900 but obviously it doesnt have a ZOOM/1.85 ratio like the new models do.

Murray Thompson
X Owner RapalloAV
Absolutly no connection with RapalloNZ
CinemascopE Home Cinema Build & 2014 rebuild, plus new LED ceiling install Christmas 2018
RapalloAV is offline  
post #8688 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 03:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,246
Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5250 Post(s)
Liked: 3418
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChldsPlay View Post
So page 75 of the manual has it wrong?
I'm sorry, I also had it wrong. Yes page 75 looks wrong.

The code is "F5" as ascii characters but in hex. The code in the manual results in E5, which is a lens memory preset #4 .

I believe this should fix it:
\x21\x89\x01\x52\x43\x37\x33\x46\x35\x0A

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #8689 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 03:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Willie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: The Bay - Green Bay, WI
Posts: 1,542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 278
Willie is offline  
post #8690 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 03:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,246
Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5250 Post(s)
Liked: 3418
Quote:
Originally Posted by RapalloAV View Post
Im trying to find the ZOOM/1.85 RS232 code for Aspect Ratio but its not in the manual. Can someone help me please as I cant even find 16:9 etc etc as Ive used the old codes from my X9900 but obviously it doesnt have a ZOOM/1.85 ratio like the new models do.
The aspect codes are:
23H Anamorphic(A) - Switches Anamorphic A
24H Anamorphic(Off) - Switches Anamorphic off
27H Aspect(Zoom) - Switches Aspect to Zoom
2BH Anamorphic(B) - Switches Anamorphic B
33H Anamorphic(C) - Switches Anamorphic C
AEH Aspect(Auto) - Switches Aspect to Auto
AFH Aspect(Native) - Switches Aspect to Just

You have to convert these as to send "23H" it actually wants the ASCII for '2' then the ASCII for '3'. You can use an ascii table like


So to send 23h:
\x21\x89\x01\x52\x43\x37\x33\x32\x33\x0A

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #8691 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 03:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Any recommendations on setting brightness and contrast? My first projector and I'm not sure what to use, and then should I use something different for HDR?
dgrizzard is offline  
post #8692 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 04:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,590
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6689 Post(s)
Liked: 6685
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffR1 View Post
Well I just took the plunge and bought an RS1000 at my local dealer !
Got it at a good price too, I had to pay a deposit and the rest cash or check (no Visa) because the profit margin is apparently quite tight.
I should be able to pick it up with in a week or less, the supplier has at least 2 in stock.

Pretty chuffed right now !

I may have to cut a hole the wall so, but that's OK.

Bye bye Sony !
Just in time for the bulb rebate, at least I think in Canada anyway
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #8693 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChldsPlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,164
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1161 Post(s)
Liked: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
I'm sorry, I also had it wrong. Yes page 75 looks wrong.

The code is "F5" as ascii characters but in hex. The code in the manual results in E5, which is a lens memory preset #4 .

I believe this should fix it:
\x21\x89\x01\x52\x43\x37\x33\x46\x35\x0A
Got it, thanks.

The Hodor Theater - Now with Atmos
Projector - JVC D-ILA NX7; Receiver - Yamaha Adventage A3050
LCR speakers - JTR Noesis 228 HT (3); Surr./Back - Klipsch Pro Cinema KPT-8000M (4)
Atmos In-ceiling - Niles DS8HD (4); Subs - Passive JTR Captivator Pro (2)
ChldsPlay is online now  
post #8694 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 04:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ultra 150 pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Western mass
Posts: 1,554
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by multit View Post
My N5 has arrived today - it's from February 2019 and had 2.00 firmware installed.
After updating the unit and some minutes to get proper temperature, I checked some initial topics:
- sharpness very good into the corners, convergence quite good (a few klicks necessary maybe), no halos
- initial setttings quite perfect regarding brightness/contrast/color/clipping

Compared with my still running X5000 it's a few ticks brighter, but not that much, has quite similar contrast and black.
But the picture itself is significant better overall, due to better sharpness and steady image (both projectors at FI on low, no motion enhancer).
I tried some critical pans (taken from Borneo 4k docu) around trees and the N5 has no flicker and no noise at all.
Short conclusion... the N5 seems to be a worthy upgrade and the initial issues with the units from end of 2018 are gone.
I'm happy
Nice! Glad to see people are getting good samples, my nx5 is perfect and I’m enjoying this machine a lot!

Cracks me up how many keep popping in here saying how jvc pjs are a big mess this year! And they’re usually non owners. Lol
llang269, tommarra and Dandlj like this.

Last edited by ultra 150 pilot; 03-28-2019 at 04:48 PM.
ultra 150 pilot is offline  
post #8695 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 05:13 PM - Thread Starter
We're Nuts About AV
 
ARROW-AV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 4,488
Mentioned: 258 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4115 Post(s)
Liked: 6645
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgrizzard View Post
Any recommendations on setting brightness and contrast? My first projector and I'm not sure what to use, and then should I use something different for HDR?
Yes

Set BRIGHTNESS to -3 and leave CONTRAST as is

markmon1 likes this.
ARROW-AV is offline  
post #8696 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 05:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 3
hi


do you hear a scratching noise at the projector's power ON and when you change the opening of the lens iris?

if yes , is it normal ?

thanks
shin_iori is offline  
post #8697 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 05:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9,173
Mentioned: 334 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5490 Post(s)
Liked: 5714
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChldsPlay View Post
@Manni

Any idea why the Gamma Settings command wouldn't work on iRule? Instead of bringing up the Gamma Settings screen as if I pushed the button on the remote, it changes the installation mode. And unlike the other buttons I have setup to change to various installation modes, it does so with a message on the screen telling me it's changing.

I think I recall the button working properly when I was using IP control, but now it's not with serial. I'm not 100% sure on this, though, I'm pretty sure I tested the button before.

This is the code:

\x21\x89\x01\x52\x43\x37\x33\x45\x35\x0A

I never used it (I use the direct custom gamma commands) but this is the code I have for gamma in irule:

\x21\x89\x01\x52\x43\x37\x33\x37\x35\x0A

Batch Utility V4.02 May 16 2019 to automate measurements files for madVR with support for BD Folders
Manni01 is offline  
post #8698 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 05:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,246
Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5250 Post(s)
Liked: 3418
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni01 View Post
I never used it (I use the direct custom gamma commands) but this is the code I have for gamma in irule:

\x21\x89\x01\x52\x43\x37\x33\x37\x35\x0A
This code (75) will switch gamma mode but not bring up the gamma menu (code F5) (I think that's what he was asking for). The issue is it was incorrectly document in the manual.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #8699 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 05:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by grendelrt View Post
Yeah I would like discrete codes for each picture mode for my Harmony. I found this link, but not sure if they are still accurate with the new models. http://support.jvc.com/consumer/supp....jsp?pageID=11


I used the RS640U in my Harmony Elite. Has 3 lens mode settings, HDR, Natural and Cinema settings plus some others. Works perfect. For power and shutdown I set it for 2 button presses. 1 sec duration and 1 sec pause between.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Tward2 is offline  
post #8700 of 18187 Old 03-28-2019, 06:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
grendelrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 960
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tward2 View Post
I used the RS640U in my Harmony Elite. Has 3 lens mode settings, HDR, Natural and Cinema settings plus some others. Works perfect. For power and shutdown I set it for 2 button presses. 1 sec duration and 1 sec pause between.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I actually did the RS 4910 after I reading another response, but it doesn't have an HDR mode, I will give RS 640U a shot! Do you have your projector start first then delay everything like 40 secs before they turn on? I haven't been able to set a delay to work, I set the receiver for 40sec delay on the power through devices but it doesn't seem to work (it still immediately turns on). If I start everything at the same time I get a blue screen on the projector and have to flip between input 1 and 2 to get the picture back up.
grendelrt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , nx7 , nx9 , rs2000 , rs3000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off