Official JVC RS3000/NX9 - JVC RS2000/NX7/N7 - JVC RS1000/NX5/N5 - Owners Thread - Page 438 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13248Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13111 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 05:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jh901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PITTSBURGH
Posts: 1,358
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 724 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gates View Post
I bought a JVC RS 1000 a few weeks ago and running it with an OPPO 203 with everything on Auto. Would it make much of a difference to buy myself an 820?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
Have been playing with RS1000, while waiting on my RS3000.



Mike or others, any rationale for using a UB820 with an RS1000? I'd think that the processing of 1080P would be better, but what about 4K HDR? Did the JVC/Panny tone mapping benefit the RS1000?



Other benefits to image quality?

HT: Panasonic DP-UB820 | JVC RS600 | 106" x 45" Stewart ST 100 | Cary Audio Cinema 12 | NAD M27 | Elac Uni-Fi UF5, UC5, Debut F5/B6; Focal CMS Sub
STEREO: [Shunyata Denali] Playback Designs MPS-5 (fully upgraded) | Cary Audio SLP-05 tube line level | Cary Audio SA-200.2 ES | Focal Diablo Utopia III DEN: 60" Panasonic VT60
jh901 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13112 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 06:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
BondDonBond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: US
Posts: 801
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 644 Post(s)
Liked: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by readthis13 View Post
I have had my NX9 for about a month now. Kris Deering installed a Lumagen and DCR lens when he calibrated it. So far, I haven't noticed most of the issues mentioned.

I do think that I've seen some whites being displayed as yellow, but I think that when I saw it, I didn't think much of it and assumed it was just into was it was supposed to be. And since, I haven't really looked for it or noticed anything off. However, once (or if) I see it again, I'll likely not be able to unsee it...

Is there a common test people are using to ensure nothing is off on these units?

One odd thing that I noticed this weekend however, is that the convergence had drifted significantly. I've been looking at upgrading my screen, and when I went to focus to get the test patterns, the red and blue were WAY off.

Being that everything was calibrated, I've been afraid to touch anything... It does look better now that I've realigned the pixels, but now I'm questioning if I've made anything else worse, or if something else might be off that I haven't caught.

I'm also not sure if I should consider upgrading the firmware, but I can check with Kris after he looks into his unit when he gets it I suppose.
Just be sure not to check convergence until the projector is on for at least 45MN. That is how long mine takes. Then all is good.

Home Theater: JVC NX7, Stewart 120" 2:35 StudioTech 130, Panamorph DCR Lens, B&W 802 Nautilus, HTM1, 4-B&W 805's for surround, 4-Martin Logan 22's ceiling speakers ATMOS, 2- 18" Velodyn Subs, Marantz 8802A, MacIntosh 8207 AMP and Proceed AMP 5, Oppo 203, Panasonic 820, Apple TV, XBox One
BondDonBond is offline  
post #13113 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 07:16 AM
Member
 
FenceMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 27
How is the auto calibration of the NX5? I have an i1Display Pro, will this work and does it calibrate HDR as well?
FenceMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13114 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 08:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 23,989
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6391 Post(s)
Liked: 6390
Quote:
Originally Posted by docrog View Post
My NX7 was calibrated by Chad B. after approximately 150 hours on the lamp. He provided multiple calibrations, including HDR10, Panasonic/ JVC custom UB820 500 nit curve (etc.). I have looked at the same content clips with all possible combinations and can state that, subjectively, Netflix from the UB820 app with double tone mapping is superior for HDR content streamed from either my Roku Ultra or ATV4K or the UB820 with the dedicated Panasonic/JVC 500 nit curve. I feel one of the reference clips on Netflix is the opening of the 2nd episode of season 1 of "Altered Carbon" ("Fallen Angel"). The first 2 minutes provides a very good test of white clipping, HDR BT2020 color accuracy and (to a lesser extent) black levels. The double toned image from the UB820's app was, for me, the optimal combination compared to other streaming options.
Ya know I guess i never though about double tone mapping but it sounds like you have tried it all
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #13115 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 08:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,291
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1059 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Ya know I guess i never thought about double tone mapping but it sounds like you have tried it all
In the words of the Alka-Seltzer commercial from the early 1970s: "Try it, you'll like it"......................

JVC NX7, Yamaha RX-A3080 (7.2.4 speaker layouts: Dolby Atmos & DTS:X), Panasonic UB820, Oppo 103D, ATV4K, Roku Ultra, TiVo Bolt Vox, Vandersteen Model 3 Signatures & VCC-1 Signature, SVS SB-2000 (2), Clark Synthesis Tactile Bass Transducers (2), Polk PSW-12

Last edited by docrog; 06-24-2019 at 10:52 AM.
docrog is offline  
post #13116 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 12:39 PM
Member
 
wyld0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jh901 View Post
Mike or others, any rationale for using a UB820 with an RS1000? I'd think that the processing of 1080P would be better, but what about 4K HDR? Did the JVC/Panny tone mapping benefit the RS1000?



Other benefits to image quality?
I am looking to pick up a UHD player today for use with my RS1000 and am wondering the same. It seems like tone mapping is the main benefit of the UB820 over some of the other players like the Sony UBP-X800M. Since the RS1000 already does tone mapping, I wonder if this is a waste? I'd like to bet the best picture but curious if the benefits of UB820 are realizable on RS1000.
wyld0 is online now  
post #13117 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 02:22 PM
Member
 
jespermart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Jvc Projector Calibrator

I received my n5b last week and have used the Jvc Projector calibrator to find out that I could easily have my 120 "Elite Cinegrey 5D. The calculator told me that the distance to 120" would be 3.81m and I have 3.90m so I thought everything would be fine, but now it turns out I can only get about 119" at the 3.90m. that is, 1" less at a 9cm=3inches longer distance, are there any others who have experienced so much an inaccuracy on a calibrator from the manufacturer himself. If I use projectorcentral's calculator then the deviations are even bigger, as it tells me that the distance to 120 "only needs to be 3.64m

Last edited by jespermart; 06-24-2019 at 02:32 PM.
jespermart is offline  
post #13118 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 03:46 PM
Member
 
majicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MICHIGAN
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 18
RS1000 thoughts

Finally was able to install my RS1000 it replaced a RS400 that was calibrated. Out of the box with no change in settings and only 3 hrs of use. The SDR is amazing compared to the RS400. Now on HDR not as good as my RS400 even my wife said it was dark. I rechecked the out of box settings to make sure I did not change something and I did not. I will be getting it calibrated after couple hundred lamp hours. I realize it I BRAND NEW just giving out some information.
majicx is offline  
post #13119 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,425
Mentioned: 121 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4483 Post(s)
Liked: 1678
Quote:
Originally Posted by majicx View Post
Now on HDR not as good as my RS400 even my wife said it was dark. I rechecked the out of box settings to make sure I did not change something and I did not.
Are you saying RS400 (with Gamma D) does better HDR than RS1000 with tone mapping? That’s really surprising, unless the RS400 has a very bright custom curve.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 06-24-2019 at 04:32 PM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #13120 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 04:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Aztar35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 2,862
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2282 Post(s)
Liked: 1208
Quote:
Originally Posted by majicx View Post
Finally was able to install my RS1000 it replaced a RS400 that was calibrated. Out of the box with no change in settings and only 3 hrs of use. The SDR is amazing compared to the RS400. Now on HDR not as good as my RS400 even my wife said it was dark. I rechecked the out of box settings to make sure I did not change something and I did not. I will be getting it calibrated after couple hundred lamp hours. I realize it I BRAND NEW just giving out some information.
Try it with different HDR content and see if the auto tone mapping begins to do its thing. Also, you can manually adjust the sliders. Lastly, if you have a UHD player like the Pioneer LX500 or Panny, try setting to an SDR Bt2020 profile and let it map for you.
Aztar35 is offline  
post #13121 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 04:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Aztar35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 2,862
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2282 Post(s)
Liked: 1208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Are you saying RS400 (with Gamma D) does better HDR than RS1000 with tone mapping? That’s hard to believe.
Well, that's just it; maybe he had the player doing the tone-mapping and forgot to keep the settings. I don't know.
Aztar35 is offline  
post #13122 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 05:01 PM
Member
 
majicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MICHIGAN
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 18
CHADB did my calibration and yes his gamma settings changed my RS400. I compared my HDR to my RS400 using HDR from NETFLIX, AMAZON PRIME and a couple HDR DISC on my OPPO 203. The RS1000 is darker but still nice. I am sure a calibration on it will be a big change. Just thought out of the box it would be equal to or better than than my RS400. Yes auto tone mapping is on.
majicx is offline  
post #13123 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 05:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
KanosWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by majicx View Post
CHADB did my calibration and yes his gamma settings changed my RS400. I compared my HDR to my RS400 using HDR from NETFLIX, AMAZON PRIME and a couple HDR DISC on my OPPO 203. The RS1000 is darker but still nice. I am sure a calibration on it will be a big change. Just thought out of the box it would be equal to or better than than my RS400. Yes auto tone mapping is on.
Out of the box HDR is dark, you really need to bump the slider up some for the tone mapping. Granted this also depends on your room, distance of projector etc.. but I found I needed to bump it up to 5 or 6.
KanosWRX is offline  
post #13124 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 05:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by BondDonBond View Post
Just be sure not to check convergence until the projector is on for at least 45MN. That is how long mine takes. Then all is good.
This is a stupid question I know, but I’m new with all this stuff——how would one go about checking convergence on an rs2000? Thanks.

Ron
Ikemi is online now  
post #13125 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 06:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gravi View Post
I have watched several movies so far ob my RS1000/Panasonic 820 combo using "double" tone-mapping and the results have been spectacular. Until last night we watched Captain Marvel 4K UHD disc. It was the worst image I have seen - soft, grainy, and dim. Raising the tone map slider helps a bit but I have not played around enough to see what is optimal. Not only that, even the audio was strangely disappointing - it sounded subdued and no dynamic range, I had to really crank the volume on my receiver. Any one else had the same impression with this disc?
Sorry for the question, but I’m new with this stuff—- in order to double tone map what are the proper settings for the penny ub820 and the jvc rs2000 projector. Thanks.

Ron
Ikemi is online now  
post #13126 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 07:50 PM
Member
 
readthis13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Official JVC RS3000/NX9 - JVC RS2000/NX7/N7 - JVC RS1000/NX5/N5 - Owners Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by BondDonBond View Post
Just be sure not to check convergence until the projector is on for at least 45MN. That is how long mine takes. Then all is good.


Yeah, I had it on for about 2.5 hrs before digging into the settings. I learned early on with this unit that the lenses definitely take a while to warm up.
BondDonBond likes this.
readthis13 is offline  
post #13127 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 08:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
gravi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ikemi View Post
Sorry for the question, but I’m new with this stuff—- in order to double tone map what are the proper settings for the penny ub820 and the jvc rs2000 projector. Thanks.

Ron
On the Panasonic set the display type to "Basic Luminance LCD or Projector" (or something like that, can't remember exactly) and turn HDR optimizer on. This sets the player to tone map to a 500 nits display. On the JVC use the HDR color profile on your picture mode (or the built-in HDR10 picture mode) which will enable the tone map of the incoming 500 nits optimized stream. The results are pretty good, I set my brightness control on the JVC to -3 and the tone map slider at +2. The only time I have not been happy is with Marvel movies (Avengers, Captain Marvel) where the image is definitely sub-par.
gravi is offline  
post #13128 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
jbarteli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by jespermart View Post
I received my n5b last week and have used the Jvc Projector calibrator to find out that I could easily have my 120 "Elite Cinegrey 5D. The calculator told me that the distance to 120" would be 3.81m and I have 3.90m so I thought everything would be fine, but now it turns out I can only get about 119" at the 3.90m. that is, 1" less at a 9cm=3inches longer distance, are there any others who have experienced so much an inaccuracy on a calibrator from the manufacturer himself. If I use projectorcentral's calculator then the deviations are even bigger, as it tells me that the distance to 120 "only needs to be 3.64m
Can't zoom get you there? I also was a little short, but changing from native/auto to zoom I made it.
jbarteli is online now  
post #13129 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 09:39 PM
Member
 
bathes2051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by gravi View Post
On the Panasonic set the display type to "Basic Luminance LCD or Projector" (or something like that, can't remember exactly) and turn HDR optimizer on. This sets the player to tone map to a 500 nits display. On the JVC use the HDR color profile on your picture mode (or the built-in HDR10 picture mode) which will enable the tone map of the incoming 500 nits optimized stream. The results are pretty good, I set my brightness control on the JVC to -3 and the tone map slider at +2. The only time I have not been happy is with Marvel movies (Avengers, Captain Marvel) where the image is definitely sub-par.

Yes, settings at 0 can be dark, even with double tone mapping.
I use tone mapping at +3 on the JVC, and on the 820 I am using “Natural environment” (optimizer at +4).

I just watched my first Disney title (Guardians of the Galaxy 2), and it was very dark out of the box, due to the absence of HDR metadata.
Setting the 820 HDR setting to “Bright environment” (optimizer at +11) brings the brightness back, but the picture is flat, since the black levels are elevated. I guess I need to try toning the brightness setting down next.
bathes2051 is online now  
post #13130 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 09:56 PM
Senior Member
 
jabz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Would the issue of the N series locking up after showing the Blue/Green Stripes have anything to do with the QC issues on a component which delayed their launch?, Some might have slipped though production without this component fix/update?

Sony VPL-VW520 | Elitescreens TT 135" 2.35:1 | Elitescreens TT 120" 16x9 | Prismasonic HD-6000F | Onkyo TX-RZ3100 | Oppo UDP-203 | PS4 PRO | ATV4K | LG OLED 65 C7 | Klipsch Reference RP-280 | Klipsch Reference RP-280C | Klipsch Reference RP-250S | Klipsch Reference RP-150M | Klipsch Reference R-115SW | Klipsch Reference R-140SA
jabz is offline  
post #13131 of 13967 Old 06-24-2019, 10:23 PM
Member
 
SoonerDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Mathus View Post
There is a bug associated with some UB9000 units that results in serious lip-sync issue. Panasonic is aware of the problem. It apparently does not affect UB820 and is only an issue with some UB9000s.
An upcoming firmware will likely re-install the app to fix the problem????
Having a terrible lip sync issue with Netflix using my 820. Discs are fine.
Dandlj likes this.
SoonerDoc is offline  
post #13132 of 13967 Old 06-25-2019, 12:12 AM
Member
 
jespermart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbarteli View Post
Can't zoom get you there? I also was a little short, but changing from native/auto to zoom I made it.
No, the calculator told me the distance to be 3.81m - 7.75m to make 120"
jespermart is offline  
post #13133 of 13967 Old 06-25-2019, 02:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
hjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: The Heart of Dixie
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 19
i1 Display Pro with JVC Autocal

Quote:
Originally Posted by FenceMan View Post
How is the auto calibration of the NX5? I have an i1Display Pro, will this work and does it calibrate HDR as well?
I have the i1DisplayPro and it worked well with my RS3000. There is one glitch - the JVC software provides a screen that gives real-time feedback as to the proper position of the sensor; supposed to move it until it is within the yellow box. I could never get that to work. Even with sensor at screen it showed it too far from the screen. So, I set it to about 4 feet back from the screen.


Anyone with other suggestions for sensor placement for the i1Pro, please let me know. A camera type tripod works well; mount the sensor to it and aim the sensor to about middle of the screen.


I ran REC709, BT220 and HDR calibrations and stored them in User memories. It is recommended to not save the calibrations to the factory curves (THX, HDR, etc,) in case you want to return to those settings.


Another important step during sensor white balance calibration is when you select the i1 in the JVC software as the sensor you have to push the button on the i1Pro immediately. If you don't, the software will never find the sensor. And be sure to use the white balance attachment that came with the i1 to do the sensor calibration.


Iris control has to be set to Manual, not Auto 1 or Auto 2. And make sure you set the desired lamp power for each desired calibration. Also, if you have a HDFury (Vertex, DIVA, etc.) that is connected to the JVC's RS232 port, be sure to disconnect it during calibration. This may not be necessary but the HDFury could force setting changes to the JVC as calibration is being done.


You will be pleased with the amount of time the software saves doing the calibration. Far quicker than doing it manually and I really like the results.
marswill likes this.

Last edited by hjones; 06-25-2019 at 02:31 AM.
hjones is offline  
post #13134 of 13967 Old 06-25-2019, 03:42 AM
Member
 
FenceMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by hjones View Post
I have the i1DisplayPro and it worked well with my RS3000. There is one glitch - the JVC software provides a screen that gives real-time feedback as to the proper position of the sensor; supposed to move it until it is within the yellow box. I could never get that to work. Even with sensor at screen it showed it too far from the screen. So, I set it to about 4 feet back from the screen.


Anyone with other suggestions for sensor placement for the i1Pro, please let me know. A camera type tripod works well; mount the sensor to it and aim the sensor to about middle of the screen.


I ran REC709, BT220 and HDR calibrations and stored them in User memories. It is recommended to not save the calibrations to the factory curves (THX, HDR, etc,) in case you want to return to those settings.


Another important step during sensor white balance calibration is when you select the i1 in the JVC software as the sensor you have to push the button on the i1Pro immediately. If you don't, the software will never find the sensor. And be sure to use the white balance attachment that came with the i1 to do the sensor calibration.


Iris control has to be set to Manual, not Auto 1 or Auto 2. And make sure you set the desired lamp power for each desired calibration. Also, if you have a HDFury (Vertex, DIVA, etc.) that is connected to the JVC's RS232 port, be sure to disconnect it during calibration. This may not be necessary but the HDFury could force setting changes to the JVC as calibration is being done.


You will be pleased with the amount of time the software saves doing the calibration. Far quicker than doing it manually and I really like the results.
Awesome thanks, couple things lost me though -

Another important step during sensor white balance calibration is when you select the i1 in the JVC software as the sensor you have to push the button on the i1Pro immediately. - I have never pushed any button on mine when using with Calman and Lumagen??

And be sure to use the white balance attachment that came with the i1 to do the sensor calibration - Can you explain what this is? I have never done this with Calman and I don't remember any attachment? All I have is the meter, the instructions and the CD?

Thanks in advance.
FenceMan is offline  
post #13135 of 13967 Old 06-25-2019, 04:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
hjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: The Heart of Dixie
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by FenceMan View Post
Awesome thanks, couple things lost me though -

Another important step during sensor white balance calibration is when you select the i1 in the JVC software as the sensor you have to push the button on the i1Pro immediately. - I have never pushed any button on mine when using with Calman and Lumagen??

And be sure to use the white balance attachment that came with the i1 to do the sensor calibration - Can you explain what this is? I have never done this with Calman and I don't remember any attachment? All I have is the meter, the instructions and the CD?

Thanks in advance.
I bet you purchased only the sensor. Mine is the full kit (>$1K) that has several attachments, including the white balance one that I mentioned. You may calibrate on black; follow the meter's instructions.

As for pushing the button, I bet you still have to do that. I thought I had a bad sensor until I saw on the auto cal thread that the button push is required. So, if the JVC software does not find your sensor, push the button on the side of the i1Pro.
hjones is offline  
post #13136 of 13967 Old 06-25-2019, 05:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbarteli View Post
Can't zoom get you there? I also was a little short, but changing from native/auto to zoom I made it.
Are you finding the picture quality suffering in any way by using the zoom option?
Des511 is online now  
post #13137 of 13967 Old 06-25-2019, 05:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,425
Mentioned: 121 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4483 Post(s)
Liked: 1678
Quote:
Originally Posted by FenceMan View Post
How is the auto calibration of the NX5? I have an i1Display Pro, will this work and does it calibrate HDR as well?
The i1Display Pro (colorimeter) does not work with JVC Autocal. You need a Datacolor Spyder5, or x-rite i1Pro2 (spectrometer).
Manni01 likes this.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #13138 of 13967 Old 06-25-2019, 06:17 AM
Member
 
FenceMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
The i1Display Pro (colorimeter) does not work with JVC Autocal. You need a Datacolor Spyder5, or x-rite i1Pro2 (spectrometer).
This one? https://www.amazon.com/Datacolor-Spy...s%2C149&sr=8-3
FenceMan is offline  
post #13139 of 13967 Old 06-25-2019, 06:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,425
Mentioned: 121 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4483 Post(s)
Liked: 1678
Quote:
Originally Posted by FenceMan View Post
Yes. Even the Spyder5 Express works, if you find one at a lower price.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #13140 of 13967 Old 06-25-2019, 07:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 15,771
Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6612 Post(s)
Liked: 7676
Quote:
Originally Posted by majicx View Post
CHADB did my calibration and yes his gamma settings changed my RS400. I compared my HDR to my RS400 using HDR from NETFLIX, AMAZON PRIME and a couple HDR DISC on my OPPO 203. The RS1000 is darker but still nice. I am sure a calibration on it will be a big change. Just thought out of the box it would be equal to or better than than my RS400. Yes auto tone mapping is on.
Imagine what Chad could do with your RS1000 with HDR. It was night and day after he calibrated my RS4500 !
Jive Turkey, Chad B and Manni01 like this.
Craig Peer is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , nx7 , nx9 , rs2000 , rs3000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off