Official JVC RS3000/NX9 - JVC RS2000/NX7/N7 - JVC RS1000/NX5/N5 - Owners Thread - Page 439 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13320Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13141 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 07:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
SirMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by jespermart View Post
I received my n5b last week and have used the Jvc Projector calibrator to find out that I could easily have my 120 "Elite Cinegrey 5D. The calculator told me that the distance to 120" would be 3.81m and I have 3.90m so I thought everything would be fine, but now it turns out I can only get about 119" at the 3.90m. that is, 1" less at a 9cm=3inches longer distance, are there any others who have experienced so much an inaccuracy on a calibrator from the manufacturer himself. If I use projectorcentral's calculator then the deviations are even bigger, as it tells me that the distance to 120 "only needs to be 3.64m


Are you sure you didn’t have the calculator in 1.9:1 aspect ratio? As far as I know 1.9:1 is the default selection for the NX on projector central.

Remember the NX are natively 1.9:1 aspect ratio, and you can have a larger and wider screen when in 1.9:1 as opposed to 16:9.

I found the projector central calculator spot on for my NX5.
SirMaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13142 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 09:22 AM
Senior Member
 
jbarteli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Des511 View Post
Are you finding the picture quality suffering in any way by using the zoom option?
No I do not.
Des511 likes this.
jbarteli is online now  
post #13143 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
SirMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Des511 View Post
Are you finding the picture quality suffering in any way by using the zoom option?


I use zoom on my NX5 always and see no real damage to the picture from the slight scaling.

I do it so I can get a bigger picture and to use more of the projectors light output.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
riddle and Des511 like this.
SirMaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13144 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 10:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jeahrens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Iowa, USA
Posts: 3,736
Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1809 Post(s)
Liked: 1135
Quote:
Originally Posted by gravi View Post
I have watched several movies so far ob my RS1000/Panasonic 820 combo using "double" tone-mapping and the results have been spectacular. Until last night we watched Captain Marvel 4K UHD disc. It was the worst image I have seen - soft, grainy, and dim. Raising the tone map slider helps a bit but I have not played around enough to see what is optimal. Not only that, even the audio was strangely disappointing - it sounded subdued and no dynamic range, I had to really crank the volume on my receiver. Any one else had the same impression with this disc?
Try +3 HDR Optimizer and -2 brightness on the Panasonic. Audio try +1-3dB over reference. Disney titles always need TLC to look and sound right.

On my 130" scope screen the JVC is set to HDR (PQ) with an overall map at +3.


Last edited by jeahrens; 06-25-2019 at 10:57 AM.
jeahrens is offline  
post #13145 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 11:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
BondDonBond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: US
Posts: 801
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 644 Post(s)
Liked: 563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ikemi View Post
This is a stupid question I know, but I’m new with all this stuff——how would one go about checking convergence on an rs2000? Thanks.

Ron
Around page 55 in the manual has it but be careful. Search for posts in here on alignment because you want to do it right. There are several posts back that talk about it.

Home Theater: JVC NX7, Stewart 120" 2:35 StudioTech 130, Panamorph DCR Lens, B&W 802 Nautilus, HTM1, 4-B&W 805's for surround, 4-Martin Logan 22's ceiling speakers ATMOS, 2- 18" Velodyn Subs, Marantz 8802A, MacIntosh 8207 AMP and Proceed AMP 5, Oppo 203, Panasonic 820, Apple TV, XBox One
BondDonBond is offline  
post #13146 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 11:42 AM
Member
 
FenceMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Yes. Even the Spyder5 Express works, if you find one at a lower price.
Appreciate that, I ordered and will soon enter the world of JVC Auto Calibration!!!
riddle likes this.
FenceMan is online now  
post #13147 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
I use zoom on my NX5 always and see no real damage to the picture from the slight scaling.

I do it so I can get a bigger picture and to use more of the projectors light output.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

For how much is lighter?


Thanks
riddle is offline  
post #13148 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 12:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
SirMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by riddle View Post
For how much is lighter?


Thanks
Well it's 6.67% more of the panel, so it's 6.67% more lumens.
riddle likes this.
SirMaster is offline  
post #13149 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
gravi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeahrens View Post
Try +3 HDR Optimizer and -2 brightness on the Panasonic. Audio try +1-3dB over reference. Disney titles always need TLC to look and sound right.

On my 130" scope screen the JVC is set to HDR (PQ) with an overall map at +3.
Thanks, will try the optimizer settings.

+1-3 db over reference volume? Wow, I have never felt the need to go over -12 db for any movie. I wonder why Disney mixes the soundtrack at such a low level. I will try, just have to remember to turn it down before I pop in another disc otherwise I will be blowing out my windows!
gravi is offline  
post #13150 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 01:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jeahrens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Iowa, USA
Posts: 3,736
Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1809 Post(s)
Liked: 1135
Quote:
Originally Posted by gravi View Post
Thanks, will try the optimizer settings.

+1-3 db over reference volume? Wow, I have never felt the need to go over -12 db for any movie. I wonder why Disney mixes the soundtrack at such a low level. I will try, just have to remember to turn it down before I pop in another disc otherwise I will be blowing out my windows!
Who knows on the volume. The last few releases from them are better. Their earliest 4K titles I've gone as high as +5db.

jeahrens is offline  
post #13151 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 01:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 15,787
Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6618 Post(s)
Liked: 7690
Quote:
Originally Posted by gravi View Post
Thanks, will try the optimizer settings.

+1-3 db over reference volume? Wow, I have never felt the need to go over -12 db for any movie. I wonder why Disney mixes the soundtrack at such a low level. I will try, just have to remember to turn it down before I pop in another disc otherwise I will be blowing out my windows!
I have some of these Disney films at 3+ too. Then again lots of my guests love movies really loud ! So I have non Disney films f'n loud often too !
Craig Peer is offline  
post #13152 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 02:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,023
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6405 Post(s)
Liked: 6399
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabz View Post
Would the issue of the N series locking up after showing the Blue/Green Stripes have anything to do with the QC issues on a component which delayed their launch?, Some might have slipped though production without this component fix/update?
We will never know the answer to that......

Quote:
Originally Posted by majicx View Post
CHADB did my calibration and yes his gamma settings changed my RS400. I compared my HDR to my RS400 using HDR from NETFLIX, AMAZON PRIME and a couple HDR DISC on my OPPO 203. The RS1000 is darker but still nice. I am sure a calibration on it will be a big change. Just thought out of the box it would be equal to or better than than my RS400. Yes auto tone mapping is on.
Is Chad going to do your RS1000?
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #13153 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 02:54 PM
Member
 
nanoodhaliwal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I received my RS1000, what would be my best size & aspect ratio for AT screen (bought XY soundMax 4K)? My HT will be in basement and in well controlled room with first 12ft painted black and velvet curtains will be added later if needed. Width 10ft x length 21ft x height 7ft. I have been reading a lot and not able to make up my mind.

Any help would appreciated.
nanoodhaliwal is offline  
post #13154 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 03:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 86
I currently own an x970R. I use it with MadVR and also have an Oppo 203 as an option.

I've been thinking of upgrading to an NX7; or, instead of investing in a new projector, was thinking of picking up a Lumagen Radiance Pro.

Would the Lumagen provide a significant boost in pq over madVR?

Last edited by Sittler27; 06-25-2019 at 03:06 PM.
Sittler27 is offline  
post #13155 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 03:13 PM
Member
 
majicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MICHIGAN
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Chadb rs1000

Yes. I hope to have him do my RS1000. I need to get some hours on it first. I hope to get on his list tomorrow unfortunately for me I live north of Detroit and it takes a while for more clients to sign up so it is worth it to come to my area.
majicx is offline  
post #13156 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 03:34 PM
Member
 
tehknics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by nanoodhaliwal View Post
I received my RS1000, what would be my best size & aspect ratio for AT screen (bought XY soundMax 4K)? My HT will be in basement and in well controlled room with first 12ft painted black and velvet curtains will be added later if needed. Width 10ft x length 21ft x height 7ft. I have been reading a lot and not able to make up my mind.

Any help would appreciated.
I was just in a similar situation. My HT room is in my basement, approx 13x17, fully light controlled. I ended up with a 115" 2.35:1 screen w/ an RS2000, and I absolutely love it. I would have loved to go a little wider, but given my speaker placement, I went as wide as I could without putting the image behind the towers for some viewers. I thought about going to a 130" or so AT screen and building a fake wall and so on, but being my first HT we decided that we would see how this setup turned out. Since I didn't even consider an AT screen till it was all complete, it would be quite a while before I could make the fake wall and get it ready. Honestly, I love it how it is. I'm sure the picture needs some adjustments done, but for a factory image, it's amazing. The scope screen really sets it apart too in my opinion. I know there are some reflections on the speakers, etc, but in all honesty, it's not that noticeable, and the wife agreed on the placement and the colors... so I'm happy to be where I am!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MVIMG_20190608_212952.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	995.5 KB
ID:	2584458   Click image for larger version

Name:	MVIMG_20190619_001349.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	790.0 KB
ID:	2584460  
tehknics is offline  
post #13157 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 04:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Des511 View Post
Are you finding the picture quality suffering in any way by using the zoom option?


I use zoom on my NX5 always and see no real damage to the picture from the slight scaling.

I do it so I can get a bigger picture and to use more of the projectors light output.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks for replying. I was told by someone who does calibration that using the zoom would soften the image so I just wanted to hear from people who actually use it and their thoughts on it.
Des511 is offline  
post #13158 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 05:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by majicx View Post
Yes. I hope to have him do my RS1000. I need to get some hours on it first. I hope to get on his list tomorrow unfortunately for me I live north of Detroit and it takes a while for more clients to sign up so it is worth it to come to my area.
Depending on the timing I should look into this as well. I'm north of Detroit by a couple of hours so could get on that similar list. Though honestly I was considering getting something like a LightSpace and trying the JVC Autocal; that way I could do it periodically. But I'd probably be better served to get the whole system calibrated the first time.

I'd like to give a Shout-out to AVScience and @Mike Garrett for the new RS2000, just awaiting my bulb from JVC! This things a beast compared to my old 4910U! It came with 2.06 and no vertical bar issues thus far, but I only have about 10 hours on it and now I'm anxiously awaiting contractors to finish out building the room. So it may be a bit .... bleh

I would like to say anyone thinking about jumping into a new JVC should give Mike or Craig an email. Fast response, no pressure, and they make the whole process a breeze! I bought both my JVC's from AVS and they were both helpful each time.
Craig Peer and Mike Garrett like this.
rcsauvag is offline  
post #13159 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 05:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by tehknics View Post
I was just in a similar situation. My HT room is in my basement, approx 13x17, fully light controlled. I ended up with a 115" 2.35:1 screen w/ an RS2000, and I absolutely love it. I would have loved to go a little wider, but given my speaker placement, I went as wide as I could without putting the image behind the towers for some viewers. I thought about going to a 130" or so AT screen and building a fake wall and so on, but being my first HT we decided that we would see how this setup turned out. Since I didn't even consider an AT screen till it was all complete, it would be quite a while before I could make the fake wall and get it ready. Honestly, I love it how it is. I'm sure the picture needs some adjustments done, but for a factory image, it's amazing. The scope screen really sets it apart too in my opinion. I know there are some reflections on the speakers, etc, but in all honesty, it's not that noticeable, and the wife agreed on the placement and the colors... so I'm happy to be where I am!
What type/gain of screen? How far back do you sit?
rcsauvag is offline  
post #13160 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 05:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by gravi View Post
On the Panasonic set the display type to "Basic Luminance LCD or Projector" (or something like that, can't remember exactly) and turn HDR optimizer on. This sets the player to tone map to a 500 nits display. On the JVC use the HDR color profile on your picture mode (or the built-in HDR10 picture mode) which will enable the tone map of the incoming 500 nits optimized stream. The results are pretty good, I set my brightness control on the JVC to -3 and the tone map slider at +2. The only time I have not been happy is with Marvel movies (Avengers, Captain Marvel) where the image is definitely sub-par.
Hi Gravi,

Thanks for the information. Just another quick question—-could I also use the bt2020 colour profile on the jvc with double tone mapping if I wanted to engage the color filter? Thanks.
Ikemi is offline  
post #13161 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 05:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1060 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Yes. Even the Spyder5 Express works, if you find one at a lower price.
Anyone interested in obtaining a once used Spyder 5 Pro should PM me.

JVC NX7, Yamaha RX-A3080 (7.2.4 speaker layouts: Dolby Atmos & DTS:X), Panasonic UB820, Oppo 103D, ATV4K, Roku Ultra, TiVo Bolt Vox, Vandersteen Model 3 Signatures & VCC-1 Signature, SVS SB-2000 (2), Clark Synthesis Tactile Bass Transducers (2), Polk PSW-12
docrog is offline  
post #13162 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 05:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom899's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Brownstown, Michigan
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by majicx View Post
Yes. I hope to have him do my RS1000. I need to get some hours on it first. I hope to get on his list tomorrow unfortunately for me I live north of Detroit and it takes a while for more clients to sign up so it is worth it to come to my area.
I got on his list a few days ago. I live just south of Detroit. So that's two of us in south east Michigan. I'm hoping he can come in August. I'm sure I'll be well over 100 hours by then.

Pioneer UDP-LX500 | Denon AVR-X4400H | Emotiva A-300 2ch amp | Emotiva PA-1 monoblock | JVC DLA-RS1000 Projector | Mini DSP 4x2 | Dune HD Smart D1 | ZIDOO Z9S | Buttkicker system | HSU VTF-3 MK4 subs(2) | HSU MBM-12 MK2 Mid bass module | Klipsch RP-8000F(2) | Klipsch RP-504C | Klipsch RS-62 II(2) | Polk RC80i Ceiling(4) | Carada 134” screen | unRAID 40TB
Tom899 is offline  
post #13163 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 05:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
gravi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ikemi View Post
Hi Gravi,

Thanks for the information. Just another quick question—-could I also use the bt2020 colour profile on the jvc with double tone mapping if I wanted to engage the color filter? Thanks.
Yes you can, if you have the RS2000/3000. I should have clarified - you have to use HDR(PQ) gamma setting, that's what enables tone mapping regardless of the color profile.
gravi is offline  
post #13164 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 07:46 PM
Member
 
bathes2051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by bathes2051 View Post
Yes, settings at 0 can be dark, even with double tone mapping.
I use tone mapping at +3 on the JVC, and on the 820 I am using “Natural environment” (optimizer at +4).

I just watched my first Disney title (Guardians of the Galaxy 2), and it was very dark out of the box, due to the absence of HDR metadata.
Setting the 820 HDR setting to “Bright environment” (optimizer at +11) brings the brightness back, but the picture is flat, since the black levels are elevated. I guess I need to try toning the brightness setting down next.
The picture is indeed better when lowering the brightness at the same as time as bumping the Panasonic optimizer up.
Another setting to play with is the recently added (firmware 1.55) System Gamma adjustment, which adds a non-linear gamma curve on top of the EOTF curve:


I have a Firehawk G3 screen that tends to darken the image, so a brighter gamma usually helps.
bathes2051 is offline  
post #13165 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 07:58 PM
Member
 
wyld0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I picked up a Panasonic UB820 and watched Captain Marvel and it was meh. I should have read the suggested tone mapping tweaks here first. I did notice the Netflix app does not frame rate match like it does with Kodi or AppleTV. I'm surprised this is not a bigger deal to more folks. I know most probably buy it for UHD disks primarily but I saw reference on here that the Netflix quality of the UB820 was superior to several other sources.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
wyld0 is offline  
post #13166 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 08:17 PM
Member
 
superman1213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hey, guys. Just got my NX7 after many months of preparation. I’ve followed this thread for months and had prepared myself for any of the challenges that may come my way based on other postings. Got it mounted and was beholding the image, but I seem to have an issue I’ve not seen cited on here. The projector is ceiling mounted and I seem to have a bluish horizontal bar at the very top of the screen. Goes all the way from left to right. Anyone else see or heard of this? I was not previously aware that this could be an issue.
superman1213 is offline  
post #13167 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 08:26 PM
Member
 
bathes2051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyld0 View Post
I picked up a Panasonic UB820 and watched Captain Marvel and it was meh. I should have read the suggested tone mapping tweaks here first. I did notice the Netflix app does not frame rate match like it does with Kodi or AppleTV. I'm surprised this is not a bigger deal to more folks. I know most probably buy it for UHD disks primarily but I saw reference on here that the Netflix quality of the UB820 was superior to several other sources.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk

I’ve seen reported that Panasonic offers the option, but Netflix explicitly declined to support frame matching in their app. No idea why.
bathes2051 is offline  
post #13168 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 09:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,558
Mentioned: 232 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11822 Post(s)
Liked: 9357
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
I currently own an x970R. I use it with MadVR and also have an Oppo 203 as an option.

I've been thinking of upgrading to an NX7; or, instead of investing in a new projector, was thinking of picking up a Lumagen Radiance Pro.

Would the Lumagen provide a significant boost in pq over madVR?
Depending on how good your MadVR setup is, I would not expect an improvement in picture quality with Lumagen, but Lumagen will work with all sources and you do not have to rip your content to a hard drive.
Manni01 likes this.
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #13169 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
 
jabz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Hi on the N7/RS2000 is it possible to NOT engage the filter in HDR viewing mode? If not then it might be better to get the N5/RS1000 due to more brightness for HDR viewing?

Sony VPL-VW520 | Elitescreens TT 135" 2.35:1 | Elitescreens TT 120" 16x9 | Prismasonic HD-6000F | Onkyo TX-RZ3100 | Oppo UDP-203 | PS4 PRO | ATV4K | LG OLED 65 C7 | Klipsch Reference RP-280 | Klipsch Reference RP-280C | Klipsch Reference RP-250S | Klipsch Reference RP-150M | Klipsch Reference R-115SW | Klipsch Reference R-140SA
jabz is offline  
post #13170 of 14096 Old 06-25-2019, 10:02 PM
Member
 
cindernat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by superman1213 View Post
Hey, guys. Just got my NX7 after many months of preparation. I’ve followed this thread for months and had prepared myself for any of the challenges that may come my way based on other postings. Got it mounted and was beholding the image, but I seem to have an issue I’ve not seen cited on here. The projector is ceiling mounted and I seem to have a bluish horizontal bar at the very top of the screen. Goes all the way from left to right. Anyone else see or heard of this? I was not previously aware that this could be an issue.
Unfortunately that seems like a defect a few owners reported early on once these projectors were released, they had to be exchanged. That indicates panels or mirrors are out of alignment inside (either during manufacture or shipping).

Haven't heard reports of that issue for some months now though - although might be better for you to put up a photo to ensure we're talking about the same thing and not the intermittent blue/green bar issue which is different.

Sorry to hear!
cindernat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , nx7 , nx9 , rs2000 , rs3000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off