Official JVC RS3000/NX9 - JVC RS2000/NX7/N7 - JVC RS1000/NX5/N5 - Owners Thread - Page 59 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 12351Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1741 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 02:27 AM
Senior Member
 
KarlKlammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by W.Mayer View Post
In Germany it is still unclear when we will get first units but it looks like till end of this months.
I just got the information that I should prepare myself for mid Febuary.
KarlKlammer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1742 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 02:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,238
Mentioned: 100 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4418 Post(s)
Liked: 2768
Quote:
Originally Posted by RapalloAV View Post
Can someone please test if Low Latency mode will work when the anamorphic mode is in A please?
I have only just noticed on my X9900 that Low Latency will only work when the anamorphic mode is OFF, when I bring in my Isco IIIL on the cineslide and engage anamorphic A on the X9900, Low latency is turned off!

As Im getting the NX9, I would hate this to happen with it, if I engage Low latency, I want it on regardless if the anamorphic mode is in OFF or ON.

Maybe this is a bug on the X9900, would love to see what others think???
Quote:
Originally Posted by loggeo View Post
I am not optimistic that we can enable Low Latency Mode using an A-lens mode as it would require image processing I guess.
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Mathews View Post
Good find, and think it may not be a bug, but possibly an undesired feature


Simplistically I always thought low latency modes are simply just turning off much of the image processing. Anamorphic modes are in the image processing area of firmware. At least some processing needs to be activated to do the scaling.

Note this means that the quick brown fox will not be one to on pixel mapping, it will be scaled. While version 1.17 made improvements, its still not perfect even without anamorphic. That said, folks have said at normal viewing distance will pretty much be non issue, I agree, but looking forward to seeing. I'm going to run Paladin DCR with RS3000, so will be scaling in both horizontal and vertical directions.

I believe it's been reported the on board scaling has been improved over what's in your x9900. Is that what your using to do the vertical stretch with your isco? If so, and your happy with it, we should be fine with image content.

For desktop monitor type content, probably use your cineslide to move lens of way and turn low latency mode back on.
Hey guys I just checked my RS4500 in this regard, and you *can* enable low latency and anamorphic modes A and B both at the same time. The new 4K line is suppose to have the same processing from the RS4500 so I think this will not be an issue.
David Mathews, loggeo and wombats like this.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #1743 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 03:08 AM
Senior Member
 
BruceJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizziwig View Post
@BruceJK Was your N7 also an October build? Other than the one unit Mike G reported selling, has anyone else gotten a December sample? Wondering what the differences will be.
My NX7 was a December build. A very low serial number so I'm not sure you can really say mass production started in December for the NX7/N7/RS2000. Substantial numbers should be built and shipping in January.
Wizziwig likes this.

Bruce K.
BruceJK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1744 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 03:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quite a few TW shows broadcast in 2.00:1 ratio (2:1) ratio.

I have a scope screen. Are the new projectors able to zoom 2:1 ratio so it appears without black bars on a scope screen?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dandlj is offline  
post #1745 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 03:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
David Mathews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Howell, MI, USA
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 377 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by loggeo View Post
I have a dcr a couple of months now and I 'm waiting for the rs3000. Thankfully I have a lumagen pro and I can use it with my rs500. Given that my throw ratio is just above 1.4, I will need to make use of the distortion control on the new jvc. It will be a cool feature.
Quote:
Originally Posted by loggeo View Post
I suppose if we assign the processing/scaling to Lumagen Pro and we don't use JVC's anamorphic modes, then there is no reason why the Low Latency Mode will not work on our JVCs.


May play with distortion control, it is cool feature, but as of now will prob leave it off. I'm running similar short throw, and yup, can see barrel distortion but its not severe. I adjust zoom a bit, let masking hide it, and quickly forget it's even there. Less manipulation of image required by the onboard processing, but maybe it's up to the task, we shall see

Off board processing agree could be good to turn low latency mode back on.
Edit: see markmon1 post above, 4500 on board processing can enable both low latency and anamorphic modes at same time
Edit 2: see Mike's and Craigs posts confirming small distortion and latest x series can also do mode simultaneously
Craig Peer likes this.

Dave

Last edited by David Mathews; 01-14-2019 at 03:31 PM.
David Mathews is offline  
post #1746 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 03:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 976 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caudio18 View Post
Has anyone tried the NX7 or NX9 with a Paladin lens yet? I have a 153" 2.40:1 Screen and had planned on using it for extra brightness, just was wondering if anyone has tried this setup yet?
I have a X7000 (preordered a NX9) with the Paladin DCR and barely 1.4 throw and it’s magnificent.
westmd is offline  
post #1747 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 04:27 AM
Senior Member
 
BruceJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandlj View Post
Quite a few TW shows broadcast in 2.00:1 ratio (2:1) ratio.

I have a scope screen. Are the new projectors able to zoom 2:1 ratio so it appears without black bars on a scope screen?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes, the zoom lens is infinitely adjustable and there are 10 memory settings available.
I use the following myself:

16:9 (1.78:1)
1.85:1
2.00:1
2.20:1
21:9 (2.35:1)
Dandlj likes this.

Bruce K.
BruceJK is offline  
post #1748 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 04:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1028 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceJK View Post
Yes, the zoom lens is infinitely adjustable and there are 10 memory settings available.
I use the following myself:

16:9 (1.78:1)
1.85:1
2.00:1
2.20:1
21:9 (2.35:1)
With regards to zooming the lens to fill your fixed screen ratio on different native source ratios in order to eliminate the black bars, doesn't that also crop a varying amount of the image? If so, wouldn't you be altering the cinematographer's/director's original intent as to the composition of the image?
docrog is offline  
post #1749 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 05:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GPBURNS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 370 Post(s)
Liked: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceJK View Post
Yes, the zoom lens is infinitely adjustable and there are 10 memory settings available.
I use the following myself:

16:9 (1.78:1)
1.85:1
2.00:1
2.20:1
21:9 (2.35:1)
Be curious if you tried zooming along with the masking feature on any of those changing aspect ratio movies (dark knight etc) -

15400 Watts of Atmos Seaton Power -Quad SubMersived - JVC N7
GPBURNS is offline  
post #1750 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 05:08 AM
Member
 
danlw2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by docrog View Post
With regards to zooming the lens to fill your fixed screen ratio on different native source ratios in order to eliminate the black bars, doesn't that also crop a varying amount of the image? If so, wouldn't you be altering the cinematographer's/director's original intent as to the composition of the image?
Those of us who are doing this have a CIH (Constant Image Height) set up. This means that we have a 2.35:1 screen. We zoom the projector to eliminate the black bars above and below the image. This way, our largest image is seen when viewing cinemascope movies. When viewing 16:9 content (or anything between, or even 4:3 content), we have vertical masking systems to eliminate the black pillar bars.

Here is the AVS sub-forum on the topic for further reading, edification, and entertainment:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/#/forums/117
Dandlj likes this.

I am DanLW.
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1341
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/member...103-danlw.html

Last edited by danlw2; 01-14-2019 at 05:13 AM.
danlw2 is offline  
post #1751 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 05:15 AM
Senior Member
 
BruceJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by docrog View Post
With regards to zooming the lens to fill your fixed screen ratio on different native source ratios in order to eliminate the black bars, doesn't that also crop a varying amount of the image? If so, wouldn't you be altering the cinematographer's/director's original intent as to the composition of the image?
I assumed he was talking about letter box bars (top and bottom) which he wanted to avoid on a cinemascope screen setup like I have. You still get pillar box bars on the sides but they are not as distracting visually and I just use black curtains that I adjust to frame the image. If you want to fill a 16:9 screen with a 2:1 image that can be done with a combination of lens zoom and masking but you're right - that will cut off some of the top and bottom. The lens setting and masking can be stored together in memory as an installation mode.

Some people have motorized masking systems and the control for these can also be incorporated into the JVC installation modes now but I like the simplicity (and low cost) of my setup.
Dandlj likes this.

Bruce K.
BruceJK is offline  
post #1752 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 05:24 AM
Senior Member
 
BruceJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by GPBURNS View Post
Be curious if you tried zooming along with the masking feature on any of those changing aspect ratio movies (dark knight etc) -
Those movies with variable aspect ratios drive me crazy. I can never be sure whether to mask them to scope size or run at 16:9 to see everything at a reduced image size. In most cases I mask it to scope size.

One show that made effective use of variable aspect ratios was 'Legion'. Many of the dream sequences were shot in scope. You definitely want to view the show at 16:9 so you can see the context of the scene - whether it's reality or a dream.
GPBURNS likes this.

Bruce K.
BruceJK is offline  
post #1753 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 05:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1028 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by danlw2 View Post
Those of us who are doing this have a CIH (Constant Image Height) set up. This means that we have a 2.35:1 screen. We zoom the projector to eliminate the black bars above and below the image. This way, our largest image is seen when viewing cinemascope movies. When viewing 16:9 content (or anything between, or even 4:3 content), we have vertical masking systems to eliminate the black pillar bars.

Here is the AVS sub-forum on the topic for further reading, edification, and entertainment:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/#/forums/117
If you're width challenged or height challenged (CIH/CIW) I guess it all boils down to picking your poison. One way or another, black bars or black drapes............
docrog is offline  
post #1754 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 05:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GPBURNS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 370 Post(s)
Liked: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceJK View Post
Those movies with variable aspect ratios drive me crazy. I can never be sure whether to mask them to scope size or run at 16:9 to see everything at a reduced image size. In most cases I mask it to scope size.

One show that made effective use of variable aspect ratios was 'Legion'. Many of the dream sequences were shot in scope. You definitely want to view the show at 16:9 so you can see the context of the scene - whether it's reality or a dream.
indeed - I've always chosen scope over 16/9 with these films - I find in most cases you are not really losing much film information and scope size is worlds better making up for any slight loss- the masking wll hopefully take away need to reauthor these discs
Toe likes this.

15400 Watts of Atmos Seaton Power -Quad SubMersived - JVC N7
GPBURNS is offline  
post #1755 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 05:38 AM
Member
 
danlw2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
If you're width challenged or height challenged (CIH/CIW) I guess it all boils down to picking your poison. One way or another, black bars or black drapes............[IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif[/IMG]
For me, it boils down to this: I dont think the presentation of Lord of the Rings should be on a smaller overall picture than a TV show.

I am DanLW.
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1341
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/member...103-danlw.html

Last edited by danlw2; 01-14-2019 at 06:14 AM.
danlw2 is offline  
post #1756 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 05:47 AM
Member
 
Old A/V Addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Florida
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 62
In my light treated room the black pillars are barely noticeable on my 2.40:1 screen if you look for them. They just blend into the black painted walls on either side. I don't even consider side masking.
Dandlj likes this.

Oppo 203>Marantz 7704>JVC RS520
Old A/V Addict is offline  
post #1757 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 05:52 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 23,812
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6308 Post(s)
Liked: 6310
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLLF View Post
I’m using a 40 foot Monoprice SlimRun AV HDR plenum cable. Verified that I have the direction correct...

It might be worth noting that I experience the signal drops with my media center PC signal but that my Roku gives an HDCP error screen instead. And the projector never has these issues, just the LG when the projector HDMI is plugged in and on standby. Receiver and OLED are on latest firmware.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alebonau View Post
the maximum length of mono price premium certified cables is 30ft. if going over I would personally move to fibre eg the ruipro. but that is not to say you dont have some other issue. things like roku and media centre pc and such I ALL the time see people having all sorts of hdmi issues with. quite possible the problem is else where...
Ya that is certainly an interesting issue. I use a ruipro cable myself. Try one and if it does not help send it back? No question it seems to be the JVC so give a call or email to JVC.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #1758 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 05:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1028 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old A/V Addict View Post
In my light treated room the black pillars are barely noticeable on my 2.40:1 screen if you look for them. They just blend into the black painted walls on either side. I don't even consider side masking.
There's always black above the image when you have to resort to an electrified, drop down screen, so horizontal black bar masking of a wider than 16 x 9 aspect presentation always blends in with that extra fabric. I would love to have had the option for a ginormous fixed scope screen that would have given me a 16 x 9 image at least the same size of my current 110" screen. Alas, no such luck due to WAF.
BruceJK and Old A/V Addict like this.
docrog is offline  
post #1759 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 06:16 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,309
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11652 Post(s)
Liked: 9213
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizziwig View Post
@BruceJK Was your N7 also an October build? Other than the one unit Mike G reported selling, has anyone else gotten a December sample? Wondering what the differences will be.
Of the two units that I know about, released in the US. Both were December builds.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #1760 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 06:26 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,309
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11652 Post(s)
Liked: 9213
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by loggeo View Post
I believe new models will provide distortion control too. Very important feature. I am not optimistic that we can enable Low Latency Mode using an A-lens mode as it would require image processing I guess.
Anamorphic features work with low lag mode on. They even do so on 440, 540 and 640, other than 4K 60p. 4k 60p anamorphic functions were added this year. You used to have to own the 4500 to get that feature. If you do not have A-lens functions with low latency, it is because you have something else on, like MPC or keystone.

Added
This is nothing new. The RS420, 520 and 620 also had the ability to do anamorphic functions with low lag engaged. That is how I have been running my system for the last two years. Only thing new is 4K 60P which as I said was carried over from the 4500.
David Mathews and loggeo like this.

Last edited by Mike Garrett; 01-14-2019 at 07:36 AM.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #1761 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 06:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
tommarra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by GPBURNS View Post
indeed - I've always chosen scope over 16/9 with these films - I find in most cases you are not really losing much film information and scope size is worlds better making up for any slight loss- the masking wll hopefully take away need to reauthor these discs
Watched Aquaman in IMAX where all the underwater scene (fantastic scences BTW) are all shot in IMAX and are in 16:9. If you got a 4K blueray with those scenes in 16:9 and used masking or zooming in to scope only you would lose a LOT of image including actors faces, lots of action, etc.

Variable aspect movies are a pain!!!
tommarra is offline  
post #1762 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 06:53 AM
Member
 
yankiy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommarra View Post
Watched Aquaman in IMAX where all the underwater scene (fantastic scences BTW) are all shot in IMAX and are in 16:9. If you got a 4K blueray with those scenes in 16:9 and used masking or zooming in to scope only you would lose a LOT of image including actors faces, lots of action, etc.

Variable aspect movies are a pain!!!

It is so annoying... lol guess I will be missing actor faces and action
tommarra likes this.

JVC DLA-NX9 | Panasonic UB820 | Denon AVR-X6400H | Rotel RB 993 Amp | 135" 2:35:1 Elunevision Aurora NanoEdge Ambient Light Blocking Screen | Paradigm Monitor 11 v7, Monitor Center 3 v7, Monitor Surround 3 v7, CI Pro P65-R |
yankiy is offline  
post #1763 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 06:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 2,785
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2169 Post(s)
Liked: 2023
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLLF View Post
I hav a quick question around an “issue” I’m seeing and hope someone can help. I can’t find anything with searches...

I have a Denon AVR-X6300W providing signal to my 2016 LG OLED and my RS3000. Since I’ve replaced my RS60U with the RS3000 I’ve noticed a problem while watching something on my OLED. If the projector’s HDMI cable is plugged in and the projector is on standby, the signal to the LG OLED drops out every 4 or 5 seconds. If ai unplung the projector HDMI cable, everything is fine. When viewing the projector with the LG in standby, there is no issue with the projector’s signal.

I didn’t have this issue with the RS60U though maybe I set something to fix it 7 years ago... I’m getting old.

I’ve disabled “HDMI Control” in the Denon and LG. I don’t see any such thing in the JvC menus. I’ve tried HDMI 1 and 2 for the projector and tried swapping the outputs on the Denon. None of this helped

Any ideas what might be happening over HDMI in standby and how to fix it?

Thanks!
John
An HDfury Vertex or Integral-2 placed after the AVR with one output to the JVC and one to the LG would almost certainly fix this. You would select the custom 4K60 4:4:4 HDR BT2020 12-bit 600MHz EDID in the HDfury so that the Denon and the player always see the same display capabilities via the custom EDID whether the JVC or the LG was turned on.

I think it is possible that the Denon is seeing activity from one or the other display even when the display is in standby mode. The Denon with two main HDMI outputs might be going into a handshake when it sees this activity.

Although this custom EDID would prevent sending Dolby Vision to the LG OLED. The automatic EDID option would allow Dolby Vision to the LG and not to the JVC, but I have found this to not be 100% error proof with my RS500 and LG B7A when both displays were turned on.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Vertex/Linker/Integral

Last edited by claw; 01-14-2019 at 07:18 AM.
claw is offline  
post #1764 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 06:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SED <--- Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
The Z1 looks good because it has very good dynamic contrast. The dynamic dimming makes up for a lot of its short comings in native contrast. It manages to get its black floor down very low using that dimming system so you don't get the feel that it has terrible contrast.
Imagine how good Z1's successor will look with improved native contrast! That paired with the dynamic dimming will lower the black floor even more. I hope JVC will unveil the successor next CEDIA 2019. And hopefully with a lower price tag.
SED <--- Rules is offline  
post #1765 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,238
Mentioned: 100 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4418 Post(s)
Liked: 2768
Quote:
Originally Posted by SED <--- Rules View Post
Imagine how good Z1's successor will look with improved native contrast! That paired with the dynamic dimming will lower the black floor even more. I hope JVC will unveil the successor next CEDIA 2019. And hopefully with a lower price tag.
I predict all that you said except there won't be any lower price tag lol. I think Arrow said to expect the price to go up a lot.
OzHDHT likes this.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #1766 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 07:12 AM
Member
 
loggeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
The RS400, 500, 600, 420, 520 and 620 also had the ability to do anamorphic functions with low lag engaged. That is how I have been running my system for the last three years. Only thing new is 4K 60P which as I said was carried over from the 4500.
Cannot recall low latency mode on rs400,500,600. Are you sure?
seanbryan likes this.
loggeo is offline  
post #1767 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 07:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jeahrens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Iowa, USA
Posts: 3,637
Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1725 Post(s)
Liked: 1084
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandlj View Post
Quite a few TW shows broadcast in 2.00:1 ratio (2:1) ratio.

I have a scope screen. Are the new projectors able to zoom 2:1 ratio so it appears without black bars on a scope screen?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes I have a 2.0:1 preset on my current JVC RS520. The new units will be able to do this and give you the option to scale to the full panel width for some extra light output.
Dandlj likes this.

jeahrens is offline  
post #1768 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 07:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SED <--- Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
I predict all that you said except there won't be any lower price tag lol. I think Arrow said to expect the price to go up a lot.
A lot? Gotta start saving those pennies
tommarra likes this.
SED <--- Rules is offline  
post #1769 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 07:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
mattztt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Provo, UT
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
Hey guys I just checked my RS4500 in this regard, and you *can* enable low latency and anamorphic modes A and B both at the same time. The new 4K line is suppose to have the same processing from the RS4500 so I think this will not be an issue.
...which is promising, *however* there may still be latency introduced by scaling even if other latency-inducing features are disabled. Hopefully scaling is fast enough to not make much, if any, difference.
mattztt is offline  
post #1770 of 12839 Old 01-14-2019, 07:24 AM
Member
 
loggeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceJK View Post
Those movies with variable aspect ratios drive me crazy. I can never be sure whether to mask them to scope size or run at 16:9 to see everything at a reduced image size. In most cases I mask it to scope size.

One show that made effective use of variable aspect ratios was 'Legion'. Many of the dream sequences were shot in scope. You definitely want to view the show at 16:9 so you can see the context of the scene - whether it's reality or a dream.
Yes, me too. I have a working and acceptable solution using auto aspect ratio on lumagen pro. I watch movies in scope, lumagen auto senses aspect change and tuns automatically to 16/9. Downside is that it takes a few frames for the change to happen.
loggeo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , nx7 , nx9 , rs2000 , rs3000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off