Official JVC RS3000/NX9 - JVC RS2000/NX7/N7 - JVC RS1000/NX5/N5 - Owners Thread - Page 95 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 18874Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2821 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 03:46 PM
Member
 
rg4471's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erod View Post
Tone mapping is for SDR2020. No projector can actually do HDR. Not nearly bright enough, and pixels can't be turned off like on an OLED.

But worry not. It'll throw one helluva a beautiful picture, likely better than you've ever seen before.
It is a beautiful picture and I haven't even been able to view mine in 4K yet. I found that my fiber cable was indeed bad and should have a replacement by tomorrow. Fingers crossed that this allows 4K. The distance from my PJ and the rack is too far for a copper cable. The ends of the fiber cable were warm to the touch and since I haven't owned one before, I don't know is this is normal or if that was part of the defect.
rg4471 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2822 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Erod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,888
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1297 Post(s)
Liked: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by rg4471 View Post
It is a beautiful picture and I haven't even been able to view mine in 4K yet. I found that my fiber cable was indeed bad and should have a replacement by tomorrow. Fingers crossed that this allows 4K. The distance from my PJ and the rack is too far for a copper cable. The ends of the fiber cable were warm to the touch and since I haven't owned one before, I don't know is this is normal or if that was part of the defect.
How long is the run?

Video: JVC RS620/X9500 projector, Stewart ST130 screen, Panasonic ub820 UHD player
Audio: Anthem AVM60 preamp, Anthem MCA525 amp, B&K Reference 125.7 amp
Subs: dual SVS PC-12 cylinders
Speakers: RBH SV-661R and SV-661CR fronts, Jamo 626k4 side/rear surrounds, DefTech DI6.5R heights
Erod is online now  
post #2823 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 03:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
alebonau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Land of Contentment :)
Posts: 4,919
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1982 Post(s)
Liked: 1373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erod View Post
Tone mapping is for SDR2020. No projector can actually do HDR. Not nearly bright enough, and pixels can't be turned off like on an OLED.

But worry not. It'll throw one helluva a beautiful picture, likely better than you've ever seen before.
you can still get an appreciation of HDR, I have been on my jvc for couple of years at least tone mapping just helps get signal remapped for capabilities of the display. if you can run a decent enough step up in output from over what ever output you are using or SDR then will get some gains with HDR. eg in my case i have SDR running at around 14 FL and HDR at 30FL does indeed give a decent enough gain with HDR

certainly not even OLED are truly HDR capable for the output LCD can achieve but OLED gets better blacks LCD can only sorta manage with trickery. projectors can get good blacks but lack the top end. but still tone mapping helps hear.

no display OLED / LCD or projectors even can manage the 10000 nits or so some source material is mastered at none even manage the 4000 nits some titles are at.

check out the target luminance kris quoted for the ub9000 player for its tone mapping....

Target Luminance
- OLED :1,000nit
- High Luminance Projector :500nit
- Basic Luminance Projector :350nit
- Super High Luminance LCD :1,500nit
- Middle or High Luminance LCD :1,000nit
- Basic Luminance LCD :500nit
BruceJK likes this.

"Technology is a drug. We can't get enough of it."


Welcome to my lounge room :)
alebonau is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2824 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 03:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Erod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,888
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1297 Post(s)
Liked: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by alebonau View Post
you can still get an appreciation of HDR, I have been on my jvc for couple of years at least tone mapping just helps get signal remapped for capabilities of the display. if you can run a decent enough step up in output from over what ever output you are using or SDR then will get some gains with HDR. eg in my case i have SDR running at around 14 FL and HDR at 30FL does indeed give a decent enough gain with HDR

certainly not even OLED are truly HDR capable for the output LCD can achieve but OLED gets better blacks LCD can only sorta manage with trickery. projectors can get good blacks but lack the top end. but still tone mapping helps hear.

no display OLED / LCD or projectors even can manage the 10000 nits or so some source material is mastered at none even manage the 4000 nits some titles are at.

check out the target luminance kris quoted for the ub9000 player for its tone mapping....

Target Luminance
- OLED :1,000nit
- High Luminance Projector :500nit
- Basic Luminance Projector :350nit
- Super High Luminance LCD :1,500nit
- Middle or High Luminance LCD :1,000nit
- Basic Luminance LCD :500nit
Yes, I have a JVC rs620 fed by a Panny ub820.

My SDR2020 looks the same as HDR but with more brightness. Incredible picture. With SDR2020, I back off the white tone by -1 and add +2 to the dark tone, and I get great detail in bright skies and dark dungeons.
Bytehoven likes this.

Video: JVC RS620/X9500 projector, Stewart ST130 screen, Panasonic ub820 UHD player
Audio: Anthem AVM60 preamp, Anthem MCA525 amp, B&K Reference 125.7 amp
Subs: dual SVS PC-12 cylinders
Speakers: RBH SV-661R and SV-661CR fronts, Jamo 626k4 side/rear surrounds, DefTech DI6.5R heights
Erod is online now  
post #2825 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Drem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dj Dee View Post
That noize was strange, I haven't had that at all on my NX9 or heard that on the N7 I looked at.

Have you done the update firmware and reset the projector to factory default? And then tried again.
Also after the factory reset connect the current away from the N7 and then wait until all lamps turn off. Plug in and try again.
See if that helps. If not you shall report it.
I just tried this, and at first I though it was gone. But unfortunately after a few minutes of testing. Several UHD movies, dark to bright scenes. It was back. And when it is back, if I put the dynamic iris pattern test on, I hear it all the time. exactly like in the posted dropbox clip. But sometimes during the same scene, it is silent. I dont get it. But this is certainly not normal. Its not supposed to be like this mechanically I think. Maybe if it was there all the time at the specific scenes, but it isnt. And other N7 owners dont have it..

Like I stated before, I have reported it and JVC is checking with the factory.
Spizz and Dj Dee like this.

Last edited by Drem; 01-22-2019 at 04:04 PM.
Drem is offline  
post #2826 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 04:07 PM
Member
 
Renerator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Th601 View Post
I’m in the same boat. I have one on pre-order and so far I’ve seen 3 people with this issue.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Throw me a paddle boys. I'm in that boat with ya. Still waiting for my pre-order NX7.
Bill DePalma likes this.
Renerator is offline  
post #2827 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 04:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stumlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommarra View Post
Sure thing - will do later tonight - think it is on Netflix, so I can test with that.

Haven't watched that show - will add to watchlst

I'm not sure if Netflix has Season 3. Hulu might. Since you've never watched the show before, skim through the ep with the volume off... the show has a mystery element to it so the less you know/understand, the better...
stumlad is offline  
post #2828 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 04:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,949
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6862 Post(s)
Liked: 6863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Th601 View Post
I’m in the same boat. I have one on pre-order and so far I’ve seen 3 people with this issue.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceJK View Post
Yes, the dynamic Iris is silent on my NX7, even when running that dynamic brightness pattern which is quite an extreme test.
Well at least we have positive news as well
Drem and Renerator like this.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #2829 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 04:47 PM
Member
 
ShadeRF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 89
I got my RS3000 in today. The first thing I noticed was it needed a slight pixel adjust. Red and blue were both off by 1. Is this normal and nothing I should be concerned about? I thought after the long QC time it would be perfect. Otherwise haven't had time to explore much but the picture it throws with the defaults (8k e-shift off) is excellent.
Reddig and Dj Dee like this.

Theater Equipment list:
JVC RS3000, Panamorph Paladin DCR, 138", Lumagen Pro, Stewart 138" 2:35:1 Screen, Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV Genie, Marantz SR-6011, Emotiva XPA-5 Mains: Paradigm Prestige 85F, Center: Paradigm Prestige 55C, Sides: Paradigm Prestige 15B, Rears: Paradigm Atom V6 Atmos: Paradigm P65-R Sub: Rhythmik FV18, GIK Acoustic Room Treatments
ShadeRF is offline  
post #2830 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 04:47 PM
Member
 
kennyz06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erod View Post
How long is the run?
How long is too long? I'm a little worried now... I have a NX7 on the way as well, and ran 25ft Monoprice premium cables https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Am I screwed? Should I replace them before my NX7 gets here? Man, I'm worried... lol
kennyz06 is offline  
post #2831 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 04:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
JeffNebraska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyz06 View Post
How long is too long? I'm a little worried now... I have a NX7 on the way as well, and ran 25ft Monoprice premium cables https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Am I screwed? Should I replace them before my NX7 gets here? Man, I'm worried... lol
I have a ~45ft run to my 4K Sony 350ES. I had to buy active "redmere" cables from monoprice to make it work. Once I did, it was fine, even for 4K and 1080p 3D.

Jeffnebraska
My Dream Theater Is Complete (for now)
Sony 350ES, 133" 2.35 AT Screen
Marrantz AV7705, Sherbourne 7x200W, AdCom GFA-2535 4X60W
Dynaudio Focus Speakers (for mains), SVS PB4000
JeffNebraska is offline  
post #2832 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 04:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Erod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,888
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1297 Post(s)
Liked: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyz06 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erod View Post
How long is the run?
How long is too long? I'm a little worried now... I have a NX7 on the way as well, and ran 25ft Monoprice premium cables https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Am I screwed? Should I replace them before my NX7 gets here? Man, I'm worried... lol
You should be good..

Video: JVC RS620/X9500 projector, Stewart ST130 screen, Panasonic ub820 UHD player
Audio: Anthem AVM60 preamp, Anthem MCA525 amp, B&K Reference 125.7 amp
Subs: dual SVS PC-12 cylinders
Speakers: RBH SV-661R and SV-661CR fronts, Jamo 626k4 side/rear surrounds, DefTech DI6.5R heights
Erod is online now  
post #2833 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 05:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,952
Mentioned: 256 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12846 Post(s)
Liked: 10484
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Bley View Post
Wow! It even comes with a built in speaker.
Looks like a mess. Supports DCI, but does not list support for BT2020. Have seen other Benq projectors before that did this. DCI is worthless to us. We are not buying DCI cinema movies for a server.
Tom Bley, Craig Mecak and DavidHir like this.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #2834 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 05:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
HDR10 is HDR with static metadata (well, unless you're Apple, when it means whatever the F you like metadata).
HDR10+ is an evolution which adds dynamic metadata, a little bit like Dolby Vision. To date there are only TVs with HDR10+ support, and less than a handful of discs I believe.
If the Lumagen Radiance Pro adds dynamic metadata to their product and you couple it with the projector would the projector then be able to support HDR10+
FrozenCowboy is offline  
post #2835 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadeRF View Post
I got my RS3000 in today. The first thing I noticed was it needed a slight pixel adjust. Red and blue were both off by 1. Is this normal and nothing I should be concerned about? I thought after the long QC time it would be perfect. Otherwise haven't had time to explore much but the picture it throws with the defaults (8k e-shift off) is excellent.


Does that one or two clicks fix the entire projected image? On mine ot doesn’t and the only way to fix mine is with zone convergence adjustments.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Colozeus is offline  
post #2836 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 05:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,527
Mentioned: 118 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5486 Post(s)
Liked: 3576
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadeRF View Post
I got my RS3000 in today. The first thing I noticed was it needed a slight pixel adjust. Red and blue were both off by 1. Is this normal and nothing I should be concerned about? I thought after the long QC time it would be perfect. Otherwise haven't had time to explore much but the picture it throws with the defaults (8k e-shift off) is excellent.
You should always expect to have to do some panel alignment as part of setup. It's normal operation. If you can't get it to align, then you have a problem. Initial alignment should be done after about an hour of the projector being on. Same with focus.
Purple X likes this.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #2837 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 05:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
tommarra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 650 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Official JVC RS3000/NX9 - JVC RS2000/NX7/N7 - JVC RS1000/NX5/N5 - Owners Thread

So ran QBF pattern on my NX7 and here is the rest. Don't see any fat and thin lines

Damn this thing is sharp. I can make out individual lines from 10ft away!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Craig Peer, Reddig, Dj Dee and 3 others like this.

Gear: Fronts: B&W 803D3 | Center: B&W HTM2D3 | Surrounds: B&W 705S2 | Backs: B&W DM601S3 | Heights: Definitive Techonlogy ProCinema 1000 | Receiver & Amps: Anthem MRX 720 + Emotiva BasX-5 | Projector: JVC NX7 | Source: HTPC with Nvidia 2070, Kodi + External Player: MPC-HC with MadVR (for Blu-ray rips), Nvidia Shield (for streaming content)

Last edited by tommarra; 01-22-2019 at 05:34 PM.
tommarra is offline  
post #2838 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 05:43 PM
Member
 
Renerator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyz06 View Post
How long is too long? I'm a little worried now... I have a NX7 on the way as well, and ran 25ft Monoprice premium cables https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Am I screwed? Should I replace them before my NX7 gets here? Man, I'm worried... lol



I believe this was one of the cables Nigel did extensive testing on and recommends. Can anyone advise? https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Renerator is offline  
post #2839 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 05:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
Looks like a mess. Supports DCI, but does not list support for BT2020. Have seen other Benq projectors before that did this. DCI is worthless to us. We are not buying DCI cinema movies for a server.
It does support BT.2020 with 100% coverage of P3-DCI 😊
Also, the annoying "light frame" of the TI 0.47 DLA chip is now gone.

Anyway, I'm perfectly aware that the JVC is in a different league.
But I've sold my X5900 (X590) and just can't afford a new JVC now.
Thinking the W5700 can be a decent replacement for a year or two...

Anyway, back to the normal program😊
Bytehoven likes this.
Nordvarg is offline  
post #2840 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 06:02 PM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,509
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2823 Post(s)
Liked: 1957
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrozenCowboy View Post
If the Lumagen Radiance Pro adds dynamic metadata to their product and you couple it with the projector would the projector then be able to support HDR10+
It's a semantic, but no. If Lumagen add HDR10+ dynamic metadata to their product (not been discussed publicly as yet as far as I'm aware) then your system would be capable of playing back HDR10+ content, with the Lumagen doing the processing and outputting it to the projector in a way which the projector could understand (ie Non-HDR10+). It doesn't make the projector "able to support HDR10+".
bobof is offline  
post #2841 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 06:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jive Turkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: good old USA
Posts: 2,479
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattztt View Post
The styrofoam cracking is doing its job - when it breaks it's absorbing impact that would have otherwise gone into the projector, like a crumple zone on a car.

At some point extra/better packaging cannot overcome mishandling by the shipping company. We recently completed construction of a new home and we had all of the appliances and some furniture shipped and there wasn't much correlation between quality of packaging and the degree of damage. Some items that were clearly packed with great care were irreparably damaged and other items that were basically a wrap of bubble wrap in a thin cardboard box arrived in perfect shape.

The biggest factor is the mass of the item being shipped. A 50lb hunk of plastic filled with electronics and optics is always going to be a challenge to safely ship via conventional air couriers. FedEx and UPS are excellent laboratories for exploring Newton's Laws of Motion.

The only stuff that always came out unscathed was properly palleted items shipped ground freight which may not be a bad idea for such high-dollar devices. I had much less expensive kitchen appliances delivered that way.

Ditto here.



Double boxing, in my opinion, just protects the inner box, so the inner box looks nicer when you put it in the attic or go to sell it.
Reddig and deltagamma like this.

See ya. Dave

"High Fidelity audio has been like a dog chasing his tail. High Fidelity in my marriage has been much more rewarding because she knows where I sleep."
Jive Turkey is offline  
post #2842 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 06:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jive Turkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: good old USA
Posts: 2,479
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
Seems like all the RS400 / 500 / 600 boxes had cracked styrofoam. I started to joke they pre-broke them before putting them in the box originally.

All four of the projectors I've owned (Sony and JVC) have had cracked styrofoam from delivery. Nothing that a little packing tape didn't fix come time to resell.


PS.-panel degradation issues on the two Sony's had nothing to do with cracked styrofoam, I'd bet.
Craig Peer likes this.

See ya. Dave

"High Fidelity audio has been like a dog chasing his tail. High Fidelity in my marriage has been much more rewarding because she knows where I sleep."
Jive Turkey is offline  
post #2843 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Official JVC RS3000/NX9 - JVC RS2000/NX7/N7 - JVC RS1000/NX5/N5 - Owners Thread

Im in the process of letting my 3000 warm up for an hour. I’m then going to reset all my previous panel alignment, redo alignment and focus and then load up qbf. This is per jvcs’ instructions via my dealer. I’ll report back with some iphone pics. Looks like I’ll have to live with non perfect convergence. I am mainly going to assess sharpness and focus uniformity.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by Colozeus; 01-22-2019 at 06:37 PM.
Colozeus is offline  
post #2844 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 06:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 16,756
Mentioned: 124 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7257 Post(s)
Liked: 8691
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadeRF View Post
I got my RS3000 in today. The first thing I noticed was it needed a slight pixel adjust. Red and blue were both off by 1. Is this normal and nothing I should be concerned about? I thought after the long QC time it would be perfect. Otherwise haven't had time to explore much but the picture it throws with the defaults (8k e-shift off) is excellent.
Don't adjust it until it warms up for 30 - 40 minutes at least. But yes - normal. My RS4500 improved picture wise with a little convergence adjustment, as did my Sim2 Lumis Host 3 chip DLP.
David Mathews likes this.
Craig Peer is online now  
post #2845 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 06:18 PM
Member
 
rg4471's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erod View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by rg4471 View Post
It is a beautiful picture and I haven't even been able to view mine in 4K yet. I found that my fiber cable was indeed bad and should have a replacement by tomorrow. Fingers crossed that this allows 4K. The distance from my PJ and the rack is too far for a copper cable. The ends of the fiber cable were warm to the touch and since I haven't owned one before, I don't know is this is normal or if that was part of the defect.
How long is the run?
It’s 15 meters for me.
rg4471 is offline  
post #2846 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
It's a semantic, but no. If Lumagen add HDR10+ dynamic metadata to their product (not been discussed publicly as yet as far as I'm aware) then your system would be capable of playing back HDR10+ content, with the Lumagen doing the processing and outputting it to the projector in a way which the projector could understand (ie Non-HDR10+). It doesn't make the projector "able to support HDR10+".
Understood, Thank You
FrozenCowboy is offline  
post #2847 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 07:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
David Mathews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Howell, MI, USA
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jive Turkey View Post
Ditto here.



Double boxing, in my opinion, just protects the inner box, so the inner box looks nicer when you put it in the attic or go to sell it.


Agree some "double boxing" happens that way (as someone already mentioned) , but really depends if follows instructions like these from UPS. ups.com/us/en/help-center/packaging-and-supplies/packing-materials/double-boxing.page

I received similar instructions back in the day when sold & shipped research instruments. Carrier wouldn't insure if extra padding not done right. Since I was doing it to subsidize grad school I did it right since couldn't afford to loose a unit if damaged.


As Craig mentioned, major damage can still occur even if double boxed per instructions. But think of it this way, can die in an accident, even wearing seatbelts. But not wearing seatbelt statistically not a good idea. Physics is physics.
Craig Peer and pogal like this.

Dave
David Mathews is offline  
post #2848 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 07:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Frohlich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,454
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2061 Post(s)
Liked: 2276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renerator View Post
I believe this was one of the cables Nigel did extensive testing on and recommends. Can anyone advise? https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Never used that cable but I had issues with an older HDMI cable for a 50 foot run for 4k/60hz/HDR. I can verify that the monoprice fiber HDMI cable (link below) fixed the issue and transmits 4k/60HZ/HDR no problem at 50 feet and also gets lots of good reviews and recommendations on AVS in general.

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=21568/
Reddig likes this.
Frohlich is offline  
post #2849 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 07:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jive Turkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: good old USA
Posts: 2,479
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadeRF View Post
I got my RS3000 in today. The first thing I noticed was it needed a slight pixel adjust. Red and blue were both off by 1. Is this normal and nothing I should be concerned about? I thought after the long QC time it would be perfect. Otherwise haven't had time to explore much but the picture it throws with the defaults (8k e-shift off) is excellent.

Sounds normal to me.

See ya. Dave

"High Fidelity audio has been like a dog chasing his tail. High Fidelity in my marriage has been much more rewarding because she knows where I sleep."
Jive Turkey is offline  
post #2850 of 20789 Old 01-22-2019, 07:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,901
Mentioned: 280 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3953 Post(s)
Liked: 4844
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommarra View Post
So ran QBF pattern on my NX7 and here is the rest. Don't see any fat and thin lines

Damn this thing is sharp. I can make out individual lines from 10ft away!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That part should be all black and white. Like Jav's mentioned when I posted mine, looks like there is chroma issue. Arrow's NX9 does not show it and it shows that part all black and white as it should be.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	9812b029bc3f750686d2e3f83eb4130a.jpg
Views:	323
Size:	57.7 KB
ID:	2514730  
ARROW-AV and Renerator like this.

Enrico Castagnetti @ Rythmik Audio - Dialing In Rythmik Audio Subwoofers - REW for macOS
Media Room: Sierra Towers w/RAAL, Horizon w/RAAL, Sierra 2s & Lunas | Rythmik F12SE(x2) + FV25HP | Denon X6500H | Panny 820 + ATV 4K | Bluesound Node 2 | Sony 77A9G OLED |
Desktop: Dynaudio BM5 mkIII | Rythmik L22 | Apogee Quartet | 27" iMac| Bedroom: B&W 685 S2 | Rythmik LVX12 | Marantz SR6013 | Sony X700 + ATV 4K | Sony XBR-65Z9D |
enricoclaudio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , nx5 , nx7 , nx9 , rs1000 , rs2000 , rs3000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off