Older High End DLP LED - Page 17 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 243Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #481 of 821 Old 05-22-2020, 05:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,577
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 105
[QUOTE=bdht;59692298]https://www.ebay.com/itm/Runco-d-73d...cAAOSw3RZevX~k[/Q

WOW!......That's really a nice unit. I got back in town and setup my Q750i without calibration, and have to say it's looks good, but not better the a calibrated SIM2 MICO 50.....however, it would be a keeper if I didn't have the Mico 50.
bdht likes this.

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #482 of 821 Old 05-22-2020, 05:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 4,237
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1764 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Could have bought this a few months ago for $600 but it had the wrong lens. I should have bought it and tried to make some money on it.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #483 of 821 Old 05-22-2020, 06:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Debonaire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by blee0120 View Post
PM sent. It's a Severtson Stellar White 2.2 screen
I like Severtson as a company, all their staff is very friendly. I just wish they were a bit cheaper.

According to their site, it's supposed to be for 3d applications?

How does it compare to a 1.0 unity white screen? There appears to be a lot of texture if you really magnify. Is that visible at ~8 feet? You said hot spotting isn't a problem, but does it sparkle like a lot of the RPTVs back in the day did where you see a shimmering effect? If you sit in the middle of the screen, how is the uniformity, do the edges look substantially darker?

Debonaire is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #484 of 821 Old 05-22-2020, 06:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 5,239
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1096 Post(s)
Liked: 788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Debonaire View Post
I like Severtson as a company, all their staff is very friendly. I just wish they were a bit cheaper.

According to their site, it's supposed to be for 3d applications?

How does it compare to a 1.0 unity white screen? There appears to be a lot of texture if you really magnify. Is that visible at ~8 feet? You said hot spotting isn't a problem, but does it sparkle like a lot of the RPTVs back in the day did where you see a shimmering effect? If you sit in the middle of the screen, how is the uniformity, do the edges look substantially darker?

The unity screen is texture free. I could see the shimmery on bright scenes, which is always the concern with screens with gains. The uniformity was great from my sitting distance, didn't really pay too much attention to other seating areas to be honest. It was great in my cone. Screen was evenly matched from my seating distance. It was just occasionally it shimmered from very bright scenes. I was about 7-8 feet from the screen and it was a good spot for me.
blee0120 is offline  
post #485 of 821 Old 05-22-2020, 06:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 5,239
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1096 Post(s)
Liked: 788
[quote=tbase1;59693056]
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdht View Post
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Runco-d-73d...cAAOSw3RZevX~k[/Q

WOW!......That's really a nice unit. I got back in town and setup my Q750i without calibration, and have to say it's looks good, but not better the a calibrated SIM2 MICO 50.....however, it would be a keeper if I didn't have the Mico 50.
Let us know when you list it for sale
blee0120 is offline  
post #486 of 821 Old 05-22-2020, 07:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,453
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 755 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post
Could have bought this a few months ago for $600 but it had the wrong lens. I should have bought it and tried to make some money on it.
whooa. Lenses are swappable xD
bdht is online now  
post #487 of 821 Old 05-22-2020, 08:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 4,237
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1764 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdht View Post
whooa. Lenses are swappable xD
Never thought of that.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #488 of 821 Old 05-23-2020, 12:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Middel east, LEBANON
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 644 Post(s)
Liked: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post
Never thought of that.
yeah 600$ is crazy cheap for it, does that projector make everything 3d if someone wants to ? since its a stack it shouldnt rely on source to provide a 3d picture , its own system would do that, m i correct ?

JVC DLA X590/RS440 / BenQ LK970
madVR HTPC with 1080ti / Lumagen radiance pro 4242
Arendal 1723 LCR Monitors / M&K S150 Surrounds in 5.1.4 atmos setup / Yamaha AX2050 AVR / MiniDSP88BM audio processor/ beta3 6 channels Amp .
tnaik4 is online now  
post #489 of 821 Old 05-23-2020, 07:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,577
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 105
[quote=blee0120;59693444]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbase1 View Post

Let us know when you list it for sale
I will, but my concern is there's no way to determine hours. All I know is it came from a custom installed HTR that was updated with a 4K projector. I set it up to get screen shots to compare to my calibrated Mico 50, and it looks very good. I called my friend who sold it to me, and was told it was used to watch movies for the most part, and major sports events like the super bowl, NBA finals, and world series games. I attached a couple of screen shots to give you guys idea of what it looks like with using preset adjustments.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	8.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	83.6 KB
ID:	2731114   Click image for larger version

Name:	7.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	85.4 KB
ID:	2731116   Click image for larger version

Name:	6.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	97.3 KB
ID:	2731118   Click image for larger version

Name:	5.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	104.4 KB
ID:	2731120  
Aztar35 likes this.

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
post #490 of 821 Old 05-23-2020, 07:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 5,239
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1096 Post(s)
Liked: 788
[quote=tbase1;59695166]
Quote:
Originally Posted by blee0120 View Post

I will, but my concern is there's no way to determine hours. All I know is it came from a custom installed HTR that was updated with a 4K projector. I set it up to get screen shots to compare to my calibrated Mico 50, and it looks very good. I called my friend who sold it to me, and was told it was used to watch movies for the most part, and major sports events like the super bowl, NBA finals, and world series games. I attached a couple of screen shots to give you guys idea of what it looks like with using preset adjustments.
Do you know which lens it has?
blee0120 is offline  
post #491 of 821 Old 05-23-2020, 07:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,577
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 105
[quote=blee0120;59695216]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbase1 View Post

Do you know which lens it has?
I don't, but how can I tell?

Manufactured date: 10/19/10
Model: F931ECL6000
TYPE# HT-8001 ARCGA

tony4k

Last edited by tbase1; 05-23-2020 at 07:39 AM.
tbase1 is offline  
post #492 of 821 Old 05-23-2020, 07:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 5,239
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1096 Post(s)
Liked: 788
[quote=tbase1;59695262]
Quote:
Originally Posted by blee0120 View Post

I don't, but how can I tell?
It states it right above the lens. Mine is a 1.85-2.4, which is the standard lens. My others were the 1.56-1.86 lens, which is the short throw lens. I prefer the short throw lens
blee0120 is offline  
post #493 of 821 Old 05-23-2020, 07:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,577
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 105
[quote=blee0120;59695278]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbase1 View Post

It states it right above the lens. Mine is a 1.85-2.4, which is the standard lens. My others were the 1.56-1.86 lens, which is the short throw lens. I prefer the short throw lens
It doesn't have throw info. above the lens unless I need to take the face plate off to see it. I think it's long throw, because I had it setup approx. 16' from my screen throwing on a 110 dia. scope screen.

tony4k

Last edited by tbase1; 05-23-2020 at 07:58 AM.
tbase1 is offline  
post #494 of 821 Old 05-23-2020, 07:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 5,239
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1096 Post(s)
Liked: 788
[quote=tbase1;59695344]
Quote:
Originally Posted by blee0120 View Post

It doesn't have any throw info. above the lens unless I need to take the face plate off to see it. I think it's long throw, because I had it setup approx. 16' from my screen throwing on a 110 dia. scope screen.
Most likely the long throw lens
blee0120 is offline  
post #495 of 821 Old 05-23-2020, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,577
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 105
[quote=blee0120;59695378]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbase1 View Post

Most likely the long throw lens
That's my thoughts as well.

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
post #496 of 821 Old 05-23-2020, 08:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Dennis Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 24
It really won't tell you how many hours are on it?
Dennis Moore is offline  
post #497 of 821 Old 05-23-2020, 08:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,577
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Moore View Post
It really won't tell you how many hours are on it?
I guess Light output and color degradation will determine it's age. My Mico 50 has a counter.

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
post #498 of 821 Old 05-23-2020, 08:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Dennis Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbase1 View Post
I guess Light output and color degradation will determine it's age. My Mico 50 has a counter.
What? Isn't it rated for like 60,000 hours or something?

I find that incredible that the machine wouldn't track or display the amount of hours on it.
Dennis Moore is offline  
post #499 of 821 Old 05-23-2020, 08:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,577
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Moore View Post
What? Isn't it rated for like 60,000 hours or something?

I find that incredible that the machine wouldn't track or display the amount of hours on it.
Yes it's rated at 60k. I would love to know how many. I think it's pretty sad that you can't.

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
post #500 of 821 Old 05-23-2020, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,453
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 755 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Moore View Post
What? Isn't it rated for like 60,000 hours or something?

I find that incredible that the machine wouldn't track or display the amount of hours on it.
I think with runco theres a service menu that has a runtime counter but i forget how to access it
bdht is online now  
post #501 of 821 Old 05-23-2020, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Dennis Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 24
[quote=tbase1;59695166]
Quote:
Originally Posted by blee0120 View Post

I will, but my concern is there's no way to determine hours. All I know is it came from a custom installed HTR that was updated with a 4K projector. I set it up to get screen shots to compare to my calibrated Mico 50, and it looks very good. I called my friend who sold it to me, and was told it was used to watch movies for the most part, and major sports events like the super bowl, NBA finals, and world series games. I attached a couple of screen shots to give you guys idea of what it looks like with using preset adjustments.
Size of screen and throw distance?
Dennis Moore is offline  
post #502 of 821 Old 05-23-2020, 10:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,577
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 105
[quote=Dennis Moore;59696020]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbase1 View Post

Size of screen and throw distance?
110' dia scope screen @ 16' throw.

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
post #503 of 821 Old 05-23-2020, 10:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 4,237
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1764 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdht View Post
I think with runco theres a service menu that has a runtime counter but i forget how to access it
Try this:

Scroll on the menu to the lower part till you get a blanc space, it on the remote arrow right, right, left, left, enter.
if you do it with the right timing, should open the service menu.

I don’t know if it will work or not. Got it from a google search.

Edit: Don't bother. There are no blank spaces and it doesn't work when you try it on an item where there is no right or left choice to make. There must be another way.

Jack

Last edited by JackB; 05-23-2020 at 11:12 AM.
JackB is offline  
post #504 of 821 Old 05-23-2020, 03:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,577
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 105
You're right it doesn't work. Oh well it's boxed up and listed on the forum.
tbase1 is offline  
post #505 of 821 Old 05-26-2020, 09:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Debonaire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdht View Post
I've got some interesting conspiracy theories about our current situation as well if you'd care to hear them ;]
I found this snake oil screen salesman on Youtube, and thought about you when you said this.

Here is exactly how people can manipulate photos without much effort of even "Photoshopping," to fool people.

I'm pretty sure this guy was once on AVS and was banned at least twice.

I found his name mentioned on this thread:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/110-d...hnology-2.html


Last edited by Debonaire; 05-26-2020 at 09:54 PM.
Debonaire is online now  
post #506 of 821 Old 05-26-2020, 11:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,453
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 755 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Debonaire View Post
I found this snake oil screen salesman on Youtube, and thought about you when you said this. Here is exactly how people can manipulate photos without much effort of even "Photoshopping," to fool people.
heh, sorry that came across as not believing that people don't/can't manipulate photos, I'm very much a see for myself kind of person and treat every review, professional or end user, with skepticism. All I wanted was to illustrate that a comparative photo was possible for the person that was asking not spark a discussion about other projectors, marketing, etc. xD
Debonaire and tnaik4 like this.
bdht is online now  
post #507 of 821 Old 05-27-2020, 02:10 PM
Member
 
David44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I started looking at used Sim2 LED projectors. It's all this thread's fault.

To get my bearings, on top of what bdht and others have listed here, I had a look on Project Central's information for Sim2 products, filtered for LED lamp. It seems that most all LED Sim2 carry the 0.95 DMD (chip?). One example is the Nero 3 first shipped on 10/1/2014. So then I see a Nero 3 listed on eBay. But if it weren't for the listing's image of the box, I would not have known that this particular projector carries a 0.65 DMD.

Is there a way, maybe a serial number, to know if a projector carries the 0.95? Or is Proj Central info not current/accurate?

Thanks for any insight.
David44 is offline  
post #508 of 821 Old 05-27-2020, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,453
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 755 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by David44 View Post
I started looking at used Sim2 LED projectors. It's all this thread's fault.

To get my bearings, on top of what bdht and others have listed here, I had a look on Project Central's information for Sim2 products, filtered for LED lamp. It seems that most all LED Sim2 carry the 0.95 DMD (chip?). One example is the Nero 3 first shipped on 10/1/2014. So then I see a Nero 3 listed on eBay. But if it weren't for the listing's image of the box, I would not have known that this particular projector carries a 0.65 DMD.

Is there a way, maybe a serial number, to know if a projector carries the 0.95? Or is Proj Central info not current/accurate?

Thanks for any insight.
Ya for some reason information on that nero led line is not accurate or incomplete. They do have the 0.65" dmd and I believe they're the same oem as the Optoma HD90/91 and Wolf Cinema SDC-18. I dont know if they have a different lens or led cooling or gamma corrected dynamic dimming. I dont think so though based on the Chi Lin oem(sim2 mico) having improvements over the Delta oem(runco q750i) despite the same dmd and leds.
bdht is online now  
post #509 of 821 Old 05-27-2020, 03:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 13,232
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5684 Post(s)
Liked: 6268
Quote:
Originally Posted by David44 View Post
I started looking at used Sim2 LED projectors. It's all this thread's fault.

To get my bearings, on top of what bdht and others have listed here, I had a look on Project Central's information for Sim2 products, filtered for LED lamp. It seems that most all LED Sim2 carry the 0.95 DMD (chip?). One example is the Nero 3 first shipped on 10/1/2014. So then I see a Nero 3 listed on eBay. But if it weren't for the listing's image of the box, I would not have known that this particular projector carries a 0.65 DMD.

Is there a way, maybe a serial number, to know if a projector carries the 0.95? Or is Proj Central info not current/accurate?

Thanks for any insight.
hi, I can help with this one. The Nero 3 is possibly one of the most disappointing projectors i've had here over the last 10 years.

It's a .65 DMD and basically a re-cased Optoma HD90 which I had here as well. They even had the same menus. It had ~600 lumens @ D65 and the contrast was sub 1000:1. The LED dimming was terrible, the stepping was very obvious and had to turn it off, too distracting to use in any of the modes.

There is a good reason you don't see much about his projector on the internet. Fancy case and no performance to speak of. Run fast away from this one.
zombie10k is online now  
post #510 of 821 Old 05-27-2020, 03:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,577
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post
hi, I can help with this one. The Nero 3 is possibly one of the most disappointing projectors i've had here over the last 10 years.

It's a .65 DMD and basically a re-cased Optoma HD90 which I had here as well. They even had the same menus. It had ~600 lumens @ D65 and the contrast was sub 1000:1. The LED dimming was terrible, the stepping was very obvious and had to turn it off, too distracting to use in any of the modes.

There is a good reason you don't see much about his projector on the internet. Fancy case and no performance to speak of. Run fast away from this one.
I could not agree more. I reached out to Sim2 USA, and off the record I was told to keep what you have......which is the Mico 50. I don't think it's M50 in the states for sell. I'm looking to get a high gain screen for mine, Currently have a elite 1.0 scope. It's not bad, but I know i can do better. Thoughts on screen please.

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off