Is it worth it to buy a used venue type projector? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By MJ DOOM
  • 1 Post By bdht

post #1 of 11 Old 02-25-2020, 09:49 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it worth it to buy a used venue type projector?

We may be wanting to upgrade our 1-2 year old high end business projector as the brightness (3500lm) just isn't there for our venue but we have a very very low budget.
I'm looking at these Panasonic 6k+ lumen WUXGA projectors on ebay like the PT-DZ680 and they can be had for about $400 - $700 including shipping which is worth the cost in bulbs alone.

Is it wise to purchase a used high brightness DLP or LCD projector? Or should we plop down $4k for a new one?

I have no experience with low end venue style projectors.

Everyone knows 1+1=10

Last edited by naps1saps; 02-25-2020 at 10:40 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 02-25-2020, 11:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Quoted: 625 Post(s)
Liked: 298
The main precautions would be, can you find bulb replacements($350 for 2 new lamps on pureland supply), deal with the higher power use(750w for that projector shouldnt be an issue), heat output, and fan noise, as its going to need to use both lamps on full power for the highest brightness. DLP is probably a better option than lcd at that brightness though due to the heats effect on the chip, that panasonic has water cooling for the dmd, havent seen that before pretty cool.
post #3 of 11 Old 02-25-2020, 02:29 PM - Thread Starter

I had a random ticket to fix a loby projector at a theater and the thing was projecting a Yellow tint so I think that one was an LCD. So I know what you mean about trusting DLP for longevity.

Thinking about it some more, I think we may benefit more by converting the screen to a dark high gain screen like they did here:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/110-d...een-paint.html