Samsung SP-A800B - Page 19 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 564 Old 12-09-2011, 02:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TheLion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,175
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Does anybody have the most recent firmware file for the Samsung A800B at hand? I have some issues with 1080p/50Hz input (this resolution/refresh rate combination has non defeatable overscan/scaling -> no 1:1 pixel mapping). The other thing is that per HDMI/DVI inputs the option for selecting 0-255/16-235 levels is grayed out.

Samsung itself isn't answering my calls/emails - probably ending support for discontinued products...

Any help is much appreciated!

(Sorry for cross posting but this is the right place I guess)
TheLion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 564 Old 01-06-2012, 08:38 AM
Member
 
Coup330's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

From what I hear, Joe is no longer working with Samsung. Could be wrong about this.


The old projectors should work in frame sequential 3D if fed the right input signal 720p at 120hz and perhaps higher, the projector would scale it to 1080p 60 and display it frame sequential.

...

Mark, any news on 3D for the A800B / A900B? Somebody tested if the projectors accept 720p 120Hz?

I recently found a video on youtube where Joe Kane gives an interview speaking over 3D and his screen.

In this video he mentioned that he found a manufacturer that would build him an external box within a month for the samsung projectors which sends out frame sequential images and has an emitter, so that the projectors could do 3D.
Samsung themselves don't want to build this unit (which exists).

Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tG-oczEC-x0 begin at minute 15min, otherwise you would like to kill the moderator
I really have to say, that Joe its the patience himself, big respect after wahtching the whole interview
Coup330 is offline  
post #543 of 564 Old 01-06-2012, 05:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
12GAGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Coup330- I have tried my Samsung A900B with a 720p 120hz signal from a Lumagen Radiance and it didn't work. I also tried the VIP converter box which sent a 720p 120hz field interleaved signal as well which would not work either. I am pretty sure Mr. Kane knows his unit so if we could ever get someone to supply the correct signal we would be in business. I am still holding out hope.
12GAGE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #544 of 564 Old 01-07-2012, 07:55 AM
Member
 
Coup330's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thank you for sharing your findings and testing. I was in the process of buying the optima xl box just to test if 720p 120hz signal is supported, but obviously it is not. The manual is correct and precise than, no good news for us

This means that if a converter box is not coming from the original manufacturer samsung, we won't get it with a firmware upgrade for the projector which could enable 100 or 120hz input. And I'm afraid even Joe Kane can't change that

----

As far as I understand the 3D technology, our projectors are so limited to the 720p/60 and 1080p/60 input as maximal. But even so, there is a possibility of 3D. The 3D VIP converter box in the US (and Canada), the 3D displayer and the theater model, which would do the trick of 3D.

I have read the forums but haven't found someone that tried it with the samsungs, or did you try this box with a 720/60Hz signal and not with the 120HZ signal?

Even if this box works, I believe there are two main questions:
- how bad is the flickering as you get only 30Hz per eye?
- how bad is the resolution loss from 3D 1080p Blurays to 720p and than upscaled from the projector back to 1080p?
And than I have another question, how will 3D 1080p 24Hz movies be presented with this converter box in 60Hz, will stuttering be the result?

At least our projectors should be bright enough achiving 900Lumens in High Mode.

P.S.: By the way, I switched from the a800b to the a900B, now its even more perfect than before!
Coup330 is offline  
post #545 of 564 Old 01-07-2012, 10:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
12GAGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 387
I actually tested the VIP box in 720p60hz mode with the Samsung and the flickering was not really that bad. It was noticeable, but with the Monster RF glasses I could reduce the flickering on all but the brightest content. The major issue was the fact that the Samsung A900B for some reason does not framelock a signal so the picture would drift out of sync every few minutes. I think that the answer definitely lies in the signal that is sent. I could never get the Samsung to kick into 1080p/60 frame sequential mode. I did get 720p/60 frame sequential i guess from sending a 720p/120hz signal from the VIP box, however it is something in the signal or coding that caused that image to have a overly green hue. Almost like it had sync on green issues.That was the closest that I got to 3D on the Samsung. This is why I was so excited to get the Lumagen, but then when I tried to send the 720p/120hz signal from Lumagen to the Samsung the projector would not except the signal.
12GAGE is offline  
post #546 of 564 Old 01-07-2012, 11:14 AM
Member
 
Coup330's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you are absolutely right, about the signal being sent as to be the most important. Found a person/dealer in europe who tested the a800b with the vip converter box too. The main issue is that you can't change settings in the converter box as you would want to. Another issue is that the box produces faults with different blurry players I was told. For example, the box worked good with the Oppo Bluray Player but it would not work correctly with an LG and a Panasonic Bluray Player. Maybe that is that what you experienced with the green hue and the out of sync image? I will ask the person if he managed to play it flawlessly. He wasn't very amused about the flickering although...

You have to be really disappointed, you have spend an serious amount of money just for testing the possible input signals. I hope your work will pay out one day

I wrote a email to Joe Kane Productions, I don't know if they will answer, but I gave it a try, so at least they now know that there are fans out there who are interested in the 3D box.

P.S.: Interesting, 3D TV Samsung DLP Kit seen here: http://www.tru3d.com/products/view_product.php?id=31003
Coup330 is offline  
post #547 of 564 Old 01-25-2012, 06:25 PM
Newbie
 
NeverKnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interested if anyone knows how the A800B compares to newer PJs in the $5K price range. While I realize some newer PJs have 3D - more interested in the 2D performance between this one and others.

Thank you,

David
NeverKnow is offline  
post #548 of 564 Old 02-14-2017, 02:33 PM
Member
 
Coup330's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enkidu2 View Post
shikarum - You get an idea from the 3 LED's on the front cover what is going on with the projector. ...

.... If the left blue is blinking, center blue on, and red blinking there is a color wheel problem. The projector will not usually start under any of these conditions. Also note there are times when an error condition is not properly - or at all - indicated by the three lights. My guess is either the new lamp is no good (we get those!) or the color wheel motor has failed. My company, The Pixel Barn in Los Angeles, has a great deal of experience servicing both SP-H and SP-A series Samsung projectors. We are authorized Samsung service.
Hi from Germany,

this thread is some years old and I haven't posted a long time ago, because this projector "just delivers", but I just switched to my third lamp in the a900b and have the above error.

The lamp is clearly ok and triple checked with others, but obviously the color wheel / motor is damaged.

One can buy the motor of the color wheel only or do one has to switch the complete color wheel housing? Anyone knowing?
Coup330 is offline  
post #549 of 564 Old 03-31-2017, 02:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 194
hello! You should contact an official Samsung repair person!
am2model3 is offline  
post #550 of 564 Old 09-30-2017, 05:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Elix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dungeon, Pillar of Eyes
Posts: 1,574
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 106
I've pulled the trigger on non-working Samsung SP-A900B. The listing stated that it doesn't turn on, meaning a faulty PSU. It arrived today and, turns out, it powers on, but then (after about 1 minute) it turns off with 2 blue LEDs blinking: STAND BY and LAMP. The manual says: "The memory in the product is not operating normally. Contact a service center.".

As a knowledgeable person said to me, it might be that projector's FLASH memory where BIOS is stored has died. It is possible to replace the memory but the BIOS is needed. Can anybody help?
Elix is online now  
post #551 of 564 Old 10-02-2017, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 194
you want to contact pixel barn in california.
http://www.thepixelbarn.com/

they are the repair experts for samsung spa800 and 900
Thanks!
I own an spa800b
am2model3 is offline  
post #552 of 564 Old 10-04-2017, 02:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Elix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dungeon, Pillar of Eyes
Posts: 1,574
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by am2model3 View Post
you want to contact pixel barn in california.
http://www.thepixelbarn.com/

they are the repair experts for samsung spa800 and 900
Thanks!
I own an spa800b
Thanks! I will try to contact them.
Elix is online now  
post #553 of 564 Old 10-19-2017, 03:10 AM
Member
 
Coup330's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks to am2model3.

I just shot an email to them, my English isn't the best "on the fly".

I am from Germany and I have an Samsung A900B since 2011. The a900b wasn't sold officially here and even in Europe only in two or three countries. Unfortunately my unit failed 6 months ago. It is probably the DLP color wheel.

I have tried ordering in Europe the a800b spare part wheel (same wheel as a900) in 6 locations across Europe and nobody could supply it. Al orders got cancelled because manufacturer stopped producing the wheel.

Even if so, there has to be some remaining parts, hopefully someone can help reactivate this truly great device.

Or does one know the spare part number or one replacement color wheel size itself without the housing as produced from Samsung (Samsung number:BP96-02008A)?


P.S.: The official Samsung repair point didn't even know that Samsung prduced projectors, after "convincing" them, they said the A900b wasn't sold in Germany so we can not help, even if it is almost identical to the a800b which was sold officially here

Last edited by Coup330; 10-19-2017 at 03:16 AM.
Coup330 is offline  
post #554 of 564 Old 10-20-2017, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 194
no problem! Hope you can get your a900 repaired!
I hope there is a future 4K model in the works sometime. = )
am2model3 is offline  
post #555 of 564 Old 11-23-2017, 06:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Plasma George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fighting City of Philadelphia
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Angry

Sorry to bring this back from the dead, but Obie Wan, you're my only hope.
Samsung passed me around and around the country, and probably to India and no one heard of Samsung projectors.
So, I have no one to help me, other than the here.


Mine shuts down, after 2-3 minutes, no blinking lights, it won't power back up unless I pull the plug, than shuts down again.


The bulb is almost dead, but it still shines, AND I have an older bulb that did work (or I wouldn't have saved it), and that also has the Samsung shutting down after the same 2-3 minutes. I didn't think the bulb being older would shutdown this PJ, I just thought the picture looked lousy until I put a new one in.


Anybody experience this ? I ordered a new bulb ($140), but could cancel, and put the money towards a new PJ. I'm kind scared it's not the bulb, and I now have an amazing PJ that can't be fixed.


https://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...iii-build.html
There are 2 types of people in this world - home theater enthusiasts and idiots
Plasma George is offline  
post #556 of 564 Old 11-28-2017, 02:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 194
call the pixel barn.
a dead bulb results in the flashing lights and auto shutdown, which i am familiar with, so since you have no flashing lights not sure if it is the bulb.

you want to contact pixel barn in california.
http://www.thepixelbarn.com/

they are the repair experts for samsung spa800 and 900
Thanks!
I own an spa800b
am2model3 is offline  
post #557 of 564 Old 03-10-2018, 05:12 AM
Newbie
 
12SHiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all!

So I have my old SP-A800B still going strong but I need to component inside it that has started making an irritating sound. The problem now is that I cant seem to figure out how go get the projector opened!?
There are two screws in the back and in the bottom front there are like 4 lock hinges which I figure is everything that holds the top cover in place but I still cant get it opened.
Does anyone have any tips or tricks to share?
12SHiko is offline  
post #558 of 564 Old 03-10-2018, 07:00 AM
Newbie
 
12SHiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I actually managed to open it. Albeit with a little more force than I was initially comfortable with.
12SHiko is offline  
post #559 of 564 Old 05-10-2019, 01:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 194
my samsung spa800b may be up for sale if anyone is interested. message me for details. thanks
am2model3 is offline  
post #560 of 564 Old 05-22-2019, 02:10 AM
Member
 
rajapruk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am trying to calibrate my projector (an old Samsung A800b from 2009) but I got some problems.

I am using a colorimeter (x-rite i1 display pro) and measuring software (HCFR).

This projector has an kind of semi-automatic calibration function. You should measure red, green, blue, and white (d65) from internal test patterns in the projector, and then enter those values into a calibration table in the service-menu. Then the projector calibrates itself into almost perfection. That is how it is supposed to work.

When I measure the internal test patterns on my screen, I get this values for Red as an example (xyY):

HCFR
Red x: 0.6540
Red y: 0.3375
Red Y: (cd/m2) 14.772
Red Y: (ftL) 4.2928

Then when I look into the calibration table in the Samsung-projector, there is already values like this:

SAMSUNG A800B
Red_X: 652
Red_Y: 340
Red_L: 638

I do not get how to map these values. I do not get what units the projector wants.
For x and y it seems to match if I multiply the value from HCFR with 1000.
For luminance (L), I do not get it. How to map the value Y in HCFR to L in the Samsung?

I realised later that I should have turned off the existing calibration in the service-menu before measuring. So, I will have to remeasure. But, I still wonder what exact unit of measures should be entered in the Samsung Color Temperature table, especially for Luminance (L).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mäta.png
Views:	10
Size:	301.9 KB
ID:	2569994   Click image for larger version

Name:	6EF6B1A3-B438-41DE-BC23-E155E0ECAE70.jpeg
Views:	13
Size:	79.7 KB
ID:	2569996  
rajapruk is offline  
post #561 of 564 Old 05-22-2019, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
mirodk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajapruk View Post
I am trying to calibrate my projector (an old Samsung A800b from 2009) but I got some problems.

I am using a colorimeter (x-rite i1 display pro) and measuring software (HCFR).

This projector has an kind of semi-automatic calibration function. You should measure red, green, blue, and white (d65) from internal test patterns in the projector, and then enter those values into a calibration table in the service-menu. Then the projector calibrates itself into almost perfection. That is how it is supposed to work.

When I measure the internal test patterns on my screen, I get this values for Red as an example (xyY):

HCFR
Red x: 0.6540
Red y: 0.3375
Red Y: (cd/m2) 14.772
Red Y: (ftL) 4.2928

Then when I look into the calibration table in the Samsung-projector, there is already values like this:

SAMSUNG A800B
Red_X: 652
Red_Y: 340
Red_L: 638

I do not get how to map these values. I do not get what units the projector wants.
For x and y it seems to match if I multiply the value from HCFR with 1000.
For luminance (L), I do not get it. How to map the value Y in HCFR to L in the Samsung?

I realised later that I should have turned off the existing calibration in the service-menu before measuring. So, I will have to remeasure. But, I still wonder what exact unit of measures should be entered in the Samsung Color Temperature table, especially for Luminance (L).
At first this is from the service manual, how to measure:

DNIE Color
- Selects whether to apply the white balance adjusted using the CCA.
- ON: Applies the CCA.
- OFF: The CCA is not applied.
Color Standard
- Defines the standards to be used in the user menu.
- SMPTE-C: The color coordinate standard for analog signals.
- EBU: The color coordinate standard for D-TV signals used in Europe.
- HD: The color coordinate standard for D-TV signals used in the USA.
The Brightness and Color Coordinates for Primary Colors
- Measure and input the brightness and color coordinate values for Red, Green, Blue, and White of the test pattern in the
user menu.
- The measurement should be performed in a dark room with no outside light.
.- Use a measurement instrument such as a CL-200 (illuminometer) or CS-1000 (luminance meter), etc.
- Measure the center of the screen with a measurement distance of about 1.5 to 2m and a screen size of 40”.
- Enter the measured values and then measure the color coordinates of 6500K White in the user menu. The measured
color coordinates are good if they are within x:0.313±0.003 and y:0.329±0.003.
- If the value is not within the range, perform the measurement again

This is my Samsung SP-A900B, default settings.
Red x 651
y 341
L 842
Green x 292
y 613
L 2063
Blue x 148
y 62
L 235
White x 328
y 327
L 3153

How to plugin your measured data

For the x_y data you use the three digits after 0, - in your case for red 654 and 338.
For the L = luminance you take the measured data, in your case data Red L 4.2928*150=644 (Thats around your original 638) then you multiply your other luminance numbers with the same amount - that's it.

The multiply of 150 isn't very important just it is the same for all 4 luminance measurements.

This info I got from a professional Samsung/Joe Kane trained calibrator who calibrated mine.
mirodk is online now  
post #562 of 564 Old 05-22-2019, 12:59 PM
Member
 
rajapruk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirodk View Post
at first this is from the service manual, how to measure:

Dnie color
- selects whether to apply the white balance adjusted using the cca.
- on: Applies the cca.
- off: The cca is not applied.
Color standard
- defines the standards to be used in the user menu.
- smpte-c: The color coordinate standard for analog signals.
- ebu: The color coordinate standard for d-tv signals used in europe.
- hd: The color coordinate standard for d-tv signals used in the usa.
The brightness and color coordinates for primary colors
- measure and input the brightness and color coordinate values for red, green, blue, and white of the test pattern in the
user menu.
- the measurement should be performed in a dark room with no outside light.
.- use a measurement instrument such as a cl-200 (illuminometer) or cs-1000 (luminance meter), etc.
- measure the center of the screen with a measurement distance of about 1.5 to 2m and a screen size of 40”.
- enter the measured values and then measure the color coordinates of 6500k white in the user menu. The measured
color coordinates are good if they are within x:0.313±0.003 and y:0.329±0.003.
- if the value is not within the range, perform the measurement again

this is my samsung sp-a900b, default settings.
Red x 651
y 341
l 842
green x 292
y 613
l 2063
blue x 148
y 62
l 235
white x 328
y 327
l 3153

how to plugin your measured data

for the x_y data you use the three digits after 0, - in your case for red 654 and 338.
For the l = luminance you take the measured data, in your case data red l 4.2928*150=644 (thats around your original 638) then you multiply your other luminance numbers with the same amount - that's it.

The multiply of 150 isn't very important just it is the same for all 4 luminance measurements.

This info i got from a professional samsung/joe kane trained calibrator who calibrated mine.
thanks!!
mirodk likes this.
rajapruk is offline  
post #563 of 564 Old 05-22-2019, 01:50 PM
Member
 
rajapruk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Should I calibrate greyscale manually before this color step? Or does this procedure also calibrate the greyscale automatically?

Mirodk, can you send me the whole service manual? If possible, please email it to rajapruk at hotmail.
rajapruk is offline  
post #564 of 564 Old 05-22-2019, 09:42 PM
Senior Member
 
mirodk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajapruk View Post
Should I calibrate greyscale manually before this color step? Or does this procedure also calibrate the greyscale automatically?

Mirodk, can you send me the whole service manual? If possible, please email it to rajapruk at hotmail.
Just reset all your settings and this process takes care of grayscale and color space.
rajapruk likes this.
mirodk is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off