Sound from Laptop to Analog Receiver? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-27-2010, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Rubaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello AVS,
I have a new Toshiba Laptop with HDMI output and a 720p Sony Wega TV with a connected Pioneer (old) analog reciever which is hooked up to a surround sound system.

I want to connect the laptop to the TV through HDMI but have the audio output using the traditional headphone jack-to-red/white cable to the receiver so I can get surround sound.

The laptop uses Realtek HD Audio Manager,

Thanks in advance for any help.
Rubaru is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 11-27-2010, 03:52 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 30,080
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1193 Post(s)
Liked: 1038
You need a digital audio output from the laptop in order to get surround sound. Is there such an option on your PC?

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 11-27-2010, 05:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,343
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 872 Post(s)
Liked: 336
While not the exact situation as yours, here's a thread talking about laptops, surround systems and older AVRs.
jjeff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 11-28-2010, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Yes, you would need to use the HDMI output if you want true surround sound. If you just want stereo sound, you can output using the headphone jack and still output video through hdmi.
sitlet is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 11-28-2010, 10:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 30,080
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1193 Post(s)
Liked: 1038
Quote:
Originally Posted by sitlet View Post

Yes, you would need to use the HDMI output if you want true surround sound.

You can also get true surround sound (but not lossless) with coax/optical digital audio output.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off