AT&T Uverse/Gigapower ?'s - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 02-18-2015, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thebishman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 161
AT&T Uverse/Gigapower ?'s

We have just gained access to AT&T 'Gigapower' in our neighborhood. The pricing for a whole bunch of channels including premium movie channels, with 4 receivers and 1Gb internet is about $100/mo less than what I'm currently paying for Directv and TWC internet.

?'s:

Anyone have AT&T Uverse WITH the Gigapower fiberoptic link to the house?

How is the quality of the HD streams?

How many HD streams can you record at the same time?

Any issues with dropouts, etc?

Does the internet speed drop greatly when watching tv?

Any further info appreciated.

TIA,
Bish
thebishman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 06-06-2015, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
 
dmarqueset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 82
AT&T just made Gigapower available in the Nashville area on May 18th. They are literally pulling fiber down my street as I type this. I will report back with more information when it becomes live on my street.
dmarqueset is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 07-02-2015, 01:12 PM
Member
 
NashvilleMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm quite interested as well. I'm moving to a new neighborhood in Brentwood in October, and according to AT&T's website, GigaPower will be an option there.
NashvilleMark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 11-22-2015, 02:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thebishman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Resurrecting this thread to see if there are any answers to my questions from 2/15.

Thanks for any help,

Bish
thebishman is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 11-28-2015, 10:21 AM
Senior Member
 
dmarqueset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 82
They pulled fiber throughout my neighborhood but have not offered any services. I find that really weird.
dmarqueset is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 11-28-2015, 12:16 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 17,632
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2519 Post(s)
Liked: 4906
That's funny. In my neighborhood, they're offering the services, but they haven't pulled fiber. They keep mailing stuff addressed to me to my home address, but when I call, I'm told it's not available in my area.
"Then why did you send out a mailer?"
"Our database may be out of date."
"Out of date would mean that fiber was once in the neighborhood, right?"
"I'm sorry we can't help you." <click>

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #7 of 13 Old 12-07-2015, 07:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
strindl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Waukesha, Wisconsin
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
That's funny. In my neighborhood, they're offering the services, but they haven't pulled fiber. They keep mailing stuff addressed to me to my home address, but when I call, I'm told it's not available in my area.
"Then why did you send out a mailer?"
"Our database may be out of date."
"Out of date would mean that fiber was once in the neighborhood, right?"
"I'm sorry we can't help you." <click>
I just saw a report that AT&T is expanding their gigapower service to 42 more metro areas. One of those is the Milwaukee area....where I am. Looking forward to being able to get that. I'm on their 45MB download speed now...but actually get 50 MB download regularly.
strindl is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 12-07-2015, 10:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JimboG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by strindl View Post
I just saw a report that AT&T is expanding their gigapower service to 42 more metro areas. One of those is the Milwaukee area....where I am. Looking forward to being able to get that. I'm on their 45MB download speed now...but actually get 50 MB download regularly.
1TB data caps and advertisements inserted after deep packet inspection; what's not to love?

Free over the air HDTV + Tivo HD + Netflix for Blu-ray and streaming = Bliss
JimboG is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 07-25-2018, 04:03 AM
Senior Member
 
dmarqueset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 82
After 3 years of pulling cable in the neighborhood, they finally ran fiber to my home. I now use the 1 Gbps/1 Gbps option and consistently get 940 Mbps/968 Mbps on several speed tests.
dmarqueset is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 07-25-2018, 05:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
nathill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmarqueset View Post
After 3 years of pulling cable in the neighborhood, they finally ran fiber to my home. I now use the 1 Gbps/1 Gbps option and consistently get 940 Mbps/968 Mbps on several speed tests.

Sounds like excellent internet service.
Do they offer TV via the fiber as well?
nathill is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 07-25-2018, 07:52 PM
Senior Member
 
dmarqueset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathill View Post
Sounds like excellent internet service.
Do they offer TV via the fiber as well?
They do, U-Verse TV, but I have DirecTV and am waiting until my contract is up.
dmarqueset is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 07-26-2018, 05:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
nathill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmarqueset View Post
They do, U-Verse TV, but I have DirecTV and am waiting until my contract is up.

We had some friends here locally (Bloomington, IN), and their U-Verse wasn't very good.
But they were on dsl service. I'll bet with fiber it will work like a charm for you.

Wish AT&T would run fiber to my door.
I just recently got the option of "18K (up to! ) dsl, and I'm in the city limits of Bloomington, IN.
I don't think they even offer U-Verse on dsl locally anymore. They offer DirecTV instead...



Thanks!
nathill is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 07-07-2019, 08:26 AM
Member
 
jimsmith94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmarqueset View Post
They do, U-Verse TV, but I have DirecTV and am waiting until my contract is up.
Sorry to bring up this old post, but I would like to know if you or anyone has switched from DirecTV to U-Verse TV and your thoughts on it. I also have DirecTV and my apartment complex just got U-Verse fiber that I am definitely interested in. My DirecTV contract is up but I could have gotten a great package deal if I was a new customer. (I hate that only new customers get the deals!)

U-Verse TV is supposedly going away but I'm thinking about switching anyway "if" that would qualify me for a new customer package deal. I am most interested in the upcoming DirecTV streaming service that is "supposed" to be available in the third quarter of this year. At least U-Verse contracts are for only one year which would allow for more delays in that coming out.
jimsmith94 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off