Salem, Wisconsin 55 miles (avg) - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 10-06-2015, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Salem, Wisconsin 55 miles (avg)

I currently have no antenna and want to drop cable. I am sure I can pick up the Milwaukee stations but I am interested in the Chicago streams for Chicago sports. Based on my TVFool what antenna would help me capture both...Thanks for any help. Total newbie on this
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	19417_10152740309661906_1381541568612953699_n.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	180.9 KB
ID:	979521  
Gary Frost is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 10-06-2015, 04:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 3,327
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 913 Post(s)
Liked: 401
Welcome, Gary:

Thanks for the image; it's a good start but we find a link to your report more useful because we can click on a callsign to see the terrain profile between the transmitter and your location. We understand about the 5 post requirement before posting an active link, so maybe you can give us the link later.

Where will your antenna be located?

Are you in a house, apartment, or what?

Streams come over the internet, not by antenna.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 10-06-2015 at 04:33 PM.
rabbit73 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 10-06-2015, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks Rabbit, I live in a house, it's all mine and I can make the entire roof an antenna if I want .. I mean I'd rather not but hey I like my sports in HD and don't care for the high cost of cable
Gary Frost is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 10-06-2015, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I do have a detached garage too
Gary Frost is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 10-06-2015, 07:27 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My old Ant that got blown done a few years ago did pic up a few channels but not the Chicago streams
Gary Frost is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 10-06-2015, 07:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
It's also a fairly flat region I live in too
Gary Frost is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 10-06-2015, 07:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
highfigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,160
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Frost View Post
My old Ant that got blown done a few years ago did pic up a few channels but not the Chicago streams
You'll need something that's either omni-directional or very directional with a rotor and the latter will give you the strongest signal. You could use an amplifier, but they only work when you already have a decent signal. Look at the Winegard site- they also have tech support.
highfigh is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 10-06-2015, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
Welcome, Gary:

Thanks for the image; it's a good start but we find a link to your report more useful because we can click on a callsign to see the terrain profile between the transmitter and your location. We understand about the 5 post requirement before posting an active link, so maybe you can give us the link later.



Where will your antenna be located?

Are you in a house, apartment, or what?

Streams come over the internet, not by antenna.
Here is the Link http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...8e0323a942e34d
Gary Frost is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 10-06-2015, 09:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hereford, AZ
Posts: 5,982
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1752 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Frost View Post
I currently have no antenna and want to drop cable. I am sure I can pick up the Milwaukee stations but I am interested in the Chicago streams for Chicago sports. Based on my TVFool what antenna would help me capture both...Thanks for any help. Total newbie on this
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Frost View Post

All of your stations are 2 edge which makes reception more difficult. You need a good antenna with a preamp and rotor (or 2 antennas with an A/B switch) mounted high enough to clear the local vegetation and buildings. If the antenna is looking into a sea of trees it likely will not work. I'd suggest the Winegard HD7698P as one possibility.
Calaveras is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 10-07-2015, 10:04 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post
All of your stations are 2 edge which makes reception more difficult. You need a good antenna with a preamp and rotor (or 2 antennas with an A/B switch) mounted high enough to clear the local vegetation and buildings. If the antenna is looking into a sea of trees it likely will not work. I'd suggest the Winegard HD7698P as one possibility.
So in other words I have 2 choices
  1. Install a 100' Antenna tower
  2. Countinue to pay cable or Sat....

Bummer...
Gary Frost is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 10-07-2015, 10:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 3,327
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 913 Post(s)
Liked: 401
Do you have trees or other buildings in the signal path from Milwaukee?

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 10-07-2015, 11:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hereford, AZ
Posts: 5,982
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1752 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Frost View Post
So in other words I have 2 choices
  1. Install a 100' Antenna tower
  2. Countinue to pay cable or Sat....

Bummer...

Yes. I have spectrum analyzer traces showing what signals look like through a forest. They're a mess. You can sometimes receive a station by moving the antenna around but it usually requires a different antenna location for each station. A friend of mine hired a guy to mount his antenna at the top of his tallest tree. You could try that.
Calaveras is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off