AVS Official Topic: The FCC and Television Spectrum Repack - Page 16 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 110Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 463 Old 06-16-2019, 05:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,814
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2731 Post(s)
Liked: 1337
Cable TV virtual channels are another whole can of worms. Many date back to the days when cable TV only had channels 2-36; as a result a lot of stations are on wildly different cable channels than their OTA channels. In DFW, Spectrum has KDFI on channel 7 vs. 27; KXTX on channel 10 vs. 39; KTXA on 12 vs 21; etc.

TV stations are best advised to completely ignore the channel numbers their local cable co. gave them, and stick to their original OTA analog TV channels - if they can still remember them. Most can, since they built their brands around those channel numbers. (We never had any mix-ups in the DFW area AFAIK.) But I can imagine stations getting, um, confused on occasion.
JHBrandt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 463 Old 06-16-2019, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,469
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1418 Post(s)
Liked: 521
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
FCC rules require full-power and Class A stations to use their analog channels as their virtual channels, with a few very narrow exceptions.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #453 of 463 Old 06-17-2019, 06:17 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,421
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8968 Post(s)
Liked: 5750
Quote:
Originally Posted by SFischer1 View Post
You are missing the point completely!



Combining antennas like you said you did is GENERATING Multipath unless you are as lucky as you were as the angle was ~ 90 degrees.



Most people will not be lucky and they will lose stations as the tuner cannot cope with the multipath. It does not matter how the multipath is generated, by combining antennas or naturally occurring reflections.



I cannot receive one low power station even though the Signal Strength is 94% or higher. The Signal Quality is 0% and the Symbol Quality is of course 0% resulting in NO VIDEO and NO AUDIO. There is a full power station almost exact ally in the same direction on an adjacent channel.



I did get the station for a few minutes to capture a clean stream and the results are posted here:



https://www.avsforum.com/forum/45-lo...l#post58157440



If you do not accept my answer please post to the correct thread where the more knowledgeable experts can try better to help you:



https://www.avsforum.com/forum/25-hd...are-topic.html



SHF
I combined two antennas fifteen years ago and it's still working great. It was the only way for me to get all the channels reliably in the DC area. I couldn't do it with the one antenna.

Sent from my Galaxy S10
Primestar31 likes this.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--73TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #454 of 463 Old 06-19-2019, 08:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hereford, AZ
Posts: 5,874
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1682 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I combined two antennas fifteen years ago and it's still working great. It was the only way for me to get all the channels reliably in the DC area. I couldn't do it with the one antenna.

Sent from my Galaxy S10

Consider yourself lucky because in many cases it doesn't work. Here's why:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/25-hd...l#post56833878

It's really a crap shoot as what's going to happen. Sometimes you'll gain a station but loose one that was previously good.
Calaveras is online now  
post #455 of 463 Old 06-20-2019, 01:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,814
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2731 Post(s)
Liked: 1337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
FCC rules require full-power and Class A stations to use their analog channels as their virtual channels, with a few very narrow exceptions.

- Trip
Correct. Unfortunately stations don't always follow the rules, and someone like you or holl_ands has to get onto them.

When they didn't follow this rule, it was almost always by mistake. Whoever set up their encoder had cable, watches the station on cable, and thought the cable channel was the old analog channel, unaware that the cable co. had changed their channel number (probably because even longer ago, the cable system only supported channels 2-36; remember those days?)
JHBrandt is online now  
post #456 of 463 Old 06-20-2019, 01:54 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,800
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2191 Post(s)
Liked: 4094
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Correct. Unfortunately stations don't always follow the rules, and someone like you or holl_ands has to get onto them.

When they didn't follow this rule, it was almost always by mistake. Whoever set up their encoder had cable, watches the station on cable, and thought the cable channel was the old analog channel, unaware that the cable co. had changed their channel number (probably because even longer ago, the cable system only supported channels 2-36; remember those days?)
Then there are those who shouldn't follow the rules, but do. WWSB in Sarasota identifies as ABC7 complete with the circle-7 logo ABC stations use around the country. That's because they're on Channel 7 on cable systems. BUT... their Virtual is 40, because that's their legacy. Nobody's ever challenged the use of ABC7, so why not just let them flip the virtual? Would end some confusion, I'm sure.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #457 of 463 Old 06-21-2019, 06:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,469
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1418 Post(s)
Liked: 521
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
Then there are those who shouldn't follow the rules, but do. WWSB in Sarasota identifies as ABC7 complete with the circle-7 logo ABC stations use around the country. That's because they're on Channel 7 on cable systems. BUT... their Virtual is 40, because that's their legacy. Nobody's ever challenged the use of ABC7, so why not just let them flip the virtual? Would end some confusion, I'm sure.
Why shouldn't they? A station that calls themselves "Fox Philadelphia" shouldn't have virtual channel "Philadelphia" just because they call themselves that. They would use 29-1 like any other station.

For OTA viewers, WWSB has only ever been on 40 (analog) or 40-1 (digital). A change to 7-1 would cause confusion. Moreover, in areas where WZVN 26-1, also branded as ABC7 and for the same reason, has coverage overlap with WWSB, which station gets the right to it?

Better to follow the rules.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #458 of 463 Old 06-24-2019, 06:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,814
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2731 Post(s)
Liked: 1337
Many folks in the DFW area are complaining that they can't receive KTXA/21 after their repacking move on Friday. I get KTXA fine, but it appears there may be another broadcaster causing interference on RF 18 for many viewers.

It could be that KPFW forgot to turn off their transmitter (they were on RF 18 and were supposed to move to RF 5), or that someone else started broadcasting on RF 18 (although I don't know who that might be).
JHBrandt is online now  
post #459 of 463 Old 06-28-2019, 06:35 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,800
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2191 Post(s)
Liked: 4094
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Why shouldn't they? A station that calls themselves "Fox Philadelphia" shouldn't have virtual channel "Philadelphia" just because they call themselves that. They would use 29-1 like any other station.

For OTA viewers, WWSB has only ever been on 40 (analog) or 40-1 (digital). A change to 7-1 would cause confusion. Moreover, in areas where WZVN 26-1, also branded as ABC7 and for the same reason, has coverage overlap with WWSB, which station gets the right to it?

Better to follow the rules.

- Trip
I think the small overlap area where viewers can receive both ABC-7 branded stations is insignificant w/r/t ADI. Those viewers are already used to there being two ABC-7s. Neither station has complained about the other's use of the identifier. And, even though WWSB's virtual is 40 (they're actually ON rf 24), nobody who's moved into the Sarasota/Bradenton area in the last 14 years would know that. The news vans, the marketing, the station promos on TV and radio never mention anything about it, anymore.

I guarantee cord-cutters putting up an antenna in either market are baffled when they press 7-1 on the remote and get nothing. I'd also hazard a guess the station and Best Buy end up informing a number of customers they need to tune to 40-1 to get WWSB.

Sure, following the rules is the way to go and I wouldn't advocate anyone breaking them. I just see some cases where a shift in virtual channel use to reflect pre-digital legacy identification could be justified.

Which begs another question. Has any station opted to forego legacy virtual channel identification for current rf channel and/or is there a procedure for that? I know it was kicked around at WWJ-TV back in the day.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.

Last edited by DrDon; 06-28-2019 at 06:40 AM.
DrDon is online now  
post #460 of 463 Old 06-28-2019, 12:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,814
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2731 Post(s)
Liked: 1337
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
Has any station opted to forego legacy virtual channel identification for current rf channel and/or is there a procedure for that? I know it was kicked around at WWJ-TV back in the day.
That's one of those ideas that seems to make a lot of sense (if, of course, your current RF channel isn't someone else's virtual channel) until something like repacking, channel sharing, or ATSC 3.0 comes along and screws it all up again.

Rebranding to the channel your local cable co. gave you makes more sense, again assuming it isn't already someone else's virtual channel - and assuming that, if your station is on multiple cable systems, they all agree! Cable cos. rarely change a station's virtual channel on any given cable system (although they change RF channel/program IDs all the time).

In the rare cases where a station has good cause to rebrand as a different channel, there ought to be a way for a station to petition the FCC for permission to change their virtual channel to match their new branding. The FCC could check for problems like the above and make a decision.
JHBrandt is online now  
post #461 of 463 Old 06-28-2019, 03:02 PM
Member
 
statmanmi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Virtual channel to new RF (in 2009)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
Has any station opted to forego legacy virtual channel identification for current rf channel and/or is there a procedure for that? I know it was kicked around at WWJ-TV back in the day.
Hi DrDon,

I could immediately recall a station that rebranded their on air referenced number: WFQX-TV...Northern Michigan's FOX.

When I was growing up, they were "Fox 33" (analog only). It was sometime after I was no longer residing in Northern Michigan that they went to being "Fox 32", and now they seem to brand as "Local 32".

Wikipedia cites that the number change was in August 2009, so not quite coinciding with the analog shut-down: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WFQX-TV

I'm not finding a particular line item on one of the LMS filings from that time that noted the PSIP change...maybe there's a different correspondence.

Cheers! ~ Statmanmi

Kent County, MI
statmanmi is offline  
post #462 of 463 Old 06-28-2019, 06:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 3,852
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 956 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
....

Which begs another question. Has any station opted to forego legacy virtual channel identification for current rf channel and/or is there a procedure for that? I know it was kicked around at WWJ-TV back in the day.
What about KAXT that has VC 1, RF 42.

I forget the sequence that prevented use of other Virtual Channels, but the FCC said fine when asked. I have not seen any reports of problems so VC 1 is just fine for any HDTVs.

EDIT:
EDIT:-2 It is interesting, the station that took VC 42, a full power station is now channel sharing with KAXT. (KTLN)

No, it was KTNC using VC 42 while KAXT was on RF 42 and needed a VC (low power station looses in any contest with a full power station).


Also ..., KCSM wanted to use VC 43 but that was rejected by the FCC and as they had turned off their analog transmitter on RF 60, were forced to put a flea power transmitter on RF 60 or get fined / get their license taken away.

Furthermore they lost ~ $140M when they did not make a bid on time during the repack. ( The dueling lawsuits were settled with the CMS getting $10M.

https://padailypost.com/2019/03/19/c...v-sale-fiasco/
)


SHF

http://www.larrykenney.com/sfonair.html

Last edited by SFischer1; 06-29-2019 at 11:21 PM.
SFischer1 is offline  
post #463 of 463 Old 06-29-2019, 03:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,469
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1418 Post(s)
Liked: 521
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
In order to try to short-circuit what I imagine to be an off-topic discussion, I will very briefly address each key point here.

The "small" overlap area includes the city of Sarasota. Seems like an important city for a Sarasota-licensed station. In fact, I checked and the contour overlap area contains more than 880,000 people, constituting more than 24% of WWSB's population and more than 44% of WZVN's population. I'm not sure who would consider that to be "small," but I certainly wouldn't.

More to the point, just saying something along the lines of viewers will figure it out if there are two 7-1 stations assumes that the receiver functions properly and shows two stations on 7-1. There are plenty of receivers that do strange things with duplicate virtual channels. Sony TVs will pick up the first one properly, then put the second one on its RF channel. The DTV Pal converter box will put one of the signals on its proper channel, and the other on 70-1, or if that's already taken, 71-1, etc. Still other receivers choose either the first or second 7-1 received, completely leaving the other one out. Then the viewer can try to figure out why it is that their 7-1 is talking about Fort Myers instead of Sarasota or vice versa.

There is no procedure for changing virtual channel number. ATSC A/65C Annex B lays out a procedure that stations are to follow to determine their virtual channel number. (Note that the rules do not require LPTV stations to follow Annex B, though the FCC does encourage LPTV stations to follow it. If an LPTV station's failure to follow Annex B results in a conflict with a station that is required to follow Annex B, the LPTV must change its virtual channel accordingly.) Only if a conflict arises that those rules cannot resolve does the FCC permit an alternative (see KAXT-CD).

You can't find anything on WFQX because they lack permission, as far as I am aware. In LMS, you will find their virtual channel listed as 33. https://enterpriseefiling.fcc.gov/da...cilityId=25396

- Trip
PA_MainyYak, JHBrandt and Tschmidt like this.

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"


Last edited by Trip in VA; 06-29-2019 at 03:36 AM.
Trip in VA is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off