"Pop" sound sometimes when changing channels? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-11-2018, 12:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
djdel002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Question "Pop" sound sometimes when changing channels?

Hey guys,

I have Xfinity in Massachusetts and wondering if others experience a small popping or clicking sound sometimes when changing channels?

My setup:

Onkyo txnr 656
KEF Q100s
Polk Tl150s
Polk PSW10

Everything works great just making sure that won't cause any problems, I have a second Sony receiver and it also does the same pop sometimes.

Last edited by djdel002; 01-11-2018 at 12:01 PM. Reason: wanted to add something
djdel002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 01-12-2018, 06:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Primestar31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Under the bridge (Lower Michigan)
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 86
I had that happen on an older tv set. I fixed it by lowering the BASS setting slightly. Popping then went away. Perhaps that will also work for you?
Primestar31 is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-12-2018, 07:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
djdel002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primestar31 View Post
I had that happen on an older tv set. I fixed it by lowering the BASS setting slightly. Popping then went away. Perhaps that will also work for you?
Thanks Primestar,
I don't run bass too high really but I'll try that for sure.

My neighbor also has a theater setup and theirs also does it so I think it's just something we'll have
to deal with.

Sony 65" X900E Sony UBP-X800 4K Blu-Ray Roku Ultra, Apple TV 4K
Onkyo TX-nr656
Polk S15s, S35 and TL1 satellite rears, TL1 satellite heights Atmos 5.1.2
HSU VTF-2 MK5
djdel002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 02-03-2018, 07:45 PM
Senior Member
 
RJ28462's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MV CA
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I have a 1 year old DirecTV receiver connected via HDMI directly to a 1080P input on my Sony 65x930E. It's been very stable. Yesterday, the TV started making a clicking sound for about 1 second when I change channels on the direcTV receiver. I have multiple source devices and everything else is and has been rock solid. I haven't made any changes and everything was working fine till this. Ugg, I hate to start tearing thing apart. Will let you know if I find the bug.
RJ28462 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 02-03-2018, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
 
RJ28462's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MV CA
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJ28462 View Post
I have a 1 year old DirecTV receiver connected via HDMI directly to a 1080P input on my Sony 65x930E. It's been very stable. Yesterday, the TV started making a clicking sound for about 1 second when I change channels on the direcTV receiver. I have multiple source devices and everything else is and has been rock solid. I haven't made any changes and everything was working fine till this. Ugg, I hate to start tearing thing apart. Will let you know if I find the bug.
OK I figured it out. It was relatively painless.
My DTV Receiver is model H25/100.
It has a setting for outputting Dolby Digital: On/Off
If I turn it off, then the clicking sound goes away.

Looks like the receiver did a software update on or after 1/22. My best guess is that the update is somehow related. Don't know for sure.
Wife said the clicking started a few days ago but I just noticed it yesterday.
I'll leave the Dolby Digital output off for now. I rarely watch movies on DTV.
RJ28462 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 06-14-2019, 11:53 AM
Senior Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Dolby Digital Still Pops

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJ28462 View Post
OK I figured it out. It was relatively painless.
My DTV Receiver is model H25/100.
It has a setting for outputting Dolby Digital: On/Off
If I turn it off, then the clicking sound goes away.

Looks like the receiver did a software update on or after 1/22. My best guess is that the update is somehow related. Don't know for sure.
Wife said the clicking started a few days ago but I just noticed it yesterday.
I'll leave the Dolby Digital output off for now. I rarely watch movies on DTV.
This is still a problem it seems. More and more channels are in 5.1, but if you turn on the Dolby Digital you get some awful pops sometimes. It is especially bad when rewinding for FF or the DVR. It seems awful to turn the Dolby signal into stereo because DirecTV can process the sound w/o pops.

====
JS9500, MRX1120, Oppo 103D, XboneS, DirecTV, Harmony Hubs
vodil is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 06-15-2019, 12:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, West of desert
Posts: 5,688
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1970 Post(s)
Liked: 2695
Not a new problem, pops have been happening with Dolby Digital devices for years. Tivo had thread about in 2007 on a forum, U-Verse in 2011. It's usually a software problem and eventually goes away. For now report it to your service provider, you don't how many people are having the problem that aren't on AVS.

"Espresso is like tequila, when in doubt apply more shots."
tenthplanet is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 06-16-2019, 06:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 6,093
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 915 Post(s)
Liked: 489
When you change from a Station using 720p to one using 1080i (or 480i), there will usually be an Audio/Video GLITCH as the TV (or AVR) re-synchronizes to the changed format. You can eliminate this by configuring Cable Box to ALWAYS output the SAME Resolution (such as EITHER 1080i for highest resolution OR 720p for highest refresh rate), irrespective of the program resolution. I configured my SPECTRUM box so that 720p is displayed as 720p and all others are displayed or upconverted to 1080i....so I ONLY have a GLITCH when changing to/fm a small number of 720p stations (e.g. ABC, ESPN and other Sports Channels).

Last edited by holl_ands; 06-16-2019 at 06:18 PM.
holl_ands is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 06-16-2019, 08:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 2,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by holl_ands View Post
When you change from a Station using 720p to one using 1080i (or 480i), there will usually be an Audio/Video GLITCH as the TV (or AVR) re-synchronizes to the changed format. You can eliminate this by configuring Cable Box to ALWAYS output the SAME Resolution (such as EITHER 1080i for highest resolution OR 720p for highest refresh rate), irrespective of the program resolution. I configured my SPECTRUM box so that 720p is displayed as 720p and all others are displayed or upconverted to 1080i....so I ONLY have a GLITCH when changing to/fm a small number of 720p stations (e.g. ABC, ESPN and other Sports Channels).
Since I love to pass on semi-useless information, I'll mention that the pop at channel change has always been a problem with external tuners vs the internal tuner. When a TV changes its own tuner, the first thing the microprocessor does is mute the sound, then changes channel, then un-mutes the sound. At high volume levels that pop is pretty hard on audio amps. (try explaining that to a customer)

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off