Is Firewire still an FCC requirement for Comcast boxes? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-04-2018, 06:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tabrech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is Firewire still an FCC requirement for Comcast boxes?

I had one with firewire that worked in 2016 but then I cut the cord and went with an OTA receiver.

Now I have comcast again, but I can't get a box with an operational firewire port.

Their ignorance and stonewalling is frustrating, so does anyone know if the firewire-enabled boxes are still required by law?
tabrech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-05-2018, 07:14 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,594
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2086 Post(s)
Liked: 3964
Well.. yes and no.

FCC Douses FireWire Requirement For Set-Tops With IP

Gotta admit, cablecos have a way of shoulder-shrugging anf foot-dragging their way through requirements they do not like, such as CableCARD, which, in my opinion, was ruined by feigned ineptitude.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-06-2018, 07:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tabrech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I came across that article. What puzzles me is that I still had a firewire-enabled box just 2 years ago. The box that I'm trying to hook up to my HD VCR does not have an IP option. I'm not a lawyer, but I'm trying to get my facts straight before I go after comcast again. They want me to go away and I kind of don't feel like pursuing it because no one will know what I'm talking about, but if it's required by law, I will pursue it!
tabrech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 09-06-2018, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 18,755
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2073 Post(s)
Liked: 1916
I think you will have very difficult time trying to find ANY provider (Comcast, D*, E*, AT&T, Verizon, TWC, etc.) that still offers an STB with a Firewire interface today.



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-06-2018, 06:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dr1394's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mizar 5
Posts: 3,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post
I think you will have very difficult time trying to find ANY provider (Comcast, D*, E*, AT&T, Verizon, TWC, etc.) that still offers an STB with a Firewire interface today.
The Pace RNG110 still has Firewire. It's even active, but it doesn't work correctly (at least with D-VHS).

If you can get your local office to find a DCX-3200, that's probably the last STB that works correctly.

HD MPEG-2 Test Patterns http://www.w6rz.net
dr1394 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-07-2018, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tabrech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh - Now there's a lead as that model number sounds familiar! Was that the little black box or was that the larger silver/gray beast? I want to say that I had a motorola DHC 3416, which was the large silver/gray beast, that worked. I later got a smaller black box that also worked and I'm wondering if that was the DCX-3200. Could be possible...
tabrech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off