Trilithic 860 DSP RF meter - Workbench Software? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 06-25-2019, 06:18 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trilithic 860 DSP RF meter - Workbench Software?

Hi Everyone,
Does anyone have a Trilithic 860 DSP or DSPi RF signal strength meter? I'm looking for the free Workbench Lite software that came with the meters. (For building and transferring channel plans.) I know that asking for software is looked down upon on forums but this is the free software that came with the meters.

A little back story... I'm a former AV installer/service tech. I've been out of that industry for a while but I do side jobs from time to time fixing/balancing cable TV systems and setting up TV antennas. My beloved Sadelco DisplayMax 800D died a few months ago. I've been trolling eBay and bought a few meters to play with to see which one I like best. So far I've picked up the following:

Tektronix RFM 150 Signal Scout
Wavetek SAM-4040D
JDSU (Acterna) SDA-5000
Sencore SLM 1472
Trilithic 860 DSP
Trilithic 860 DSPi

So far, I love the Trilithic 860 DSP for its huge display and it's nice favorite channel (tilt) readings. I REALLY love the Sencore 1472's 8VSB signal quality measurements, MER, Noise Margin, bBER, and aBER. The spectrum displays on all of the units are AWESOME for seeing multipath interference. Even though the display on the Sencore is small and low resolution, it's spectrum display is really fast and really good for pointing an antenna. BUT the Sencore's favorite channel display isn't very good. Low-resolution bargraphs that aren't very easy to read.