Norfolk, VA Antenna Help Needed - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Ratman
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 08-24-2019, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Norfolk, VA Antenna Help Needed

Hi all,

I’ve been having fits with my antenna reception. I live in Southeastern VA, 20-22 miles from my tv stations, which are all within 4 degrees of one another. It’s flat here, and I have my antenna in the attic of my 2-story house. We’d been getting good reception for months with an antenna like the one pictured (channel master metrotenna), and an amplifier at the tv. Recently it started to consistently suffer, so I went and bought a yagi-type antenna, and that did great for a few months. Now, however, neither antenna will get all of the channels we used to get. This has been consistent over a few weeks, and not just a bad-weather thing. I’ve been messing around with them and about at my wits end. My next thought is to mount both of the antennas with a splitter/combiner. Any other suggestions? Preamplifier?

Any idea why the signal seems to degrade over time?

Thanks very much for any help,

Pete
Peter Acker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 08-24-2019, 08:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 19,262
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2320 Post(s)
Liked: 2173
Leaves?


Also:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/25-hd...-1st-post.html
DrDon likes this.



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is online now  
post #3 of 14 Old 08-24-2019, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks - it wouldn’t be leaves, as the latest interruptions have come midsummer. That’s something I hadn’t considered though.

Also, I’m working on editing the title to add location but can’t seem to do so on my phone. Will get on my computer and try. Sorry about that.
Peter Acker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 Old 08-24-2019, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Also, I ran my rabbit ears report: https://www.rabbitears.info/searchma...&study_id=5993

The channels marked “good” are the ones I usually/used to get. Now I’m having trouble with 13, 15, and 43.
Peter Acker is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 08-24-2019, 11:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Acker View Post
Also, I ran my rabbit ears report: https://www.rabbitears.info/searchma...&study_id=5993

The channels marked “good” are the ones I usually/used to get. Now I’m having trouble with 13, 15, and 43.
Your signals are strong there. I would try your metro antenna near the tv with a short coaxial cable without the amplifier to see what happens.
johnny antenna is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 08-24-2019, 12:10 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 19,262
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2320 Post(s)
Liked: 2173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Acker View Post
. Now I’m having trouble with 13, 15, and 43.
"real channels" or the "virtual" channels?


What is the "trouble"? No reception or dropouts?


Could your issues be due to the "channel repack" taking place? Maybe the channel/frequency reallocations have affected your antenna's reception.



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is online now  
post #7 of 14 Old 08-24-2019, 12:33 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,988
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2264 Post(s)
Liked: 4269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Acker View Post
. Now I’m having trouble with 13, 15, and 43.
Yes, please use CALL LETTERS. Much easier for us to figure out. I put your location as Norfolk as that's your closest market. Will probably move this thread there, eventually.

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 08-24-2019, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
gbynum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Acker View Post
We’d been getting good reception for months with an antenna like the one pictured (channel master metrotenna), and an amplifier at the tv.
I've read the posts to date, and with your signals, I'd guess either cabling or that "amplifier at the tv". You shouldn't need an amplifier. I'd guess it is either having problems, or that some other signal is overloading it.

Try a single coax from the antenna directly to the tv.
gbynum is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 08-24-2019, 01:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hereford, AZ
Posts: 5,930
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1724 Post(s)
Liked: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Acker View Post
Thanks - it wouldn’t be leaves, as the latest interruptions have come midsummer. That’s something I hadn’t considered though.

Actually it still could be trees. They grow all summer and what you're looking through when they first leafed out is different from now. You said you've been "getting good reception for months." So you're saying this was a new installation in the Spring? Sure sounds like vegetation issues to me.

The Channel Master Metrotenna is a UHF antenna. Your channel 13 is on RF 13 so you need a VHF antenna. It doesn't matter that you were receiving it before, you still need a VHF antenna.

You said you bought a yagi type antenna. What did you buy? Another UHF antenna or a VHF/UHF combo antenna?
Calaveras is online now  
post #10 of 14 Old 08-24-2019, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The amplifier! I tried without and - preliminarily - all my channels are back. Will see if this continues or regresses again and update the thread.

Thank you all for your knowledge and patience for a beginner.
Peter Acker is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 08-24-2019, 03:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
By the way, my newer and current antenna is a GE Pro Outdoor.
Peter Acker is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 08-24-2019, 05:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,616
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1293 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Acker View Post
The amplifier! I tried without and - preliminarily - all my channels are back. Will see if this continues or regresses again and update the thread.

Thank you all for your knowledge and patience for a beginner.
Probably a better amplifier with adjustable gain may be suggested. Could be overload issue, or noise from the amplifier. Antop amplifiers are good because they have adjustable gain so you can fine tune for weak signals and not overload strong signals. And I have found the Antop 400BV antenna and their new Antop 800SBS to perform very good for reliable reception, with wide beamwidth and adjustable gain amplifier. But sounds like your current antenna may be adequate, just perhaps the amplifier issue. You could also try a good distribution amp from Channel Master, although you may not need an amp at all. Sometimes an amp may cause problems when it may not be needed.
tylerSC is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 08-24-2019, 08:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hereford, AZ
Posts: 5,930
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1724 Post(s)
Liked: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
And I have found the Antop 400BV antenna and their new Antop 800SBS to perform very good for reliable reception,

It's hard for me to take seriously the manufacturer's claims of receiving stations at 70 miles and 85 miles respectively.
Calaveras is online now  
post #14 of 14 Old 08-26-2019, 08:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,616
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1293 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post
It's hard for me to take seriously the manufacturer's claims of receiving stations at 70 miles and 85 miles respectively.
Marketing hype aside, they are the best flat panel style antennas I have tried. And I received full power stations at 75 miles. But perhaps not ultimately as good as an 8bay or 91XG in a fringe application, and not necessarily strong for VHF long distance. But good antennas nevertheless, especially in suburban applications.
tylerSC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off