Hughes HTL-HD! - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1251 Old 11-03-2003, 08:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Not to be a pain but does this model have and audible OTA Digital Signal Meter like the e86?
bhambrad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1251 Old 11-03-2003, 09:43 PM
Senior Member
 
HD_JUNKIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If this new Hughes is in fact a rebadged LG/Sony box (missing RF remote only) then I suspect Hughes is setting a new pricepoint for these HD D* STB's. The Sony which has already dropped from 699 to 569 in one month will soon be 399 or less to be more inline with the Hughes pricing.....


Quote:
Originally posted by JFerg
How many times have you had to say that Ken? :D And people soon forget previous threads like this .
HD_JUNKIE is offline  
post #33 of 1251 Old 11-03-2003, 10:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Budget_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 3,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Ken H
Read the HDTV STB Synopsis.
I should know better! Since I've gone back to work, I have not had as much time to stay current on the Forum. So I have missed some updates and threads. Sorry!

Dave
Budget_HT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 1251 Old 11-04-2003, 04:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally posted by HD_JUNKIE
If this new Hughes is in fact a rebadged LG/Sony box (missing RF remote only) then I suspect Hughes is setting a new pricepoint for these HD D* STB's. The Sony which has already dropped from 699 to 569 in one month will soon be 399 or less to be more inline with the Hughes pricing.....
I doubt the Sony will be $399.99 - The sony's always are the premium stb and will always be more. Circuit City is being very aggressive with pricing online - I don't see anyone else lowering the sony prices yet - even jandr. It is working - I never shop at CC anymore but I ordered the Hughes because of the pricepoint.
bhambrad is offline  
post #35 of 1251 Old 11-04-2003, 05:56 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
chiliman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bristow, Va
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bhambrad
I doubt the Sony will be $399.99 - The sony's always are the premium stb and will always be more. Circuit City is being very aggressive with pricing online - I don't see anyone else lowering the sony prices yet - even jandr. It is working - I never shop at CC anymore but I ordered the Hughes because of the pricepoint.

Can't wait to hear your comments about the unit. I got the HD300 and have until Nov 26th to return it. If it is just as good at SD material I'll be switching out.
chiliman is offline  
post #36 of 1251 Old 11-04-2003, 07:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
budiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would like some information as to whether the DVI port on this STB is a DVI-I or DVI-D? So far no one seems to have offered that information. I have a CRT PJ and it only accepts RGBHV. If it has DVI-I, I can use the STB.

Logically, since it is based off of the LG, I believe it should have DVI-I, but you never know if they cut that to save cost or whatnot.

Ciao.
Muljadi Budiman
budiman is offline  
post #37 of 1251 Old 11-04-2003, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
HD_JUNKIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, $399 is more than $369. How much more can one charge for an RF remote? Alright I'll give Sony $75 for the $2 worth of parts to add the RF section. So, $444.

All of this assumes that the new Hughes is a rebadged Sony/LG just missing the RF remote. I still find it hard to believe that LG as manufacturer of these boxes would permit Hughes to sell essentially the same box for essentially $330 less than what some users are paying for the HD300 and LSS-3200A ($699). It just doesn't make good business sense. Even at CC $569 discount price, the Hughes is still a much better deal if it is a rebadged...........

So, I'm banking on one of two things taking place...

1) The retail price for the HD300 and LSS-3200A will drop to be more in-line with the Hughes price, $399, $449, something more reasonable. Sony's name is worth a little more to some (not me) but the disparity is way too much right now.
2) The Hughes is a really a HD300/LSS-3200A LITE version. Missing RF remote is known, but maybe missing some other features.....What, I don't know. Maybe RS232, maybe the Cable tuner...

BTW, both Best Buy and J&R will meet Circuit City's price without argument. Just goes to show you how much markup there is on this box.


Quote:
Originally posted by bhambrad
I doubt the Sony will be $399.99 - The sony's always are the premium stb and will always be more. Circuit City is being very aggressive with pricing online - I don't see anyone else lowering the sony prices yet - even jandr. It is working - I never shop at CC anymore but I ordered the Hughes because of the pricepoint.
HD_JUNKIE is offline  
post #38 of 1251 Old 11-04-2003, 08:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I have the HD300 and I will have the new hughes soon and I am sure there will be major differences. I bet there won't have a way to change from 720p to 1080i from the remote or have all of the screen ratio options.

I am thrilled HD STB prices are falling but Hughes will always be cheaper because Directv owns it and they can sell it for less to new customers or for secondary units while the sony and LG are the BMW expensive option-packed brands.
bhambrad is offline  
post #39 of 1251 Old 11-04-2003, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Karnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Frederick MD USA
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 27
My local Best Buy had the product sticker in their store up for this unit but not in stock yet, I'm planning on getting one this weekend if available. To answer an earlier post it does have an ATSC tuner.
Karnis is offline  
post #40 of 1251 Old 11-04-2003, 09:13 AM
Member
 
Lefty4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is a thought. Maybe the HTLHD is a rebadged HD 300/LG 3200A and really is going to be priced at $569. Someone posted on this forum that in the Circuit City computer system, the price was listed at $569. Don't be surprised to see the price rise as soon as the unit is available in store. What if the online price is really a mistake?
Lefty4 is offline  
post #41 of 1251 Old 11-04-2003, 09:32 AM
Member
 
Mike Lanzarotta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's not on the Best Buy site yet. Amazing that nothing on the Hughes site either. No product manual or even a mention of it. Does Best Buy store post a price?
First person to actually receive one of these is going to be very popular.
Mike Lanzarotta is offline  
post #42 of 1251 Old 11-04-2003, 09:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
hardballpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Davie, Fl.
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Should be in my greasy little hands by Friday the latest.

I'll compare it to my E86. Got to be an upgrade...I hope. Can always return it!

Will post again when I hook this sucka up, playas!

Lata

Baby, remember...It's my life and I'll do what I want!
hardballpete is offline  
post #43 of 1251 Old 11-04-2003, 12:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Mine has shipped from CC and should be here tomm. I don't know if they are going to raise the price but I figured for 370.00 plus free shipping it was a no brainer. If it has an audible digital tuner like the e86, i will be a happy camper.
bhambrad is offline  
post #44 of 1251 Old 11-04-2003, 02:17 PM
Senior Member
 
ChicagoChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Interesting. May have to debate whether to return my Zenith 520 and get this...hmmm.

Keep us updated guys.
ChicagoChris is offline  
post #45 of 1251 Old 11-04-2003, 04:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Karnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Frederick MD USA
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 27
BB had the in store price @ $399.00
Karnis is offline  
post #46 of 1251 Old 11-04-2003, 05:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 21
399.00 for the new hughes or the old e86?
bhambrad is offline  
post #47 of 1251 Old 11-04-2003, 08:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Karnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Frederick MD USA
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Actually, both were store-stickered at $399.
Karnis is offline  
post #48 of 1251 Old 11-04-2003, 08:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
robert123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by budiman
I would like some information as to whether the DVI port on this STB is a DVI-I or DVI-D? So far no one seems to have offered that information. I have a CRT PJ and it only accepts RGBHV. If it has DVI-I, I can use the STB.

Logically, since it is based off of the LG, I believe it should have DVI-I, but you never know if they cut that to save cost or whatnot.
Like the LG, it has DVI-D only. For analog RGB, it has an HD-15 (VGA style) connector.

Robert
robert123 is offline  
post #49 of 1251 Old 11-04-2003, 09:44 PM
Member
 
Mike Lanzarotta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert123, where can one go to find out more info about this STB?
Mike Lanzarotta is offline  
post #50 of 1251 Old 11-05-2003, 04:54 AM
Member
 
ex007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just ordered one from CC.com. With my $200 credit from D* customer retention, the box is down right cheap.

Although I would like the RF remote, I can work around that. My biggest concern is that the E86 comes with a 2yr. warranty but the new HTLHD only comes with a 3/12 mos. warranty. While the pricing trend is welcomed, the shorter warranty period is not a good sign.
ex007 is offline  
post #51 of 1251 Old 11-05-2003, 07:45 AM
Member
 
Mike Lanzarotta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
C.C. extended warranty is $29.99 for 3 years. also your credit card might have an extended warranty provision. 3 months labor does seem short, though.
Mike Lanzarotta is offline  
post #52 of 1251 Old 11-05-2003, 10:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackmax2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Orbitsat has them for $100 more. It's says on the site that it has one guide for all signals and does do OTA.
blackmax2k1 is offline  
post #53 of 1251 Old 11-05-2003, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Just got mine - its more of a wine color instead of silver. Has same menu looks as the sony hd300. Can change ratio from the remote, has the freeze feature. surf feature. I am pressed.
bhambrad is offline  
post #54 of 1251 Old 11-05-2003, 12:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackmax2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What doesn't it have compared to the HD300?
blackmax2k1 is offline  
post #55 of 1251 Old 11-05-2003, 12:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jaypb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Monroe Twp NJ
Posts: 2,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally posted by bhambrad
Just got mine - its more of a wine color instead of silver. Has same menu looks as the sony hd300. Can change ratio from the remote, has the freeze feature. surf feature. I am pressed.
Is anything like the E86/other Hughes APG receivers? One line guide? Watchword?

How's the OTA sensitivity? Can you lock in on stations now that you had a problem with before?

Enquiring minds want to know.....:confused:
jaypb is offline  
post #56 of 1251 Old 11-05-2003, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackmax2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello?
blackmax2k1 is offline  
post #57 of 1251 Old 11-05-2003, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
HD_JUNKIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have an HD300 to compare it to? I'd be interested in learning what might be deleted/removed from the Hughes version.....

Does the back panel have:

1) RF input for SAT, OTA and CABLE?
2) Does it have the data port (RS232)?
3) VCR control?

Can you check the software version in the menu? The HD300 and LG have V1.06.00, dated 8/22/2003.

If nothing is different other than the RF remote, my HD300 goes back and I'll get this box. $200 is too big of a difference.....




Quote:
Originally posted by bhambrad
Just got mine - its more of a wine color instead of silver. Has same menu looks as the sony hd300. Can change ratio from the remote, has the freeze feature. surf feature. I am pressed.
HD_JUNKIE is offline  
post #58 of 1251 Old 11-05-2003, 12:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 21
This box is aesome with the exception of the RF remote and being able to change the format from 1080i to 720p from the remote - and not looking anywhere near as cool as the sony does. One feature that is included is the new Shrik feature that you can shrink channels like ESPN HD and it fits into the 4x3 instead of the stretch mode. The only complaint I have is not being able to see a OTA signal meter. I am on the phone with support to see why.
bhambrad is offline  
post #59 of 1251 Old 11-05-2003, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackmax2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So picking up OTA stations works just as well as the HD300?
blackmax2k1 is offline  
post #60 of 1251 Old 11-05-2003, 12:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally posted by HD_JUNKIE
Do you have an HD300 to compare it to? I'd be interested in learning what might be deleted/removed from the Hughes version.....

Does the back panel have:

1) RF input for SAT, OTA and CABLE?
2) Does it have the data port (RS232)?
3) VCR control?

Can you check the software version in the menu? The HD300 and LG have V1.06.00, dated 8/22/2003.

If nothing is different other than the RF remote, my HD300 goes back and I'll get this box. $200 is too big of a difference.....

1) RF input for SAT, OTA and CABLE? YES IF YOU MEAN COAX INPUTS - NO RF REMOTE INPUT
2) Does it have the data port (RS232)? - YES
3) VCR control? - YES

Can you check the software version in the menu? The HD300 and LG have V1.06.00, dated 8/22/2003.

8/20/03 13:00 HD3 1.06.00
bhambrad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off