Eagle Aspen ROTR100 DiSEqC antenna rotor - Page 8 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 228 Old 02-13-2013, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,471
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Now that the interference has gone,

K I S S;
As long as it will pass DC for the rotor if you are going the single cable route.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 228 Old 02-13-2013, 11:42 AM
Newbie
 
K I S S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm going the dual cable route.

For a single cable route, the Eagle Aspen rotor does have a power pass through, but it has to be Eagle Aspen power and not someone else's. The specs say 17 V @ 50 mA is available to a mast mounted amp. Worth mentioning is that they also recommend a solid copper RG-6 and not copper plated steel, Length limits apply.
K I S S is offline  
post #213 of 228 Old 02-14-2013, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,471
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked: 343
No issue with dual routes since no power is through the antenna feed.
Solid copper is a better power conductor than steel, covered or not.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #214 of 228 Old 02-15-2013, 12:58 PM
Newbie
 
K I S S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yep about the conductivity of copper clad vs copper. I wasn't even aware of the distinction until I got the EA rotor manual. The full 500' of wire I got for a ex satellite installer for free was indeed copper clad.

As for the antenna feed, it allows the easy possibility of running a mast mounted pre-amp. In my case, I will have the power injector in the attic. The injector does have to endure the high temperatures in the attic in my case.

Although, I've thought about it a little, I don;t like the idea. One could put a DC-DC converter or series regulator after the Eagle Aspen to power a preamp, but I'd rather not. Box, clamp, mounting isn't worth the issues.

I don't really think it makes sense to go any other way except dual conductors. I can't remember, if There is a small piece of siamese cable (dual RG-6) used from the attic to the mast.
K I S S is offline  
post #215 of 228 Old 03-26-2013, 09:46 AM
Member
 
bowenap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cheektowaga, NY
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Has anyone ever got this thing to work with a Logitech Harmony remote? I know it has to be possible since those things operate just about anything.
bowenap is offline  
post #216 of 228 Old 03-26-2013, 10:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,471
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked: 343
According to page seven of the manual;
Quote:
USING A UNIVERSAL REMOTE CONTROL
There is a limited compatibility with many Universal Remote Controls. The rotator may emulate a Toshiba satellite receiver.
It will normally be necessary to program the rotator using the original remote control.
The Universal Control will usually offer the basic functions of Power and Channel (programmed position) UP/DOWN.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #217 of 228 Old 09-03-2013, 05:56 AM
Senior Member
 
kcrossley2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting ready to purchase this rotor to go with a ClearStream 4 antenna.

May I ask how you all are mounting this to your roofs? I'm planning on using a DirecTV satellite dish mount with a 5' extension made out of stainless steel muffler pipe. Any help or advice is greatly appreciated.
kcrossley2 is offline  
post #218 of 228 Old 05-14-2014, 04:54 PM
Member
 
bowenap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cheektowaga, NY
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Resurrecting an old thread, but in doing some searching around for some things about my Logitech Harmony Remote, I found this:

http://208.74.204.120/t5/Harmony-Remotes-Programming/Eagle-Aspen-Antenna-Rotor/m-p/363881/highlight/true#M36030

Apparently the ROTR-100 is directly programmable. It's under the category "Home Appliance" with the Manufacturer "PBI". The model is "ROT-R100" (note where the hyphen is). Not sure what PBI is for, unless it's a parent company of Eagle Aspen, but the bottom line is, it works. I no longer have to mess around with the Toshiba SAT receiver which doesn't jive perfectly, nor do I have to teach commands.
videobruce likes this.
bowenap is offline  
post #219 of 228 Old 05-16-2014, 10:17 PM
Newbie
 
K I S S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you go her, http://www.eagleaspen.com/site/index.html suspiciously the splash page says Pro Brands International or PBI.

Does anyone know if there are decoded commands available anywhere, e.g. Pronto?

==

Anyone know what happened to the Rotor. You cannot seem too find it anymore. I'd love to get a hold of another control box to play with without fear of destroying it. I have no idea if I could do it, but I thought of something that would be really neat: Email (e.g. SMS message) to up to 5 cell phones the position 10 seconds after stopping. The control box is in the basement.

==

I seem to have a problem where antenna height affects the best rotational aim. I didn't tighten the antenna to the mast the weight of snow and ice caused it to drop about a foot. This subsequently changed my aim by 30 degrees. No idea why. I had another station that I totally lost when the antenna slid down about a foot. Not all of the stations that should be in the same direction are.

Most of the time the antenna stays at one place. I have to tweek when it rains sometimes.

==

I'm basically happy with the install and my pics have been updated.

It is a TB105 thrust bearing method with the screws changed to longer and stainless.
No snag stainless shackes were used to be able to attach Phillystran,non-metalic guys with protected rubber caps.
The turnbuckles are 318 stainless. The locknuts had to be purchased separately.
The cable rope clips are stainless.

The antenna mast is 6 foot aluminum and I plan to upgrade it to fiberglass. The rotor mast is EMT. The masts both have plastic water caps.

The mount is a custom eave mount made from Unistrut. One bracket is like $80. It allows 3 guy wires.

If I did it again, i would get the brackets powder coated. You need two sets on the ROTR100 when using the TB105 bearing. Best to make sure this works on land first.

The Antenna is a Winegard HD8200U and I think the mast mounted AMP is a CM7777. The injector is in the attic about 20' from the antenna and is plugged into a Tripp Lite surge suppressor. There is a metal strap around the rotator. The mast, as of now, does not have a ground rod, but the coax is grounded in the attic. The tree would likely get hit first.

Two RG6 cables have been run. The length is about 75' to the second level of distribution. They are copper clad steel core. A Tin-Lee amp with four 4-way taps are used for distribution.
I have not optimized all of the taps. I have an 8VSB signal analyzer. Noise margin and strength is available.

I'm not aimed at North. My compass was calibrated wrong.

==

I have a pressing Winegard HD8200U question: If you take the end cap off where the element is the smallest, the riveted connection seems to not attach to the boom solidly. Based on some antenna design info on the Internet, I made sure that connection was removed. The connection just depends on how the rivet fit is. All of the other elements are solidly connected to the upper and lower flat conductors respectively above and below the boom except the smallest one.
K I S S is offline  
post #220 of 228 Old 05-17-2014, 05:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,471
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
If you go her, http://www.eagleaspen.com/site/index.html suspiciously the splash page says Pro Brands International or PBI.

But, if you go here, Eagle Aspen is listed as one of their "brands":
http://www.eagleaspen.com/site/index-3.html

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #221 of 228 Old 05-17-2014, 09:21 AM
Member
 
bowenap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cheektowaga, NY
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
bowenap is offline  
post #222 of 228 Old 05-17-2014, 10:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,471
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Not much good without the rotor. frown.gif

You can sign up here to show a demand;
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004B1V0BC

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #223 of 228 Old 05-19-2014, 01:16 PM
Newbie
 
K I S S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This just in: Consider it obsolete. There are no plants to introduce it to the marketplace because of their inability to stay competitive.
K I S S is offline  
post #224 of 228 Old 05-19-2014, 02:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,471
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Funny you posted that now. I just received a e-mail back from Pro Brands and basically the same was said. Looks like another example of Joe Sixpack not wanting to spend another $30-40 more for something far better than the usual dual motor design (one in the rotor and another in the control box) from 3 or 4 decades ago.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #225 of 228 Old 07-25-2018, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,471
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked: 343
It's interesting, the current CM (Chinese) version using the original model number (like they did with the 4228 & 4221) even thou they are NOT the same designs rotor is selling for around $150 which is 2x what this sold for when PBI/Eagle Aspen claimed they couldn't be competitive at that price point. if you read thru the reviews for the CM and the Audiovox/RCA branded Chinese rotor, there is no shortage of 1 & 2 star reviews.

BTW, mine is still running even when it has been loaded with two antennas after all these years. The collection of spare parts that I collected for this model from Eagle Aspen I haven't had to use (knock on wood).

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #226 of 228 Old 01-25-2020, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,471
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked: 343
If anyone has this rotor, I'm, looking for a spare control box, one item I couldn't get a spare of. PM me.

FYI, I found after troubleshooting what was first erratic operation, then no response at all, the PCB had insect 'cocoons' around components of the board whit what appears to be the offending one under the chip which sat on a socket with a hollow interior. The 'cocoon' migrated into some of the pins. Removing the chip, flushing the board with a recommended (elsewhere) electronic cleaner, then reinserting the chip solved the problem. Can't say I ever ran into that before.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #227 of 228 Old 01-27-2020, 01:47 AM
Newbie
 
K I S S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Enhancements including real-time position display

I had the foresight to look for a control unit on ebay. I found one. In the hope one day, I would be able to:

1. Place a CMS12 or CMS14 Compass https://www.robot-electronics.co.uk/...c-compass.html on a webpage for real-time display of position. There is an article on the web where one of the predecessors of this unit was used in building a rotator controller.

If I remember right, the controller will display degrees and "move" even if not connected. I think it uses the lack of motor current to stop the display.

2. Reverse engineer the controller.

3. The second part of the exercise would be to convert the row/segment scans into their displayed components like 100 and STO 03. Now you would have both numbers on a webpage on a phone. I already use an IR to RF repeater. I've put the receiver in the window or taken it up on the roof when I wanted to move the antenna while I was outside.

4. A daughter card would be plugged into the CPU socket and the original CPU, so another processor/webserver would have access to the scan data and maybe some test points here and there.

5. At this point or before, your in a better position to reverse engineer the IR codes.

6. You can then wire-OR into the IR receiver, the IR commands without the carrier frequency. A friend who is an embedded engineer did just that to a piece of audio equipment we own.

7. At this point, one should be able to make a web page remote.

6. DisEqc is a public protocol, but I don't think the levels are not quite right. You could reverse engineer what commands they implemented.

7. You now have the possibility of reverse engineering the entire software.

8. The controller seemed to have lots of places signal loss could occur when the antenna feed is the motor feed.

9. My friend is currently developing a customizable remote or maybe I should say "personalized". Might there ever be any interest in a replacement remote? The IR format would have to be nailed down.

10. What about real-time position? A display unit that is placed under the base of the ROTR-100?

I just don't have experience in the current technology and don't really have any free time.

What has bugged me is the position of the antenna may be stored after every move. i.e. After a power fail, it seems to know where it is. I can't remember what I did like turn it off while it's moving or whatever.

The question is, is there a number of writes limitation, imposed by whatever method (e.g. EEPROM) is keeping track of the position?
videobruce likes this.
K I S S is offline  
post #228 of 228 Old 01-27-2020, 04:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,471
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Yes, the display 'moves' even if not connected. When connected, the advance or retardation of the numbers are faster than the actual movement of the rotor which is why the display will flash until the rotor 'catches up' to the readout. The important thing is the stop (final) position is correct.
The biggest 'flaw' is the choice of a single 'cable' for RF and power. Poor selling (marketing) point which only adds cost & complexity to the design. Then there is the 4+db loss going thru the control and the rotor in signal using that path, which is why I had no intention of doing so even before I took RF measurements.
If you have to run one cable, it's not much of a deal to run two and the slight additional cost of 2 conductor 20 gauge (or so) wire is very little.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off