XBMC Media Center : Setup Guide, Knowlege Base & Support - Page 104 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 24Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3091 of 3419 Old 01-04-2014, 07:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,740
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

Hey guys, I went from Frodo 12.0 to Frodo 12.3 last night and I have some troubles playing my movies.

Some movies play smoothly, normal. And some movies play really slow. I mean like 1000x slow motion.

I didn't have this issue with Frodo 12.0. I am thinking there is probably some settings that I need to disable/enable?

Thanks,

Most likely incorrect audio settings - see here http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=146911
steelman1991 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3092 of 3419 Old 01-04-2014, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Thanks.

I remember doing something like that.

I have a discreet ATI graphic card (6570). Which WASAPI mode to use?

Also, should I enable DVXA hardware acceleration?
smokarz is offline  
post #3093 of 3419 Old 01-04-2014, 10:16 AM
Member
 
jabkata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

Thanks.

I remember doing something like that.

I have a discreet ATI graphic card (6570). Which WASAPI mode to use?

Also, should I enable DVXA hardware acceleration?

Use WASAPI HDMI Output, and DXVA2 - enabled.

Display: Samsung 46B750
Speakers: (2)Dali Lektor6(Front), (1)Dali Lektor LCR(Center), (2)Dali Lektor 2(Rear)
Sources: PS4(Blu-ray/Gaming), HTPC
Receiver: Yamaha v673
jabkata is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3094 of 3419 Old 01-05-2014, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Now all my movies are stuttering really badly.

I checked all the Audio settings and it seems to look right. Also, I checked to make sure exclusive rights is enable in Windows audio settings.

Can you guys take a look at these settings and let me know if I might have missed anything? Thanks




smokarz is offline  
post #3095 of 3419 Old 01-05-2014, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,740
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Scroll through the 'Audio and Passthrough' options trying each WASAPI one in turn, there should be one there which recognises your AVR - which I assume you are connecting to?
steelman1991 is offline  
post #3096 of 3419 Old 01-05-2014, 08:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 84
There's only one Wasapi mode available.

Yes, my HTPC is connected to the AVR via HDMI from the AMD Radeon 5670 graphic card.
smokarz is offline  
post #3097 of 3419 Old 01-05-2014, 10:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dan4081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

Now all my movies are stuttering really badly.

I checked all the Audio settings and it seems to look right. Also, I checked to make sure exclusive rights is enable in Windows audio settings.

Can you guys take a look at these settings and let me know if I might have missed anything? Thanks





On mine I have DXVA2 OFF....and also adjust refresh rate OFF.

Under Audio Output Device and Passthrough Output I have both set to DirectSound HDMI-AMD HDMI Output.

These settings seem to work fine for me.

Revo Ion...XBMC For Windows...Dharma RC2
dan4081 is offline  
post #3098 of 3419 Old 01-05-2014, 10:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Thanks.

That's strange. Every guide out there seems to suggest WASAPI.
smokarz is offline  
post #3099 of 3419 Old 01-05-2014, 11:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Plano,IL
Posts: 6,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Both work from my understanding,it's just that i believe from my understanding of the guides is that Wasapi is the mode that gives exclusive rights to XBMC. If i'm wrong someone please feel to correct me. And I did have the same problem until I used the correct audio mode. Which in my case was Wasapi. And yes my Pioneer does show up as the wasapi device. Hope some of this may help.

AM I THE ONLY OASIS IN THE DESERT OF STUPIDITY......" SIR BRICKENBOCKER"
brickie is online now  
post #3100 of 3419 Old 01-10-2014, 09:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dan4081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by brickie View Post

Both work from my understanding,it's just that i believe from my understanding of the guides is that Wasapi is the mode that gives exclusive rights to XBMC. If i'm wrong someone please feel to correct me. And I did have the same problem until I used the correct audio mode. Which in my case was Wasapi. And yes my Pioneer does show up as the wasapi device. Hope some of this may help.

It seems I may have given some bad advice above.
I have been running XBMC forever and never had any stuttering issues with the directsound options instead of Wasapi....until last night!

I downloaded the (spectacular BTW) demo discs that some of the forum members here made and posted to the Home theater build threads and could not get them to play smoothly at all. I tried refresh rate, dxva, rendering etc etc....and then remembered this thread, switched to Wasapi....and Bingo! they play just fine.

Thanks for the nudge guys!

Revo Ion...XBMC For Windows...Dharma RC2
dan4081 is offline  
post #3101 of 3419 Old 01-15-2014, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
BDestroyer8418's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Seems like the links are broken in 1st post. Was looking for info on the External Player. I'm sure I can find the info needed but just wanted to let OP know.
BDestroyer8418 is offline  
post #3102 of 3419 Old 01-15-2014, 11:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 217
For external player support (playercorefactory) is it possible to set rules based on video frame rate? Something like default player is MPC-HC, 59.94 fps uses MPC-BE, ect. The reason is that madVR doesn't work well with my card with 30+ fps content, but works fine in EVR. I'd like to use madVR but I'm not going to change the renderer every time I play a video.
StinDaWg is offline  
post #3103 of 3419 Old 01-16-2014, 05:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 473
Here are the currently available rules

Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #3104 of 3419 Old 01-16-2014, 05:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 473
And no, at least not to my knowledge
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #3105 of 3419 Old 02-05-2014, 10:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dazz87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Anyone creating custom shortcut for xbmc. I am trying to create a shortcut for switching audio track. Inside of my XMBC\userdata\keymaps. I have a keymap xml file. Inside of that file I have the shortcut command for the letter n. So on the keyboard when i hit the n key it should switch over to the secondary audio track but it doesnt. I have replace n with another letter and still nothing happens. I am on xbmc frodo 12.3. Any suggestions thanks.
Code:
<keymap>
  <global>
    <keyboard>
      <n>audioNextLanguage</n>
    </keyboard>
  </global>
</keymap>
dazz87 is offline  
post #3106 of 3419 Old 02-05-2014, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
scott967's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: hawai'i
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Turn on debugging and look at the log. Should give you ideas. You should be able to find something like this:
Code:
10:47:09 T:5376   DEBUG: Keyboard: scancode: 31, sym: 006e, unicode: 006e, modifier: 0
10:47:09 T:5376   DEBUG: CApplication::OnKey: n (f04e) pressed, action is audioNextLanguage

scott s.
.
dazz87 likes this.

Sony XBR-65A1E
scott967 is offline  
post #3107 of 3419 Old 02-05-2014, 02:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dazz87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott967 View Post

Turn on debugging and look at the log. Should give you ideas. You should be able to find something like this:
Code:
10:47:09 T:5376   DEBUG: Keyboard: scancode: 31, sym: 006e, unicode: 006e, modifier: 0
10:47:09 T:5376   DEBUG: CApplication::OnKey: n (f04e) pressed, action is audioNextLanguage

scott s.
.

cool will turn it on tonight when I get home
dazz87 is offline  
post #3108 of 3419 Old 02-11-2014, 12:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dazz87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Weird issue with NFO file on all my movies. Even tho I change the aspect ratio from 1.77:1 to 2.35 inside of the NFO file when I go and view my movie it does show the correc t aspect ratio (2.35). After playing the movie I go back to it and it changes back to 1.77:1, even tho NFO file shows "2.35" I thought it was a skin issue (Nox 4.1.9) I switch over to Neon 2.5.1 and the issue is still there. I try using Ember Media Manger 1.4 and its not helping. I am on Frodo 12.3. Any suggestions? Thanks
dazz87 is offline  
post #3109 of 3419 Old 02-12-2014, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 3,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
I vaguely recall reading something about this on xbmc.org. I was investigating why the default movie player wouldn't correctly stretch 2.35:1 films so I could use it with my CIH setup. It turns out that xbmc thinks that 2.35:1 blu-rays are 1.78:1 because they are all 1920x1080 resolution, so even though the black bars aren't part of the film, they are encoded into the video file so that's how they get treated.

Relative to your issue, there was a workaround someone had found by doing what you did, i.e. editing the NFO file but it was getting overwritten. I believe a feature request to allow a new AR flag was put in for the next release, not sure if it'll be there or not.

I just use MPC-HC as an external player, it'll do the vertical stretch without trying to think for me. smile.gif
JDLIVE is offline  
post #3110 of 3419 Old 02-17-2014, 11:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dazz87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Nevermind figure it out
dazz87 is offline  
post #3111 of 3419 Old 02-19-2014, 12:27 PM
Member
 
quicknick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
What is the best, smallest, and most "stable" and economic computer/tv box to deliver XBMC in 1080p to my smart tv? I will most likely need to hardwire it to a homeplug for internet access.
quicknick is offline  
post #3112 of 3419 Old 02-19-2014, 12:33 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,358
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4541 Post(s)
Liked: 4372
Quote:
Originally Posted by quicknick View Post

What is the best, smallest, and most "stable" and economic computer/tv box to deliver XBMC in 1080p to my smart tv? I will most likely need to hardwire it to a homeplug for internet access.

Don't know about "best", but you can install OpenELEC on a little bookshelf computer. This is what I am doing: Zotac ZBOX + OpenELEC = XBMC appliance.

My file server is just coming to life now, so I'll have more real system results in a couple of weeks.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #3113 of 3419 Old 02-19-2014, 01:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
ElJimador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by quicknick View Post

What is the best, smallest, and most "stable" and economic computer/tv box to deliver XBMC in 1080p to my smart tv? I will most likely need to hardwire it to a homeplug for internet access.

I'd suggest a Celeron NUC running openelec off a thumb drive. Less expensive and smaller than a Zotac ZBOX and will still handle 1080p easily (HD audio also). The new Bay Trail models even have an IR receiver built in and room for a 2.5" hard drive if you want local storage. (I have the Sandy Bridge version which you can only install mSATA SSD but I don't use that anyway since all my media files are on my server).
ElJimador is offline  
post #3114 of 3419 Old 02-19-2014, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
ElJimador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 117
BTW if you really want cheap I've heard that even a raspberry pi running openelec can give you 1080p playback and can pass through 5.1 audio too. I just don't know that it's very stable.
ElJimador is offline  
post #3115 of 3419 Old 02-19-2014, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BruceD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElJimador View Post

I'd suggest a Celeron NUC running openelec off a thumb drive. Less expensive and smaller than a Zotac ZBOX and will still handle 1080p easily (HD audio also). The new Bay Trail models even have an IR receiver built in and room for a 2.5" hard drive if you want local storage. (I have the Sandy Bridge version which you can only install mSATA SSD but I don't use that anyway since all my media files are on my server).


+1 I do the same, and use only a 4GB Flash drive for the OE boot (no mSATA).

BruceD
BruceD is offline  
post #3116 of 3419 Old 02-19-2014, 07:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Plano,IL
Posts: 6,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by quicknick View Post

What is the best, smallest, and most "stable" and economic computer/tv box to deliver XBMC in 1080p to my smart tv? I will most likely need to hardwire it to a homeplug for internet access.

Actually not sure I would recommend the Pi,especially if this is for a main tv. I have one and haven't used it in about 5-6 months. When you first get it,it's nice. But then you quickly realize that it is just not the best experience as far as XBMC is concerned. It does play everything you throw at it, but the interface just runs too slow.For the price incredible,but the novelty will wear off quickly. Especially if you see XBMC run on a capable machine.

As far as the best cheap way too do it,I possibly would try a nuc myself to do it over.At the time(4 months or so) when I was facing this dilemma, I went the laptop route myself. I was able to score a HP i3 for around $225ish and it's been very decent. Reliable,plays anything,EXTREMELY snappy thru the heaviest skins,etc. So just another option to think about.
dan4081 likes this.

AM I THE ONLY OASIS IN THE DESERT OF STUPIDITY......" SIR BRICKENBOCKER"
brickie is online now  
post #3117 of 3419 Old 02-20-2014, 07:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
ElJimador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by brickie View Post

Actually not sure I would recommend the Pi,especially if this is for a main tv. I have one and haven't used it in about 5-6 months. When you first get it,it's nice. But then you quickly realize that it is just not the best experience as far as XBMC is concerned. It does play everything you throw at it, but the interface just runs too slow.For the price incredible,but the novelty will wear off quickly. Especially if you see XBMC run on a capable machine.

As far as the best cheap way too do it,I possibly would try a nuc myself to do it over.At the time(4 months or so) when I was facing this dilemma, I went the laptop route myself. I was able to score a HP i3 for around $225ish and it's been very decent. Reliable,plays anything,EXTREMELY snappy thru the heaviest skins,etc. So just another option to think about.

Good feedback about the Pi. Guess you have to expect that at that price point or else everyone would own one by now.
ElJimador is offline  
post #3118 of 3419 Old 02-20-2014, 07:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 539
RaspBMC and Openelec on the Raspberry Pi is pretty stable. It will stream 1080p files without a hitch. One of the shortcomings is the issue with either DTS or DTSMA audio files which it cannot either decode of passthrough. As long as you use the basic skin for XBMC, it will run very smooth.

RasPlex on the Raspberry Pi is where you see a slow interface, and its pretty much unusable once you begin to mess with it.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
XBox One X
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #3119 of 3419 Old 02-20-2014, 08:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
ElJimador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 117
The XBMC wiki on the Pi says you can buy DTS rights for just a few bucks and pass it through to your receiver (DTS up to 5.1 at least, not sure about DTS-HD). Have you tried that?
ElJimador is offline  
post #3120 of 3419 Old 02-20-2014, 09:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Plano,IL
Posts: 6,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 32
True, DTS 5.1 playback is capable. I was doing it without a hitch. As for the slowness of the interface...I would have to respectfully disagree with you. I used Raspbmc and for the cost of the Pi it was awesome. But it just doesn't hold a candle to a nuc,laptop,pc running xbmc. They are stable in the sense of no crashes or anything and the fact they work,but the slowness is there. I have currently over 700 hd movies on my server and navigating thru them using the Pi was just not fun. For the price I told myself it was okay,but I just got tired of it. My i3 laptop gives me a totallly different experience. The way it should be with ANY skin.

If the pi was just a tad more powerful, it would really be a game changer. Even for double the cost it could be a game changer.But at this point, I can only call it something fun I played around with. Never would use it on my main tv, or even to show off to friends or others the virtues of XBMC.

AM I THE ONLY OASIS IN THE DESERT OF STUPIDITY......" SIR BRICKENBOCKER"
brickie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off