Official Sandy Bridge / LGA1155 for HTPCs Thread - Page 60 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1771 of 2223 Old 08-25-2011, 06:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,020
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckensto View Post

Also, I have seen posts that the Ceton won't pass the HDMI through an Onkyo receiver via the i3 HD2000 chipset/driver and that one user had to get a video card to bypass the i3 video. I have an Integra (Onkyo) receiver so another potential issue?

Those posters might be confusing HDMI w/ the HDCP requirement for some types of premium content that can be recorded with the Ceton (or other) DCT. If you experience that issue generally using a longer HDMI cable will sort it out, Intel GPUs are very strict in their adherence to the specification.
babgvant is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1772 of 2223 Old 08-30-2011, 03:46 PM
CFC
Advanced Member
 
CFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Hey guys,
I'm wondering if this is a handshaking issue that may be fixed with a longer HDMI cable.
With my i3 2100 rig, if I switch inputs on the TV from say HDMI 2 (Dish Network DVR) back to HDMI 3 for the PC, the screen just flickers gray/white and can't seem to ever "sync" for lack of a better term.
I can use HDMIyo (https://mymce.wordpress.com/2010/10/24/hdmiyo/) hotkey to resync. Once synced, everything is fine and HDCP is correct.
Is this an issue with my TV (Samsung DLP set), or is it even worth trying out a longer (15' or so) HDMI cable? I don't have one, but could order from monoprice. Am I perhaps missing something at the BIOS or driver? I'm using a Biostar H61MH.

Thanks for any advice.
CFC

Signature goes here
CFC is offline  
post #1773 of 2223 Old 08-31-2011, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,020
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Since you can get it to reconnect properly using HDMIYo it's most likely an EDID or general HDMI switching issue. These sorts of problems are common across all the GPUs I've tried (although for me NVIDIA seems to handle it the best), so I just added an additional command to the start activity macro on my Harmony to recycle the display.
babgvant is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1774 of 2223 Old 08-31-2011, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,121
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oredigger View Post
I have the same CPU and MB and am using the 4/13 drivers. I have never had a problem. Weird.
Are you using HDMI for video?

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #1775 of 2223 Old 08-31-2011, 10:20 AM
CFC
Advanced Member
 
CFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post
Since you can get it to reconnect properly using HDMIYo it's most likely an EDID or general HDMI switching issue. These sorts of problems are common across all the GPUs I've tried (although for me NVIDIA seems to handle it the best), so I just added an additional command to the start activity macro on my Harmony to recycle the display.
Went ahead and got a 15ft HDMI cable, though it doesn't sound like that'll necessarily help in this situation.
I had an nvidia 8200 previously, and you're right, it handled this perfectly.
Just happened to have ordered a Harmony remote, and that was gonna be the plan as well to add a macro. I just don't like having to use workarounds.

Thanks for the help.

CFC

Signature goes here
CFC is offline  
post #1776 of 2223 Old 09-03-2011, 04:23 AM
Member
 
jwdaigle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dumaguete City, Negros, Philippines
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI - BIOS 128 is up on intel.com for the DH67 motherboards. Interestingly, they have updated the Video Bios. No new Display driver for Windows 7 yet...

I wonder if this BIOS must use the "recover" method also?

Anyone have any more info than what is in the Release notes?

http://downloadmirror.intel.com/2038...leaseNotes.pdf
jwdaigle is offline  
post #1777 of 2223 Old 09-03-2011, 07:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gorthocar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwdaigle View Post

FYI - BIOS 128 is up on intel.com for the DH67 motherboards. Interestingly, they have updated the Video Bios. No new Display driver for Windows 7 yet...

I wonder if this BIOS must use the "recover" method also?

Anyone have any more info than what is in the Release notes?

http://downloadmirror.intel.com/2038...leaseNotes.pdf

I used the "recovery" method when upgrading to the previous BIOS version, and that got me to ~23.973 when I select "23".

When I upgraded to BIOS 0128 using the Windows based updater, it kept me at ~23.973 when selecting "23". So I guess the real test is if somebody who hasn't used the recovery method in the past upgrades to BIOS 0128 using a normal method, and what refresh rate do they get when they select 23.

I don't have any more info than what is in the release notes. As you noted, the vBIOS went from version 2111 to 2119, but I have no idea what changed or what bugs were fixed. So far, basic Windows things and BD playback work as expected.

Bazinga!

gorthocar is offline  
post #1778 of 2223 Old 09-07-2011, 02:06 AM
Member
 
jwdaigle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dumaguete City, Negros, Philippines
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is 23.973 the best we can do with current technology? ie, the closest to .976 we can get? Ya, I know its a LOT better than it has been in the past, but we are so close... :-)
jwdaigle is offline  
post #1779 of 2223 Old 09-07-2011, 05:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,020
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwdaigle View Post

is 23.973 the best we can do with current technology? ie, the closest to .976 we can get? Ya, I know its a LOT better than it has been in the past, but we are so close... :-)

AFAIK the remaining lack of precision is a hardware issue with the PCH, there have been rumors that it will be addressed in IVB but I haven't heard any confirmation on that.
babgvant is offline  
post #1780 of 2223 Old 09-09-2011, 04:46 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,132
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Two low-end SNB processors, Celeron G530 and G540, were released on September 4.

- The price (1Ku tray units) is $42 and $52 respectively.
- They are basically Pentium SNB processors with lower frequency and smaller cache (CPU-Z even says it's "Intel Pentium").
- PQ is exactly identical with that of Intel HD Graphics 2k/3k.
- The cooler is identical with that of Pentium G6xx/G8xx/Core i3 non-T/S, i.e., its height is ~45mm.

Highly recommend for a budget system (much better than AMD E-350).

Specs comparison
  Celeron G530 Pentium G620 Pentium G840 Core i3-2100
Frequency 2.4GHz 2.6GHz 2.8GHz 3.1GHz
# of cores 2 2 2 2
HyperThreading No No No Yes
Cache 2MB 3MB 3MB 3MB
Memory under H61/H67 DDR3-1066 DDR3-1066 DDR3-1333 DDR3-1333
Memory under Z68 DDR3-2133 DDR3-2133 DDR3-2133 DDR3-2133
GPU HD Graphics HD Graphics HD Graphics HD Graphics 2000
AVC/VC-1/MPEG-2 Yes Yes Yes Yes
MVC (Blu-ray 3D codec) Yes Yes Yes Yes
HDMI 1.4a 3D No No No Yes
TrueHD/DD+/DTS-HD Yes Yes Yes Yes
Price $42 $64 $75 $117
CPU-Z screenshots

At CPU load

At idle

GPU

Intel ClearVideo Technology

Identical with Pentium G6xx/G8xx:


LL
LL
LL
LL
renethx is offline  
post #1781 of 2223 Old 09-09-2011, 04:47 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,132
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 402
MVC HW decode

Intel HD Graphics 1000 supports MVC (Blu-ray 3D codec) HW decode. But it does not support HDMI 1.4a Frame packing. The supported 3D video formats over HDMI are Side by Side (Half), Top and Bottom, Interleaved and Checkerboard (all within HDMI 1.3 specs). The CPU usage at BR 3D playback with TMT5:

AVC SW decode by libavcodec

The processor is powerful enough for HD video SW decode. The CPU usage at BD (H.264 codec) playback with ffdshow Video Decoder:

BTW 23Hz = ~23.973Hz. I strongly recommend ReClock for

- Judder-free
- Zero frame drop/repeat (yes, literally *zero*)
- Bit-perfect HD audio

playback.

Deinterlacing

Not the best, but at least as good as Intel HD Graphics 2000/3000. Compare with Pentium G840.

HD audio bitstreaming

No problem.

Dual video HW decode / dual audio stream

As usual GPU supports dual HD video HW decode and dual audio stream (with selected motherboards such as ASRock).


LL
LL
LL
LL
LL
renethx is offline  
post #1782 of 2223 Old 09-09-2011, 05:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,121
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 161
I wish they'd released Celerons like that for 1156. I've got a great 1156 board with 6 x SATAII I am thinking of turning into a new home server. I've got a i3-530 73W but would much rather have something 35W. It's obvious now looking back what a small stepping-stone 1156 was. If you look at all the 775 and 1155 offerings, 1156 pales by comparison.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #1783 of 2223 Old 09-09-2011, 08:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

I wish they'd released Celerons like that for 1156. I've got a great 1156 board with 6 x SATAII I am thinking of turning into a new home server. I've got a i3-530 73W but would much rather have something 35W. It's obvious now looking back what a small stepping-stone 1156 was. If you look at all the 775 and 1155 offerings, 1156 pales by comparison.

In fairness, even back when Clarkdale and Lynnfield was released, there was already the expectation that LGA-1156 was nothing more than a transitional socket. The lack of an upgrade path is one of the primary reasons people were opting for LGA-1366 instead of LGA-1156. What took everyone by surprise was LGA-1366 effectively being scrapped after Bloomfield (well, there was Gulftown but the $1000 price tag didn't really make it a viable upgrade path for most folks).
ilovejedd is offline  
post #1784 of 2223 Old 09-09-2011, 10:35 AM
Senior Member
 
shftup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

I wish they'd released Celerons like that for 1156. I've got a great 1156 board with 6 x SATAII I am thinking of turning into a new home server. I've got a i3-530 73W but would much rather have something 35W. It's obvious now looking back what a small stepping-stone 1156 was. If you look at all the 775 and 1155 offerings, 1156 pales by comparison.

I know what you mean, I was using a i3-530 cpu, but then upgraded to the xeon L3426 -
http://ark.intel.com/products/43233/...Cache-1_86-GHz)

This is what I have in my server - its a 45 watt, 4 core-8 thread with turbo cpu. Its clocked at 1.86GHZ, but can turbo to 3.2GHZ. Very low idle wattage and most importantly it has good head room for cpu intensive tasks. Anand has a very good review on the cpu.
shftup is offline  
post #1785 of 2223 Old 09-09-2011, 06:34 PM
Member
 
jwdaigle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dumaguete City, Negros, Philippines
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwdaigle View Post

FYI - BIOS 128 is up on intel.com for the DH67 motherboards. Interestingly, they have updated the Video Bios. No new Display driver for Windows 7 yet...

And it looks like it has now been removed from the intel download site. Have people seen problems with 128? 125 is now the latest bios version at intel.com.
jwdaigle is offline  
post #1786 of 2223 Old 09-09-2011, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
chestnu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorthocar View Post

So I guess the real test is if somebody who hasn't used the recovery method in the past upgrades to BIOS 0128 using a normal method, and what refresh rate do they get when they select 23.

I updated my bios to 0128 last night before it got yanked so far no problems but can someone tell me 1.How to set up 23 2.And how to find out what I get when I select 23?

You can never judge a show by its pilot episode or the half season following it.
chestnu1 is offline  
post #1787 of 2223 Old 09-09-2011, 08:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Zon2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwdaigle View Post

And it looks like it has now been removed from the intel download site. Have people seen problems with 128? 125 is now the latest bios version at intel.com.

Wow. I installed it before it was pulled. I haven't had a problem, but I'm wondering if I should go backwards.

I was still running 122. Had never installed 125.
Zon2020 is offline  
post #1788 of 2223 Old 09-10-2011, 07:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gorthocar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zon2020 View Post

Wow. I installed it before it was pulled. I haven't had a problem, but I'm wondering if I should go backwards.

I was still running 122. Had never installed 125.

I've been running BIOS 0128 for a week now, and everything is fine. I don't think I've had to reboot for a week. It is not too uncommon for Intel to pull a BIOS version; it happened at least once with my previous gen DH55TC motherboard. It usually means that they've found a bug, but if you're not being impacted by it, it is probably OK to stay on 0128.

Bazinga!

gorthocar is offline  
post #1789 of 2223 Old 09-10-2011, 08:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gorthocar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by chestnu1 View Post

I updated my bios to 0128 last night before it got yanked so far no problems but can someone tell me 1.How to set up 23 2.And how to find out what I get when I select 23?

In the Intel Graphics Properties window, select the refresh rate of "23" and hit OK. This is assuming nothing changes it back; for example, the latest patch of TMT5 has a feature to auto select "24" (24.0 fps) when playing BDs. Don't ask me why TMT5 doesn't auto select "23"; hopefully ArcSoft will fix that.

To see what you're really getting, I use reclock when playing a BD to verify the refresh rate. Some people check their refresh rate with one of the info screens in MPC-HC.

Bazinga!

gorthocar is offline  
post #1790 of 2223 Old 09-11-2011, 01:15 AM
Member
 
jwdaigle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dumaguete City, Negros, Philippines
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im running 125 along with the 2476 graphics driver, and THRILLED with the combination. Finally we get close to 23.976 without having to jump through hoops.

Ill wait til they have a post 125 bios that stays on the site for a while before I move forward. "If it aint broke dont fix it" :-)
jwdaigle is offline  
post #1791 of 2223 Old 09-11-2011, 07:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,121
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by shftup View Post

I know what you mean, I was using a i3-530 cpu, but then upgraded to the xeon L3426 -
http://ark.intel.com/products/43233/...Cache-1_86-GHz)

This is what I have in my server - its a 45 watt, 4 core-8 thread with turbo cpu. Its clocked at 1.86GHZ, but can turbo to 3.2GHZ. Very low idle wattage and most importantly it has good head room for cpu intensive tasks. Anand has a very good review on the cpu.

Nice looking CPU but $300 can buy me a lot of 2TB HDDs.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #1792 of 2223 Old 09-11-2011, 07:08 PM
Senior Member
 
shftup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

Nice looking CPU but $300 can buy me a lot of 2TB HDDs.

Thanks, i found mine used for less than half of that. Check your pm.
shftup is offline  
post #1793 of 2223 Old 09-11-2011, 07:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,121
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by shftup View Post

Thanks, i found mine used for less than half of that. Check your pm.

Perfect. Thanks for the post. There's also an interesting looking Clarkdale 30W CPU: http://ark.intel.com/products/47555 at 30W TDP that I might look around for too.

Ok, back to 1155...

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #1794 of 2223 Old 09-12-2011, 12:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,121
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 161
This might be old news but two new SNB Celerons are available on NewEgg.com:

Intel Celeron G530 Sandy Bridge 2.4GHz 2 x 256KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache LGA 1155 65W Dual-Core Desktop Processor BX80623G530
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116409
$57
(see also: https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3#post20925423)

Intel Celeron G540 Sandy Bridge 2.5GHz 2 x 256KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache LGA 1155 65W Dual-Core Desktop Processor BX80623G540
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116408
$67

G530 + H61 = cheapest & fastest HTPC platform on the planet? To this day I am still shocked seeing Intel rip AMD a new one in the pricing space, especially given the capabilities at these price points. Shocking.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #1795 of 2223 Old 09-12-2011, 01:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

G530 + H61 = cheapest & fastest HTPC platform on the planet? To this day I am still shocked seeing Intel rip AMD a new one in the pricing space, especially given the capabilities at these price points. Shocking.

Not really all that surprising. Celeron Wolfdale was cheaper than Athlon II X2 Regor. Unfortunately, the G41 chipset (the older equivalent of the H61) sucks and G45 & GF9300/9400 motherboards were considerably more expensive than 780G/785G models. The amazing thing is the improvement on low-end Sandy Bridge over low-end Wolfdale chips. It's really a big jump going from an E3300 to a similarly clocked G540.

The thing is AMD concentrated on iGPU performance with Llano. Taken as a whole, the A4 beats Pentium SNB. However, if you focus solely on CPU performance, Intel has got AMD beat. While Regor may have been faster compared to Celeron Wolfdale, if you look purely on the CPU side, Llano is now behind Celeron SNB. Assuming you don't need the iGPU performance Llano brings (either because you're fine with the HD 1000 or you'll be using a discrete GPU), there's really not much reason to go with Llano.

Oh well, I reckon we will be seeing the E2 sooner or later. Those should be more competitive against Celeron SNB price-wise. It's really just a shame that AMD appears to be behind Intel's release schedule by a quarter.
ilovejedd is offline  
post #1796 of 2223 Old 09-12-2011, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,121
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Out of curiosity, I put together a budget (but still good quality) build using the new G530 processor. It can all be done under $300 at NewEgg.com w/o the OS.

LG DVD burner $18
Rosewill RC-CIX-01 case $45
Samsung 1TB HDD $60
Kingston DDR3 1333 2 x 1GB RAM $17
ASUS P8H61-I mini-itx motherboard $80
Intel Celeron G530 CPU $57

$277 + $8 shipping = $285.

With that you get all the goodies outlined in renethx's posts above. Impressive. If I had one of those fat cat stickies this would be my preferred budget build for a media, nettop and/or everyday use PC.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #1797 of 2223 Old 09-12-2011, 02:29 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13,150
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

If I had one of those fat cat stickies this would be my preferred budget build for a media, nettop and/or everyday use PC.

Its coming. Let me get caught up at my real job and it will be in there.
assassin is offline  
post #1798 of 2223 Old 09-12-2011, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
shftup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

Out of curiosity, I put together a budget (but still good quality) build using the new G530 processor. It can all be done under $300 at NewEgg.com w/o the OS.

LG DVD burner $18
Rosewill RC-CIX-01 case $45
Samsung 1TB HDD $60
Kingston DDR3 1333 2 x 1GB RAM $17
ASUS P8H61-I mini-itx motherboard $80
Intel Celeron G530 CPU $57

$277 + $8 shipping = $285.

With that you get all the goodies outlined in renethx's posts above. Impressive. If I had one of those fat cat stickies this would be my preferred budget build for a media, nettop and/or everyday use PC.

I agree, HTPC just became a whole lot cheaper.
Also - you can even add a GT430/440 or SSD and still be less than $355 give or take.
shftup is offline  
post #1799 of 2223 Old 09-12-2011, 05:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13,150
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Its coming. Let me get caught up at my real job and it will be in there.

As requested I have updated my sticky guide to include the new SB Celerons and some of my favorite budget H61 boards.

Wow. These are some cheap HTPCs now.
assassin is offline  
post #1800 of 2223 Old 09-12-2011, 09:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,121
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 161
It's nice to see the Rosewill RC-CIX-01 back in stock.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off