Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 153 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 165Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4561 of 4633 Old 12-15-2018, 04:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,114
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 414
try frame rate matching play 50 and 25 hz sources at 50 hz.

after that try to disable d3d11 rendering looks like your card has troubles with realtime deinterlancing there is no definite answer to that by just judge a screen.
mightyhuhn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4562 of 4633 Old 12-15-2018, 04:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
by the way the first screen had presentation glitches and droped frames too. It seemed to be reseted to zero because I hit "pause" before taking the screen. The second screenshot was taken while playback so should be better for a diganosis. By the way the stuttering on this dvd occured a lot
FrankZ is offline  
post #4563 of 4633 Old 12-15-2018, 04:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,114
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 414
a pause is not supposed to reset the OSD (it changes the queues making a pause screen less useful) it's done by control+r please don't use it.
mightyhuhn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4564 of 4633 Old 12-15-2018, 05:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm using DXVA2(copy-back) as a hardware accelerator in the LAV decoder settings at the moment, D3D11 isn't chosen. Or is it still active and I have to disable it elsewhere?



I can't set my GPU below 60hz in it's preferences. Or is there a way to set 50hz playback in MPC HC ?
FrankZ is offline  
post #4565 of 4633 Old 12-15-2018, 06:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
ah just found something in the MPC-fullscreen options. everything is set to 60 Hz 1920x1080 there. I will set it to 60 Hz 1024x768 and if that doesn't work I give it a try at 50 Hz 1024x768. I'll let you know how it turns out
FrankZ is offline  
post #4566 of 4633 Old 12-15-2018, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
gerall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Played a blu ray in DTS HD master audio 24/48. While playing the LAV audio indicated the input was 24bit integer but the output was 32 bit float point. Can anyone explain what 32 bit float is and how it differs if at all from the original 24 bit? I played the same movie with power dvd and that indicated the out put was 16 bit. Many thanks
gerall is offline  
post #4567 of 4633 Old 12-15-2018, 10:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
it's still stuttering and I can't go below 60 Hz since it's the minimum. Damn :-(
FrankZ is offline  
post #4568 of 4633 Old 12-16-2018, 04:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
ok I found out that it is possible to change the refresh rate by creating custom ones. I tried 59 Hz and 50 Hz but that also didn't solve the problem.
FrankZ is offline  
post #4569 of 4633 Old 12-16-2018, 05:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,114
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 414
are you sure the nvidia driver doesn't give you alternative refreshrates? and did you made sure you are using an modern interface like HDMI ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gerall View Post
Played a blu ray in DTS HD master audio 24/48. While playing the LAV audio indicated the input was 24bit integer but the output was 32 bit float point. Can anyone explain what 32 bit float is and how it differs if at all from the original 24 bit? I played the same movie with power dvd and that indicated the out put was 16 bit. Many thanks
lavfilter usually does this when down mixing. 32 bit float is prefered for audio processing that's why it is used and the windows audio pipe does use 32 bit float too.

power dvd can't output 24 bit audio for reason you have to ask them.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #4570 of 4633 Old 12-17-2018, 12:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I can chose tons of custom Hz numbers and resolution in the Nvidia panel. My projector is meant to be for 60 Hz I doubt that it is a good idea to torture it with 24 Hz or weird stuff like that.
I tried HDMI and VGA and didn't notice a difference. It's still stuttering every few minutes expecially in fast motions.
I also tried this guide https://anime.my/tutorials/madvr/ but it left me with a complete stuttering mess.
Using only smooth motion in madvr helps a bit but looks artificial (I'm more into the old school movie look) in my eyes and small stuttering is still there anyways.


I think Nvidia GeForce is just crap theese days when it comes to video playback, at least in my setup. I'm thinking about buying a 2014 ATI Radeon. Those cards were always fine in my old PC's.
FrankZ is offline  
post #4571 of 4633 Old 12-17-2018, 02:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
and to make shure that this isn't a file problem I just tested the same files on a Fujitsu EsPRiMO P7935 office PC (Core 2 Duo-Prozessor E8500 (2 Cores / 2
threads, 3.16 GHz, 6 MB, 1333 MHz with onboard graphic chip intel q45/q43 express chipset) with W7 32 bit.
All files are playing fine without stuttering even if I don't use madVR at all.


So the summary would be that a 10 year old office PC worth 20 bucks works better than my latest PC worth 1500 bucks. This is just ridiculous....
FrankZ is offline  
post #4572 of 4633 Old 12-18-2018, 03:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,114
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 414
and did you run this PC on the same projector?
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #4573 of 4633 Old 12-18-2018, 04:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
and did you run this PC on the same projector?
yea, same Projector, same Connection
FrankZ is offline  
post #4574 of 4633 Old 12-18-2018, 05:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,114
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 414
the next thing i would try is the GPU in that PC.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #4575 of 4633 Old 12-18-2018, 06:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I can't try the GPU of the old PC in the new PC because it is onboard
FrankZ is offline  
post #4576 of 4633 Old 12-18-2018, 09:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,114
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 414
the nvidia card in the office PC.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #4577 of 4633 Old 01-18-2019, 08:22 AM
Member
 
wally0206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Video Tearing \ Garbled with TrueHD files on seek or chapter change.



Anyone have the same issue? it has no issues with any other audio format during seek or chapter change, or if you don't seek or chapter change, now that we have eliminated the roku and sticking with the HTPC for superior video and audio, with the added of Plex (kodi addon) calling MPC as the player, this is really the only last issues to correct.
wally0206 is offline  
post #4578 of 4633 Old 02-01-2019, 10:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I am using XySubfilter for subtitles, is there a way to control subtitle shadows?
noob00224 is online now  
post #4579 of 4633 Old 02-02-2019, 06:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,576
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 893 Post(s)
Liked: 547
It would only work for text-based subtitles and not graphic or .pgs subtitles. If it exists, it would be found in the settings panel for text-based subtitles.
noob00224 likes this.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #4580 of 4633 Old 02-02-2019, 07:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
It would only work for text-based subtitles and not graphic or .pgs subtitles. If it exists, it would be found in the settings panel for text-based subtitles.

Where is the settings panel? The xysubfilter options panel?
noob00224 is online now  
post #4581 of 4633 Old 02-11-2019, 06:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Boogie7910's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Still trying to get wasapi working right. I enabled internal audio renderer and exclusive mode and in doing this, I get audio but not video. If I take it off internal audio renderer the video comes back, or if take off exclusive mode the video comes back but then I'm not getting wasapi anymore.
Boogie7910 is offline  
post #4582 of 4633 Old 02-19-2019, 12:23 PM
Member
 
IndepTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hello,

Is it possible to undock the controls, seek bar and playlist from the video window? Or to have the video window "unembedded" from the rest of the player gui? The idea would be to have the video in fullscreen on a secondary monitor (projector), and the controls/seek bar/playlist still available on the main monitor. I use madVR as renderer i that matters (which I doubt).

I know it is possible to do in VLC (setting is called "don't embed video" or something), I was hoping there would be something similar in MPC-HC but I cannot find it.

Thanks!
IndepTheater is offline  
post #4583 of 4633 Old 02-19-2019, 02:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,114
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 414
the web interface should be able to do this.
IndepTheater likes this.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #4584 of 4633 Old 02-19-2019, 02:26 PM
Member
 
IndepTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
the web interface should be able to do this.
wow, that's actually unexpectedly easy

Is there a way to launch the web interface in a browser automatically when the player starts?

and regarding the original question, this is correct that there is NO way to do it on the player itself, without the web interface right?
IndepTheater is offline  
post #4585 of 4633 Old 02-19-2019, 02:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,114
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 414
Quote:
Is there a way to launch the web interface in a browser automatically when the player starts?
not any way i know. someone that really knows the deeper stuff from microsoft maybe able to do that.

the website is always the same so a webbrwoser that doesn't close it's tabs should be fine just leave it open.

Quote:
and regarding the original question, this is correct that there is NO way to do it on the player itself, without the web interface right?
as far as i know MPC HC can "only" detach the play list. but there are a lot more player that support madVR many i have never used in my life.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #4586 of 4633 Old 02-19-2019, 04:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
damelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,315
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 345
OK, now I'm super confused. I was setting up my new HTPC over the weekend to play HDR content with MPC-HC and madVR. Been running some of the HDR processing files over the last couple of days. Yesterday watched Hunter Killer and noticed some issues with a few dropped frames, two dozen or so repeated frames, and 8 processing issues. So i was remoting in from work today looking at it to see what I might tweak when I lost the connection. So when I get home.. it doesn't play anything. I click an MKV file, I see the projector change to the proper resolution and framerate, but MPC-HC just goes to a black screen saying "Paused H/W" and doesn't start playback on any MKV files. Dunno if it is literally my graphics card, drivers, or something else... anyone seen this before?
damelon is offline  
post #4587 of 4633 Old 02-19-2019, 06:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,576
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 893 Post(s)
Liked: 547
I have the same problem with MPC-HC. Many files start with a paused, black screen. One other person at the Kodi forums has also seen this, so it is probably common and needs to be fixed.

I would use MPC-BE as an alternative. You need to install LAV Filters externally and add them to MPC-BE as External Filters: LAV Splitter Source, LAV Video and LAV Audio. Check prefer for each.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #4588 of 4633 Old 02-19-2019, 06:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
damelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,315
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
I have the same problem with MPC-HC. Many files start with a paused, black screen. One other person at the Kodi forums has also seen this, so it is probably common and needs to be fixed.

I would use MPC-BE as an alternative. You need to install LAV Filters externally and add them to MPC-BE as External Filters: LAV Splitter Source, LAV Video and LAV Audio. Check prefer for each.
Yes, I already was in the process of downloading this as an alternative. Thanks for the suggestion. If I disable MadVR in MPC-HC it plays immediately, just not properly. It isn't that they just start paused, they stay that way.
damelon is offline  
post #4589 of 4633 Old 02-20-2019, 07:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AidenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
I have the same problem with MPC-HC. Many files start with a paused, black screen. One other person at the Kodi forums has also seen this, so it is probably common and needs to be fixed.

I would use MPC-BE as an alternative. You need to install LAV Filters externally and add them to MPC-BE as External Filters: LAV Splitter Source, LAV Video and LAV Audio. Check prefer for each.
And if wanting to use MPC BE with Kodi, I would have to set it up as an external player?

Im about to totally redo my configuration and I have Kodi with DS player installed.

Would it be better to download the Leia Kodi build, overwrite the Kodi with DS player and install MPC BE?

I want to make sure Id follow correct procedures. So is it as follows?

1 Download latest Kodi and install.
2. Download latest MPC BE and install.
3. Install Lav filters
4. Make adjustments to Playercorefactory file.
5. Install Madmeasure tools etc.

Would I need to uninstall the old Kodi or will it be overwritten? I presume I can then uninstall MPC HC, or should that be done earlier in the process?

Display : JVC X7000 Projector | SE 103" Enlightor 4k | LG 65B6 OLED |
Sources : Panasonic UDP 700 & Vertex| Apple TV4k | HTPC | Sky Q UHD Satellite | Sonos Connect | Synology 24Tb |
Audio : Marantz 8802A | Genelec 8050 LCR | Monitor Audio IDC Sides & Rears | Seaton Sub Master/Slave |
AidenL is offline  
post #4590 of 4633 Old 02-20-2019, 08:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 877
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 568 Post(s)
Liked: 327
If I was you, I would keep MPC-HC and MPC-BE added in your PCF.xml because each has its problems. Fortunately, not the same problems so when one fails, the other does not, dependent on what you are playing and what you require. For example:


MPC-HC renders 3D MVC fine. MPC-BE will postage stamp the player upon start every time. (you can resize the player and it will play fine but I don't like the clumsiness myself). One would assume to just use MPC-HC then but it too is faulty:


MPC-HC does not always render subtitles. I'm not sure if it's limited to iso's only but subs available in the menu do nothing yet external srt's do.


These are just two examples. This was not always the case but has been for quite some time using nightlies of everything and I keep installing them because I like to remain current including todays new LAV Filters release. I've been using 5 players for years now each picking up the voids of the others and I've never been left in a pickle.
AidenL likes this.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D / Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off