Plex Discussion Thread - Page 75 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 284Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2221 of 2583 Old 09-11-2018, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
kciaccio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pearland TX
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Looks like Plex cloud is going bye bye..

https://variety.com/2018/digital/new...wn-1202936840/
kciaccio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2222 of 2583 Old 09-11-2018, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,339
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1021 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Emby still supports Google Drive via a plugin. I haven't used it so am not sure how well it works.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #2223 of 2583 Old 09-11-2018, 01:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9,421
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1753 Post(s)
Liked: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by kciaccio View Post
Looks like Plex cloud is going bye bye..

https://variety.com/2018/digital/new...wn-1202936840/
It was a dumb implementation. It didn't support encrypted media so once you put your media on the cloud storage service you run the risk of getting flagged and deleted for copyright infringement. Amazon or Google doesn't know or care that you have a bookshelf full of disks matching each one you have ripped and uploaded to their cloud storage.

The workarounds use encrypted volumes to store the media, but Plex Cloud wasn't compatible with that method. You ended up just using your own local or dedicated server for Plex.

bryansj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2224 of 2583 Old 09-11-2018, 02:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9,421
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1753 Post(s)
Liked: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by kciaccio View Post
I only used it for the local server part...My friends are going to be upset. They used to have access to my 4500 movie library...
I don't understand. What local server part is there of their cloud server? You can still share your local Plex server library with them.

bryansj is offline  
post #2225 of 2583 Old 09-11-2018, 02:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
kciaccio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pearland TX
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I think it only affects people who use third party storage like drop box and google drive...People like me who have big servers at their house will carry on as usual.
kciaccio is offline  
post #2226 of 2583 Old 09-11-2018, 03:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9,421
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1753 Post(s)
Liked: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by kciaccio View Post
I think it only affects people who use third party storage like drop box and google drive...People like me who have big servers at their house will carry on as usual.
I know what it is, but it sounds like you were saying you wouldn't be able to share with anyone.

The cloud server that is shutting down is where the server is run on Plex's servers (probably Amazon instances) and linked to your cloud storage accounts. It would allow someone to buy Plex Pass and not need a server of their own.

You can still use 3rd party tools to map cloud stored libraries to your own Plex server.

bryansj is offline  
post #2227 of 2583 Old 09-11-2018, 05:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Defcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,916
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1548 Post(s)
Liked: 859
Is it possible to 'cast' to the Plex for Kodi addon from the Plex app on phone? I don't see it as an option (I only see the Plex client). I much much much prefer Kodi due to its vastly superior playback engine not to mention the Kodi addon actually has a far nicer UI than the official Plex app.
Defcon is offline  
post #2228 of 2583 Old 09-12-2018, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I have a question that I will also post on the forum for my AVR and Roku forums. When ripping my Blurays to my server I do so using MKV. I have also converted a couple from MKV to MP4 using Handbrake. I only ripped the DTS MA audio format. When I play back from the Roku III my AVR is only showing as dolby digital. Is there a setting on the Plex server that may be doing this?
Dominic26 is offline  
post #2229 of 2583 Old 09-12-2018, 07:35 AM
Member
 
raschneider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic26 View Post
I have a question that I will also post on the forum for my AVR and Roku forums. When ripping my Blurays to my server I do so using MKV. I have also converted a couple from MKV to MP4 using Handbrake. I only ripped the DTS MA audio format. When I play back from the Roku III my AVR is only showing as dolby digital. Is there a setting on the Plex server that may be doing this?
My guess is that Plex is transcoding the file. If you open Plex server and look at the active streams it will show if its transcoding or not. You can try forcing a direct play and see if that works. I don't have a Roku but there should be a settings menu in the app that will allow you to change the quality.
raschneider is offline  
post #2230 of 2583 Old 09-12-2018, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9,421
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1753 Post(s)
Liked: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic26 View Post
I have a question that I will also post on the forum for my AVR and Roku forums. When ripping my Blurays to my server I do so using MKV. I have also converted a couple from MKV to MP4 using Handbrake. I only ripped the DTS MA audio format. When I play back from the Roku III my AVR is only showing as dolby digital. Is there a setting on the Plex server that may be doing this?
Roku doesn't support DTS-MA (or TrueHD). So your audio is being transcoded to DD.

Either be happy you are hearing anything or get a proper streaming device that supports your audio formats.

bryansj is offline  
post #2231 of 2583 Old 09-12-2018, 12:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,781
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

Either be happy you are hearing anything or get a proper streaming device that supports your audio formats.
lol. Great advice Bryan!
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #2232 of 2583 Old 09-12-2018, 02:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
Roku doesn't support DTS-MA (or TrueHD). So your audio is being transcoded to DD.

Either be happy you are hearing anything or get a proper streaming device that supports your audio formats.

Thanks. I knew that but forgot.
Dominic26 is offline  
post #2233 of 2583 Old 09-14-2018, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
 
calculon68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
Roku doesn't support DTS-MA (or TrueHD). So your audio is being transcoded to DD.

Either be happy you are hearing anything or get a proper streaming device that supports your audio formats.

So what's the consensus on the best set top box for PLEX as far as DTS-MA and TrueHD and Atmos is concerned? One voice says it's Nvidia Shield TV, another says it's Roku Ultra, one of the PLEX support guys recommend building some Raspberry Pi box.


My STBs are forcing transcodes to DD, but they're quite old (1st Gen FireTV box, Roku 3) Still have a couple of years left on the TV before I move on to 4K....But my AVR can handle the larger bitrate surround formats.
calculon68 is offline  
post #2234 of 2583 Old 09-14-2018, 10:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9,421
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1753 Post(s)
Liked: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by calculon68 View Post
So what's the consensus on the best set top box for PLEX as far as DTS-MA and TrueHD and Atmos is concerned? One voice says it's Nvidia Shield TV, another says it's Roku Ultra, one of the PLEX support guys recommend building some Raspberry Pi box.


My STBs are forcing transcodes to DD, but they're quite old (1st Gen FireTV box, Roku 3) Still have a couple of years left on the TV before I move on to 4K....But my AVR can handle the larger bitrate surround formats.
Shield or some form of PC. No Roku devices support HD audio so I'm not sure where you heard otherwise. An Apple TV 4k can handle DTS-MA and TrueHD as LPCM, but not Atmos and DTS-X. The ATV4k news about Atmos is about the lossy DolblyDigital+ used by streaming services.

So you really only have two options for Atmos.
billqs and calculon68 like this.

bryansj is offline  
post #2235 of 2583 Old 09-14-2018, 04:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Waterboy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 1,513
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 604 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Odroid C2 supports atmos...... with OpenPHT

One day I will start the new theater....... one day..... THAT DAY HAS ARRIVED
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." Red Green
Family Cave Theater
Automation Thoughts/ Questions
Waterboy77 is offline  
post #2236 of 2583 Old 09-28-2018, 07:37 AM
Senior Member
 
majek 60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rolling Farmland, WI
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 154
I want to replace my SqueezeBox.

Can I run Plex on my PC along with my Roku 3, but here is the big question. Can I control this through a tablet or phone. I do not want to have a display on.

Any help on this is great.

Thanks!
majek 60 is offline  
post #2237 of 2583 Old 09-29-2018, 07:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Waterboy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 1,513
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 604 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by majek 60 View Post
I want to replace my SqueezeBox.

Can I run Plex on my PC along with my Roku 3, but here is the big question. Can I control this through a tablet or phone. I do not want to have a display on.

Any help on this is great.

Thanks!
I have recently discovered but not looked at all the control functions....
That the plex app can connect to a device running openpht and give you the ability to play your music, change songs, etc.
I have done this with an Odroid and a Pi..... not sure about a PC

One day I will start the new theater....... one day..... THAT DAY HAS ARRIVED
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." Red Green
Family Cave Theater
Automation Thoughts/ Questions
Waterboy77 is offline  
post #2238 of 2583 Old 09-30-2018, 06:28 AM
Member
 
vintagegroove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Plex doesn't work for us at all because it mixes all movies you have together into one library.

We have a "parents" folder and a "family" folder on a windows network server and like to keep them separated. So we use Serviiio. I've been happy with that for years.
JRock3x8 likes this.

Last edited by vintagegroove; 09-30-2018 at 06:31 AM.
vintagegroove is offline  
post #2239 of 2583 Old 09-30-2018, 08:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,411
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2214 Post(s)
Liked: 2421
Quote:
Originally Posted by vintagegroove View Post
Plex doesn't work for us at all because it mixes all movies you have together into one library.

We have a "parents" folder and a "family" folder on a windows network server and like to keep them separated. So we use Serviiio. I've been happy with that for years.
If you like Serviio better that's reason enough to not use Plex, but it's easy to set Plex up with separate libraries exactly as you described.
Ken.F is online now  
post #2240 of 2583 Old 09-30-2018, 08:45 AM
Member
 
vintagegroove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
If you like Serviio better that's reason enough to not use Plex, but it's easy to set Plex up with separate libraries exactly as you described.
Good to know. That did not used to be possible with Plex.
vintagegroove is offline  
post #2241 of 2583 Old 09-30-2018, 05:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9,421
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1753 Post(s)
Liked: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by vintagegroove View Post
Good to know. That did not used to be possible with Plex.
I don't remember when it would have never been possible.

Create Library / Select Type (Movies) / Name (Parents) / Select Folder

Create Library / Select Type (Movies) / Name (Family) / Select Folder

From day 1 of Plex I've had a folder for Movies and Children's Movies. Through the years I've had 3D Movies and 4K Movies.
markmon1 likes this.

bryansj is offline  
post #2242 of 2583 Old 10-01-2018, 05:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,513
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4644 Post(s)
Liked: 2945
Quote:
Originally Posted by vintagegroove View Post
Plex doesn't work for us at all because it mixes all movies you have together into one library.

We have a "parents" folder and a "family" folder on a windows network server and like to keep them separated. So we use Serviiio. I've been happy with that for years.
Plex has always had separate folder support and user access profiles that can even be passworded (well pin) if you want.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is online now  
post #2243 of 2583 Old 10-01-2018, 05:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,755
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1722 Post(s)
Liked: 533
Can Kodi do this?

I have a similar issue.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #2244 of 2583 Old 10-01-2018, 06:17 AM
Member
 
vintagegroove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
Plex has always had separate folder support and user access profiles that can even be passworded (well pin) if you want.
Plex support didn't think it was possible when I contacted them about this many years ago, so I don't think they've always had it, but glad they have it now. In fact, the pin solution is what I really want so I might be implementing plex now. Thank you.
vintagegroove is offline  
post #2245 of 2583 Old 10-01-2018, 06:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,411
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2214 Post(s)
Liked: 2421
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Can Kodi do this?
It can be done but it's not as easy as Plex.


https://kodi.wiki/view/Custom_home_items
Ken.F is online now  
post #2246 of 2583 Old 10-02-2018, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
csmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Charlotte,NC
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Finally Schedules Direct (Emby, etc) and Grace (Plex) TV guide updated with StartTV (18.5 here) information so I can start recording shows .
Ken.F likes this.
csmith is offline  
post #2247 of 2583 Old 10-03-2018, 06:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
ElJimador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Defcon View Post
Is it possible to 'cast' to the Plex for Kodi addon from the Plex app on phone? I don't see it as an option (I only see the Plex client). I much much much prefer Kodi due to its vastly superior playback engine not to mention the Kodi addon actually has a far nicer UI than the official Plex app.
No it isn't. Though personally I haven't found casting to Plex Media Player works all that great either. I use casting strictly for music and will find that it works okay for a while and then just randomly stop playback. Or it just refuses to work in the first place and I get "there was a problem playing this item" messages right from the jump. This is casting either from an android phone or from another Windows PC on my network. I expect I could fight through those issues if it was more important to me but as it is I've pretty much just given up on casting and use an Echo Dot for Alexa integration instead (using voice commands to start and stop music rather than casting). It's not perfect either but at least it's better than casting and let's me just stick with Plex for Kodi too instead of constantly switching players on my HTPC.
ElJimador is offline  
post #2248 of 2583 Old 10-06-2018, 12:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Scarpad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Long time plex pass user. Since 2011 i've been using an iMac as a Plex server and it's on its last legs so i'm contemplating what's next. I don't currently have a lot to spend on a replacement so i want the best for the money. Most of my content is ripped to m4v files although more and more i've been ripping dvd's to straight MKV's and some blu rays too. What's my best bang for the buck? I know that Nvidea has made some changes to the 16gb Child so that it makes it better suited to hold metadata. And finally i'm mostly a one stream at a time guy thou occasionally a friend or two my log in. What are my choices, i guess my other option cheap PC running Linux although i'm a complete line noob.
Scarpad is offline  
post #2249 of 2583 Old 10-06-2018, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scarpad View Post
Long time plex pass user. Since 2011 i've been using an iMac as a Plex server and it's on its last legs so i'm contemplating what's next. I don't currently have a lot to spend on a replacement so i want the best for the money. Most of my content is ripped to m4v files although more and more i've been ripping dvd's to straight MKV's and some blu rays too. What's my best bang for the buck? I know that Nvidea has made some changes to the 16gb Child so that it makes it better suited to hold metadata. And finally i'm mostly a one stream at a time guy thou occasionally a friend or two my log in. What are my choices, i guess my other option cheap PC running Linux although i'm a complete line noob.
I have a intel nuc running as my server. Works great very low cost. Main media stored on a nas, so drive in the nuc is minimal. I got the i7, total cost was under $500. you can easily get away with an i5 or even one gen back and save a couple hundred dollars.

There are a number of prebuilt distributions of linux with plex that make install easy. There are a few out there built for the pi which can be even cheaper, closer the 100. But I haven't used them as a server - but they are great as end points.

Edit - my i7 nuc runs plex, roon, makemkv for backing up uhd disks and cds. I've had it streaming a 4k movie to the shield, streaming a bluray over the internet to a friend, and ripping a 4k movie all at the same time, no issues - so I'd say the i7 is overkill for your application.

Sent from my SM-T827V using Tapatalk

video: Lg 65e6, Oppo uhd-203, Roku ultra, nVidia Shield Pro
audio: Yamaha aventage 3050, ATI AT252NC, martin logan efx 7.1
gaming: Ps4-pro, Psvr, Ps3
other: Synology d216play, Panamax m-5300pm & m-5400pm, a billion smarthome things

Last edited by Spinningbull; 10-06-2018 at 01:59 PM.
Spinningbull is offline  
post #2250 of 2583 Old 10-06-2018, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Scarpad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spinningbull View Post
I have a intel nuc running as my server. Works great very low cost. Main media stored on a nas, so drive in the nuc is minimal. I got the i7, total cost was under $500. you can easily get away with an i5 or even one gen back and save a couple hundred dollars.

There are a number of prebuilt distributions of linux with plex that make install easy. There are a few out there built for the pi which can be even cheaper, closer the 100. But I haven't used them as a server - but they are great as end points.

Edit - my i7 nuc runs plex, roon, makemkv for backing up uhd disks and cds. I've had it streaming a 4k movie to the shield, streaming a bluray over the internet to a friend, and ripping a 4k movie all at the same time, no issues - so I'd say the i7 is overkill for your application.

Sent from my SM-T827V using Tapatalk
the NUC was something i was contemplating let me do some looking around
Scarpad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off