Plex Discussion Thread - Page 87 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 314Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2581 of 2677 Old 07-16-2019, 11:59 AM
Member
 
feistyacorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post
Looks like this is addressed in the latest release:
(Metadata) Posters could fail to load on Nvidia Shield servers (#10036)
Version 1.16.3.1402

Installing now.
I have the same issue and it's super annoying. Hopefully the update fixes it!

___________________________________

Wisconsin Home Theater Enthusiasts Thread
feistyacorn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2582 of 2677 Old 07-16-2019, 01:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hill Country, Texas
Posts: 7,901
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1950 Post(s)
Liked: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by feistyacorn View Post
I have the same issue and it's super annoying. Hopefully the update fixes it!
So far on two of my three it's working perfectly now.
feistyacorn likes this.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #2583 of 2677 Old 07-19-2019, 08:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tleavit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Vancouver, Wa
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Subscribing, I have run Plex from few years now to 3 Roku I have set up around the house.

"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic" -Arthur C. Clarke
tleavit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2584 of 2677 Old 07-22-2019, 01:25 PM
Senior Member
 
rack04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm looking for a free way to stream my Blu-ray and HD DVD (yes I still have those) backups from my PC to my Samsung Smart TVs. Based on what I've ready this should be available for free using Plex Media Server. Is this correct?
rack04 is offline  
post #2585 of 2677 Old 07-22-2019, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 1,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by rack04 View Post
I'm looking for a free way to stream my Blu-ray and HD DVD (yes I still have those) backups from my PC to my Samsung Smart TVs. Based on what I've ready this should be available for free using Plex Media Server. Is this correct?
not if the backup are in iso or the like. they have to be in a container like mkv or mp4 and you wont get menus.

-------
Cord Cutter | OTA - NYC DMA - 10 HDHomerun Tuners - 5 Apple TV's with Channels DVR | Plex Pass | Netflix | Amazon Prime Video | ESPN+ | hulu | Fios Gigabit with Ubiquiti Unifi Enterprise Network/Wifi/Surveillance System
Aero 1 is online now  
post #2586 of 2677 Old 07-22-2019, 01:47 PM
Senior Member
 
rack04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post
not if the backup are in iso or the like. they have to be in a container like mkv or mp4 and you wont get menus.
Understood. They are all in ISO containers but I'm planning to use MKVtoolnix to remux into MKV. I created the ISO files using a combination of eac3to (demux and audio conversion), x264 (encode to lower bitrate for smaller file size), multiAVCHD (create AVCHD/Blu-ray file structure) and ImgBurn (build ISO). The resultant MKV files won't contain any menus so that won't be a problem.

Last edited by rack04; 07-22-2019 at 01:51 PM.
rack04 is offline  
post #2587 of 2677 Old 07-23-2019, 06:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
ckronengold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston Strong / Jersey Strong
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by rack04 View Post
Understood. They are all in ISO containers but I'm planning to use MKVtoolnix to remux into MKV. I created the ISO files using a combination of eac3to (demux and audio conversion), x264 (encode to lower bitrate for smaller file size), multiAVCHD (create AVCHD/Blu-ray file structure) and ImgBurn (build ISO). The resultant MKV files won't contain any menus so that won't be a problem.
Seems like you did things the hard way, unless you compressed them so much that you gave up a lot of quality. I'd suggest you simply re-rip with MakeMKV. You get a Plex-friendly MKV without all of the muxing or it can do the building of file structures for you.

Storage is cheap enough that you shouldn't have to give up so much quality to make it worth the space you save. If file size is your primary concern, I'd still suggest you save a few steps and just use Handbrake, which will do all the same things in one UI. And you can make the load easier on your server if you put the files in a format that doesn't need to be transcoded for your Samsung TV. (I don't know if it plays MKVs or not).

Just my two cents.

Video: Epson 5050 / nVidia Shield / OPPO-103
Audio: Marantz 7010 / MartinLogan Motion 40 (LR), 50XT (center), M2 (surrounds)
Streaming: nVidia Shield / Roku Ultra / Chromecast Ultra
NAS: Synology 1515+ Server: Ubuntu 18.04, i7-8700 CPU
HTPC: Win10 Pro 64-bit, i5 750 Radeon HD 5850
ckronengold is offline  
post #2588 of 2677 Old 07-23-2019, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
rack04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckronengold View Post
Seems like you did things the hard way, unless you compressed them so much that you gave up a lot of quality. I'd suggest you simply re-rip with MakeMKV. You get a Plex-friendly MKV without all of the muxing or it can do the building of file structures for you.

Storage is cheap enough that you shouldn't have to give up so much quality to make it worth the space you save. If file size is your primary concern, I'd still suggest you save a few steps and just use Handbrake, which will do all the same things in one UI. And you can make the load easier on your server if you put the files in a format that doesn't need to be transcoded for your Samsung TV. (I don't know if it plays MKVs or not).

Just my two cents.
The files were compressed to fit on DVD9 for playback on my Blu-ray players. Stripping the unnecessary streams and using high quality x264 encoder settings the quality at lower bitrates to fit on DVD9 is sufficient for my needs. I really only did it this way to preserve the original disc since I wasn't savy enough to stream content to my TV. I'll start with the original discs and use MakeMKV as suggested. Thanks.
rack04 is offline  
post #2589 of 2677 Old 07-23-2019, 06:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
ckronengold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston Strong / Jersey Strong
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by rack04 View Post
The files were compressed to fit on DVD9 for playback on my Blu-ray players. Stripping the unnecessary streams and using high quality x264 encoder settings the quality at lower bitrates to fit on DVD9 is sufficient for my needs. I really only did it this way to preserve the original disc since I wasn't savy enough to stream content to my TV. I'll start with the original discs and use MakeMKV as suggested. Thanks.
Thanks makes perfect sense. But as long as you've still got the originals, you can rip in 15 mins to MKV at full video quality, still strip out all the extra audio streams, previews, bonus materials, etc.

My bluray backups are 20-30GB. You can compress them a little with Handbrake if you like (I use RF20) and still not lose any quality, and get down to 7-10gb, which is some not-insignificant space savings.

Video: Epson 5050 / nVidia Shield / OPPO-103
Audio: Marantz 7010 / MartinLogan Motion 40 (LR), 50XT (center), M2 (surrounds)
Streaming: nVidia Shield / Roku Ultra / Chromecast Ultra
NAS: Synology 1515+ Server: Ubuntu 18.04, i7-8700 CPU
HTPC: Win10 Pro 64-bit, i5 750 Radeon HD 5850
ckronengold is offline  
post #2590 of 2677 Old 07-23-2019, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
rack04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckronengold View Post
Thanks makes perfect sense. But as long as you've still got the originals, you can rip in 15 mins to MKV at full video quality, still strip out all the extra audio streams, previews, bonus materials, etc.

My bluray backups are 20-30GB. You can compress them a little with Handbrake if you like (I use RF20) and still not lose any quality, and get down to 7-10gb, which is some not-insignificant space savings.
Great. My last question is if streaming to Samsung Smart TVs is part of the free Plex Media Server services or do I need to invest in the Plex Pass for this to work?
rack04 is offline  
post #2591 of 2677 Old 07-23-2019, 08:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
ckronengold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston Strong / Jersey Strong
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by rack04 View Post
Great. My last question is if streaming to Samsung Smart TVs is part of the free Plex Media Server services or do I need to invest in the Plex Pass for this to work?
100% free.

Also, if you're more interested in an open source, always free, no up-sell / VIP option, JellyFin is getting pretty good reviews.
https://jellyfin.github.io/

Video: Epson 5050 / nVidia Shield / OPPO-103
Audio: Marantz 7010 / MartinLogan Motion 40 (LR), 50XT (center), M2 (surrounds)
Streaming: nVidia Shield / Roku Ultra / Chromecast Ultra
NAS: Synology 1515+ Server: Ubuntu 18.04, i7-8700 CPU
HTPC: Win10 Pro 64-bit, i5 750 Radeon HD 5850
ckronengold is offline  
post #2592 of 2677 Old 07-23-2019, 08:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,512
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2288 Post(s)
Liked: 2570
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckronengold View Post
100% free.
Plex does charge a few bucks for mobile apps if you don't have a Plex Pass but the one for Samsung should be free for everyone.

Quote:
Also, if you're more interested in an open source, always free, no up-sell / VIP option, JellyFin is getting pretty good reviews.
https://jellyfin.github.io/
I'm thinking about switching to Jellyfin myself.
Ken.F is offline  
post #2593 of 2677 Old 07-23-2019, 08:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
ckronengold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston Strong / Jersey Strong
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
Plex does charge a few bucks for mobile apps if you don't have a Plex Pass but the one for Samsung should be free for everyone.
yep. 100% true. I was only thinking about the server side. $5 one time for the mobile app.

Video: Epson 5050 / nVidia Shield / OPPO-103
Audio: Marantz 7010 / MartinLogan Motion 40 (LR), 50XT (center), M2 (surrounds)
Streaming: nVidia Shield / Roku Ultra / Chromecast Ultra
NAS: Synology 1515+ Server: Ubuntu 18.04, i7-8700 CPU
HTPC: Win10 Pro 64-bit, i5 750 Radeon HD 5850
ckronengold is offline  
post #2594 of 2677 Old 08-15-2019, 08:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
04rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Canada
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Hey guys I am new to Plex and having some issues.

I tried playing a 4K movie on the 3rd gen, and it would buffer and say network not strong enough or something and to lower quality. When I did that, regardless of quality, it would still happen. So I tried with Apple TV 4K and it just would just sit on the 5 second mark and does nothing on a black screen. I have tested this with 2 4K movies. However on my iPad and iPhone both movies work perfectly. No issues. What can be the problem?

I am running the newest Apple TV software and I have the free version of Plex and regular HD movies seem to work fine on everything.

Thanks for any help.

FAMILY ROOM - Totem Tribe II LCR, JL Audio E-112, Anthem MRX 720, Apple TV, WD HDTV, Panasonic 55" Plasma
BASEMENT THEATRE - Paradigm Studio 100 v5, 690 v5, 10x4 v5, Anthem AVM 60, Outlaw Audio 7700 & 7125, 2x JTR Captivator S2s, X-Box One X, Apple TV 4K, HTPC, JVC NX-5, 106" screen
04rex is offline  
post #2595 of 2677 Old 08-15-2019, 09:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 182
PLEX is a mess IMO and has been for about a year. I set it up primarily for LiveTV/DVR and have mostly abandoned it.

Have you tried EMBY?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 04rex View Post
Hey guys I am new to Plex and having some issues.

I tried playing a 4K movie on the 3rd gen, and it would buffer and say network not strong enough or something and to lower quality. When I did that, regardless of quality, it would still happen. So I tried with Apple TV 4K and it just would just sit on the 5 second mark and does nothing on a black screen. I have tested this with 2 4K movies. However on my iPad and iPhone both movies work perfectly. No issues. What can be the problem?

I am running the newest Apple TV software and I have the free version of Plex and regular HD movies seem to work fine on everything.

Thanks for any help.
rakstr is online now  
post #2596 of 2677 Old 08-15-2019, 09:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,512
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2288 Post(s)
Liked: 2570
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakstr View Post
PLEX is a mess IMO and has been for about a year.
I strongly disagree with that opinion. Plex has been a mess for way longer than a year.
rakstr and gomo657 like this.
Ken.F is offline  
post #2597 of 2677 Old 08-15-2019, 09:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
04rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Canada
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakstr View Post
PLEX is a mess IMO and has been for about a year. I set it up primarily for LiveTV/DVR and have mostly abandoned it.

Have you tried EMBY?
I have never heard of that. I will have to look it up.

FAMILY ROOM - Totem Tribe II LCR, JL Audio E-112, Anthem MRX 720, Apple TV, WD HDTV, Panasonic 55" Plasma
BASEMENT THEATRE - Paradigm Studio 100 v5, 690 v5, 10x4 v5, Anthem AVM 60, Outlaw Audio 7700 & 7125, 2x JTR Captivator S2s, X-Box One X, Apple TV 4K, HTPC, JVC NX-5, 106" screen
04rex is offline  
post #2598 of 2677 Old 08-15-2019, 09:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,512
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2288 Post(s)
Liked: 2570
Quote:
Originally Posted by 04rex View Post
Hey guys I am new to Plex and having some issues.

I tried playing a 4K movie on the 3rd gen, and it would buffer and say network not strong enough or something and to lower quality. When I did that, regardless of quality, it would still happen. So I tried with Apple TV 4K and it just would just sit on the 5 second mark and does nothing on a black screen. I have tested this with 2 4K movies. However on my iPad and iPhone both movies work perfectly. No issues. What can be the problem?

I am running the newest Apple TV software and I have the free version of Plex and regular HD movies seem to work fine on everything.

Thanks for any help.
I don't have an Apple TV but there's probably a quality setting somewhere on it. If you can find that try setting it to a lower quality.
Ken.F is offline  
post #2599 of 2677 Old 08-15-2019, 09:40 AM
Member
 
feistyacorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by 04rex View Post
Hey guys I am new to Plex and having some issues.

I tried playing a 4K movie on the 3rd gen, and it would buffer and say network not strong enough or something and to lower quality. When I did that, regardless of quality, it would still happen. So I tried with Apple TV 4K and it just would just sit on the 5 second mark and does nothing on a black screen. I have tested this with 2 4K movies. However on my iPad and iPhone both movies work perfectly. No issues. What can be the problem?

I am running the newest Apple TV software and I have the free version of Plex and regular HD movies seem to work fine on everything.

Thanks for any help.
Are you referring to the 3rd gen Apple TV? That one is 1080p and your server would be required to transcode. So that could be one problem. Is the Apple TV hard wired? If not, how far away is it from your WiFi? What kind of speed is it getting?

Ignore the people bashing Plex... not sure why they post so frequently in a thread for a service they hate.... kinda strange. lol
markmon1 likes this.

___________________________________

Wisconsin Home Theater Enthusiasts Thread
feistyacorn is offline  
post #2600 of 2677 Old 08-15-2019, 09:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,512
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2288 Post(s)
Liked: 2570
Quote:
Originally Posted by feistyacorn View Post
Ignore the people bashing Plex... not sure why they post so frequently in a thread for a service they hate.... kinda strange. lol
It's a love/hate kind of thing for me. I still find Plex to be useful but some of their decisions really annoy me. It's complicated.
Ken.F is offline  
post #2601 of 2677 Old 08-15-2019, 09:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
04rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Canada
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
I don't have an Apple TV but there's probably a quality setting somewhere on it. If you can find that try setting it to a lower quality.
I have set it to lower quality, but still nothing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by feistyacorn View Post
Are you referring to the 3rd gen Apple TV? That one is 1080p and your server would be required to transcode. So that could be one problem. Is the Apple TV hard wired? If not, how far away is it from your WiFi? What kind of speed is it getting?

Ignore the people bashing Plex... not sure why they post so frequently in a thread for a service they hate.... kinda strange. lol
With the 3rd gen, that is what i thought as well, so that is why i tried it on my 4K. It is hard wired, and i d have plenty of speed.

It is weird because on the 3rd gen, it does actually play, but just pauses every few seconds and gives the error message, but on the 4k, it doesn't play at all. Just black screen and stuck on 5 second mark for both movies.

FAMILY ROOM - Totem Tribe II LCR, JL Audio E-112, Anthem MRX 720, Apple TV, WD HDTV, Panasonic 55" Plasma
BASEMENT THEATRE - Paradigm Studio 100 v5, 690 v5, 10x4 v5, Anthem AVM 60, Outlaw Audio 7700 & 7125, 2x JTR Captivator S2s, X-Box One X, Apple TV 4K, HTPC, JVC NX-5, 106" screen
04rex is offline  
post #2602 of 2677 Old 08-15-2019, 10:01 AM
Member
 
feistyacorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
It's a love/hate kind of thing for me. I still find Plex to be useful but some of their decisions really annoy me. It's complicated.
Agreed, some of their decisions don't make sense for my use. Overall love the service and that's why I bought the lifetime pass. I just cringe when I see the default response that Emby is better when anyone has a question.
markmon1 and Redhawk2000 like this.

___________________________________

Wisconsin Home Theater Enthusiasts Thread
feistyacorn is offline  
post #2603 of 2677 Old 08-15-2019, 10:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,573
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1258 Post(s)
Liked: 479
Quote:
Originally Posted by feistyacorn View Post
Agreed, some of their decisions don't make sense for my use. Overall love the service and that's why I bought the lifetime pass. I just cringe when I see the default response that Emby is better when anyone has a question.


Well hey if it's true...

Ha JK. I use Emby but appreciate both of them.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #2604 of 2677 Old 08-15-2019, 10:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,512
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2288 Post(s)
Liked: 2570
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Well hey if it's true...

Ha JK. I use Emby but appreciate both of them.
I've been playing around with Jellyfin. If they had better app support they could be a contender.
Ken.F is offline  
post #2605 of 2677 Old 08-15-2019, 10:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,573
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1258 Post(s)
Liked: 479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
I've been playing around with Jellyfin. If they had better app support they could be a contender.


Didn't they just steal emby?

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #2606 of 2677 Old 08-15-2019, 10:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 182
So your advice is to ignore the opinion of others that use the service simply because it disagrees with your opinion?

Go check out the PLEX forums if you'd like some backup on the issues. They've made some really poor decisions of late and the stability/performance of the software has been questionable. That's from first hand experience. Yes, I too have a lifetime subscription. I also qualified my feedback.

I personally appreciate when actual users are honest with me and provide alternatives to investigate but I'm kind of open minded that way!

Quote:
Originally Posted by feistyacorn View Post
Ignore the people bashing Plex... not sure why they post so frequently in a thread for a service they hate.... kinda strange. lol
rakstr is online now  
post #2607 of 2677 Old 08-15-2019, 10:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,512
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2288 Post(s)
Liked: 2570
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Didn't they just steal emby?
Emby gave it away.



https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GNU_Ge...Public_License
Ken.F is offline  
post #2608 of 2677 Old 08-15-2019, 10:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,573
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1258 Post(s)
Liked: 479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post


Yeah sorry I was stirring through pot a bit.
rakstr and Ken.F like this.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #2609 of 2677 Old 08-15-2019, 11:16 AM
Member
 
feistyacorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by 04rex View Post
I have set it to lower quality, but still nothing.

With the 3rd gen, that is what i thought as well, so that is why i tried it on my 4K. It is hard wired, and i d have plenty of speed.

It is weird because on the 3rd gen, it does actually play, but just pauses every few seconds and gives the error message, but on the 4k, it doesn't play at all. Just black screen and stuck on 5 second mark for both movies.
That's great you have it hardwired. I guess I would go thru the Apple TV settings and make any adjustments to allow direct streaming and verify on the Plex server if it's transcoding. For most people transcoding 4K will induce all sorts of problems and usually isn't recommended. I don't have a 4k Apple TV, but on my 3rd gen Apple TV I have the settings: Home Streaming --> Maximum, Advanced --> Allow Direct Play, Experience --> Use Enhanced Video Player. Hopefully that helps!

https://support.plex.tv/articles/set...-for-apple-tv/

___________________________________

Wisconsin Home Theater Enthusiasts Thread
feistyacorn is offline  
post #2610 of 2677 Old 08-15-2019, 03:37 PM
Senior Member
 
ruggercb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Plex has announced they are phasing out Plex Media Player for htpcs. No remote control or 10 ft interface. I’d appreciate if any fellow htpc users that were unhappy with this decision went and voiced their opinions on the Plex forums. Hey, it worked on the Sonic the Hedgehog movie right?!?
ruggercb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off