Are You Looking For A Less Expensive Norco 4220 / 4224 Alternative? - Page 83 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 22Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2461 of 2547 Old 12-15-2016, 09:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
MATA7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 44
thanks

wow that backplane cost like 700.00 canada

Sony XBR-75X940E | Yamaha CX-A5100 | Anthem MCA 50| Sunfire TGA-7201 | SVS 16-Ultra Subwoofer| 7.1.4 Klipsch RP-450C - RP-260F - RP-240S - RP-160M - 4 In-Ceiling MartinLogan | Nvidia Shield TV | Xbox One | AppleTV

English Is Not My First Language
MATA7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2462 of 2547 Old 12-15-2016, 09:37 AM
Senior Member
 
likelinus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by MATA7 View Post
thanks

wow that backplane cost like 700.00 canada
Not sure where you are looking, but I got mine off eBay for $146. It was new in box.
likelinus is offline  
post #2463 of 2547 Old 12-15-2016, 09:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
MATA7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 44
im searching now on ebay, but i dont fiend it lol, all i see is SAS no SAS2

Sony XBR-75X940E | Yamaha CX-A5100 | Anthem MCA 50| Sunfire TGA-7201 | SVS 16-Ultra Subwoofer| 7.1.4 Klipsch RP-450C - RP-260F - RP-240S - RP-160M - 4 In-Ceiling MartinLogan | Nvidia Shield TV | Xbox One | AppleTV

English Is Not My First Language
MATA7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2464 of 2547 Old 12-15-2016, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
likelinus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by MATA7 View Post
im searching now on ebay, but i dont fiend it lol, all i see is SAS no SAS2
Sorry bud. Like with anything on eBay, sometimes you have to wait and keep searching for the right item or deal. Good luck in your search.
likelinus is offline  
post #2465 of 2547 Old 12-15-2016, 09:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
MATA7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 44
thanks for you help, i really appreciated

take care

Sony XBR-75X940E | Yamaha CX-A5100 | Anthem MCA 50| Sunfire TGA-7201 | SVS 16-Ultra Subwoofer| 7.1.4 Klipsch RP-450C - RP-260F - RP-240S - RP-160M - 4 In-Ceiling MartinLogan | Nvidia Shield TV | Xbox One | AppleTV

English Is Not My First Language
MATA7 is offline  
post #2466 of 2547 Old 12-15-2016, 03:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
MATA7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 44
ok i think im gone go with this case Norco RPC-4224

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/181391974486?...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

i am concern i read a lot of bad reviews with this case backplane problems and norco costumer support i read is no that great also

someone please confirm if this card is what i need for the extra 8 Hard drive that i need to connect, my motherboard only support 8 and i need 16 HD

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/201079205126?...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

please do i need anything else?

thanks in advanced for all you help i really appreciated

btw i cant browse norco site, can anyone please check if the site work for you

www.norcotek.com

Sony XBR-75X940E | Yamaha CX-A5100 | Anthem MCA 50| Sunfire TGA-7201 | SVS 16-Ultra Subwoofer| 7.1.4 Klipsch RP-450C - RP-260F - RP-240S - RP-160M - 4 In-Ceiling MartinLogan | Nvidia Shield TV | Xbox One | AppleTV

English Is Not My First Language
MATA7 is offline  
post #2467 of 2547 Old 12-15-2016, 05:09 PM
Member
 
toohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
If your not using SAS connections you could also look for a SM case with the passive connections. Backplane (SAS846TQ) This supports all size hard drives to date. You could also use SAS breakout cables.

The build quality on the SM is superior to the Norco cases.
Something like this: Just replace the power supply for noise and your good to go. You could also gut the whole thing.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Supermicro-2...3D152016795815
toohip is offline  
post #2468 of 2547 Old 12-15-2016, 06:15 PM
Member
 
foxxiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MATA7 View Post
ok i think im gone go with this case Norco RPC-4224

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/181391974486?...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

i am concern i read a lot of bad reviews with this case backplane problems and norco costumer support i read is no that great also

someone please confirm if this card is what i need for the extra 8 Hard drive that i need to connect, my motherboard only support 8 and i need 16 HD

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/201079205126?...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

please do i need anything else?

thanks in advanced for all you help i really appreciated

btw i cant browse norco site, can anyone please check if the site work for you

www.norcotek.com
Bad reviews are probably for the older version of Norco case. The one I bought Down Under about a year ago has upgraded backplane v2.0, 3 backplane fans (instead of four) and SSD disks holder. Can't complain.
Weird is, it's still nowhere mentioned that this is upgraded version. Even Norco's website says nothing.

Sent from my ZX Spectrum 48k
foxxiu is offline  
post #2469 of 2547 Old 12-15-2016, 09:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
MATA7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 44
for some reason norco web site is no working for me, so i cant even check the site

Sony XBR-75X940E | Yamaha CX-A5100 | Anthem MCA 50| Sunfire TGA-7201 | SVS 16-Ultra Subwoofer| 7.1.4 Klipsch RP-450C - RP-260F - RP-240S - RP-160M - 4 In-Ceiling MartinLogan | Nvidia Shield TV | Xbox One | AppleTV

English Is Not My First Language

Last edited by MATA7; 12-26-2016 at 09:58 PM.
MATA7 is offline  
post #2470 of 2547 Old 12-15-2016, 09:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
MATA7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by toohip View Post
If your not using SAS connections you could also look for a SM case with the passive connections. Backplane (SAS846TQ) This supports all size hard drives to date. You could also use SAS breakout cables.

The build quality on the SM is superior to the Norco cases.
Something like this: Just replace the power supply for noise and your good to go. You could also gut the whole thing.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Supermicro-2...3D152016795815
wow thanks that a great deal, the seller dont ship to canada, im gone keep locking

this is becoming a bit confuse to me, i trough it was gone be more easy, buy a case and dump hard drives to it

Sony XBR-75X940E | Yamaha CX-A5100 | Anthem MCA 50| Sunfire TGA-7201 | SVS 16-Ultra Subwoofer| 7.1.4 Klipsch RP-450C - RP-260F - RP-240S - RP-160M - 4 In-Ceiling MartinLogan | Nvidia Shield TV | Xbox One | AppleTV

English Is Not My First Language
MATA7 is offline  
post #2471 of 2547 Old 12-26-2016, 09:57 PM
Member
 
claymca's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Need a little help. I purchased one of these SGI Rackable Half Depth servers http://www.ebay.com/itm/SGI-Rackable...torefresh=true

It has a backplane that is a standard non-expander SAS backplane that has one SFF-8087 port for every four disks. 12 HDD Bays in total. The Motherboard, an Intel S5520HC, has 5 onboard SATA ports. I am currently using Mini-SAS (SFF-8087) to 4 SATA Cables to get at least 5 SATA drives loaded. I need a controller card to connect the other bays.

I have searched and only found this card that uses SATA ports and not SAS ports. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-070-_-Product Every other card I find uses Internal Mini-SAS ports and is expensive.

claymca is offline  
post #2472 of 2547 Old 12-28-2016, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
holyindian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Anyone has tried swapping out the PSU on the 2U or 3U chassis? is there enough headroom in the 2U chassis if i go with a seasonic gold?
holyindian is offline  
post #2473 of 2547 Old 06-16-2017, 06:54 PM
Newbie
 
clonemother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sorry to bring this thread back from the dead but does anyone have the original power supply cages/distribution blocks that they would like to get rid of for a reasonable price?
clonemother is offline  
post #2474 of 2547 Old 06-16-2017, 09:02 PM
Member
 
Quaraxkad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Port Orange, FL
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by clonemother View Post
Sorry to bring this thread back from the dead but does anyone have the original power supply cages/distribution blocks that they would like to get rid of for a reasonable price?
For what case? If it's the AIC, I have two sets. What would you consider a reasonable price?
Quaraxkad is offline  
post #2475 of 2547 Old 06-18-2017, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
ja00's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by clonemother View Post
Sorry to bring this thread back from the dead but does anyone have the original power supply cages/distribution blocks that they would like to get rid of for a reasonable price?
I have the Supermicro set - 2 PSUs, fan cage, disty block. It's yours if you want it. Just pay for shipping. What is your location?
ja00 is online now  
post #2476 of 2547 Old 01-13-2018, 03:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,351
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 428
Are there any compatability issues with the 920w SQ power supply and a "gaming" motherboard? I want to use my current setup in a supermicro 846 but don't want to stick a atx psu in there.

_______________________________

DIY Sound Group: Information and Tips
Mrkazador is offline  
post #2477 of 2547 Old 01-21-2018, 01:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
AVTechMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post
Are there any compatability issues with the 920w SQ power supply and a "gaming" motherboard? I want to use my current setup in a supermicro 846 but don't want to stick a atx psu in there.
Shouldn't be a problem. I once used an x79 motherboard in one of my 846 chassis and no issues with the power supply since they use the same ATX-24 connector. Only thing you would need to do is to get an adapter harness for the front panel lights and button since the connector in the 846 case is for the Supermicro boards.
Mrkazador likes this.
AVTechMan is offline  
post #2478 of 2547 Old 04-10-2018, 02:40 PM
Member
 
jaden24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you so much. This is one of the best guides on the internet.
jaden24 is offline  
post #2479 of 2547 Old 04-16-2018, 06:49 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaden24 View Post
Thank you so much. This is one of the best guides on the internet.
Glad you like it... My server is still going strong... As a matter of fact, I just added a 45 JBOD to my system to accommodate my new UHD rips.

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #2480 of 2547 Old 04-16-2018, 07:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 2,297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Litlgi74 View Post
Glad you like it... My server is still going strong... As a matter of fact, I just added a 45 JBOD to my system to accommodate my new UHD rips.
I actually thought about getting one of those...how do they work with your other servers...via expander cards?

tams seems to be out of every single 4U case so I am patiently waiting for them to come back to get another one.
Killroy is offline  
post #2481 of 2547 Old 04-16-2018, 08:02 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post
I actually thought about getting one of those...how do they work with your other servers...via expander cards?

tams seems to be out of every single 4U case so I am patiently waiting for them to come back to get another one.
Wow... Haven't heard from you in a while... How many TBs are you up to now?

The expander works quite well. I have it linked to my server via a Dell UCS-70 HBA which is pretty cheap. I swapped out the stock fans, PSUs, and power board for a CSE-PTJBOD-CB3 (little pricey). The CB3 gives the ability to power on/off the JBOD remotely (or via task scheduler) as well as fan control. Overall... It is exactly what I wanted.

It turns out that the stock PSUs (PWS-1K41P-1R) were already quite quiet... so switching to the PWS-1K28P-SQ really wasn't necessary.

I did have to sacrifice one drive bay on the expander to run an ethernet cable out the back. The original box and power card did not have the need for it.

PS... no problems with FlexRAID either.

Nice to hear from you.

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen

Last edited by Litlgi74; 04-16-2018 at 08:26 AM.
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #2482 of 2547 Old 04-16-2018, 08:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 2,297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Litlgi74 View Post
Wow... Haven't heard from you in a while... How many TBs are you up to now?

The expander works quite well. I have it linked to my server via a Dell UCS-70 HBA which is pretty cheap. I swapped out the stock fans, PSUs, and power board for a CSE-PTJBOD-CB3 (little pricey). The CB3 gives the ability to power on/off the JBOD remotely (or via task scheduler) as well as fan control. Overall... It is exactly what I wanted.

It turns out that the stock PSUs (PWS-1K41P-1R) were already quite quiet... so switching to the PWS-1K28P-SQ really wasn't necessary.


PS... no problems with FlexRAID either.

Nice to hear from you.
I've been lurking...always around.

I am pushing 250 but who's counting...lol

I had a catastrophic hardware failure in one of my server boxes so I had to move a lot of my drives offline. No drives were lost but I did not feel like getting another box to replace it....Now I have changed my mind.

I will look into your links and see if I can implement them into my new set up...thanks!!!
Killroy is offline  
post #2483 of 2547 Old 04-16-2018, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post
I've been lurking...always around.

I am pushing 250 but who's counting...lol

I had a catastrophic hardware failure in one of my server boxes so I had to move a lot of my drives offline. No drives were lost but I did not feel like getting another box to replace it....Now I have changed my mind.

I will look into your links and see if I can implement them into my new set up...thanks!!!
250!!! hahaha. I finally get over 100 and I thought I was getting close to you.

My server build has been running without issue since the day I purchased it. I've thought about upgrading... but for what? It does exactly what I built it for.

Send Jason at TAMS a message to hold an expander for you... sometimes they sell out before he gets them posted to ebay.

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #2484 of 2547 Old 04-16-2018, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 2,297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Litlgi74 View Post
250!!! hahaha. I finally get over 100 and I thought I was getting close to you.

My server build has been running without issue since the day I purchased it. I've thought about upgrading... but for what? It does exactly what I built it for.

Send Jason at TAMS a message to hold an expander for you... sometimes they sell out before he gets them posted to ebay.
I think I am going to start calling it a 1/4PB server.

I already sent TAMS an email via ebay but it was for the 4U 24-bay box so I will ask them about the expander as well.
Killroy is offline  
post #2485 of 2547 Old 04-17-2018, 03:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,351
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 428
I built my Supermicro 846, ebay had a 15% off a few weeks ago which made this a pretty good deal.

i5 2500k
Asus P8Z68 Pro
16GB Ram
64GB Crucial SSD
920P-SQ PSU
48 TB (+2 parity)
IBM M1015 (IT mode)
Intel RES2SV240 Expander

IMPORTANT info for anyone looking to buy a 846TQ:

MCP-410-00006-0N: HDD screws. I bought my case from tamsolutions and no screws were included. These are needed to hold the HDD in the trays.
MCP-210-84601-0B: Front bezel. Buy this new because the included trim pieces are needed to hold the bezel in place (notice slots) https://i.imgur.com/qfBBt4o.jpg No dust filter included (I used this but its restrictive https://www.duckbrand.com/products/w...-15-in-x-25-in)
CBL-084L: Front panel adapter. This adapter will convert the front panel connector to 2 pin headers to be used on any ATX motherboard.
920P-SQ: Power supply. Its practically silent, I can barely hear it if I put my ear right next to the fan. The stock psu is loud as hell!
Corsair SP120L: Fan wall. You can get these brand new for $10 on ebay. I used four 1N400X diodes to lower the voltage to about ~9v.
Molex to Sata power adapter: You only have one molex plug for a HDD so you need an adapter to hook up an OS drive. Make sure its not a molded adapter, get one like this https://www.monoprice.com/product?c_...seq=1&format=2
CPU 8 Pin: The Cpu 8 pin power plug barely reached the motherboard so if your motherboard is in a weird spot you'll need a extension.




_______________________________

DIY Sound Group: Information and Tips

Last edited by Mrkazador; 04-17-2018 at 04:59 PM.
Mrkazador is offline  
post #2486 of 2547 Old 04-18-2018, 05:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 4,642
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 681 Post(s)
Liked: 411
I have a question about the power supply. My case had dual PSUs in the stock case. I replaced them with a standard PSU for a PC but I lost the extra mounting bracket for my cache drive as a result. Would I need to replace both PSUs or just one? I see that each PSU has its own power cord so I'm assuming that one of them is there as a redundancy. I never really used the PSU that came with the case because of the noise it generated. I wouldn't mind reclaiming some of the internal space and the extra drive bracket by using the stock PSU configuration. I'm seeing the 920P-SQ PSU on ebay for about $100 used and I'd rather not have to buy two of them.
captain_video is offline  
post #2487 of 2547 Old 04-18-2018, 09:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 2,297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post
I have a question about the power supply. My case had dual PSUs in the stock case. I replaced them with a standard PSU for a PC but I lost the extra mounting bracket for my cache drive as a result. Would I need to replace both PSUs or just one? I see that each PSU has its own power cord so I'm assuming that one of them is there as a redundancy. I never really used the PSU that came with the case because of the noise it generated. I wouldn't mind reclaiming some of the internal space and the extra drive bracket by using the stock PSU configuration. I'm seeing the 920P-SQ PSU on ebay for about $100 used and I'd rather not have to buy two of them.
Are you asking if you can run it with a single stock 920? Yes it will. Second one is only there for redundancy. I did find a strange behavior in one of my boxes that when I unplugged one of the 920s I would get an alarm that could be turned off in BIOS but another identical box did not give an alarm and there was no option in the BIOS even those they were both identical...weird.
Killroy is offline  
post #2488 of 2547 Old 04-18-2018, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post
I have a question about the power supply. My case had dual PSUs in the stock case. I replaced them with a standard PSU for a PC but I lost the extra mounting bracket for my cache drive as a result. Would I need to replace both PSUs or just one? I see that each PSU has its own power cord so I'm assuming that one of them is there as a redundancy. I never really used the PSU that came with the case because of the noise it generated. I wouldn't mind reclaiming some of the internal space and the extra drive bracket by using the stock PSU configuration. I'm seeing the 920P-SQ PSU on ebay for about $100 used and I'd rather not have to buy two of them.
Killroy is right... you can use the 920-SQ.

Unless you want to modify the connecting board, don't make the mistake of buying the 1K28P-SQ. The board on the 1K28P-SQ is wider than the 920-SQ.

But in the spirit of DIY and if the price is right.. a simple Dremel tool can cut away the unnecessary portion of the connecting board on the 1K28P-SQ. And it will work perfectly.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0142.JPG
Views:	38
Size:	411.7 KB
ID:	2392278   Click image for larger version

Name:	CbOAFVll.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	27.1 KB
ID:	2392280   Click image for larger version

Name:	zBUHHILl.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	55.4 KB
ID:	2392282   Click image for larger version

Name:	upload_2015-11-11_16-24-45.png
Views:	29
Size:	477.8 KB
ID:	2392284   Click image for larger version

Name:	upload_2015-11-11_16-25-22.png
Views:	28
Size:	443.9 KB
ID:	2392286  


The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #2489 of 2547 Old 04-18-2018, 11:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 4,642
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 681 Post(s)
Liked: 411
OK, so is the 920-SQ a direct plug and play replacement for the stock PSU that came with the Supermicro SC846 chassis? I bought mine from TAMS quite a few years ago and posted pics of my build earlier in this thread. I replaced all of the internal components with my own motherboard and ancillary components so there shouldn't be any issue with the alarm setting in the BIOS.

Does anyone have a spare MCP-220-84601-0N hard drive bracket for mounting to the side of the PSU enclosure? I have one that came with my server chassis that I'll use for my cache drive in unRAID, but I'd like a 2nd one to mount my 2nd parity drive. Right now I have 24 drives in the chassis with another five in a Supermicro CSE-M35TQB enclosure sitting on top of the rack.
captain_video is offline  
post #2490 of 2547 Old 04-18-2018, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post
OK, so is the 920-SQ a direct plug and play replacement for the stock PSU that came with the Supermicro SC846 chassis?
As Killroy and I have said.. . yes.

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Norco Rpc 4020 4u Rackmount Server Chassis W 20 Hot Swappable Sata Sas Drive Bays , Norco

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off