Echo beta firmware rollback - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Ken.F
  • 1 Post By Sammy2
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 29 Old 03-14-2014, 04:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,677
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2391 Post(s)
Liked: 2787
One of my Echo extenders has been stuck on the last beta firmware version 2013.320.1349 since Ceton put it out and then pulled it nearly a full year ago. I couldn't update to the latest stable version 2013.304.1657 because the beta version I had was newer.

This Echo unit is located in my bedroom. Last night I fell asleep with the Echo playing live tv and woke up this morning to a black screen. The display worked for menu items and the guide, but the picture for any playing video was black. This happened several times before and I know the only way to get the picture back is to restart the Echo. From the task menu on the start screen I turned off the Echo, then used the green button on the remote to turn it back on. When it started up I got the extender pairing screen with the 8 digit code. That doesn't happen very often but I have seen it before. I was about to pair the extender in WMC on the host computer when I noticed the line at the bottom of the Echo screen that said there was an update available and to press 1 to update. I ran the update and got the older latest stable firmware version 2013.304.1657. After the update I had to pair the Echo with WMC, but I'm finally free of the buggy beta firmware!
Sammy2 likes this.
Ken.F is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 29 Old 03-14-2014, 06:14 AM
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Commonwealth, not the Jelly.
Posts: 2,696
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 698
My Echo that has the .320 firmware is currently occupying some valuable closet space.

My other Echo isn't stable enough to keep any firmware for very long. In the last month, it has auto-recovered for no apparent reason at all, three different times. Fortunately it is only used once or twice a week, so its flaky behavior is tolerable.
ajhieb is offline  
post #3 of 29 Old 03-15-2014, 02:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,677
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2391 Post(s)
Liked: 2787
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajhieb View Post

My Echo that has the .320 firmware is currently occupying some valuable closet space.

My other Echo isn't stable enough to keep any firmware for very long. In the last month, it has auto-recovered for no apparent reason at all, three different times. Fortunately it is only used once or twice a week, so its flaky behavior is tolerable.
It might be worth getting that one out of the closet to see if it updates to a stable version.

I had one echo unit that would reboot and occasionally auto-recover. I opened a ticket with Ceton and after about a week of troubleshooting it got sent home RMA. The replacement unit they sent back to me is the one that was stuck on beta firmware for a year. My other two echos have been pretty good.
Ken.F is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 29 Old 04-27-2016, 11:08 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1069 Post(s)
Liked: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by ajhieb 

My Echo that has the .320 firmware is currently occupying some valuable closet space.

My other Echo isn't stable enough to keep any firmware for very long. In the last month, it has auto-recovered for no apparent reason at all, three different times. Fortunately it is only used once or twice a week, so its flaky behavior is tolerable.

It might be worth getting that one out of the closet to see if it updates to a stable version.

I had one echo unit that would reboot and occasionally auto-recover. I opened a ticket with Ceton and after about a week of troubleshooting it got sent home RMA. The replacement unit they sent back to me is the one that was stuck on beta firmware for a year. My other two echos have been pretty good.
So what was the final outcome of this?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #5 of 29 Old 04-27-2016, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,677
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2391 Post(s)
Liked: 2787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
So what was the final outcome of this?
Are you asking me or ajhieb?
Ken.F is offline  
post #6 of 29 Old 04-27-2016, 11:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1069 Post(s)
Liked: 347
That is a good question. It looks like you had three, one of which was on the 320 beta but reverted after a year to 305 so you now have them all on stable firmware. I guess I needed to address the question @ajhieb because something funky happened when I quoted that post in that it didn't include the original quotes correctly.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #7 of 29 Old 04-27-2016, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,677
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2391 Post(s)
Liked: 2787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
That is a good question. It looks like you had three, one of which was on the 320 beta but reverted after a year to 305 so you now have them all on stable firmware.
All three of mine are on FW 2013.304.1657. One is reliable, one is pretty good but it freezes up a few times a month, and the last one is a total POS. That last one freezes and/or re-boots itself every couple of hours and I can't get the stupid Ceton light to go out.
Ken.F is offline  
post #8 of 29 Old 04-27-2016, 01:54 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1069 Post(s)
Liked: 347
The only one that does this for me now is the android beta unit. Maybe I should just recover it but I like having it and once it's flashed it's gone.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #9 of 29 Old 04-27-2016, 05:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,677
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2391 Post(s)
Liked: 2787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
The only one that does this for me now is the android beta unit. Maybe I should just recover it but I like having it and once it's flashed it's gone.
I tried to get in on the Android beta but I wasn't chosen. Can you side-load anything on the Android Echo? It would be great if I could use my Echos to run the HDHR DVR Android app.
Ken.F is offline  
post #10 of 29 Old 04-27-2016, 10:37 PM
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Commonwealth, not the Jelly.
Posts: 2,696
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Both my echo's are back in the drawer. I'm using XB360 slims everywhere now. The echo was simply too unreliable for day to day use. I wrote it off as a learning experience long ago. I have found the Echo USB power adapter makes a great phone charger and the remotes have helped in a pinch when the batteries died on my HP remotes.

Basically I've found a useful function for everything that came in the box except the Echo itself.
ajhieb is offline  
post #11 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1069 Post(s)
Liked: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
I tried to get in on the Android beta but I wasn't chosen. Can you side-load anything on the Android Echo? It would be great if I could use my Echos to run the HDHR DVR Android app.
Here's a link to the last of many test videos I sent to Motz and mikanho about 3 years ago. In this one, I am basically pleaing with them to not ax the program as I had my android echo playing videos fine using a side loaded app called Serenity for Android which is a Google TV (and some Tablets) front end for Plex. I also had MX player and the MX Neon dts decoder installed. The only problem was that each night the echo would clear the sideloaded apps and I'd have to re-install them the next day to continue testing but if Ceton had put in the f/w it would stick. I had this discussion with Motz..

It just could have been...

Here's one more.

Since this product is out of production, I think the NDA no longer applies..


Last edited by Sammy2; 04-28-2016 at 08:42 AM.
Sammy2 is offline  
post #12 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 09:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,677
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2391 Post(s)
Liked: 2787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
It just could have been...
Here's one more.
That looks great. What Android version is it? I'd be willing to send my units back to Ceton and pay them to put a modern version of Android on them. If anyone has figured out how to do it on their own I'd love to learn how.

That last link is dead.
Ken.F is offline  
post #13 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 09:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1069 Post(s)
Liked: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
That looks great. What Android version is it? I'd be willing to send my units back to Ceton and pay them to put a modern version of Android on them. If anyone has figured out how to do it on their own I'd love to learn how.

That last link is dead.
This one?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #14 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 09:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,677
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2391 Post(s)
Liked: 2787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
The one I quoted in my last post. Your "This one" link above doesn't work either.
Ken.F is offline  
post #15 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1069 Post(s)
Liked: 347
One more..

I doubt that Ceton will do anything for you but if you do do that don't tell it was me!

LOL..

PS. Maybe now it is a little more clear why I was rooting for them so diligently. I couldn't say anything because of the NDA.


Last edited by Sammy2; 04-28-2016 at 09:42 AM.
Sammy2 is offline  
post #16 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 09:40 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1069 Post(s)
Liked: 347
I posted clips of Star Trek, Amelie and finally Hugo.. Which ones can you not see? I'll try a different way to post them.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #17 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 09:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,677
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2391 Post(s)
Liked: 2787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
One more..

I doubt that Ceton will do anything for you but if you do do that don't tell it was me!

LOL..

PS. Maybe now it is a little more clear why I was rooting for them so diligently. I couldn't say anything because of the NDA.
I won't tell Ceton anything.

Your latest link leads to this:

Code:
https://*******/photos/Zv26H5QiiF75f2wQA
Ken.F is offline  
post #18 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 09:43 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1069 Post(s)
Liked: 347
Try again. I changed the url.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #19 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 09:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,677
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2391 Post(s)
Liked: 2787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
I posted clips of Star Trek, Amelie and finally Hugo.. Which ones can you not see? I'll try a different way to post them.
The Star Trek one works. I didn't try the Serenity one. None of the others worked.
Ken.F is offline  
post #20 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,677
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2391 Post(s)
Liked: 2787
The 500 Days of Summer one works now.
Ken.F is offline  
post #21 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 09:46 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1069 Post(s)
Liked: 347
The Star Trek clip was my last one in Sept 2013. It was using an app called Serenity for Android, MX Player and the MX Neon decoder. The source was a full Blu-ray rip with Dolby TrueHD audio through Plex Server over a wireless bridge to the echo..

So close but so far away.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #22 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 09:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1069 Post(s)
Liked: 347
I don't know how to get this f/w on any other units but will not flash this unit if at all possible.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #23 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 09:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1069 Post(s)
Liked: 347
I never posted a link to a Hugo video. That one is in 360p as that is what my phone was set to so it isn't worth sharing.

Here's Amelie, showing subtitles working.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #24 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 09:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,677
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2391 Post(s)
Liked: 2787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
Here's Amelie, showing subtitles working.
That one works too. Thanks.
Ken.F is offline  
post #25 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,677
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2391 Post(s)
Liked: 2787
If you have any current model HDHR tuners you could probably test out the SD Android app on the Echo. The download link to the apk is on their website here:
https://www.silicondust.com/forum/vi...?f=119&t=33103

None of the DVR stuff will work without an activated DVR account but I believe it will work for live tv and give you a few hours worth of guide data.
Ken.F is offline  
post #26 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1069 Post(s)
Liked: 347
One more for you:


My last plea to not kill the echo project.

Code:
Complete name : E:\Videos\Movies\Hugo (2011)\Hugo (2011).mkv 
Format : Matroska 
Format version : Version 2 
File size : 30.4 GiB 
Duration : 2h 6mn 
Overall bit rate mode : Variable 
Overall bit rate : 34.4 Mbps 
Movie name : Hugo 
Encoded date : UTC 2012-03-02 13:25:19 
Writing application : MakeMKV v1.7.2 win(x64-release) 
Writing library : libmakemkv v1.7.2 (1.2.0/1.1.0) win(x64-release) 

Video 
ID : 1 
Format : AVC 
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec 
Format profile : [email protected] 
Format settings, CABAC : Yes 
Format settings, ReFrames : 4 frames 
Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC 
Duration : 2h 6mn 
Bit rate mode : Variable 
Maximum bit rate : 35.1 Mbps 
Width : 1 920 pixels 
Height : 1 080 pixels 
Display aspect ratio : 16:9 
Frame rate mode : Constant 
Frame rate : 23.976 fps 
Color space : YUV 
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0 
Bit depth : 8 bits 
Scan type : Progressive 
Language : English 
Default : Yes 
Forced : No 

Audio #1 
ID : 2 
Format : DTS 
Format/Info : Digital Theater Systems 
Format profile : MA / Core 
Mode : 16 
Format settings, Endianness : Big 
Codec ID : A_DTS 
Duration : 2h 6mn 
Bit rate mode : Variable 
Bit rate : Unknown / 1 509 Kbps 
Channel(s) : 8 channels / 6 channels 
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, Back: L R, LFE / Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE 
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz 
Bit depth : 24 bits 
Compression mode : Lossless / Lossy 
Title : Lossless 
Language : English 
Default : Yes 
Forced : No 

Audio #2 
ID : 3 
Format : DTS 
Format/Info : Digital Theater Systems 
Mode : 16 
Format settings, Endianness : Big 
Codec ID : A_DTS 
Duration : 2h 6mn 
Bit rate mode : Constant 
Bit rate : 1 509 Kbps 
Channel(s) : 6 channels 
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE 
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz 
Bit depth : 24 bits 
Compression mode : Lossy 
Stream size : 1.33 GiB (4%) 
Title : 3/2+1 
Language : English 
Default : No 
Forced : No 

Text #1 
ID : 4 
Format : PGS 
Codec ID : S_HDMV/PGS 
Codec ID/Info : The same subtitle format used on BDs/HD-DVDs 
Language : English 
Default : Yes 
Forced : No 

Text #2 
ID : 6 
Format : PGS 
Codec ID : S_HDMV/PGS 
Codec ID/Info : The same subtitle format used on BDs/HD-DVDs 
Language : English 
Default : No 
Forced : No 

Menu 
00:00:00.000 : en:Chapter 00 
00:09:35.533 : en:Chapter 01 
00:17:20.664 : en:Chapter 02 
00:23:32.911 : en:Chapter 03 
00:30:34.541 : en:Chapter 04 
00:38:26.262 : en:Chapter 05 
00:47:36.270 : en:Chapter 06 
00:55:37.542 : en:Chapter 07 
01:03:43.694 : en:Chapter 08 
01:12:46.862 : en:Chapter 09 
01:19:59.169 : en:Chapter 10 
01:27:10.099 : en:Chapter 11 
01:33:03.494 : en:Chapter 12 
01:42:41.280 : en:Chapter 13 
01:53:47.779 : en:Chapter 14 
01:59:58.441 : en:Chapter 15 
Show less
Ken.F likes this.


Last edited by Sammy2; 04-28-2016 at 10:17 AM.
Sammy2 is offline  
post #27 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 12:21 PM
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Commonwealth, not the Jelly.
Posts: 2,696
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 698
I think there was a "quirk" with the way the flashing worked that caused a significant number of units to brick when trying to flash them to the android update (which is evidently why the project was abandoned in the first place) so I think you'll have a really hard time trying to talk Ceton into flashing them for you.
ajhieb is offline  
post #28 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 12:27 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1069 Post(s)
Liked: 347
I had two other units at the time that the project was ended and direct contact with the developers and they wouldn't do it for me then. I'm pretty sure that they wouldn't do it now but man they were real close in my opinion. The only way to reliably flash them was for them to do it in-house but they may have bricked a few in the process too, IDK, but that could be an additional cost to them that would basically ruin any margin they may have had. All that said, A GoogleTV player with the ability to hook into the WMC cci protected content could sell for more than the echo ever sold for. @Ken.F asked what android version this was... I think it was 4.2 or maybe 4.3. This was nearly 3 years ago now.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #29 of 29 Old 04-28-2016, 12:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,677
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2391 Post(s)
Liked: 2787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
@Ken.F asked what android version this was... I think it was 4.2 or maybe 4.3. This was nearly 3 years ago now.
Thanks.
Ken.F is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off